Rent Monster Lab for PS2
view large frontback

Monster Lab

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS, Wii
GF Rating
6.1

89 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

Monster Lab

posted by frog4pi (AMARILLO, TX) Dec 21, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When I selected this game for my son...I did not have any idea what it was about...Monster Lab was a complete score for him...he LOVES this game..I can't wiat for it to go on sale..Monster Lab completely blows his mind that there are that many game combinations.

YAY!!! Gamefly...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

What a kids' game should be. For adults more iffy

posted by weregamer (SUNNYVALE, CA) Jul 22, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Taken for its intended market, this is a potentially great kids' game. Fun plot, zany characters, lots to do. They will likely learn a little bit along the way, but it's not heavy-handedly "educational".

For an adult looking for a "building" game, the repetitive mini-games get old really fast and the ability to build your own parts does not open up very fast. I'd recommend Banjo-Kazooie: uts and Bolts (yes, the silly content filter won't let me type the name of that game!) as a dozen times better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Noooooooooo! Run away!

posted by ShinKazuya (SUGAR HILL, GA) Jan 2, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 12 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

This is one of the worst games ever released on the PS2. Horrible graphics, crummy storyline, sad controls. Its really bad, SERIOUSLY. Its pretty much "create your own pokemon", just a lot worse than you'd think. Its games like this that makes it obvious they're pretty much trying to force you to buy a PS3 and give up on PS2 forever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Feels thrown together..... maybe its for kids???

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) Feb 19, 2011

Member since May 2010

Minigames, minigames, minigames, maybe it IS for a kid, but adults will find it shallow, restrictive, and random. This game is so mixed-up it is like it embodies the very traits of the monsters it is based on! It doesn't take itself too seriously, thankfully! Kids will no doubt, more likely than not, find it fun, but THIS is not high enough standard for a full time gamer, like me! Thank you, Gamefly! I don't have to make a blind purchase of this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

eh it's ok

posted by rpgdude (CHAPARRAL, NM) Apr 11, 2010

Member since Sep 2005

Monster Lab is a game where you play the role of an apprentice mad scientist. You make parts in you lab and then combine them to make monsters. At first you can only make mechanical parts but through the course of the game you can make biological and arcane parts. The game is good to a point but I find all the mini games for making your parts to be kind of annoying and repetative. Although the mini games are annoying I do tolerate them because if you're really good at them then the quality of the part you make is higher. I'd recomend renting this game but probably not buy it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

ITS A FUN GAME

posted by crijam13 (SWEET HOME, OR) Aug 4, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

MONSTER LAB is fun game for people that like collect and create games. like how you have to play the little mini games to make the body parts.Also all the combinations you can use to make amesome body parts.Itis a really fun game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »