Rent Monster Madness: Grave Danger for PS3
view large frontback

Monster Madness: Grave Danger

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.2

557 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
4

Weak

this game is totally glitchin!

posted by MrMunk (KENDALLVILLE, IN) Aug 20, 2008

Member since Oct 2004

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i did like this game, its some fun arcade action (even more fun with multiplayer), but it is packed full of glitches and little annoyances that caused me to use language around my dogs that i wouldnt normally use...the good points- challenge mode, upgradeable weapons, variety of melee weapons (i used melee most of the time), decent level layouts. the bad points- vehicles getting stuck on just about every little thing in the environment (even sidewalk curbs), fixed camera angle (if a monster is just outside the screen you wont be able to see them or hit them and some parts of the game require you to kill every monster in the area before you can progress), i also noticed a few sound glitches (where you would hear a monster and none would be around or the surround sound would be on the wrong side). its still a decently fun game that might be worth a rental, yet unless you wanna be frustrated with little annoyances with the game, its not worth a buy at any price...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A Decent Arcade Game

posted by Patriarchy (COLUMBUS, OH) Aug 13, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Monster Madness: Grave Danger is a copy of Monster Madness: Battle for Suburbia on the 360, except the PS3 version is a little bit improved and revised. How is it improved: the game has more features such as arena, battlefield deathmatch (up to 12 players), and more challenges (mini games).

This game would be decent for old-school arcade fans. With the availability to upgrade and customize your characters, the game appeals its replay value by encouraging me to play more after I beat the game. This game could be very addictive, although it won't last for months. The game encourage me to play challenge mode to unlock costumes. However, after I passed all the the challenges with decent grades, I didn't feel like going back and playing it more, which means the challenge mode doesn't have replay values. Despite the forgettable challenge mode, the game comes with battlefield and arena which allow players to have deathmatch/ team DM. However,there was almost none players who likes this mode--tho it's a good addition to the multiplayer experience.

The game truly shine when it comes to multiplayer coop regardless online or local. However, the game has some minor bugs such as vehicle got stucked on the environment, camera issues, and lagging.

The graphic is OK, but I would expect that the improved ps3 version give something more appealing than the 360's graphics. But the developers seems to unpolished the graphic and having it straight ported from the 360 version but with a few features addition. The cutscenes just doesn't cut it. I can't expect much from the story.

I would give this game a 6.5 if there's any. The main problem about this game is the $. They shouldn't sell this game for $39.99. Rather than selling the game on the retail store, this game could be a GOOD game on PSN store for $29.99(for the highest. But I doubt that will happen. So, for arcade fans out there, just wait until the game's price gets cheaper. For hardcore gamers,this game is a RENT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I liked it!

posted by mewesley (LATHROP, CA) Aug 22, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

It reminded me of the Zombies ate my neighbors but more weapons and monsters. I think the bad reviews are because they didn't know what this game is all about. It is a classic!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Decent arcade action/adventure shooter

posted by MrSche (MEMPHIS, TN) Aug 10, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I downloaded the demo one day I was at home bored, and it kept be busy for some time, so I decided to rent it. The graphics are cool, and the gameplay reminds you of the old school classic Smash Bros. Its a shooter dealing with teenage kids fighting monstors...thats basically it. But its full of cartoon mischief and shooting action. Story line isnt the best, but its a decent game for the style it represents. The only flaw I hate is the size of the characters,it can be rather annoying at times, especially when you re playing multiplayer. The screen just seems like a bunch of bunched up characters. I especially like how you can upgrade your weapons and characters, and the different challenge stages. If your re into cartoon zombie shooting mishief, this game is for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

entertaining for a while, but not for long.

posted by samus11 (JOLIET, IL) Aug 10, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I see what they are trying to do with this, and they did alright. They tried to recreate "zombies ate my neighbors" which wasn't a great game to begin with. I like the upgradeable weapons part of the game, and how they switch it up with vehicles every once in a while. The best part of the game is the challenges mode, where you are to do your best at about 20 different challenges in order to unlock costumes. Maybe I'm wrong about this game because I only played one player, the multiplayer game may add to the fun, but the game in one player mode was only fun for a few hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

THAT MONSTER MADNESS BS

posted by BEASTBOYNI (LYNWOOD, CA) Aug 10, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 14 gamers (7%) found this review helpful

THAT WAS THE WACKEST GAME ON PS3 THAT I EVER PLAYED I DIDENT EVEN PLAY IT FOR AN HOUR THAT HOW WACK IT WAS I GAVE IT A 1 BUT IT DOES NOT EVEN DESERVE A 1 IT DESERVES A 0 I HATE THAT GAME IT WAS A WAST OF MY TIME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game ever

posted by iz2000 (HOUSTON, TX) Jun 8, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

if you like level ups, cool guns, kill things.
this a game you should rent!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Remember Zombies ate my neighbors....

posted by SlajeD (WESTFIELD, IN) May 31, 2012

Member since Sep 2010

This was pretty much that game. It's a good fun multiplayer with friends just to kill time. I don't know if it's worth buyying but it is at least worth trying once with friends.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

This is monster madness for Xbox 360 port!

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) Nov 22, 2011

Member since May 2010

I still can't believe I didn't write a reveiw for this the last time I played! It took them long enough, but was it worth it?? Nope!
This game is exactly like the 360 version in almost every regard.. Why change the name? Old product new packaging.. I am not sure if the playstation 3 was even out, yet when this game was released on the 360.. What I DO know is that it is very similar to zombies ate my neighbors (16-bit super NES) for the most part except this is an improved game in comparison.. The game has its funny parts, but that was not enough reason to keep it, then or now..
Maybe it is your cup of tea, but it certainly is not mine..
Try Before You Buy.. Grinding in an top down action game??? Only if you like that sort of thing, or unless you are a zombie fan..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun for Kids but not for Me

posted by Gamecreep (ELMWOOD PARK, IL) Feb 1, 2011

Member since Jun 2005

Not a bad game but ultimately very repetitious, cheesy and really just more geared towards kids. The dialogue gets a little redundant as well. Cute game but if you're an adult probably only good for a couple of hours. It kind of made me feel like I was back in high school. Hey, maybe that's what the developers were aiming for :) If so, great job folks!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Too childish/cartoonish for my 9 year old

posted by psyloch (THORNTON, CO) Jan 20, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

My 9 year old Son wanted to return this game immediately. He said that the graphics on the game were too kiddie cartoonish. He wanted to fight more frightening-looking zombies.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

whats up

posted by negrito (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Oct 19, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

good game cant wait for part 2 if there a part 2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

You really are better off renting than buying

posted by Cabbit (Seattle, WA) Jun 15, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

My advice is to not buy this game, but instead to rent it if you need to laugh a bit, unless your terrified of eight legged things from heck((don't say the S word!!!)) those things are everywhere, and my friends totally took advantage of my screaming every five seconds they appeared >> Anyway my key points for this are Storyline, Glitches (like major ones) and Voice Acting.

Storyline: I've heard of B movies, but this one definitely is a B game. The storyline is silly, and very B movie like with comical mischief and mayhem. Playing off of bad horror movie spoofs, this game had a lot of potential but just didn't make it.

Glitches: I did like this game, but at a lot of times the glitches made it hard to enjoy it. I had one time where the Grim Reaper boss teleported behind the gates, and never came out. I had to reset my game to beat him the second time. Other times you can get stuck in random areas, like if you are walking along into the edge of something, searching for things you can get stuck in between the walls and cliff edges. The only thing that worked like half the time to solve that was to throw a bomb at my character. Hoping it would blast her/him out of being stuck. Most of the time though, it didn't work, and I had to restart the level over, repeatedly. The view change is.. really bad, they should have let you like change the camera view yourself.

Voice acting: The voice acting is really bad, so bad me and my other gamer girl friends were laughing during most of the cut-scenes.

The character of Jennifer was a pretty stereotypical cheerleader and we had to roll our eyes by her but if you like video games, you have to learn to deal with stuff like this ><

Like just rent it unless you're the kind of person who just has money to spend, and if you really love this game.

Chelsea

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The WORST Gane I have yet played on the PS3

posted by Thanos777 (MESA, AZ) Apr 19, 2009

Member since Aug 2006

This Game would have deserved a "Bad" rating on the PS2.

And some of the WORST voice-acting I've ever heard -and I've heard a lot of bad acting.

I'm trying to excuse the overall poor quality of this game by pretending that the makers of this game were on a very low budget...but even a low budget doesn't excuse the holes in this game.

I think that I'm being VERY generous by giving it 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Monster fun

posted by clawss (PITTSBURGH, PA) Jan 24, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

This game is hard.U get to drive cars,use chain saws,make ur own weapons,and kill zombies every 5 seconds.This game tops every thing u played in yo life!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

What a cliche...

posted by defrox336 (GEORGETOWN, KY) Nov 3, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

First of all, the voice acting is horrible and sounds like it may have been recorded in someone's basement. Also, what's with the cliche storyline? They had all these different storylines to choose from and they go with the classic, boring-butt "Zombies Take Over the World" excuse. I'm guessing that they tried to make a joke out of this redundant storyline. Well it worked. This game was nothing but a sad joke. The side challenges were semi-entertaining at times, but that's still no excuse. The graphics. Good Lord! The graphics! The graphics gave a new meaning to the word "Madness" in the title because the fact that these graphics were sucky beyond anything else made me mad to the point where I almost cried! Trust me. Not worth even 3 days of your time because that's all the time it takes to complete it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Really horrible

posted by SurfFreak (LAGUNA BEACH, CA) Sep 18, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2004

I only lasted about 15 minutes and gave up. Its kind of like a 90's arcade game with better graphics. I would recommend leaving this one alone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Monster Embarrassment!

posted by DeavSiri (BERMUDA DUNES, CA) Sep 9, 2008

Member since Feb 2005

This game bombed so bad on the 360 I'm still dumbfounded at the fact that it was ported over to the PS3. Someone slap me!

here's the facts:

PROS: What PROS?

CONS: Voice acting, stupid characters, boring comic-style storytelling, Impractical use of weapons, the fact that everyone is stronger and faster than you, cheap deaths, complete lack of pick ups, graphics, people that compare this game to "Zombies Ate My Neighbors", and stupid fetch-style objectives.

The biggest insult is having to pay $49.99 for this P.O.S.

GEEZ!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »