Rent Monster Hunter Tri for Wii
view large frontback

Monster Hunter Tri

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.0

3042 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This is a success?

posted by KillerK70 (PORTLAND, OR) Nov 1, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

I'm going to keep this short. It started off good, the video with the monsters running was amazing, but then I got into the gameplay. The graphics were poor for a 2009 game. Final Fantasy X, released in 2001, had better graphics. The gameplay was shoddy and from the moment I could run around the game bombed. I'm amazed that it got such a good score and was considered a success. This game is the one that would put me into a Gamefly commercial where I throw my TV from my apartment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Game I've Played In a LONG Time...

posted by johnnie173 (WILKES BARRE, PA) Nov 24, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

The fact that I played Legend of Zelda Ocarina of Time, Majora's Mask, and Twilight Princess prior to this may have spoiled me.

But after five hours of complete confusion, I decided to send this piece off garbage back.

Where to begin?

How about movement and attack sequences.

In order to move your character, you must use your nunchuck to move, and the direction arrows to face the direction you are running. In other words, simply moving the nunchuck left and right doesn't change your perspective. You must move the direstion button to "face forward". This is especially annoying in battle sequences. Remember in Zelda where you can "Z Lock" onto an opponent? Not so in "Monster Quest". You have to attack, move the direction pad and nunchuck to get a good angle, and attack again.

The game also features an annoying "Now Loading" sequence every time you move from one area to another, which can sometimes be within five seconds of each other.

I'd rather play "Pong"... The objective of the game is much clearer.

Tedious and annoying are not the words...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Monster Hunter 3 - BAD GAME!!

posted by CritScott (QUAKERTOWN, PA) Sep 27, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2010

5 out of 18 gamers (28%) found this review helpful

As I read in most other comments, this game starts "slow." I could not tolerate how slow it started. After I burned up 4-5 hours figuring out how it's poorly designed controls and windows 95 style map, inventory, and gameplay worked, I realized Monster Hunter 3 had not much more to offer than most of the early 90's 3-D games [referring to the appearance as well as gameplay] that I have experienced. I swear, I was expecting a half-decent 2010 new style shooter (and I am pretty easy to please), and I got a lackluster, win 95 sleeping pill. For the price of games these days - this does not pass!
Additional shortcomings: Bad button scheme cannot be stressed enough - maybe I have been spoiled by other games, but the way this was setup was really illogical. The cataloging of animals MIGHT have been fun if not for the lousy interface. You have to reverse your control thinking each time you go from the village spots to the hunting spots. Messed up [annoying is another way to put it!] The way the pointer, monster cataloging, and inventory works is terrible. Whatever potential the gameplay had is shot down by the bad controls, pathetic storyline, & idiotic character development.
The main character design choices are awful too!! Specifically, he gets to wear skin tight shorts "with" or "without" fringes - totally "inappropriate" for a hunter. This also goes for all of the characters you interact with: terrible dialog, trying to make humorous references, with excessive, confusing pointless banter. Many of the characters are promoting the "alternative lifestyle" (yes, I picked that up within the first 5 minutes, Capcom!!) Verified by other comments, there were additional levels, quests, items, goals, ranks, upgrades, etc that I might have achieved if I had stayed with it. Why bother!?!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

No Good

posted by robf9288 (PROVIDENCE, RI) Jun 16, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

6 out of 27 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

This was just a plain terrible game. Bad controls and terrible combat. Not fun and a waste of time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

In a word Annoying

posted by shaunbot (SPRING, TX) Apr 20, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Everything about this game was annoying. From the controls, to the tiny maps with a thousand load screens, to five pages of dialogue just to get to a merchant screen. Some people seem to like the "grind dinosaurs (notice I did not say monsters) for hundreds of hours to get stupid items to help idiot villagers" gameplay, but I certainly couldn't. apparently the classic controller works, but the wii controls are so count-intuitive I wanted to pull the stupid game out and break it. Even the battles seemed slow and boring. (granted, I did not play long enough to get to a boss. Couldn't take it.) I don't know what kind of die-hards actually like this stuff but I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. (I only gave it a 2 because I didn't play long enough to call it a 1)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

pretty bad

posted by narshen (PALM BAY, FL) Nov 11, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

I found the game to be fairly bad its basicly monster hunter 2 on the psp but with less weapons, less story, and an almost unbearable control scheme added in to put in online play witch wasent very good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not for renting, unless you're checking it out

posted by Razacross (YOUNGSTOWN, OH) Jul 16, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

3 out of 14 gamers (21%) found this review helpful

It's not necessarily a bad game, it's just...way...too...slow. The setting is meh, and the graphics are meh, not to mention the translation. Really odd dialog. If you have an interest in the game, go ahead and rent it, but it's one you will spend an unbelievable amount of time in, so much so you may as well go out and buy it. However, it's not for everyone and certainly not for me as the Hack-kill-loot gameplay isn't appealing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

this game is very boring

posted by wildbeast2 (PALATKA, FL) Jun 11, 2010

Member since Jun 2009

monster was a very very boring game i can not express that enough.
i hope u find this very useful. Thank you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

NO THANKS!

posted by DynamiteK (MADISON, WI) Jun 1, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

My friend told me this was a great game, worth checking out if you have a classic controller. I don't have a classic controller, I figured the Gamecube controller may work but didn't bother to look it up since Gamefly gives us the ability to rent games and send them back.

Tried the game for about 5 minutes but really couldn't find anything to like about it. Strong japanese video game vibe, weird looking grunting characters. The WII controls are terrible, so bad in fact that I wasn't even interested in exploring what the game had to offer. It is the first and hopefully last game I put back in back in the mailbox 10 minutes after taking it out, not sure it's a bad game, it's just definitely not a game that I want to spend any time with.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Ugh....

posted by ghnbtg (EAST ROCKAWAY, NY) Feb 26, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

Anything is more fun then this game.The graphics are terrible and in the beginning there's just alot of talking and talking and talking.When I reached the last part of it got intresting.I thought I just had to give it a chance,and when I finally like it BOOM!The game ended.I do not recommend this game unless you like waiting three weeks for a video game to get intresting for a second.I was so so gald I could return it back to Gamefly.(reliefed)It would've been such a waste of money.DON"T GET IT!!! for your sake.;)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Frequent loading, and unbearable controls & camera

posted by RamCow (HONOLULU, HI) Jun 4, 2010

Member since Aug 2007

This game had a lot of potential and it just fell flat on all accounts to the point where it's hard to enjoy the game despite the flaws.

The camera has to frequently be reset manually, which wouldn't be too big a deal on its own, but combined with their terrible controls and the slow reaction time of the character, its a big deal.

The areas are so small that you will walk for less than a minute before you have to load a new area. The load times are not too long, but since you change areas so frequently, the load time is significant.

If a little more time was allocated to fixing thee problems, this could have easily been an excellent game. But as is, this game is practically unplayable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Don't get it

posted by Cubistx (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jun 3, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

I had a friend suggest this game to me. I almost bought it. After playing it for 3-4 hours I just don't understand what the big deal is. The graphics look like something from the early 2000's. I understand that it is on the Wii and it does not have the processing power of other systems. I really do not understand the fascination with the game. There is way too much clicking through dialog. I found it rather boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bad Controls, Eye-Straining Graphics

posted by BigScary (REDMOND, WA) May 9, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

6 out of 26 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

I keep reading everywhere how deep and hardcore this game is, and I REALLY want to play it. I was immediately fed up with the control schemes available, but I kept it another week and went out to buy the classic controller pro just to give it another try. It still stinks - I just can't get into a game where I'm going to be constantly annoyed by the controls, no matter how cool it may be. I find myself having to choose between pressing L every couple of seconds to realign the camera, OR constantly taking my thumb off the aiming thumbstick to press the attack button. Why can't we just control the camera with the thumbs, and use the L/R buttons for attacks? Duh!

+Pretty Scenery
+Hardcore Challenge (so I'm told)
-Terrible Controls
-Bad Camera Movement
-Tiny, fuzzy text
-Very frequent loading screens
-Lots of talking and returning to town for errands

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Lackluster

posted by Figgs77 (BOYNTON BEACH, FL) Apr 22, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

5 out of 38 gamers (13%) found this review helpful

the game is ok at best many flaws and extremely hard at some points. time limit on quests is annoying and combat is hard. i feel like i spend 40 min doing small quests and when i get to harder one's near impossible i mean jeeze thought this would be good but not so much....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Review of Monster Hunter Tri

posted by Selkkan (EDMOND, OK) Jan 16, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

I really wanted to like this game, and maybe if I could have lasted past the hour spent preparing to fight monsters, I would have. Without spoiling the play for those who might like to try it, all I can say is that I felt that too much time was spent on preliminaries and backstory and not enough with getting to the action.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Too Much Hype.

posted by Gamejunki2 (SALEM, VA) Oct 12, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

This game isn't as great as people make it out to be in my opinion and didn't live up to the hype.

Grapichally the game is average and the cutscenes are probably the best i've seen on the Wii in a long time. The controls aren't completely perfect and give a little bit of a fit. Missions you go on get boring and dull after awhile and you fall out of the whole game. Lets get to the "Monsters"....they're basically just altered dinosaurs which was a huge disappointement.

Overall unless you're a huge RPG fan then you should skip this but if you are then you'll love it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

monster hunter tri 3

posted by franciscog (SPOKANE, WA) Oct 9, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

this is a very good game however without it being online and access to online play this is not a game to play i was very diapointed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Monster Hunter tri

posted by goku100 (JACKSONVILLE, FL) May 21, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 11 gamers (9%) found this review helpful

Okay now the reason this game diserved A 4 two reasons one limited gameplay and poor character design. Dont get me wrong the game has good part but I just cant name iny. Well If you love interactive sword play and killing dinasauors be my guest get the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Monster Hunter Tri

posted by 2catty (COPPERHILL, TN) May 18, 2010

Member since May 2010

I cannot beleive all the hype about this game. Graphics are not very good. And on top of all of this I wondering where is the monsters? This game was so boring my family got sleepy playing it. We kept it one day and sent it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Ugh

posted by KhanKore (OLYMPIA, WA) Apr 24, 2010

Member since May 2009

9 out of 32 gamers (28%) found this review helpful

So, I rented this game with high expectations. I am an avid Xbox'er so I was really looking forward to something that would shine (graphically) on my wii...I mean, I do have to justify buying the thing at some point.

Anyway, I popped in the game and expected a little more of a coop experience then the 'arena' function. Sure, you get to cut to the chase and tackle the big guys, with up to four buddies, but games this day and age should be including a coop to the main 'story'..and i use that term in this game loosely.

The main story is nothing more then just walking around, killing stuff and collecting items for upgrades or profit. Sounds like most other games but they all manage to disguise it inside the games' story. The characters aren't interesting and the only thing I hate more then poor voice acting is no voice acting. Grunts and whimpers and the occasional laugh do not a language make.

The wii controller combo is very annoying to use in this game. I tried playing it with my daughter but she got so frustrated she sat the controller down and walked off. There goes my quality game time with my kid hehe

The main complaint I have when using this control scheme is that you have to constantly pan the camera around with the directional buttons while fighting. Pressing the down directional makes your camera zoom in at the most inappropriate times, making the fighting an effort in frustration.

I'm sending this back to game-fly today so someone else can give it a shot. It's one of those games you'll either love or hate, and I don't love it.

Hope this helps some.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ultimately a let down for the single player gamer.

posted by Zerodin (MOUNTAIN VIEW, MO) Jul 12, 2012

Member since Feb 2006

Monster Hunter Tri sure is one of the prettiest games on the Wii, as well as one of the most engaging. You craft weapons and armor from parts of the massive monsters you hunt and kill. These monsters range from large insects to enormous leviathans that are really a site to behold. When you equip a different style of weapon, you must alter how you play to compensate, adding a touch of realism. If you want a challenge, you've got it. The monsters are no pushovers, and sometimes you are sent to capture them, which is more difficult a task than killing them.
As you play you encounter new monsters, new weapons and armor to craft, and new challenges, but Capcom made one HUGE fatal flaw with this game. The best ingredients, items, weapons, and the biggest, baddest monsters, are ONLY available via online multiplayer. Yup, this is another singleplayer title gimped by the developer trying to cash in on the XBLA crowd. In otherwords, Capcom seriously crapped the bed with this one! So here is a half-a-ten, for this half-a-game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not my style

posted by cyrus2482 (URBANA, OH) Feb 18, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

I'm not say its a bad game but just not my type of game don't get me wrong i love rpgs but theres so many different types that i like some more than others and this is just one of them

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

OK

posted by bozo1025 (BONITA SPRINGS, FL) Jan 18, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

It's ok. The controls customization and graphics are great. But the layout and combat are a problem. The combat is too simple and the layout is GOD AWFUL! DON'T BUY BUT MAYBE RENT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Meh.

posted by hehyadin (THOMPSONTOWN, PA) Dec 18, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

The game, at it's heart, is very good. The epic scenery and freedom to do anything you may want at the time (with the option of missions of course) really gives it zeal. Unfortunately, that's all I have to say that's nice.
The number one worst part of this game is the combat. For a game called "Monster Hunter" you'd think that would put some more thought into it, but no. It's a chore enough to hit the enemy consistently before you miss again and again because you aren't aligned perfectly. Pulling your weapon out and putting it back slows down what was probably a heated battle simply because of how long it takes. Every last thing you do that doesn't involve your sword demands you put the sword away first, scroll through your inventory, find the item, pick it, watch the character use it, and pulling out your sword again. This takes about three times as long as it should, and you probably lost more health than you got back from the potion.
A smaller but extremely annoying aspect of this game is the dialog. First off, it isn't voiced over, and with me not having the best eyesight in the world, I had to squint at the TV to read it. Not that it was necessary anyway. More often than not NPC's spout nothing but useless satirical press-A-really-fast pages upon pages of words. What was worse was that some of that info was important, so you miss some of the stuff you need to know.
All in all, I wasn't impressed. Without a lock-on feature and a choice to skip the stupid dialog and just learn what you need, I sent it back. I wouldn't recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

This game requires Wii classic controller for play

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) Oct 5, 2010

Member since May 2010

Monster hunter has come a long way, but having owned others in the series, this game is worth getting if you have a (Wii) classic controller.
It is sad that a game like this was stolen from the Ps3, but now I do own a Wii-built game so that might mean something. In fact, if you like this game with the Wii-classic controller, if you own a psp I would recommend you try renting the monster hunter freedom series(psp) to see if you might like it.. Yes, I said- PlayStation Portable.. Sony is where Monster Hunter got it's start, way back on the Ps2, but that game is very hard to play, but the freedom series for Sony's PSP is an improvement over the Ps2 version, this here wii version is pretty laid back compared to the others, but I'll leave that for you to decide for yourself. The other games don't seem to have a sand-box section to the game, but it seems Monster Hunter is improving as long as capcom stays in touch with their customers I think the Monster Hunter series has a fairly bright future ahead of itself! I own this game, but I recommend you try it first so yoyu can see for yourself! I SAID WII!!! NOT GAMECUBE!! Don't have Wii classic controller? Then buy that first, BEFORE YOU PLAY!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse