Rent Monster Jam: Path of Destruction for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Monster Jam: Path of Destruction

Not Rentable
Also on:PSP Games, PS3, Wii, DS
GF Rating
6.1

607 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best Monster Jam game to date!

posted by Donvito (EL MONTE, CA) Nov 12, 2010

Member since Aug 2008

18 out of 18 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is by far the best Monster Jam game ever.

Graphics: Great attention to detail on the truck bodies and their chassis. The indoor/outdoor tracks and environment look fantastic. Colors are bright and crisp. There are few graphical hiccups, but nothing major. Over BEAUTIFUL looking game.

Sound: Nothing crazy. The only music track I noticed was "Bad to the Bone" that is used when Grave Digger freestyles. Rest of the music is alright. The commentary during racing events gets repetitive. The commentary for the event/track selection and tutorials is done well. Trucks do sound different depending on what truck you use, some trucks sound good others not so much.

Gameplay: FUN. The trucks suspension looks great as you climb, jump, land, crash. Each truck has it's own characteristics, so you'll enjoy trying out different trucks and what suits you best for the different events. The game is easy to pick up and and play..mastering freestyle is so much fun! I've yet to get tired of trying something new in freestyle and trying for a higher score. It is a shame no option to save your replay. The game offers plenty of replay value. You can create your own truck and design, it's a nice touch, but nothing crazy like Forza's paint program. No online play, hopefully that is something that be done in a future MJ game.

Presentation: Outstanding. This feels like the first Monster Jam game that was cared for and had the time taken to make it a great experience for it's fans. The previous games were quite honestly terrible. That is not the case with Path of Destruction. I choose to purchase the game and I am extremely satisfied. Rent or buy this game. Don't miss out on this Monster Jam game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Much much better than the original!

posted by burntice61 (APPLE VALLEY, CA) Nov 10, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2010

11 out of 11 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The first monster jam had some highs but alot of lows especially in the realism department. I mean who has ever seen a real monster truck do a barrel roll off a corkscrew ramp through a pirate ship(kinda cool though)? Well activision fixed that(well you can still do barrel rolls but more REALISTICALLY)and used a better physics engine and way better stadium events(including brackets for stadium racing). The Career mode is amazing, you can use an existing pro truck or create your own, then you pick a stadium and then an event. If i had to pick one negative thing, it would be the announcer Scott Douglass, i mean he's a great announcer live or on tv but in the game...VERY repetitive. The multiplayer is back and better than ever, with new 2 vs 2 team races, but as with the first game, no online...its not bad, but it would've been great to have. So if you're a fan of monster jam or if you're looking for a different type of racing game, this is the answer!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awsome

posted by coondog (SAVAGE, MD) Apr 26, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The best monster truck game,circuit races and freestyle are the best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Best (Only) Monstertruck Game

posted by Sherrasco (ROSEMOUNT, MN) Oct 30, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It's basically what you can expect...Monster Trucks, couple different modes and decent graphics but it gets old after the first few hours

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Meh

posted by denzo45 (ASHTABULA, OH) Nov 10, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I took a flyer on this game because I figured it was an easy game to get achievements on. If you like monster truck racing and pulling off tricks, it might be for you. There are different venues, and like 6 different types of races, some are stunt runs, races, time races, etc. You get a bunch of official monster trucks and you can also customize your own. It's a fun game, but so far it doesn't seem to be much variety in the game. It's ok but I'll get through it for the achievements. If you aren't a fan of monster truck racing it might be a waste of time for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

GOOD GAME GETS OLD FAST

posted by xKBMxZero (BLOOMINGTON, IL) Sep 17, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I want to start off by saying i have played some of the other monster truck games and this is by far the best one i played yet. The game physics were actually pretty nice compared to the older games. The game is less about destruction and more about doing tricks and going fast which is a major plus. overall the game was short and fun. As i reached the end of the game i was starting to get bored so i was glad it was short.

Overall i give the game a 6 out of 10.

Fast 1000g. maybe 6 hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

No Live kills game

posted by ohitsmark (ELLICOTT CITY, MD) Sep 15, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

So I was excited to get this game, mostly because I'm a Monster Jam fan. I knew going into this game I wasn't going to get a simulation game or anything close to it, but I didn't think I was going to get a horribly, easy and quick game.

It has an arcade feeling to it. Almost to the point where it seems like you can't lose. Playing every round on "Hard", I was able to easily beat the other trucks. By a lot.

You can easily knock out the achievements one by one. Simple. Once you get done beating it, there is any thing to do, unless you have fun just driving a truck and making it do impossible things for hours.

If this had live where you can race against other drivers and have freestyle events, it would be more fun.

Tip: When you first start, use the same truck 20 times in a row at 20 events. You'll get one of the secret achievements.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Best Monster truck game,Could have made it better!

posted by 96ultra (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Jan 19, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Good game,still could have went more overboard with the speed and height of the jumps! Could have been longer career too,good graphics and good gameplay, I like all of activision games!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

fun game

posted by commodog (LAWTON, OK) Jan 1, 2011

Member since Apr 2008

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

easy 1000 gamerscore and not really a bad game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bad

posted by Jackson39 (WESTERVILLE, OH) Mar 2, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

They get everything wrong in this game. From horrible tricks to even the crowd. When I went to see Monster Jam (which made me rent this) There were less than 100 people there. And very much like the show it was boring.

It is hard to do tricks so most of the time you just do the same ones. Also, they don't have a good selection of Monster Cars. They should include them all because I really wanted to be the Donkey Kong one. (I guess copy right though)

I feel like this game is just a lazy made game all together from the graphics to the controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

wow!

posted by ace12300 (DANVILLE, IL) Nov 9, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

monster jam is a great sport,race and freestyle events.in this growing sport jacked up trucks on steriodsrace and give it a best shot at freestyle. now in the game you know whats its like to be a driver.All of the drama,action,and pitiy of missing a race. For all you MONSTER JAM fans this is a game you need to get.You even get a double down!!!

8 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

is it good for kids

posted by swetchick83 (LENOIR CITY, TN) Jun 10, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

i have a 3 yr old would u recomed this for him. if not can u recomed games for him for xbox 360.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Just O.K.

posted by BDD2012 (MIAMISBURG, OH) Apr 10, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

Nothing really to brag about, races are short, game is short. Was hoping for much more after reading reviews.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Terrible game, EASY achievements

posted by DragonDan2453 (CHANNAHON, IL) Jan 5, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

This game has easy achievements. You could get all the achievements and beat the entire game is about 5 hours or so. But the problem with the game is the bad controls, and stale gameplay. This is a game that will keep you interested for about a couple hours and that's it. Once you get all the achievements, there is very little replay value to come back to. Worth a RENT at most, maybe $10 at most for a BUY.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Monster Jam Path of destruction Review

posted by rvgjr3522 (ERIE, PA) Mar 11, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

This game is a must have for all Xbox players. Whether you’re a Monster Jam fan or not, this game brings fun to whoever is playing. Great graphics and sound, excellent game for just yourself or a group of people. Even my 3 year old is addicted to the game and he can barely find all the buttons on the controller. Game keeps you playing as you unlock more trucks and options.

Positives:
Too many to list, worth the buy.

Negatives or improvements needed for next time:
-Allow the user to choose a real MJ truck for a career like you can in all other sports games.

Make a points system and/or money option for career mode to make it more realistic.

Overall:
One of the best games for all ages and likes for Xbox! Just try it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Trucks not rated correctly

posted by kgsgt (REDDING, CA) Feb 4, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

grave digger and Max D should have been the best trucks in the game but they were not, Monster Mutt was the fastest truck in the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

The best one in a long time

posted by Qball69 (STERLING HEIGHTS, MI) Oct 20, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

I Haven't played a monster jam in a long time. Not since Game Cube days. They where ok in those days. So i decided to try one again. And not to bad decent graphics and the trucks r sweet Grave Digger fan... LOL... I liked how you could create your own trucks. Made so cool ones. But this is only to rent game for me i wouldn't buy it. i wish you could play online to. Other than that good game. check it out...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fun and Easy

posted by Roger41051 (INDEPENDENCE, KY) Jun 27, 2011

Member since Jan 2009

I gave this game a rating 10 review for 1 simple reason. The achievement unlocks are ridiculously easy ! 3 or 4 hours and the game is done on easy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »