Rent Monster Hunter Freedom Unite for PSP Games
view large frontback

Monster Hunter Freedom Unite

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.5

796 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Don't give up.

posted by royfe7 (PENFIELD, PA) Jun 23, 2009

Member since Mar 2007

48 out of 48 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have been a MH fan since the beginning. The series is difficult and time consuming. The learning curve is like a 80 degree wall but once you get over it the game starts getting fun. Ihave seen many new players quit before they kill their first monster. if you have played freedom 2 you can tranfer all your items and weapons to MHFU.

The MH series has always had great customization and multiple weapons to choose from. once you start killing monsters you can carve the bodies for materials to make new armor and weeapons. Don't expect to get an extremely rare item from a monster so be expected to hunt the same monster over and over until you get the item you need.

The MH series is designed for co-op but the game lacks infrastructure(one of the few problems) but you can play online via adhoc party or xlink kai. the entire game is soloable but can get difficult at time(especially once you hit G-rank). if you find a monster to difficult take some time to study the monster and ask your fellow hunters for tips just don't give up.

the felyne fighter is not that good of an addition and may cause you to fail a quest multiple times (like when it throws a bomb at the wrong time). if you do decide to to use the felyne try to get a pacifist and train him to use flutes(health, attack, defence). the felyne companion also gets a degree of customization. you determine it's skills and armor.

when you first start out hit the training school for tips on how to hunt and use weapons properly. Happy Hunting!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Hunter's Unite!

posted by PATSFAN2K6 (attleboro, MA) Jul 8, 2009

Member since May 2006

21 out of 21 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The Monster Hunter series has been widely popular in Japan for some time now. I've been interested in checking the series out for a while now and finally did with Freedom Unite.

The game's basic structure follows the structure of most MMORPGs. You start off as a Hunter in a village, and take miscellaneous quests to embark upon. The quests rang from Hunting, Slaying, Gathering, and Event Quests. Once you stop by the guild and pick up a contract of your choice, you set off on an adventure to fulfill the quests parameters.

I was amazed at just how deep a game Monster Hunter actually is. Not only do you hunt, but you can also gather, mine, cook, farm, etc. In order to become a successful Hunter, you need to become totally immersed in the world. The level of depth and time may put off some games looking for a quick thrill, but if you're patient and dedicated, the game is incredibly rewarding.

Pros:
-Depth of game play (weapons, items, quests, world, etc)
-Graphics are amazing
-Sound: Well done FX and musical score done in Dolby sound incredible through headphones.
-Ad Hock online play - you can quest with up to three of your friends.

Cons:
-Difficulty: the game is not easy and at times can be frustrating.
-Camera can be uncooperative at times, especially when fighting multiple monsters at the same time.
-The inventory system can be very cumbersome. If you're not using a sword, you actually have to sheath your weapon before you can use an item. Trying to do this in the heat of battle, is very difficult.
-Ad Hock - it's an awesome feature, but if you don't have friends willing to come over and play, you will be questing on your own.

Wrap up:
All in all, it's an amazing game that I highly recommend. Be prepared to invest some time in mastering the world and you will be greatly rewarded.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game but not for everyone

posted by gluis2k (LOS ANGELES, CA) Oct 29, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have been a monster hunter fan for a very long time, i got to a point in this game(MHFU) where it was extremely difficult if not seemingly impossible to do hunts on your own (H.R 9 and up quests) so i pretty much quit playing it and picked up monster hunter on the wii, which i strongly recommend for any MH fan. But anyways, the game is great, very very difficult and thats why i say not for everyone. leveling up and increasing your stats is not how this game works, here its all about your skill. You do get better and stronger armor which you make or upgrade from materials of the monsters you hunt as you progress through the game, but what it really comes down to is your skill. You have to study a monsters attack patterns in order to know when and where your window of opportunity to strike opens up so you can run in for a hit or two, and then back off quick, and if you miss your window you have to be patient and wait for it again. this becomes very annoying to some, especially because some of these monsters (the guild quest hunts) kill you with a few hits, even when you have decent or better than decent armor. so patience is a HUGE must for this game, not only in the fighting but just in the whole game itself. if you have little or no patience, then don't even bother. Now for those of you who decide to tough it out and accept the challenge, this game is very rewarding, nothing better than seeing a dragon who is 10 times bigger than you, can kill you with 2-3 hits, and take you over 20 min to kill fall before your feet, and know that you took em down on your own, even though it was recommended for 2-4 players(guild quest hunts). So to sum it up, Awesome game for some, but not for all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Monster Hunter

posted by Hoover67 (LONGWOOD, FL) May 17, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Great Game the only downfall in my opinion is that there was not a infrastructure mode only ad hoc, other than than great visuals gameplay and lots of content.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MHFU

posted by implosion (KILLEEN, TX) Jan 12, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is extremely hard there is no mercy when you are at HR1 (which is like level 1) but this game is very fun and it goes on for ever this is one of the very few portable handheld rpg games that doesn't end they add new missions every few weeks.This game is alot easier if you have friends.If you ever get a PSP this would be one of the very few games worth buying

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Best Reason To Own a PSP

posted by LordDen (FRESNO, CA) Oct 10, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Graphics: It has arguably the best graphics for this system. Watch a youtube video seriously.

Game play: Probably one of the hardest games I've played in a long time. But not unfairly hard, it rewards your skill, and punishes impatience. After you get through the training missions at the beginning, every mission after that is a boss battle. Also every monster is intricately designed to destroy you in very different ways, So you never really get to the point where you know every boss.

Sound: It seems every sound was carefully thought of. Every monster has sounds made by real animal's. The musical scores are amazing, in fact they rival those of final fantasy's intro musical scores.

Control: The one biggest flaws of the game, although you eventually get used to controlling the camera with your index finger while steering your character with your thumb of the same hand (sounds hard but it's not) without anyone telling you, or showing you "the claw" you won't know to control it that way. Once you get used to that, it's easy!

Final Thoughts: I've had this game for about a month now, and I've put 300 hours into it, and I'm barely maybe 2/3 of the way through it. if I had to describe this game in one word it would be "OMGEPIC!" and yeah I know that's not really a word, that's how great it is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Monster Hunter is awesome

posted by killermoc3 (PHOENIX, AZ) Sep 4, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

MH games are one of my favs. having your friends fight along side you completely changes the experiance so grab a freind and try it out on multi play.

(p.s. go on youtube and search monster hunter 3 tri wii its the newest and best monter hunter game ever but it comes out in 2010)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I am a Hunter Fan ...

posted by StratMan (MIAMI, FL) Jun 25, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2008

14 out of 16 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Bought MH2 as a $20 bargain bin chance a year ago. Now after 400+ hours of slaying, I anticipated this release more than ever. If you have never played, take a chance, ge a copy of any version 1, 2 or 3. Spend more than an hour and you will be hooked (took me a couple hours).
This version took my previous hunter and migrated him to a better version. All of the little things I lived with in MH2 have been fixed. Like combining items. Now all items have a slot for 99 instead of 10, 20, or 99. Also combine inside the box, HUGE benefit. No more need to add the 5 combo books to make a few items. Do it from the menu. Also mining, fishing and bug hunting inside the farm is better. No more endless clanks after mining a shaft that's empty. See how much bait is on left while fishing. Also, no need to run back and forth to fertilize with only worms. Use the amount you need as you can access stored items in the farm wihout carrying them! Send items to storage after you slayed a monster! No more selling good items due to space.
The new items, great forest map, weapons and armor make this a great game you can port your trusted character over with. After just one night of play I am hooked and addicted. I also have no more need to wait for the latest Madden to come out in August. MHFU is the best game on my PSP and look forward to another summer of carnage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by PerfectFun (LOUISVILLE, KY) Jul 26, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Wow....that's the word that just sums up this game to its fullest it is the greatest RPG i have EVER played, this is even including home systems like the xbox 360 and ps3. I honestly was never a MH fan but i am very glad a sprung for this game. Great graphics, great sound, great controls and has perfect controls for any fighting style. You must give this game a chance before you begin to judge i was very angry with my first 30 min of game play because it seemed like the game would never become exciting. But after coming back to try once more and getting into the quests and making my gear i was unable to set the game down. This game has managed to find the perfect difficulty as well, it has its challenging quests and bosses, which by the way met my every expectation perfectly, I hated the games that had 40 bosses that each took one 3 min try to beat, but this game has managed to take the "lets have one boss at the end and make him just hard enough were it takes around 10-20 times depending on the players skill but no so hard to were they give up on the game" i am not too far in the game and i have faced around 10 bosses all a little more challenging then the one before. This game was so great even when my copy that i bought broke i went out that same day to buy another copy. Dont miss your chance by not trying this game EVERYONE will love it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best handheld game of all time. Period.

posted by mwitters (SEATTLE, WA) Dec 12, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is the most fun I've had on a handheld EVER. The game has amazing RPG elements and just the most incredible skill based fights. These monsters you fight take true skill! The adhoc playing with friends is SOOO fun! We have a group of 8 of us who get together every week and play and drink and eat, it's soooo much fun! You really get a sense of acomplishment in this game. I swear it if this was the only game the PSP had and they never were going to make another game for it I'd go out and pay $200 for the system right now. I kid you not it's that much fun. Seriously you could dump 1000 hours into this game before getting all the High end weapons and armor. The game takes dedication, patience, noth twitch skill and RPG know how... It's in a class of it's own, there's nothing else like it and it's THE reason to own a PSP. Having friends to play with makes this must own title twice as much fun. My hats is off to Capcom, they REALLY came through in a big way with this one. I'm very disappointed they released the next game tri on the wii, but I've heard they are already porting it to the PSP. Thank god!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game BUT...

posted by Tayman94 (NORMAN, OK) Jan 20, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The info said here Says Online Enabled but it only has AdHoc capabilities. There is a way to play with your friends around the world but this requires a PS3 an the AdHoc Party Program. Other than that smooth gameplay Not too hard at times. Great for those long road trips

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not Your Average Game

posted by Tobikun (PITTSBURG, CA) Feb 18, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I am a newcomer to the MH series and I must say I fell in love with MHFU. When I first started the game I was pretty impressed with the character customization options. You can customize almost every aspect of your character except their body build. You could even customize their voice. Now here is my review.

Controls 8/10: At first the control scheme can seem slightly awkward as you are trying to flawlessly move from an attack into a dodge or vice-versa, heck I still haven't been able to master it. After a while though you will adjust to the controls and your only real difficulty will be deciding when to use them.

Sound 10/10: Perfectly flawless what can I say.

Graphics 10/10: The environments are awesome, and very well detailed. The monster are impressive and most of them are 5 times your size.

Gameplay 8/10: The area in which this game truly shines and shows its' weakness as well. Although the game is called Monster Hunter you can't just grab a sword, run in there, and swing away at the monster and expect to kill it. You have to use strategy and read the movements of the monster to know when it is attacking and what type of attack it is using. I also wouldn't advise sticking with one type of weapon the entire game. Some monsters are easily damaged by a great sword, some more by the dual swords. However the game will get really difficult if you can't play online. This is the game's biggest flaw. To get online you need access to either a PS3 or X-link Kai.

Replay Value: Very High

Final Score: 9/10

Final Thoughts: Monster Hunter will have me coming back for more even if I can't get online with my friends.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Progression

posted by SILENTkilr (NEW ELLENTON, SC) Jul 26, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Monster Hunter is a series of games that take players to a new limit, i for one learn about monster hunter from a friend that quited anything that he didn't finished but for some reason MH made him determined to either get the next peice of armor, or kill a Garuga after 12 tries, but he never gave up neither did i, I still play MHF 1 all the time same with number 2 and this one is going to be fun to fans and noobies cuz in monster hunter 1 hunt is all you need to enter millions

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Highly Recommend Bringing a Friend

posted by SPFenrir (SOMERSET, TX) Aug 24, 2009

Member since May 2008

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I'm not very partial to games developed for the sole purpose of multi-play, but Monster Hunter Freedom Unite is a very good one. It gives you kind of the feel of being an actual hunter as you can harvest plants, cook meat, and stalk monstrous prey. It offers you a vast variety of weapon types to pick from; which one you should pick is entirely dependent on the scenario. To get better weapons and armor, you have to use items that you can either mine, pick, or harvest. It also offers a full training tutorial if you are a new hunter so you can get used to the game and weapons before you go onto real quests.

Major downside is that this game virtually forces you to find local buddies to ally against 99% of the quest. How does it do this? By making the "boss" type monsters completely impervious to stun and have them run off and heal themselves when near death. If you are by yourself, expect to get sent flying repeatedly and losing half your life bar in a single hit as you are the sole target of every single enemy near that boss. And you HAVE to take your sweet time to sit there, put your weapon away, take some herbs, strike a pose, then whip your weapon back out.

Monster Hunter Freedom Unite is a very good game, it's better enjoyed with friends.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

:D

posted by whoppin (DELTA JUNCTION, AK) Jun 13, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Really good action adventure game. Fun is all I can say.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best monster hunter yet

posted by Lord123456 (SAINT BERNARD, LA) Sep 11, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this is probally the best monster hunter in the series, new monsters,weapons, and more. this is my favorite psp game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

OMG!!!! BEST PSP GAME EVER!!!

posted by Casio (DRAPER, UT) Apr 9, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I got this game a long time ago, like 2 years. I love this game, i never stop playing it. When im not playing it, I play Monster Hunter Tri, (wii) This monster hunter game was actually the first one i played out of all of them. Ever scince, I was HOOKED! I'll admit, this game can be a real challenge. IIf your one with a short temper, stop for a little bit and come back, youll love it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Freedom Failure

posted by sad558 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Dec 27, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 22 gamers (9%) found this review helpful

This game has no point what so ever! And to add on to that ... it freakin hard! Horribale game and a big dissapointment!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ehh kinda confusing

posted by Kiash (BOCA RATON, FL) Oct 17, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

well, i have to say it is a good game as for gameplay and stuff, but i was kinda confused how to start quests and i would think that they would have like a free roam mode. not really what i pictured it to be but other than that its not that bad i guess......

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

MHFU

posted by brandon1998 (GLENDALE, AZ) Aug 6, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

This is exciting,but frustrating. Over all this is filled with exciting missions. My favorite part of the game is the unique weapons. This is fun and exciting. I recomend you rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game i have ever played

posted by templar123 (BOONVILLE, IN) Jul 19, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

this a awsome game it is a whole lot funner with some other people to play it with u it has so many weapon and armor it gets agervating though becau there are so many monster that some are super hard
and the elder dragons are easier than some regular monster but i like it because i like old time game but this has guns to so its is A WHOLE LOT FUNNER and in the gathering hall u can drunk how funny is that so if i were u i would rent it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

This game is not as good as you think

posted by Deadset (COLLEGE STATION, TX) Jun 12, 2011

Member since Jan 2009

- slow reaction to commands.
- no auto run
- boring story
- game play is really not that great
- things that should be fast are not eg. (obtained red meat) should not take me 7 (seven) seconds to go away.
- art style is not for me

All in all this game did not have what i wanted in an RPG. Safe to say it had potential, and i will be picking up any new ones. For my rental this game was not worth it, too slow bad controls, and a JRPG story drove me away from this game. Another shipping time killed by a game that was not worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MHFU

posted by XxslayerxX (CLIFTON PARK, NY) May 19, 2011

Member since May 2010

Great Game! you will be playin it 4ever well yea, i rented this game 4 like 3 months! but if u love monsters or huntin (with swords, bow guns ect) then this is ur game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I am addicted, this game is good if you get far

posted by mrawesome (BEACHWOOD, OH) Mar 30, 2011

Member since Apr 2009

This game is amazing. I have heard reports that its too hard. But if you play it enough, upgrade armor, get more armor, get weapons, upgrade weapons, and DO RESEARCH you can easily do a lot. What i mean by research i mean go on google, get tips, wiki, anything to help you win. Another great thing is the online multiplayer honestly i use wireless but i love this game so much that i changed to wired and changed back it only takes 5 minutes each time i do it (its really easy)! The graphics are...... ok, there is no lag unless your internet is below at least 50, generally the monsters look awesome (except the Khezu :). The controls are easy if you go to the training school, make sure you use the pokke farm and upgrade always. Now i have to admit i got pretty mad when fighting stupid monsters but you'll feel good after you get passed hr 4. Its also quite the adventure to get materials and use it for anything really, and also money from quests. To get money you can sell, training school or quests. Quests are where you set out on a mission to do something, its always different, and always fun (depends on mood, but gathering is boring). This game is absolutely amazing and i am addicted.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

For the Hardcore Part 1

posted by iBlooba (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Aug 9, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

Let's get the obvious out of the way. Monster Hunter Freedom Unite is not a sequel to Freedom 2. It's purely the same game with a good deal of extra monsters, items, etc. Monster Hunter Freedom Unite is an expansion to Freedom 2, and if you don't own F2, you should definitely get Unite.
To Monster Hunter newbies, this game will test your patience. It can be very challenging, and extremely frustrating at times. Do NOT go into Freedom Unite thinking you'll be really good at it from the get-go. This game probably has more of a learning curve than any game I've ever played before. Each weapon requires a different strategy and attack method, and the heap of skills your going to tinker with isn't exactly straightforward. Not to say that's a bad thing. Monster Hunter Freedom Unite is one of my favorite games of all times, and I'll tell you why.
Tons and tons of content. You'll be putting in hundreds of hours of game play, and if you get hooked like I did, your going to have to push your life aside for a while. There are about 1200 weapons in the game, 11 different weapon types, and heaps and heaps of armor and items. And this is the best thing about the game. There isn't really a story, and it isn't really necessary. You accept quests from NPC's around the village, and you go off, slaying beasties and gathering materials to make better items/gear. Missing that one piece to finish your armor set? Go hunt and Tigrex and chop his tail off. When you kill a monster you can loot items from him by carving it's corpse. To get, say, a Blue Mushroom, you'd go out and look for fungi growing on tree trunks, and pick from them. There is no leveling system in this rpg. Your armor makes you more powerful, not stats. If your patient like me, you'll hardly find a more rewarding game.
There are faults, though, and even though I've gotten used to them, a lot of newbies might be put off. The camera is terrible. Even though it's partly the PSP's fault itself for not having another

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse