Rent Monster Jam for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Monster Jam

Not Rentable
Also on:DS, Wii, PS2
GF Rating
4.8

1569 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

Should have been better,..but

posted by MJMBulldog (CHINO HILLS, CA) Dec 5, 2007

Member since May 2006

20 out of 22 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

I have a 7 & 8 year old, and they love this game. I played it a little while and noticed the lack of depth, same tonality of background sound, middle of the road graphics, and lack of interesting gameplay. But... my kids love it and are still playing it when I'd rather be returning it. I'm waiting for this game to drop in price by $15 bucks then I'll get it for them. Even though it's an arcade style of gameplay, doesn't mean it shouldn't liven it up with some HD via Xbox360 standards of gameplay. I'd rather see more in-depth race scenarios, build your own truck, tweak your truck, race series championships, crunching sounds when you crush cars and trucks and things, etc.. But, oh well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

I would rather...........

posted by CAZdiesel (Kalamazoo, MI) Dec 19, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you really want a Monster truck experience go rent Toca race simulator. If you really want to just be felonious and raise some heck go play need for speed most wanted. I would rather drive a rusty as heck and way underpowered chevette in the mountain passes of Tennessee, against some really angry truckers, instead of suffer this games graphics!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Could Be Better!!

posted by KJB2448 (VENICE, FL) Jan 15, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was fun.....kinda Graphics were ok, but the audio was terrible. Music sucked, All the trucks made that same aaaahhhh kinda of sound, and when you hit the turbo boost it goes to eeeehhhh. The normal difficulty setting was super easy to beat, but the pro setting was almost impossible. I was wide open with turbo boost going, and he was just slowly driving away. i played for about 6-7 hours and got around 500 gamerscore points so cant complain too much. So if ya like Monster Jam, and 500 easy gamerscore points, get this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

WASTE OF TIME

posted by rickjames4 (CONWAY, SC) Jun 15, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

ok for starters this game was weak. the graphics were ok. driving sucks an so does the A.I. all they do is ram you.. you can hit a water tower an it doesnt mess yur driving up but hit a road sign an you are flipping spinning around. dont understand it . dont waste your gamefly time for this game.. it was a waste of the week to receive it an to send it back for another game.. you always start at the pack of the pack. this game just sucks...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Its good for what it is

posted by GamerMoney (NEW YORK, NY) Nov 28, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

23 out of 30 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

This game is no halo, no pgr, not even Dirt. It is a very simple and in no way deep game. That being said, it is awesome. All it is is monster truck racing, arcade style. it is NOT a simulation in any way. But boy is it fun. Its challenging, the graphics are pretty good and they're about 20 real trucks. I got this game a week ago and have been averaging about 4 hours a night on it and still havent beaten it. There is a ton that can be improved, but for what it is, a $50 game, it is definitely worth the rent. Will I be done with this game in about another week and never play it again, probably, but who cares. It was great fun while I played it and I enjoyed every minute of it. The camera, sounds, and announcer, are all terrible. But regardless, this game is fun and darn addicting. Rent it and don't buy it, you wont be sorry

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by gamerguy42 (LEECHBURG, PA) Dec 25, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game is waste of time and money. the handling sux as well as the game play. I'm sorry i ever rented it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not good, not next gen

posted by ZackyCakes (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Dec 3, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2002

12 out of 18 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I'd say that I was disappointed when I played this game, but I didn't expect it to be good. Shallow game play, sub-par graphics.. even the sound is blah. Maybe I was still disappointed!

It's got some "real" monster trucks in it, Grave Digger, Maximum Destruction, Monster Mutt, Blue Thunder, Bounty Hunter and so on. I hope that fans of monster truck-ing aren't as dumb as the stereotype would lead us to believe. It looks like the suits behind this game think so. Can't recommend this one unless you really love smashing cars and driving in circles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Pretty Weak

posted by BruceF (BENTONVILLE, AR) Jun 28, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Find this one in the markdown bin at a store near you very soon. This game really isn't much fun and suffers from the same problems as most "extreme" racing games. Freestyle competition is much more difficult than the racing portions of the game. So much more difficult that you will find yourself dropping this one back in the mail to gamefly sooner rather than later since your in game progress ends when you can't get past one of your freestyle competitions.

I liked the arcadey racing portions quite a bit. That part of the game was the most fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WOW thos game is bad!

posted by DeathSurge (LAKELAND, FL) Feb 13, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Wow Gamefly why would you even let me rent this four letter word!? No wonder none of my web sites like IGN reviewed this horrible game. I beg anyone who likes monster trucks like I do does not rent this because your really gona be mad as four letter word.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Monster Jam

posted by mdog1764 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Dec 5, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game has it's moments but wears thin within a short time. Not exactly what I was thinking it would be. No build up, no create mode.... Would be great for a younger child 5 to 10 where they could just go bang around on some of the different tracks. Beware, however, an adult may have to help unlock the various tracks and trucks outside of the first few.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

dissapointing

posted by sicfxtx (BURLESON, TX) Nov 26, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

i was very dissapointed with this game's execution. the gameplay is dreadful, the sound is all the same tone, and the way the trucks drive is very unrealistic. the events all feel the same, all the stadium races are alike, all the outdoor races seem the same, and the freestyles seem like they are at the same venue.

i rate it a 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HORRIBLE!!!

posted by brycemoose (WATERBURY, VT) Jun 22, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is bad. I got 3rd in every event and I still didn't make it to the world finals like the game says. The jumping is unrealistic I mean no monster truck jumps over a car in the air sideways and lands on their roof and keeps going.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Monster bad

posted by smelly360 (SAINT CHARLES, MO) Apr 20, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Probably one of the worst games out there, unless you are a die hard fan. Cant steer right, no control. played for 5 min and put back in the mailbox. The freestyle wasnt even good!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

It's Boring

posted by Shabutie33 (CHARLEROI, PA) Jan 31, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

5 minutes of fun can perfectly describe this game.

Here's how my game experience happened:
I started the game up took a couple minutes to figure out the controls thought oh cool monster trucks smashed some things quit.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Everything is lame.

posted by JoeVegas (LAS VEGAS, NV) Mar 20, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Trucks have no realism to the movements, they should have learned a thing or two from "DIRT", races are not exciting, graphics are not good, engines sound like a lawnmower running at the same constant rpm, the whole experience is lame.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Ok

posted by BTS128 (PFAFFTOWN, NC) Nov 18, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

This game was a bit over my expectations, i was thinking it would some stupid weapons like most monster truck games. but it instead had a "crush' meter. i was really hoping for a game similar to the Monster Truck Madness style, on computer. Which is realistic. They could make a TON of money off of a very realistic monster truck game, but here's my thought of the game.
Graphics-Good, lots of detial on the monster truck, and some on the enviroment.
Trucks-Very good,
Physics- Ok, had some flaws like being able to do a backflip and a barrel roll, which is not realistic
Speach-Bad, The announcer was horrible. i forgot his name, usually he's great, but not in games. It sounded horrible w/o croud reaction and he was trying to "hype".
Overall- This game was good. Fun to play. addicting.
Sounds-ok, monster truck engines sortive sounded like that, the croud was horrible with sound.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awsome !!

posted by RaiderMan1 (PALMDALE, CA) Nov 15, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

8 out of 21 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

This game is really good, i rented it and I can't turn my xbox off. It is a 10 because it was really FREKIN AWSOME.
:great graphics
:great career mode
:great story

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

horrible

posted by killersrt (APOLLO BEACH, FL) Nov 20, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

i expected something like this on n64 but not 360. Arcade style racing game that gets really boring really fast. I returned it the day after i got it. Would have been cool to create your own truck or maybe involve some real world physics, but this game fails in that field.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Great for young kids!!!!

posted by SaucyDE (TRINITY, NC) Jul 9, 2008

Member since May 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

My 5 year old loved it!!!!!! It was great for father-son game time. Nothing like the smile on a kids face when both of you are tearing up a Monster Jam freestyle course together.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING

posted by venom71 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Nov 19, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

4 out of 18 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

this game is so amazing i was racing and i ran over a traffic cone and i flipped over. also it was imported from the ps2 which makes it even more amazing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

OMG!!!!

posted by lilmanny13 (DOUGLASVILLE, GA) Nov 23, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 10 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME SUCKS REAL BAD!!!! THE GRAPHICS ARE BAD TOO IM SORRY BUT I HATED IT. A LOT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Monster Jam

posted by travelboy1 (BRANDAMORE, PA) May 6, 2011

Member since Sep 2008

It was to hard for me to play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

SUCKISH GAME

posted by pcdude18 (Sarah Ann, WV) Mar 14, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

DONT BOTHER GETTING THIS GAME... ITS SO STUPID... THE CONTROLS ARE SO LAME AND THE STEERING PUT IT THIS WAY IF U RACE TO HARD AND HIT SOMETHING U COULD SPIN OUT OF CONTROL OR FLIP... ITS THAT STUPID THATS WHY I HAVE GAVE THE GAME A 2. THERES ALSO ALOT OF GLITCHES IN THIS GAME AS WELL I WENT RIGHT THRU THE BRIDGE AND GOT STUCK THERE WHILE ALOT OF TRUCKS WENT OVER ME. SO IN OTHER WORDS DONT BOTHER GETTING THIS GAME... ITS A WASTE OF TIME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

GAME SUCKS PERIOD!!!

posted by matthew13 (CHESWICK, PA) Mar 7, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

I'VE BEEN TO A MONSTER TRUCK SHOW AND THAT WAS AWESOME BUT THAT WAS WHEN I WAS SEVEN YRS. OLD. NOW I AM 28 YRS. OLD SO I KNOW THEY ARE AWESOME AND ALL BUT THIS GAME SUCKS BIG TIME ALRIGHT. I BET THE OTHER ONE SUCKS TO SO PLEASE DON'T PICK MY GAMES FOR ME ANYMORE OKAY.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

For fans of monster trucks only

posted by futrstyl (LOMBARD, IL) Aug 25, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

Monster Jam will appeal to monster truck fans and probably not anyone else. It feels like the controls were designed for speed boat racing and then they put monster trucks in the game instead. The circuit races and freestyles are pretty fun, but stadium races are frustrating due to slippery controls. You unlock more trucks with points which you acquire while destroying items throughout your events. To start out, there are 3 regions open with 1 race and 1 freestyle event unlocked. To unlock more events, you must complete the open events. After completing the 3 region tours, the world championship tour will unlock. Music is an unforgettable mix of hard rock and metal. The trucks are based on real life monster trucks (one even has floppy ears and a tail). Basically, you drive around and smash into things. If you're not a monster truck fan (like me), this game probably isn't for you. If you are interested in fun racing and smashing without monster trucks, take a look at Burnout Paradise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse