Rent Monster Jam: Urban Assault for Wii
view large frontback

Monster Jam: Urban Assault

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS, PS2, PSP Games
GF Rating
6.9

328 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

Monster Jam is awesome...

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Feb 4, 2009

Member since May 2003

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Monster Jam, is by far the best monster truck game for the Nintendo Wii. The controls are similar to Mario Kart Wii. You use the Wii Remote with the optional ability to use the Nunchuck. The Wii remote, alone, controls the steering and pivoting the the remote, back an forth, will align the truck while air borne. If you use the Nunchuck you wont have to move any of the controllers to preform any action; the Nunchuck controls the steering and the axis angle of which way the truck is aligned while in the air.

In Monster Jam: Urban Assault, there is Several different type of modes to play in. The World Circuit, is basically your campaign mode. You select from a variety of Monster Trucks, that all have different abilities, some accelerate quickly, handle better, have superior air time, and some trucks can take more damage. Once selected a Monster Truck, the campaign begins. You compete in events, that have you doing stunts and also seeing how much eye catching destruction you can preform, earning you points. The points determine you advancing. There is also a Racing mode that sets you in a race against 6 other Monster trucks in a urban area, you will have to test your handling skills on trying to push the others out of the way, to win. The Freestyle allows you to pick a arena to do stunts at, where you have to preform sic stunts and tricks to get more points.

As you top your high score, finishing first in events, you get unlockable content. There is ton of Monster trucks, mini games, arenas, and also small movies of monster trucks to unlock.

The graphics in this game are great. There is structural damage, so you know you didn't make a good landing, when a part of your truck flies off. The truck also gets covered in mud while taking a roll on the ground.

The multiplayer has the same great gameplay, with up to 4 players, a freestyle game, that turns into a destruction derby, is great fun.

Once you get use to the controls, you will not want to turn Monster Jam off.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Neat Game

posted by brandnsmom (PENROSE, CO) Nov 25, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Both my husband and kids enjoyed this one I think the reason my husband liked it so much is cause he got to destroy things and earn points. Neat game we will be looking to buy this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

monster jam

posted by broadwaystevie (Lincoln, IL) Apr 30, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

the game was reasonable, what is not too kine is how i purchased the game within the last month there is no way to keep records of purchases and payments for games. just saying should have paid monthly balance off with purchased then when payment came in wasnt added to account under payment from previous week. is technology that weak or is it the site and affilites. games just too slow in mail to wait around for rental affermation

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

monster jam is car crushing awesome

posted by trex6504 (HAZLE TOWNSHIP, PA) Mar 15, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

i had just received monster jam urban assault in the mail yesterday. I think this game is awesome, it has got all my favorite trucks including Grave Digger and Monster Mutt. I love the fact you could play in races and freestyle events also mini games such as jump the fartherest and maxim destruction. the graphics and sounds in this game make you feel like you are actually at a monster jam event. I would highly recommend this game as a purchase for all monster jam fans and racing game fans who are looking for a fun game with lots of destruction.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

pretty good

posted by wlmaul (LANCASTER, PA) Jun 10, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

This is a pretty good game but I wouldn't pay a lot of money for it. It is challenging and the controls aren'bad but it can be a little frustrating at timrs

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

bad game

posted by ctan1625 (BURLINGTON, OK) Feb 28, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

was looking forward to play this game but when i got it i played it for about 20 mins and the same thing over and over sent it right back don't rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

My 6 year old LOVES this game!!!!!

posted by Montanagir (HAVRE, MT) Aug 6, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

I have to admit that I enjoy playing it too! It's fun to smash up stuff with the monster trucks and exciting to "open" another truck when you get enough points.

Definitely worth renting...we ended up buying it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Mini games are fun, but not much else.

posted by WiiView (CONROE, TX) Jun 19, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

The game play is limited to racing and a few mini games. The mini games are fun for a while. You can unlock more tracks and trucks after winning races, but when racing, the trucks are very hard to handle at high speeds. I end up crashing into things more than racing. One wheel usually ends up breaking off which makes the handling almost useless.

Normally I like destructive games where you get to drive around freely destroying everything in your path. However, this game is a little simple and doesn't provide enough challenge or real-life effects to make it interesting enough to keep.

The trucks you start off with and the additional trucks seem to have no advantage to them other than their body paint.

I'm sure gamers with better driving skills will be able to progress further, but for the average player, it is a daunting task.

The graphics are OK. The sound effects get repeated quite often which after a while gets annoying.

All-in-all, it's a fun game to rent, but I wouldn't want to keep it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not that good

posted by JDigitty (BLYTHE, CA) Mar 29, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

Not that good at all. The steering is so sensitive yet lacks traction it is impossible to drive straight. The camera view bounces around so much you don't know if your in forward or reverse half the time. The graphics look like GBA.

My two-year-old son enjoyed it, but he also enjoys picking his nose :|'

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Monster Smash

posted by GHBBsDAD (SHERMAN, IL) Feb 3, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

This is why I like to rent before buying. The kids loved this game and wanted to keep it. They enjoyed the different types of monster trucks and skills used during the game. I played it with them and found myself enjoying as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Weekend Rental.

posted by VegasRiv (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jan 28, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

This game is fun at first but the replay value just isn't there to warrant a purchase unless you are a die hard fan of monster trucks.
The game looks nice, not a lot of lag even at top speeds with other trucks at your side.

The racing part is super easy on normal mode, but quite difficult on pro as the opponents are basically on a rail, they don't mess up and they boost the entire race.

It feels like I've driven these tracks though they remind me of the game flatout. Also reminding me of flatout is the monster jump part of this game where the object is to destroy a lot of stuff on your way down the ramp to a huge jump where, you fly though the air toward what looks like a giant skee-ball target. Novel at first, but boring fast.

Long story short, play till you unlock the trucks then return.

P.S. The very last truck can only be unlocked by playing on multiplayer with a full grid,
I.E. You need to have 4 wiimotes and use them at once in a multiplayer game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Monster Gyp: Arena Insult.

posted by cephjedi (POINT OF ROCKS, MD) Jan 22, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

Being a fan of the `90s PC game Monster Truck Madness, I had high hopes for this game. Unfortunately those hopes were characteristically dashed by disappointing design and gameplay. As the title insinuates, the game's premise revolves around unleashing the chaos of gigantic, powerful 4x4 vehicles rampaging through unwitting city environments... Oh, wait a second, I'm sorry, it actually has nothing to do with that.

Instead, there are but two elements in the gameplay- Arena racing and a spectacle match. In the spectacle match, you drive around an arena populated by numerous jumps and obstacles wrecking everything and anything you can. Points are awarded for chaining together stunts and tricks, which are easy to do just by wagging the Wiimote randomly. Once you've gotten accustomed to the controls, it's not difficult to beat your competitor. The gameplay is amusing, but driving around and smashing things quickly succumbs to mediocrity, quicker still because of the INANE repetitiveness of the commentator.

Sadly, the arena spectacle is great when compared to the racing matches, where you are pitted against a computer opponent on tracks suited more for motocross bikes than 6 ton trucks. These tracks, also encased in the cramped arena setting, snake through inconceivable hairpins and switchbacks while simultaneously forcing you over jumps and through piles of vehicles. Thing is, all the trucks available handle like a bloated cow, yet they bounce wildly off jumps and obstacles like super balls. Just navigating the tracks is an exercise in exasperation, but trying to beat your physics-enhanced AI opponent is frustrating enough to stick the disc right back in the envelope and send it back to GameFly. You will find the only strategy that works is to ignore the track and make a beeline for the finish line. Excite truck, one of the first titles for the Wii is 10 times what this game just tries to be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I'm not into this "Assault"

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Jan 16, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

For a game that's subtitled "Urban Assault", there's not much destruction going on in a city; your tracks are mostly inside arenas and on dirt roads lined with jumps and with things to smash into.
Smashing into objects and demolishing cars is the best part of Monster Jam: Urban Assault. There's always some joy in seeing massive destruction - in this case major damage done by monster trucks.
But the game has to involve racing, and monster trucks aren't known for their handling - unless you're the AI in this game. In that case, handling's no problem.
The controls don't feel right to me; making a simple turn is a tedious task, and some tracks have tight paths that's hard to maneuver through. Many times my truck would bounce off the walls, and I lose valuable time straightening out.
Making things worse are the jumps on all tracks. For some reason after launching into a jump, your truck does a forward flip. Half the time I end up on my roof and have to wait for my truck to flip onto its wheels or for the game to reset my position.
Again, the AI doesn't have this problem; every jump they make is a perfect jump.
If all this game was about was smashing things, then I say get it. But the faulty controls and the terrible jumps make this a tough sell.
Unless you're a big time monster truck fan, you can skip Monster Jam: Urban Assault

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »