Rent Monster Hunter Tri for Wii
view large frontback

Monster Hunter Tri

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.0

3042 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

uuuuuuuuuuuuuuuhhhhhhhhhhh

posted by gameteller13 (ROSEBURG, OR) Apr 21, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

uuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by me111 (SPARTANBURG, SC) Nov 5, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

i love this faking game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game is possibly worth buying the Wii for

posted by nr_clark (MARLTON, NJ) Oct 4, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I did not know what I was getting myself into when I got this game. I figured I would just complete the single player mode, be done with it, and get rid of it.

Then I tried online mode. 300+ hours later, I can say without a doubt that this is one of the most underrated games to ever hit stores. I'll talk about online mode later.

Gameplay is very rewarding where you have to collect materials from killing different monsters, farming, and mining ore to create better weapons and armor to advance from a rag doll to an actual durable hunter that wont faint in one hit by a boss monster. When gathering, you actually gather lots of supplies, and when you kill monsters, there's only a chance they drop the right item. This is a unique twist to the usual turn-based fighting system you find everywhere else, and it's kind of like you are shaping your destiny.

The weapons and armor are upgrade-able and make a huge difference in battle. There are over half a dozen weapon types that seem endless in upgrades. The game can get as hard as you want it to get, to a certain extent.

Symphonic quality music and stunning graphics are an absolute plus seeing how the extremely detailed environments, extremely detailed armor/weapons, and monster design make the game that much more immersive.

And then, there is the online mode. Capcom went above and beyond to impress gamers with this one. They have their own servers and multiple cities where you are able to play with random people in other countries or in your own. Super convenient, and hard not to like.

For what you buy/rent, this game will amaze you with how many features it packs on terms of variety of gameplay. Did I mention this game's graphics and music is iconic for the Wii? Some of my most memorable moments playing the Wii was when I played this game. MH3 truly has it all, and I do hope that they come out with a 4th one that is just as good, if not better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game is awsome!

posted by boomer1196 (LACONA, NY) Aug 25, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

This game is really fun but it is also really long so if you rent it be prepared to spend alot of time playing inorder to beat it. There are two diffrent misson set, one that is the offline story, and the other is the missons that you have to do online if you choose. It's a good idea if you have a party of four people when you do missions online, it makes it easier. I bought this game last year and I still haven't beaten it, I usally just end up playing online line all the time instead of story mode, because it's easier to gather resources from monster bosses, and because the resource are shared with your offline account, it helps you make better weapons and armor faster.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by swiftnightstar (LAKE WALES, FL) Jan 12, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

this is probilly the best monster hunter game ever the online is much better than the psp but the thing i like it takes place in a whole new world you can even swim plus lots of new monsters and new swords and things personally my favorite is the swich axe it is an axe and a great sword at one time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

You must buy this game

posted by NMH1118 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Oct 23, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

This game is awesome.Evil huge monster,cool armor,cool weapons and playing online as a team of four, this is why you should buy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Monser Hunter tri, the best unknown wii game yet

posted by seca82 (BLOOMINGDALE, NY) Oct 4, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

To start off, this game ROCKS ! As other reviewers have said, this game is not for those who don't want to put the time into it. I just stumbled across it on Game Fly and thought it looks cool and a change from what we've been playin' on the Wii. After about 2 hours of getting the basics down,I was hooked ! I played it for 2 days as a rental and purchased it from Game Fly. My son and I love it and keep leveling up to out do each other.
Online play is better then any other game we have done. 99% of the players online will help you out and don't mind playing below there standards for a "newbee". We like it so much,my son showed it to 2 of his friends and they picked it up. One friend even saved his money so he could buy a router and play online with us. These kids are young 13+ years old. I have just purchased a 2nd game from Game Fly so me son and I have 2 copies and can play online with each other. this does take 2 wii's though FYI.
Back to the game. If your a fan of the old Zelda games, this might just be for you. You're not fighting and looking for little hearts to finish the game. You will work, and sometimes, you will get very mad at it! But when you you have fought and lost against a monster lots of times,.....and you will. It gives you a great feeling whrn you bring it down for the first time alone!
To close. I have just over 100 hurs into it,and I'm not even close to beating it ! this game is the sleeper game of western world. Not many have played it as compaired to most Wii titles. but in Japan it is Huge ! Thanks CapCon for making this for the Wii. I'm already looking and hoping for a Monster Hunter 4 !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game iv'e ever played

posted by MHFTrifan (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Sep 9, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

I've been searching for another game that compares to this one. I have'nt found one. it's addicting, like a cracked head to a rock. As far as being challenging i have'nt found that to be the case. I started the game in offline mode. If I ran into a road block I'd go online and I have found that the community of fellow players is more than willing to help. This is where you can pick up some of the tricks for gaining what you desire. I have developed my player as an advanced swordsman , but if I was to start over i'd develope him as a shooter. the shooter is a more desireable player later in the game, a little tricky to handle in the beggining but with a little pratice you can master their abilities even with controller and nun-chuck.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

monster hunter tri. fun begin middle ok, end wait

posted by Athena123 (MILWAUKEE, WI) Jul 25, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

monster hunter tri. The beginning you know, it starts out like a storyline so when you create a person man/woman you have to where women clothes like small trunks and small t-shirt. ? why i dont know. so you go through the game doing tasks,running eron's for the villagers and thats as fun as it gets until you end up in the ocean looking at a monster the villagers clearly say your not ready to fight so you choose to run/swim away or do what i did and stood up like a man and fight but the monster a.k.a (lagiacrus) has electricity power so you have to watch out for that. and there are crazy big weird monsters with goofy names you have to fight and if you kill a normal animal and carve its meat out of its body and if you choose to cook its meat so you can eat it to gain energy a grill apears out of thin air and chair so you emeadietly start cooking animal meat and a annoying song plays and basicly when the song stops the food is ready but sometimes that might not always happen. and you can even go fishing on this monster hunter tri video game. p.s. which takes forever to do and the bugs on this game are huge, house cats try to steal your food and materials (yes house cats i know). and when you raise money you can get out of those girly clothes and buy manlyier clothes and you can have weapons but only one weapon. so when you choose a weapon you choose from daggers,small swords, big swords, lances a.k.a spears, o and bowguns. and you can make your weapons and armor more powerful by talking to the blacksmith. and you can even go to a farm and make a friendly cat farm for you as you put in requests for him. and you get a pet pig. did i menchean online mode beacuse online mode could be more fun if you have the wii speak microphone a.k.a i dont besides i had to go into battle all by myself p.s. you'll have much much more fun online than offline. and this dosn't even sit right with me but sometimes when you hit an enemy with your sword you bounce off of the monster (my head i

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Nintendo should have pushed this title more.

posted by Marzface (PHARR, TX) Jul 21, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I will keep this as short as possible. One of the best games I have ever purchased in my life. I got over 250 hours logged in this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I recommend dont rent it...Buy it!

posted by XxslayerxX (CLIFTON PARK, NY) Jun 1, 2011

Member since May 2010

I gave this a ten right? well if it was just offline than it would be uh...about a 5. offline is boring but online is so fun! durin the summer i was really bored my friends were away so i got really, really, really addicted to it say i have no life but i had around 460 hours :D and now im hr 83 and thats cause from hr 0-30 i sucked... but now i rock!!!! but all the armor and weapons in the game will take an awful long time to get but thats the fun part of it. Story Plot- You are a new hunter in moga villiage and the place had an earthquake cause of the easy Lagiacrus. They want you (the one whos new, has no armor or experience) to kill it. If you play online you can get armor and weps that will help you in the story again story is cool in all but short, for me. Only stupid part is no bows gun lances or even dual scythes! or that stupid horn type hammer thing. Theres sword, long sword, lance, light,medium or heavy bow gun, great sword and the new switch axe! which is a axe and turns into a cool kinda sword. tons of people online, 4 people in a room, u may use wii speak or type stuff (chat) on wii mote or classic controller, gamecube or use keyboard. You can use Wii mote and nunchuck (HOW U SPELL IT? LOL) Classic controller or Gamecube controller. Tons of quests online and every week new quests called "Event Quests" update and so i recommend this to people with online if u can only play offline than yeah rent it. I still to this day love it and WILL not get rid of it! btw i got it when it came out. if you dont like this game then go see a therapist or something cause this is my Favorite game and one last thing you can combine items and upgrade armor and weapons if you were ever wondering that. I hope you found this helpful and Cya hope you'll get this other wise you dont suck you just have minor (yeah right minor i need to stop not telling the truth oh well) problems. Bye :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

amazing

posted by sow (FORT COLLINS, CO) May 8, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this is a awesome game. story mode is great online mode is great 2 player is amazing. Not one complant. Dont rent this game, buy it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Pretty Good

posted by Awesomey (FRANKLIN, OH) Dec 28, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this is a really good game, but it has a few kinks.the wii remote/nunchuk control is fine but can be a little unresponsive. I think the story mode should be multiplayer and give a little more options for customization. all in all though, this game rocks! the graphics are perfect and very fun gameplay. good story too. so buy this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A shining example of hardcore MH

posted by RobGee (LACONIA, NH) Dec 12, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Yes, yes, this game is not for everyone. Some will complain about the controls (With the Wii Remote) but there is a reason they included the Classic Controller Pro with the game; it is SO much easier to play with the Classic Pro.

This game is truly for the hardcore. You are pitted against the environment and a plethora of monsters waiting to team up against you to kill you. It takes skill, practice, intuition, and PATIENCE. People who are reviewing here have only played the game for 2-10 hours. I know, I know, most games are over and done with after 10 hours. But Monster Hunter is just beginning even after 50 hours! This game is very in depth and has a whole lot to do, especially when you participate online.

Of course the graphics aren't going to be stellar. The system outputs only to 480p, what do you expect? Graphics certainly don't make the game, depending on what generation you are that is. Games today are just for instant gratification, just like the attitudes of most people today. Only rarely do some games challenge and reward your time like Monster Hunter does, and few appreciate that. If you are one who does appreciate patience rewarded, do yourself a favor and BUY THIS GAME, support Capcoms efforts to westernize this series!

Recommended to the hardcore and patient 10/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Only for Hardcore Gamers!

posted by Cokimoto (BUTNER, NC) Dec 7, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

If you are looking for a challenging game on the wii! Well look no more this game is awesome and if you don't like the wii-mote you can always use the Classic control pro ($19 on gamestop new)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wow

posted by zxzx24 (MELBOURNE, FL) Nov 15, 2010

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i used to like be a cheater, hacker ect... never again

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best wii game ever!

posted by king214 (EATON, OH) Nov 2, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

First off i am completly new to the monster hunter franchise (thought i should put that for people in the same boat). So coming into this game was hard... in the least. If you are new to the games like i was then you really come into this game not knowing what to expect. Somehow with some sort of magic this game was(still is) the most addicting game of all time. Even through not knowing what to do I kept going becuase somthing was driving me. What makes the game so fun? Just memorizing monsters attacks. Which doesn't sound fun but believe me. I can't explain the feeling you first get when you see a "huge" monster for the first time and think "HOLY COW, THEIR IS NO WAY I CAN KILL THAT THING!!!" . Then guess what you work and work and fight that thing then as if out of nowhere, almost like magic, The beast does a flip in the air and on the screen a box with the sweet sweet words of victory "quest completed!"

I have at least 60+ hours of time dedicated into this game, and the day i die and stand before god i hope he asks me "Do you feel like you wasted that time?" and i WILL reply "Not one minute!"

Even with 60+ hours I havn't beaten the game yet. While true I'm not trying to beat the game in a record time this game is still one of the deepest games of all time.

Again I can NOT emphisize how much i love this single game. PLEASE PLEASE give it a try even if you only play one hour I promise you. you will find the reason i love this game so much.

In fact i know what will happen soon and I dread it so much. I know one day online support for the game will end, and I will shed many tears over this one event.

please give this game a try "the games afoot!"

So god bless and happy gaming (and or)

Live long and prosper fellow gamers,
King214 signing off...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Would get a 10 if I could get a connection

posted by WiiFlier (CHARLOTTE, NC) Jul 27, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

This game is amazing!

I stumbled upon this game after beginning to look for a new Wii game and read some reviews of the "top" Wii games available. This one certainly ranks among the top Wii games I've played. I got my GameFly rental in the mail on Friday and spent hour upon hour immersed in the rich gameplay. And that's just the offline play. I had some issues with my connection when I was trying to play online. I was able to get to the City (online mode), but would lose connection when trying to go out on a quest. I had issues streaming movies that night as well, so it may have just been a WiFi issue.

The graphics are great, relatively speaking for the Wii. I'm not going to compare Wii graphics to the PS3 or XBox 360. There are reasons I have a Wii and high-def graphics are not among them. So anytime a game looks this good, it's just icing on the cake.

The biggest issue would be the game control (or perhaps it's the nunchuck). There is no 360-degree movement. Your movement is more like an octagon, which can be frustrating at times.

One other slight issue is only being able to free-hunt in the Moga Forest. Though that may be purposely built into the game considering you are technically hunting resources for Moga Village. You can always just redo a completed quest if you want to get to another map. And you will want to...

The game is very deep. I've played about 20 hours and have only scratched the surface. There are different types of weapons and as you move forward you'll need to commit to one (blade or gunner being the biggest difference), so you'll want to experiment early on or perhaps in Arena mode to see which fits best.

There is also help available during gameplay by holding the Z button down on the nunchuck which allows you to figure out what effects the different skills will have and some additional information as well.

This is a definate BUY! However, you may want to rent it first to see what you're getting in to.

Happy hunting!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Action

posted by UtAhJaZz (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Jul 27, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

This game was a really good game. You start out as some little weak hunter and becoming some awesome hunter that kills some big monsters. I would like to point out how hard them monsters were. If they were easy to fight then what kinda game would that be. In total, great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

amazing

posted by sniper321 (COLUMBIA, SC) Jul 11, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

monster hunter is a game where you have to use your brains along with your instinct. the game doesnt give you any advice and pushes you to your limits hunting creatures that can one hit kill you. many people buy this game thinking "wow a dragon i want to kill it" then they cant figure out how to kill a lowly jaggie "weak monster" and end up quiting all together. the weapon and armor system is great due to actually hunting certain monsters trying to get one stone or fang ect
needless to say this is a great game that only the best gamers get the hold of

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Epic

posted by gamer1256 (LAKE ARROWHEAD, CA) Jul 1, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

10 10 10 10!!!!!!!!Ok,so im familiar with the monster hunter series ive been playing them since they came out. Do not think this is going to be a quirky little anime turn-based rpg ITS NOT!!!its a very difficult rewarding wonderful game.probably best wii game ever made.Wonderful graphics. Amazing online!Great game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Now up to 100 hours, still not done...

posted by checkers (CRESTVIEW, FL) Jun 22, 2010

Member since Apr 2006

29 out of 30 gamers (97%) found this review helpful

They out did them selves. Really they did.
This is really only for those who bare through the first couple of hours, because like most games, it starts slow. But Monster Hunter starts REALLY slow. Now then, slow as can be, about 50 hours in I realised its the most addicting game I have ever played. Fighting large beasts is fun, and the ridiculous unfairness the game throws at you is fun to tackle. I so far have completed every offline quest, which the end game quests they assign are near imposible if you only have been offline to that point, so completing them is the most rewarding experience you can have, and I'm in the third star rank online. Now Monster Hunter is a great game to have a friend play with you, as I'v spent several nights at my friends house playing together online, pummeling large monsters. The thing about online is that they increase the difficulty even more, so the 3rd boss online compares to the last boss offline. Then after half way through online the difficulty increases AGAIN. The pure challenge this games throws at you is just something great for those commited to playing the game. Not for those who like hitting every button on their controller and the thing in front of them dies. This game takes thinking and an copious amount of skill. Must have for those who like intense mmo's.

Con's: Camera Angle: Constantly have to change it but with practice it become second nature.

Difficulty: I love games that make my blood boil, but some people don't like such a challenge...

Controls: Get a wii Classic controler Pro. If you don't, then don't complain about the game, it is not ment to be played with the wiimote and nunchuck.

Diablos: SCREW DIABLOS! I can't stand him

Pro's: Too much to say, how about every thing that isn't a con.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

10 out of 10 !!!

posted by Trevor5985 (CRESTVIEW, FL) Jun 6, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

All monster hunter games where great but this is the next generation of games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Game on Wii

posted by Nadeem (CONROE, TX) May 23, 2010

Member since May 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game is crazy fun, seriously the best game on the wii. I've played almost every game on every system and about 5 are all time favorites, #1 is Monster Hunter Tri. The graphics are beautiful, gameplay is stellar with a nice combat system, grinding never gets boring and slaying large monsters are both rewarding. Theres soo many armor pieces and weapons that look amazing and I cant get off this game with 100+ hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

It's a lot of grinding, but it's fun grinding.

posted by Snaredrums (JACKSONVILLE, FL) May 2, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

99 out of 102 gamers (97%) found this review helpful

If you are unfamiliar with the Monster Hunter franchise, I commend you. Because you have no clue what you are getting into. Many have probably seen the commercials for this game thinkin "Hey, my 6 year old son LOVES dinosaurs!" Oh boy, do I feel bad for those people...

If you want this game, I recommend you do some research, because this is one of the hardest, deepest, and most rewarding games this generation.

You start from rags to riches as a new hunter who decides to help the small Moga Village, and train to slay the (flagship) monster Lagiacrus. It has been terrorizing the small fishing village, and it is your job to become the best hunter around, and slay the beast.

The point of this game is to collect materials from slaying different monsters, farming different items, and mining different ores, to create weapons and armor so you can be a more devastating hunter.

This can be very, very fun and rewarding, but it takes some time to truly get into the game. When I say it's a lot of grinding, I don't mean "Attack little monsters for X amount of hours until you gain X amount of experience points" I mean you are gathering a LOT of supplies, and you kill monsters and hope to god they drop the right item. Why is this so fun? Because unlike a lot of games, fighting monsters isn't turn based, this game has a real in-depth combat system.

you don't choose a class because each weapon is basically a class in itself. There are 64 unique hammers to build. That is just for the hammer class. There are 8 other weapons, which play completely differently.

And then, there is the online mode. Capcom has really outdone themselves here. They took out the WHOLE friend code system nintendo made, and made their own, superior thing. Not only that, but you are able to play with random people around the world, and WiiSpeak is supported (Which is rather rare)

Before you get this game, just know what you're getting into, and you can enjoy up to 100 hours of rich gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse