Rent Monster Madness: Battle for Suburbia for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Monster Madness: Battle for Suburbia

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
4.1

1387 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Battle for Suburbia is One of the Best Games ever!

posted by M0nK3yK1d (BROOKSVILLE, FL) Jun 29, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I dont have much to say about this game except that it is a really good game it is full of fun and action and the weapons are really creative u have everything in the environment as your weapon u can even use a vaccum cleaner and boy is that weapon fun but thats getting off the point i would recomened this game to everyone who plays games for fun and also anyone who likes role playing games the online is awesome and it has vs online as well as co op story up to 4 players anyways hope this helps u out and to decide wether or not to buy the game!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good for a challenge

posted by NewMessiah (SOUTH BOUND BROOK, NJ) Jul 3, 2007

Member since Dec 2004

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

With a name like Monster Madness, and a very easy demo on Xbox Live, one might think this will be another easy kids game to grab achievements on the fly while waiting for another more popular game to become available. Well, it is not.

This game is a lot more challenging than I had expected, and that is a breath of fresh air in the world of easy games that are pumped out on the next gen consoles. This is similar to an old game called Zombies Ate My Neighbors that was also quite challenging. Unfortunately, bad controls when driving vehicles and a rather odd choice for button placement make Monster Madness less fun than the old Zombies Ate My Neighbors.

Multi-player co-op is quite a bit of fun if you have some friends to play with, but versus is rather lame and not very compelling.

I gave this game a 7 because its good to see something that you will die in frequently and won't just breeze through. Some of the bosses will make you stop and think and re-plan your attacks and maneuvers like the games of old, but there is nothing that really stands out about this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Monsters Ate My Neighbors

posted by Exodus888 (GASTONIA, NC) Jul 1, 2007

Member since May 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Monster Madness is basically an ode to Zombies Ate My Neighbors; it is an arcade revamp with polished game play and 3d graphics; it is a fun if repetitive game, i don't think it deserves the 3 and 4s everyone has given it but neither is it a great game(9-10)...i give it a 7. Don't advise you to buy this game but it is a great game to rent. It's only flaws are its camera which is sometimes sporadic and unless your playing single player with the camera over your shoulder it is near impossible to aim but other than these flaws it is a fun game...just keep in mind that it is an arcade revamp so don't expect anything original other than cheesy humor.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Monster Madness, An OK game.

posted by Beitzel (THOMASVILLE, NC) Jun 24, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Despite the bad reviews, I rented this game and got it a few days ago...

The story line, sucks. But I can look past that, the game play is pretty decent, I used to play "Zombies ate my neighbors" on the Nintendo a long time ago and this is almost just like that game... I find it more fun to play with someone, me and my brother had fun with this game... So if you are into this type of stuff.. go for it.. Its pretty cool.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Mediocre before the patch, addictive after.

posted by Dregor (BRANDON, FL) Dec 27, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

It's kinda sad really. The buggy state of this game pretty much ran down the small group that played this game to the now small hardcore group of dudes who are enjoying what may have been originally intended for this game. Blatantly put... PATCH THIS GAME if you choose to rent.

Ok aside from that here is a quick rundown of the game.

Mediocre voice acting.
Unbalanced weapons.
Fatal (for your character) glitches.
Demon possessed camera.

Ok, enough of the bad stuff... heres the GOOD stuff.

Explosions
Mass zombie genocides
Using random objects as weapons such as toilet brushes, banjos, glowsticks, and frozen swordfishes.
4 Player coop (with local friends, not Live)
Ragdolls
Flamethrowers
Railguns

ALL RIGHT so basically this is one of the most unbalanced fun games I have played. To be honest I only played this game because of the patch... it really fixed this game to be mostly playable. While it is not perfect (and far from it), it deserves another chance at life. If you can get 2 or 3 friends you'll have a game that'll keep em occupied for the 10 - 15 hours that take to beat this game. On top of that the game is replayable with unlockable costumes and a "Madness" difficulty that adds more that just harder monsters.

Stick with it for the first 2 - 3 hours and you'll be rewarded with one of the most entertaining coop games that have been released in the last few years.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great if you multipler, not so if you like single

posted by Vektuz (IRVINE, CA) Jun 27, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

9 out of 13 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

This game is a blast as a LAN party type game, with a bunch of friends just mindlessly detroying monsters and with explosions all over the place, but the lack of depth becomes pretty apparent single player.

If you're like me, and tend to enjoy games single player (I never bother with multiplayer), look elsewhere. Without a friend to ressurect you and to continue the level from where you died, you'll find yourself repeating the same tricky bit over... and over... and over...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WOW

posted by rccastro (STOCKTON, CA) Sep 8, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is the worst 360 game I have ever played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The good & bad of MM: BOS by 564900

posted by 564900 (CLARKSVILLE, TX) Nov 3, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The Good:
Very fun & addicting.
Challenging, but not too hard.
Bloody and violent, but if u r older than about 8 then u can play it.

The Bad:
The graphics are not as good as they could be.
You have to find tools and buy upgrades.

All-in-all this is a very good game if you are older than 8 or 9.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun

posted by riffraff12 (LESLIE, MI) Jul 17, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Alot of people poo-pooed on this game. And there are a number of good reasons why. I on the other hand enjoyed this monster killing game.

Some of the major problems that are involved are the difficulty. This game does have some really hard spots especially if one is playing it all alone. Another is that the checkpoints are way too far apart. And finally that the weapon parts get really annoying and make this game feel more like a collect-a-thon then anything else.

The fun really shines in this game when you get more people involved. There is nothing like sitting around with a large group of your friends until the wee hours of the next day just killing zombies. Another really storng point to the game I feel is the dialouge. Yes it does seem like it was made by a group of three year olds, but with this game that jsut feels like it was the point.

I would recommend this game for a group of one or more. Other then that, rent it or wait until it shows up in the local bargin bin.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What a piece of trash

posted by martymar82 (TAMPA, FL) Jun 15, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

12 out of 21 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Wow is all I can say about this game. The people who made this load of garbage should be fired, this has to be the worst game that I have ever played in my life. The controls are garbage as well as the horrible camera views. I only had this game for about 2 hours before I put it back in the mail.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Monster Averageness

posted by JadedGamer (FREMONT, CA) Jun 20, 2007

Member since Jun 2003

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

In a homage to Zombies Ate My Neighbors, Monster Madness offers up a melee action zombie fest. With a great premise, fun characters and a comical story outline, one would think that the developers couldn't fail. Yet, the attention to core game play, and details, makes the game feel like underdeveloped and its goals, under realized. The meat of any good hack and slash (like Gauntlet) is the intuitive controls. Jumping, dodging and driving controls are overly sensitive, and a odd camera system that seems to always be rotating around the characters, leads the player to fight against the controls, instead of the zombies. The graphics are color full, but simplistic. The level design is competent, but there are too many invisible walls, and these will likely cause some frustrations. While the script is good and at times very funny, the voice acting is horrible, and sounds as if it was read by people half asleep. The characters and enemy's are playful if not unoriginal, and poorly named (zombie dog, exploding zombie). The item collection and weapon upgrade system is interesting, but flawed, and more than once I was unable to collect 100% of the "weapon parts" due to parts being located outside of the level boundaries. Online action is good for a 1/2 hour or so, and then gets repetitive very quickly.

Good for a rent, if you are curious, but you may find yourself mailing it back not long after it arrives.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

no method to the madness

posted by redbull75 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jun 13, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is almost unplayable using the default camera. One of the most annoying features, period. If you hit Y while playing you will switch to a more playable camera...
Nice graphics, but you seem to not be able to get close enough to really appreciate them.
Gameplay wise, think "Gauntlet"...
This game is the complete antithesis to a sandbox title. you are frustratingly forced into very specific routes, and the presence of hedges and fences and other things you can't clear by jumping is very annoying.
Good production, bad execution. A mindless "trigger masher".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game ever

posted by OVERLORD1 (BELLEVILLE, IL) Oct 11, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

In my opinion this game is one of the best games out there and if u say its bad well u can kiss my.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

If left 4 Dead and Loony toons had a kid...

posted by Vain719 (FERNLEY, NV) Sep 10, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This would be there kid This was a very fun game to play and the oly reason i dident completely finsh it was because for some reason all my data went bye bye. This game has a fun way to show a zombie outbreak but also has some sick momments. they also throw in refrences (Jaba the Huggles ... Huggles. Aliens invading a school. Weird Princible .. it goes on and on o-O) and i loved it it was really fun no matter what people say.

Cons-
-Busy work (It made you go though the levels over and over to get junk for yur weapons.)
-Zombie Controled Cam. (Most of the time i couldent shoot at all because of the fact that the cam was moving everywhere and to add to that when i get the Cam to a point i like they throw in one of the monster fests that makes it go up and overlook me.)
-One-Player game. (This game i will not lie is much better with friends ((Like Left 4 Dead)))
-Multiplayer Game (In a Multiplayer game you NEED to go though the levels over and over again so that you dont end up fighting a bunch of wheelers with nothing but your melee weapon)
-Pros
-Single player (You dont need to go back as offten as multiplayer
-Multiplayer (Dont need to go back ... god i think im repeating myself O-o The weird thing abount Muiliplayer and Single player is that you really dont need to do as much as the other with multiplayer at first you need to go back as offten as you can but after a while you dont because you have +4 Dam but with single player you dont have to go back as offten at the beginning but later in the game you need to a LOT!.)
-Creative game. (Most of the time during the game was thinking "What are thoswe crazy kids going to do now?" and "OMG!!! what monster is this!?!?!?!" It has fun times where you even notice some of the movies the monsters you encounter came from and even when you see them your just :O.)
There is a bunch more that i want to say but i got to keep this under 200 chars so ill give this a rocking 9 and have fun playing it yourselfs!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

terrible

posted by Billyv42 (CORVALLIS, OR) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is just funny cause of the various monsters...but it's terrible since all of the achievements are multiplayer or rediculous. Even turning on the cheat to see Jennifers bust get way larger causes the achievements not be attainable...but also if u turn on the cheats like 'no more monsters' you can't even proceed in the game. wow...nice going there developers...make a cheat that doesn't let you play the game...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Give it a chance

posted by dethklok23 (GENOA, IL) Jun 14, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Ok to start this game is hilarious.If you can get the hang of the controls this game is a blast.Ya the achievements are extremly hard to get but are we afraid of a challenge.If you like zombies ate my neighbors play this game.If you listen to reviews you will miss out on alot of awsome games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

booorrrring

posted by Shakka7 (SANTA ANA, CA) Jun 13, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

This game is all over the place! the story line is very boring and the controlling is not that great. you pretty much go around swinging at zombies, gets really boring , really fast. anyways this might be fun for little kids but i wouldnt recommend this to the adult gamer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not For The Older Crowd

posted by Flightmed (PORTLAND, TN) Jun 19, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Normally I am a fan of this genre of games but I must admit this one left me scratching my head in confusion. The tutorial level was not very efficient at relaying the controls which feel clunky to me and the characters/storyline are just plain weak. It seems to me that the designers seem to be trying to capture a “camp” feeling along the lines of Destroy All Humans! but fail to even come close. Maybe this game will appeal to the early to mid teen crowd but for us older gamers, it just doesn’t cut it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Monster Madness

posted by MrBlonde (ARLINGTON HEIGHTS, IL) Jun 16, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

this game is awesome. everybody says its so trashy. i bought the game after i rented it. its awesome. the weapons are awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Still trying to Figure out why they made this Game

posted by VideoGames (RAMONA, CA) Jun 19, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

3 out of 11 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

everything about this Game is Extremely Trashy like the Way you suppose to use your weapons the Zombies don't ever Die and they come out you non-stop the Online Play is Boring the way you move is really irritating and you can barely Drive Vehicles is this Game i don't see why they decided to make a Trashy Game like this i think i speak for all XBOX Lovers when i say This is a Game we could of lived without

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

b-a-d

posted by mcgowan7 (CHARLOTTE, NC) Jun 23, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Horrible game. Sent it back the first day.
So lame and boring.
Could hardly see the characters on the screen.
I'd rather play zombies ate my neighbors from the SNES

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

funnest game ever

posted by recon4 (ARNOLD, MD) Jun 15, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

3 out of 15 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Some people say its boring but i love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! it is as fun as heck you get to kill! zombies cooperative versus and much more i highly recomend it play and rent the game you will love it to death!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

just awful

posted by Fausett (CHICO, CA) Apr 19, 2011

Member since Aug 2006

First I got to give a tiny credit to the ctuscenes. Other then that this looks like a video game that came out of a really bad horror move. Oh boy, zombies. Yeah, like who would've know that would come in a bad horror game like this. It's not really considered a horror game. More like a rip off of a horror movie (A bad horror movie) Into a video game (A bad video game) And also the voice acting is not great at all to. So other then the cut-scenes, which are alright I guess, i give this a 2 out of 10. Do not get this game. Why? Because I just got this game today, and I wanna take it back already. Dont get this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

game stinks.

posted by sarahjanll (BETHLEHEM, PA) Oct 7, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

awful game. graphics are terrible. gaming views are awful and confusing. the game itself is just plain dumb and confusing. don't even waste your time bothering to click on rent.. it is just a waste of time.. you'd be better off renting something mediocre you've played before because this game is such a joke. it just plain stinks. played it for literally 2 minutes, before turning it off, it was so bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible

posted by sbmrnr4now (HONOLULU, HI) Jan 1, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

Just Terrible

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse