Rent Monster Jam for Wii
view large frontback

Monster Jam

Not Rentable
Also on:Xbox 360, DS, PS2
GF Rating
5.6

474 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

ACTUALLY DARN GOOD

posted by REPS911 (SAN DIMAS, CA) Dec 4, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I WAS SURPRISED THAT I HAD THIS MUCH FUN WITH THIS GAME! GRAPHICS LOOKS NICE, CONTROLS ARE GREAT AND GAMEPLY IS FUN. A REAL SHOCK TO ME CONSIDERING ALL THE OTHER MONSTER TRUCK GAMES ON THE WII RANGE FROM BAD-HORRIBLE. WAY TO GO ACTIVISION!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Update Required To Play

posted by deekim (HOUSTON, TX) Feb 7, 2008

Member since May 2007

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Pros:
Nice graphics at 480. Easy to play, hard to master. Solid title. Some variety.

Cons:
Has a bit of an over-steer; feels like it takes a sec or two to register your turns. This was a problem for me because the races go pretty fast so when you are turning it's not instantaneous. Again this was my problem.

When I first borrowed this game I found that the controls were just horrible. It was unresponsive, riddled with both under-steer and over-steer. It was lagging as well. Then I was told to download the latest update. After that the controls were so much better, the difference was night and day. So, those of you who are having problems with unresponsive controls and lag download the latest update.

Though the game was solid and a lot of effort went into it, I just could not play for long because of the over-steer and taking a sec or two to register my turns that was still there after the update. It's the strangest thing because every other problem went away, except that.

I thanked my friend and happily returned the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not jamming at all

posted by youngpoe79 (WESTMINSTER, CO) Dec 27, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

So I thought this game would be decent but got nothing out of it. Ran a few races and did the stunt show and that was enough for me. I found the steering to be unresponsive and tough to get a hold of. Visually this game was OK. I did not try it in Multi player mode but after doing a few rounds solo I was all set with playing it anymore.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Steering not good

posted by krsheets (DECATUR, IN) Apr 28, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

I liked the graphics of the came and the concept; however, the response to my wii remote was too sensitive and I kept ending up off course. This issue made the game not fun to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

OK game if your bored with your other BETTER ones

posted by SwampGator (YULEE, FL) Jul 8, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

I am really into racing games right now and I thought this one would be fun because you are able to drive a Monster Truck especially the one of Kill Devil Hills fame. Controls were awful. Steering was not responsive AT ALL. It made it extremely difficult to race. However on the flip-side the Freestyle events were really fun and time consuming. Wheelies,donuts,air,etc... was a blast and kept me and my 4 year old nephew entertained. Wish the racing was better. I recommend this game to a child or someone who maybe burnt out on serious games and just wants to relax and play an mindless game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Worst Monster Jam Game

posted by WarVet (HARRISON, MI) May 12, 2010

Member since May 2010

Ridiculous, you can't run over anything with the least amount of speed because you will tip over easily. The racing courses are extremely difficult to steer and seems like all the other trucks have nitrous or something!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Difficult

posted by ChrisinWBG (WOODBRIDGE, VA) Dec 12, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

This game has difficult controls. The racing is a cross between how much stuff you can damage by how well you do in the race. OF course if you do not get 3d, you do not advance if you do not destroy enough, you will not advance to higher trucks. The steering on the lower end is ridiculous. It is like a 5 yr old driving. The freestyle mode was fun but as for racing, do notget this gamee.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Monster Jam

posted by jcballer1 (EPHRATA, WA) Jul 24, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

This game is ok.
The steering for this game could be better because it's really sensitive,
it's hard to go off jumps and still stay on track when you're racing.
Other than that, the game is fun, i like how its easy to get new trucks when your doing free style on championship mode.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Should've been better...big letdown

posted by Drknight (BOWIE, MD) Feb 2, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

This game has cool Monster Trucks and decent graphics but terrible game play. My boys, 5 yrs & 3yrs old, who are avid Monster Truck fans gave up after the second day. The trucks were hard to control and there was low incentive to unlock new tracks. I even had difficulty controlling the vehicles.....this game was a big let down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

ok

posted by Unicorn13 (Moorcroft, WY) Jan 27, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

It took me a bit to figure out how to get the trucks to drive, I still hit the walls. But the graphics are good. It did bother me when the screen kept changing scenes when I did crash into a wall. Made it hard to keep driving.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

ok but not quite the cigar

posted by stewy1 (ROCK SPRINGS, WY) Jan 25, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

Game had good graphics and trucks seemed realistic. But the stearing felt out of wack. Also the stadiums were quite small all and all the game was probably not a good rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

cool if your are a racer

posted by dog0388 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Apr 24, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

First, the over steer was realty hard to deal with. but if you play it alot ,you can win. I thought the game was realty good. it has alot to do . not just one thing. I would consider buying the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

These "Monsters" aren't very exciting

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Mar 19, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

Monster Jam isn't a preserve that monsters enjoy or a group of monsters that play heavy metal.
No, this game is about Monster Truck Racing.
This is the first game in a while where I'm encouraged to drive through objects, run over cars and destroy small structures. At first, it was fun to see things get demolished and the increase in boost helps.
The controls are okay (remember, Monster Trucks aren't supposed to turn on a dime.) It wasn't long before I got used to making turns in these trucks.
But the graphics and presentation are this game's biggest falters. The scroll down menus are lacking pizazz, as well as the end game place listing. After a few races, smashing things got dull because there were a small number of objects to destroy, they look only okay, and they all fell apart the same way.
To make matters worse, the game hits me with many, many loading screens despite said mediocre graphics.
The game has some stadium events, but I didn't like any of those. Freestyle was a miss because the average graphics. The other events were too short for me to really enjoy.
Monster Jam is an average racer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not that good of a game

posted by Ashade75 (DAYTON, OH) Feb 1, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

to tell you the truth i didn't like the game it has great graphics but the controls are off it is really hard to turn

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

uggghhhh

posted by johnny2373 (LEBANON, NJ) Jan 23, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

The game is just painful to play. I had such high hopes, was let down. I played this game for about 25 minutes and that was 24 minutes to much. The graphics are just ok, the game play is rediculous, controls are cheesy, pressing the 2 button for gas and the 1 button for brakes and reverse should have used twisting for throttle and reverse. buttons are way too sensitive all or nothing mentality. Dont waste your time on this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I want to like this game

posted by DaVinci95 (SUWANEE, GA) Jan 21, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

My 6 year old son is a big Monster Jam fan, and I enjoy it too. So I rented this game with high hopes. And it's been somewhat fun, but I've got a few major gripes.

1. You have to play the single-player game to unlock most of the trucks and tracks. The main reason I got the game was to play it against my son, but we can only run 4 tracks unless I go through alone and unlock more.

2. The trucks are hard to control. Especially for a 6 year old. I started getting the hang of it after several races, but I still have trouble with oversteering. My son takes up to 15 minutes to finish a race.

3. The field of vision is too narrow. Every turn you take you're turning blind. This is bad enough on the road courses, but it makes running the arena races impossible unless you've memorize the track layout(which you never get to see a plan of).

They tried to spice up the arena events, which was a good idea. Running the events straight from the real-life Monster Jam set ups would get old quick. The racing gives you a lot of different track obstacles and configurations, but suffers from the vision problem. The freestyle gives you a much larger floor to run on with lots of stuff to smash, but if that's all there was the game wouldn't be worth buying.

The road races are the reason to get this game. They're probably all I would play once I get everything unlocked. There are varied terrain and settings, plenty of obstacles to overcome, and lots of stuff to smash (including the other trucks on the track). Even with the trouble he has steering, my son enjoys them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

huge monster jam truck fan DISAPOINTED!

posted by bopboo (CENTERVILLE, UT) Jan 15, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

coming from a big-time monster truck fan, this game gets a D+ -- It's not the worst game i've ever played, however, this is one of the most frustrating games to learn to play. I finally gave up after searching the net for some hints. The designers could have done so much with the Wii controller but didn't take advantage of it's features. The controls are basic stop/go and steer left right with tilting.

There's no built-in tutorial or test track to give clear instructions.

Go rent super mario galaxy- it's the coolest thing since sliced bread.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Good Rent

posted by Starbuck (SAN LUIS OBISPO, CA) Dec 8, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

This game was fun for about an hour, the graphics weren't anything to celebrate, gameplay was a little loose, and the camera got in the way. Being able to drive around and smash things is this games only saving grace.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »