Rent Monster Lab for Wii
view large frontback

Monster Lab

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, DS
GF Rating
5.9

358 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Very Neat Game, So-So Execution

posted by MichaelO (PITTSBURGH, PA) Jul 27, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2010

Monster Lab is a unique sort of RPG in which you gather ingredients as loot from battles, use those ingredients to make parts (via Wii motion based minigames), and then assemble those parts into monsters. It's a refreshing change from the usual "leveling up" system, and is a very nice idea. Likewise, the combat system offers something unique. Each part has an element, its own hp, and 2 built-in moves that target specific parts on the enemy monster or even allow you to block, thereby damaging enemy parts. (It's a battle system a little bit reminiscent of the Front Mission games, but set up as a turn-based RPG.) The game has significant drawbacks, but it's definitely worth a rent.

Pros:
-Interesting alchemy-based leveling system
-Combat system that's simple but offers a good bit of strategy
-Pretty fun visually to see your parts put together into a monster. Offers a bit of artistry, almost like Spore.

Cons:
-Somewhat poor system of menus and displays. The information you need can be tedious and time-consuming (or even downright impossible) to access
-Too many loading screens and repetitive instruction screens. Sometimes you can spend more time loading and watching intros and info screens than you do actually doing things, especially when it comes to combat
-Story is painfully simple and pretty much nonexistent.
-Cutscenes have very poor sound quality and are not subtitled. I found it nearly impossible to hear any of the dialogue in the cutscenes
-A lot of things in the game get very repetitive. The game makers skimped way too much on variety. It was fun for the first couple of hours, but started to drag near the end.
-Some game objectives are vague or poorly explained. I had to consult a walkthrough a couple of times just to understand what I was supposed to be doing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game.

posted by Missing (ROCKLIN, CA) Jul 8, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

During my experience play Monster Lab i was throughly entertained. With over 100 million monster combinations you can create in surprisingly fun mini games, monster lab will keep you building and creating in a sea of endless fun. Monster lab can be very hard, but also very easy. Now i know people always compare games to Cod or battlefield 3, and i honestley do not think any games could be better then them. This is a very unique game, unlike any other i have other played. So stop comparing and give it a try, you will be surprised.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

dum

posted by poorflick (HENSLEY, AR) May 4, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

dum storyline bad replayibelity

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best with statagy guide heres a free one

posted by 999love (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Sep 17, 2011

Member since Oct 2006

google gamefaqs find the site & look up the faq's for this game so as to skip the whole guessing combonation thing. and in this game there is alot of forgivness so you won't get stuck in places you cant beat. and don't worry about losing if you do they will give you better parts. and there is always a random chance that things will just go your way realy fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not what I expected

posted by PunkGamer7 (EVERETT, WA) Jul 10, 2010

Member since Dec 2003

This game is sort of like a Yugi-Oh kind of game. It's not really my kind of taste and I kind of figured it to be better. I'm giving it a 4.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Shockingly Entertaining

posted by Krow722 (WISCONSIN DELLS, WI) Apr 26, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

I thought this game would be lame but, I was totally wrong. It's like a beginners edition of an RPG. You defeat monsters to find ingredients. You combine the ingredients (through 12 different mini-games) to create parts to build a more powerful monster. The number of ingredients you can collect seems almost endless, as does the parts that you can create with them. Don't expect a very robust storyline though.

I thought this would be a game that I sat down to play for a day and would send back. I played for 2 hours one night - then learned the next day that I was addicted to it. At the very least, you can rent the game...figure out where to buy it later. :)

The downside of it is that it is not a very long game. You're looking at maybe 15-20 hours. However, with the many possible combinations of items, you can replay it a few times, I'm sure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Monster Lab

posted by UndertakR (AUSTIN, TX) Feb 23, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

Well maybe I'm just tough on the game or didn't give it enough of a chance, but the overall play is sloppy and concept kinda weak. Maybe I'll wander back by accident and give it another chance but I wouldn't spend more than 8 dollars on this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Lame

posted by OnthaClock (KENNEWICK, WA) Oct 27, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

It's okay to a certain point, but it's very repetitive and once you get halfway through the game you can't complete any missions because you get attacked by monsters every minute. It wastes alot of time, I just got impatient and quit.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Weird

posted by Julzdenver (LITTLETON, CO) Jun 15, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

This reminded me a bit of my nephew's Scooby Doo game, but with monsters who fight each other in the Final Fantasy style. I didn't enjoy it much at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good for a kick back game.

posted by wicubbear8 (MADISON, WI) Jun 5, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

I have been waiting FOR EVER for this game in my Q and finaly got it and have to say was worth the wait. May even buy this one. Really nothing bad with this game besides the mini games ya need to do to make monster parts. That gets old fast but but still not enough to make me not wanna play. Love the the way the game looks too. All in all really enjoying this game, mostly play it late at night when i dont really have to think and just want a good time. Its really kewl how you can make body parts fly off in battle so you can really see if your doing damage or not. Nothing better then chewing a arm off the bad guy lol.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Monster Trash

posted by Deltree (NEW BRIGHTON, PA) Apr 16, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

Somewhere a game designer is weeping soft tears into their pillow. This game starts with a great concept, mix and match body parts to create a unique monster, then go fight other monsters. It even uses a rock, paper, scissors system on body parts to add depth to the simple system. Then, apparently, a bunch of marketing execs got their hands on it and said, "Mini-games! kids love mini-games!". After the first few parts I created in the lab I stopped just to avoid playing the mini-games. Then there's the mission structure, "Go do this, get me a sandwich, pick up my dry cleaning..." it's despicable. This should've been a slam dunk, but Eidos crammed in too many low quality mechanics and story points to still have this game be any fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

monster lab is OK

posted by narutopwns (DUNEDIN, FL) Dec 24, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

i think that monster lab is an ok game and good idea but it wasnt executed correctly.also the game is very easy i like a challenge dosn't everybody

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Entertaining but repetitive .

posted by CecilX (PETERSBURG, VA) Dec 15, 2008

Member since May 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Very good concept. Build a monster. Fight said monster. Continue on to make a better monster and fight tougher monsters. There are little minigame that you do to find parts and create monster parts. While the mini games are fun they do get very repetitive very quick. I played it for about 4 hours and I've had my fill of it. There might be more later in the game, but I didn't feel compelled to find out. For a 6-11 year old this game might work very well. However, for me it didn't go the distance. Fun, but too much rinse, wash, repeat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A "Lab" to be tested before buying

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Nov 29, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The monsters have come alive in a cross between a simplified Final Fantasy and Frankenstein.
Monster Lab at heart is just a RTS game where you create a monster and unleash it onto the world to fight other monsters (either controlled by the AI or another player).
When you win, you get parts that you can place together to make your monster stronger, faster, and more resistant to damage. Or you can creature a brand new monster
How do you do make those parts? By playing mini games that will have you hammering nails, smashing robots or guiding a wheel through an obstacle course. They're short, but fun.
There's some sort of story about other mad scientists out to take over the world and you're out to stop them. And there are a many objectives for you to take on.
But they're just excuses to get you into the battles, which play out like a simplified RTS; you attack, the other monster attacks, then you attack again and the monster attacks again, and so on.
The battle rages on until one of you loses all health in your monster's chest and loses the battle.
Be prepared to fight a lot; random encounters occur very frequently; too frequently for my tastes.
But there's some joy in seeing your foe fly into many pieces when you deliver the final blow. And there's a huge selection of parts for you to make and attacks for you to discover in Monster Lab.
But, those who are not fans of the "Take your turn by selecting an attack" sort of game like Final Fantasy will want to avoid this one.
Still, I say rent Monster Lab, give it a test drive, and see if you like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Ehh..

posted by PizzaFace (SOQUEL, CA) Nov 26, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The game is fun for a few hours but then you realize wow this game is one of the most repetitive games ever. Sure the are some different mini games but they all suck and to make monster parts you have to play the same boring mini game over and over again. But the battling is kinda fun, like when you blow off your opponents head with a shotgun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Truly lived up to my expectations

posted by wgamefreak (SAN DIEGO, CA) Nov 24, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I had worries about this game but I had fun doing quests going on item hunts and making awesome monsters. The battle system is actually pretty and the boss fights are actually challenging (Or at least the last 3 bosses). Also the item finding and making games are really fun. Has for Replay value you can stick around after you finish to try to make the best monster but you cant really get into that. Also some mini games are very hard, boring, and tedious. But even with these minor problems I loved this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sown Together with Customization, Style, and Fun!

posted by ThaSquare (ROSEVILLE, CA) Nov 24, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2007

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

In Monster Lab, you don the rubber gloves of an experimental mad man. You’ll be collecting and piecing together heaps of old junk in 22 different minigames to create arms, legs, heads, and bodies to maximize your creations’ physique. It is only by experimenting on several ingredients will you will find the right pair to whip together and failure is, rather frequently, an option. Once you’re done tinkering on your not so tentative drone, you’ll set it loose in the world, dictating its actions from the comfort of the mansion. You’ll send it off to fight other monsters, help desperate souls in need, and collect a few spare parts along the way.

There are dozens of ingredients to find, millions of possible monster combinations, an online battle mode, and quite a quirky storyline to follow with spot-on voice acting to boot. There are a few problems including it becoming far too easy near the end, the absence of random matches in the online mode, some overly difficult minigames, and the absence of a proper shop. So, does this concoction deserve new life on your Wii or should it be sent to the scrap yard?

Amidst the sheer joy of playing this game fall a few problems. What I found most saddening was that each maps’ monsters don’t evolve with you. It’s just too easy to play after beating the game. It pretty much defeats the purpose of refining your monster when you can kill foes with one blow. With the online mode, however, the game breathes new life. But that, too, is bothersome. Since you can only fight people you’ve traded friend codes with, you’re creations will be pretty much left out in the cold as random matches are out of the question.

Even still, the game is a lot of fun. There’s well over 20 hours of play here and even more if you can find a buddy or two to go head to head with online.If you’re hungry for a game that brings both customization and style to your Wii, be sure carve a place out of your Wii library for Monster Lab!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

One of those "could have beens"

posted by ciordia9 (CHARLOTTE, NC) Nov 24, 2008

Member since May 2004

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game has a lot of potential but it really runs you down in the repetition.

Look, I'm a big fan of customizing things and sending them into the wild. What I can't stand is my arm feeling broken after a few hours of this. The graphics are about 4-5 years dated, very large, and a volume that can't stay consistent with cutscenes (turn it up, turn it down, turn it up). The exercises you have to go through to complete tasks to get parts is simple enough but the variance is so low and the actions again repeat.

So are the battles. The first handful are engaging but then it's all the same. Test for weaknesses, attack weaknesses, rinse repeat x1000 and there you have it.

Grab it for a quick weekend of trial play and throw it back. I can't see a reason to even venture towards finishing this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game for many ages!

posted by bobafett12 (STAUNTON, VA) Nov 24, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

I was a bit skeptical of this game when I first got it, but am enjoying it immensely. It's got a ton of variety while remaining quite easy to pick up and play for someone of all ages. In it, you create monsters to go fight other monsters. It sounds a bit repetitive, but the minigames that let you create brand new monster parts are pretty fun and challenging. Then, the reward comes with making your own new monster with your parts! It's a very enjoyable game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great to the end

posted by steven45 (SPOKANE VALLEY, WA) Nov 21, 2008

Member since May 2005

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

this game was really fun until i beat the game, without any quests it has a low replay ability, but besides that it is awesome, i hope you at least give it a try

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »