Rent Monster Jam: Path of Destruction for PS3
view large frontback

Monster Jam: Path of Destruction

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.6

662 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Monster Jam: Path of Destruction

posted by GrandpaX2 (MOUNTLAKE TERRACE, WA) Feb 24, 2011

Member since Feb 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Monster Jam Path of Destruction is an Arcade style game that is made for players to have FUN playing! So don’t over analyze it, just lighten up and have FUN Playing the game...
Animator22 Did a great job of describing the upgrades of this game from the previous Monster Jam games so be sure to check out his review.
You Start out in Minnesota then head to Indianapolis, Orlando, New Orleans, Houston, San Diego, Oakland and Las Vegas each one increasing (ever so slightly) the difficulty. There is also two regional competitions and the World Championship! The availability of new custom Trucks, ‘PRO’ Trucks, overlays and add-ons (Although not that elaborate) also increases as you go along So have fun opening up the trucks & Stadiums.
The ‘custom’ truck maker allows for nose pieces, Tails, Flags, ears, Decals and Colors for your non Pro trucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

very cool

posted by sawfather06 (ANZA, CA) Feb 27, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is very fun and exciting love to ride those wheelie's

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Almost what I wanted but Best in the series!

posted by Animator22 (SAN JOSE, CA) Dec 7, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2009

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

In terms of the Monster Jam games series this has to be the best thus far. I was expecting a little more in terms of the physics but its an arcade racer. I love how they added controls to move the rear wheels separate from the front so now you can drive a 4X4X4 but it takes a little time to get used to. The camera angle is hard to get used to since its lock so close to the truck. When you take a jump you can't really see where your going to land or land on. Like the last game the truck feels a little to big for the track. Its hard to pass other trucks without loosing control or getting stuck on some cars if you don't hit the jump right. Some of the jumps in freestyle are just the same size as your wheel base and its a little hard to line your jump.

But enough of the minor details. Overall this game is really fun. Huge line up of trucks plus an all new truck maker. Design your own creation and let it loose on the track. The one thing I can't get enough of is slap wheelies. You now have full control when your truck is in the air. Just tilt your wheels down after a jump and slam hard on the gas. The only bummer I had with freestyle is that 70% of the time my truck would land awkwardly on its side but this is a new feature. Instead of a roll over you have a chance to put it back on all 4's for a big save stunt but its also a little hard to get the controls right. You have to turn the wheels a certain way and use nitro. I really didn't like it because it eats up a lot of your freestyle time but there is bonus time which makes up for it.

A bigger bummer is no online multiplayer. This one I think would of been tons of fun to go head to head with someone in a freestyle or stadium racing event. Better yet have a full World Finals event in both categories. If you can't get the full # of players then the empty slots should be filled with AI trucks.

This is pure chaos and mayhem on the track. Tons of stuff to crush! A must try for any system if you a fan of Monster Jam!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

had potential

posted by Cormac (SOUTH BEND, IN) Dec 7, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Not a bad game. It was fun for some reason. I could tell the game had some potential, but it just didn't deliver. I like to customize things in games. So more in depth and detailed customizable trucks would have been nice. More options for the graphics as well. As with most other games where you can design your own stuff, but this game has very limited and often cheesy offerings in that department. A level editor would be sweet too.

The graphics are pretty bad. The sound is horrible. But all in all a good game, for one play through anyway. If your a fan of monster trucks, at least rent the game. I ended up with 78% on the trophies without even trying. If I were on my xbox, I'd no doubt go for 100%. Would be easy enough.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Monster Jam

posted by Jadashake (NORTH CHESTERFIELD, VA) Feb 17, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

hahah, got the Plat by randomly playin for 3 days, honestly only had to "try" for maybe 3 of the 44....get it...get a Plat easy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

sad day for trucks

posted by getsome420 (WASHINGTONVILLE, NY) Feb 14, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

game play is lacking in mechanics. the grafics are of 4 years ago or more. like gt4. sad i love the premis but i hope the sequel is better. i waited so long to get this game and it sucked.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not without problems, though tons of fun

posted by DrPhilter (MESA, AZ) Apr 10, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

I will say this game is probably not for the casual racing fan. If you are just a casual gamer or racing fan, this game will frustrate the h-e-double-hockey-sticks out of you. It's not terribly hard by any means, however things like constant tipping over and having to "Big Save" could easily wear on anyone's patience. That being said, if you are a Monster truck fan then I really think you will enjoy this game as much as the old school "Monster Truck Madness" computer game from back in the day. We get real trucks, real locations and they are set up more or less how they would be in real life. Obviously there are some game modes that are just for the game such as "Team Race" "Circuit Race" and so on, but the classic Stadium Race and Freestyle are untouched and pretty awesome. You can experience this game in many different trucks or stick with your favorite throughout the whole thing, you can even create your own monster truck, which was really fun. So, knowing this game is aimed at a younger audience and accounting for certain quirks, I have to say I was pleasantly surprised with this game, if it has piqued your interested, check it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Monster Jam

posted by Mandy22497 (FOREST LAKE, MN) Jan 31, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

The game was scratched and unplayable when we recieved it. Sent a note back with it so noone else would get stuck with it, hope we get a new copy sent out so he can play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

monster joke

posted by RFC76 (LANCASTER, SC) Nov 24, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

not what i thought it would be especailly for a monster jam game not to exciting but playable i have played better monster jams in the past so i say its playable but you will loose intrerest in it unless your a child then you might find it suitable

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

didnt like the game

posted by veronica1574 (TUCSON, AZ) Nov 15, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

I thought the game would be cool but but after playing the game its not all that good ..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

fun

posted by whodey1022 (CINCINNATI, OH) Aug 31, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

just what i wanted a game to remind me of watching monster trucks when i was a kid my 4 year old loves it very easy to play10 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Solid Fun

posted by ootin (FORT WORTH, TX) Jun 6, 2012

Member since May 2012

This game was sent to be because, well who knows why, but im glad it was.
Well build game with lots of features and different race types.
This is a game build around a young performer in the Monster Truck industury. Rise through the ranks by smashing cars, getting pole finishes and doing insane stunts. Worth a play for anyone that was ever a fan of the monster trucks.

No Bigfoot...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Monster Jam

posted by Kenny45 (METAIRIE, LA) Apr 7, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

It`s an ok game not very easy to steer the trucks but a fun kinda game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

TOO HARD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by tommyshooter (AUSTIN, TX) Nov 19, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

Why did yhey have to make this.I think why is so that there is a monster jam game that is Freak HARD!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Easy Platinum

posted by Signal20 (SPRING HILL, FL) Oct 3, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

After renting a few FPS I was looking for a change of pace and picked this up. Getting Platinum only took a small amount of effort, and the reply value is very little. Had fun earning the Plat but otherwise got old quick.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great for Kids

posted by SUP3RMAN_GA (BLACKSHEAR, GA) Sep 25, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

This is a monster truck game that in my opinion is perfectly designed for kids. It has very kid friendly controls. My 4 year old had plenty of fun playing it and could even beat many races on his own. My 10 year old was able to use some of the more advanced controls (rear wheel steering and controlling the angle of the trucks in mid-air) which made it fun for him. I was able to have fun doing all the flips, barrel rolls, and other stunts. It's a great game if you keep this in perspective and you aren't hoping for a real life monster truck simulator.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

No Wheel Config.

posted by PSNBLACKBLIZZ (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Aug 25, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

Awesome game totally anxious for its arrival . Finally get it load it up graphics good everything looking ok but no steering wheel configuration at all . That's all the game was lacking so i repacked it assap and shipped it back im so mad. It was sure to have a solid place in my racing video game selection next to GT% and NASCAR the game 11

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

very awesome game!

posted by hunter101 (ONEIDA, TN) Jul 21, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

I got the game today and its really awesome when I put it in I was like what this is awesome but beware if you roll over dont worrie you can have a chance to put it back on all fours all you have to do is the turn to left stick for the front wheels and the Right stick for the rear weels and ad some boost and in cercuit racing beware in the jumps you might go to the side.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Garbage!

posted by Boldtothemax (YOUNGSTOWN, OH) Jul 20, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

I guess take my review with a grain of salt, lol! (Whats the point of a review right? Well gonna give my 2 cents and pound sand after!)



Everything from the graphics (I think my ps2 would look better!) to the game play to the voice overs were horrible! I havent played this bad of game in......well, I think it may take the cake actually.


I will admit, If I dont like a game intially, I tend to quit it on the spot and move on. So that is what I did. I played about a half hour of this game and for me it was enough to send it right back.



Still waiting for a killer Moster truck game and you would think these would be the guys to do it. Oh well, it is just a game after-all.



I am sure younger kids who dont care so much about graphics and the voice overs could manage better than I can. I guess I just critique to much at my ripe age of 34, lol!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good Fun

posted by youdontknowme85 (NORTON, MA) Jul 9, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

I had fun with this game. Didn't expect this game to blow me away but it kept me entertained for a few hours at a time. I gave the game a 6 (Above Average) If you wanna break down the game the mechanics were a bit sloppy but nothing you can't get use to. Graphics are a bit outdated but not the worse I've seen so it's not a huge deal breaker for me. I wish you could customize the trucks more than what they give you and I wish there was a few more different race modes. There's also a multiplayer split screen which I haven't tried yet but I'm pretty sure it'd be fun to play with a friend. Overall the game is still a fun play if you're not too over critical.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by tafkate (ROBINSON CREEK, KY) Jun 23, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

Quick, think of the worst game you've ever played. Got one in mind? Great. Now imagine that game somehow being even worse and now you have Monster Jam. I got this game in the mail today and the most fun I had was when I was putting it back in the return envelope. Avoid unless you're looking to punish your child (or yourself) for some reason.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »