Rent Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate for Wii U
view large frontback

Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate

Rent

Keep for: $24.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:3DS
GF Rating
7.7

325 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

Soooo Purrfectly Tasty!

posted by wiilover27 (TEMECULA, CA) Apr 30, 2013

Member since May 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Yes, self. Yes it is.

Now, if you don't have endless time(like me), this might not be the most fun game to play.
It requires a lot of investment into it to get anywhere.
So, this is(definitely)not for casual gamers.
Also, if your looking for story(of any sorts), it's not here(at least I thought so).
ALSO, to those people complaining about it being hard; it's SUPPOSED to be hard.
That's the fun of it.

Now, Monster Hunter is pretty simple(at least the basic concept).
You create a bro or brodette(?), craft weapons and armor, and fight monsters.
That's it.
The whole point of the game is crafting armor so you can fight a monster to get HIS armor to fight a harder monster, etc.
So, basically, endless grinding. (To sum it all up.)
So, if you like(or love, or beyond, like me)grinding, then this game is your(second)significant other.
If you don't, then, well, there's other fish in the sea. (Or in Monster Hunter's case, sharqs.)

There's a few problems though, like:
1. Every time you leave a city you create, everyone else gets disconnected.
2. Harder to check where you get materials from.
Other than these, this game is like chocolate with bacon. (Which is good, just so you know.)

So, all in all, I think this game is one of the greatest things to happen to the world, because it fits into my genre of stuff.
But, if you don't like grinding, talking to people, beating up monsters, or spending 3 hours on with decorations you want in your armor, then, I suggest looking elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best on Wii U so far

posted by cablenajun (ALVIN, TX) Apr 30, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Having grown up on Tri on the Nintendo Wii, I was obviously more than excited that Tri Ultimate was coming out for my Wii U. As a veteran gamer overall, I can say that the money I invested into this new experience was well worth it. After only a month, I am coming up on roughly 300 hours total of gameplay between two characters.

Monster Hunter Tri Ultimate is NOT a port of the 3DS version, nor the SAME as Tri for the Wii. Anyone who would say otherwise is a rebel and a traitor to the empire, and they will be taken away. What monster Hunter Tri Ultimate IS is a much expanded reboot of Tri. Many of the aesthetical aspects are the same, however, no armor set is a replica of it's Tri original, having all been endowed with new skill sets when worn. This brings a whole new balance to the game itself.

Any other mainstream reviewer can tell you that the difference in the two games is content, but there are also a few new game mechanics that have NEVER been present in any other MH game, such as the ability to hire hunters you've met online to do automated quests for you while you do your own thing.

There is so much more to this game than what you see at first glance, and I would NOT recommend it to anyone who is not willing to invest the time and PATIENCE necessary to become at least decent at playing. Inexperienced and/or casual gamers beware, the Monster Hunter series is not for you.

Unfortunately, I'm almost at the character limit with this review, so I'll give it a perfect score overall, while hitting some high notes.

Music: Epic. 10
Graphics: So much potential, but still true to the childish nature of the series, yet still sadly neglected. 7
Controls by class:
GS 10
LS 10
HA 10
HH 8
LA 10
GL 10
SnS 10
DS 10
Bow 7
LBG 9
HBG 9
Gameplay: 10
Online: 8
LAN: 10
Solo: 9
Interface: 10
Menu Interface(s): 8
Class variety: 10
Item/weapons/armor variety: 9
Game mechanics (movement, attacking, blocking, etc): 7
Difficulty curve: 8

OVERALL: 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great

posted by MajorGrumpy101 (SPRINGFIELD, MA) Jul 16, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Put in over 300 hours in this game, that kinda speaks for itself. its a very addicting game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

You need to play this.

posted by NikkiNein (TAMARAC, FL) May 15, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have played the PSP Monster Hunter games, and I couldn't get into them, but this game is really, really worth the time. It's rather addicting and it's probably the best Wii U game so far.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game is not meant to easy! That's the point!

posted by DavidH85 (WEST ROXBURY, MA) Mar 21, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

14 out of 17 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

As a fan of the series, I can confirm that the controls and "slow" animations were built into the game on purpose and working as intended. This is not your typical "hack and slash" kind of game, so any reviewer that complains about it being a bad game because of the controls dont understand that it's part of the experience. While I will admit that the learning curve is a bit harsh for players new to the series, it is an extremely fun and rewarding game!
I do have to warn you, if you're the type that wants to play a game where they hold your hand and encourage you to mindlessly mash a button until you reach the end credits, look somewhere else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game is frist game i loved so much

posted by Xfact (COLUMBUS, GA) Jun 4, 2013

Member since May 2013

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Frist Monster hunter I played was monster Hunter Tri as soon as got outside the village and saw the blue sea with such great graphics I know I needed to play more. When I heard about Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate was coming out was overjoyed. This game had even better graphics then Tri and combat to match. Sorry if you want navi from The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time to help you every step of the way be this game for hardcore players so please do not whine about how hard is it if you say that go rent Dark Souls and see which is harder. For people how want a real challenge then this is game for you ( It is Not Dark Souls Hard). This game allows to kill anything that crosses your path. It has a lot to fight with a lot of monsters that so big that the crush with their foot and keep walking and to match these monsters you have a huge arsenal of weaponry to fight them with form huge swords to bows and guns and a lot more. Multiplayer game is great giving you a chance to really shine with your friends. All around I love this game the one problem is little to no story but with this game you will not even care.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Port But still a great game.

posted by Wearemomo (JAMAICA, NY) Apr 19, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is very time consuming but at the same time very fun. Players can pour 40+ hours into and not even know where the time has gone. The beginning part of the game with Solo missions are pretty simple and do become challenging but the main joy comes from the online Multiplayer mode where you can play with players around the world. The game is fascinating when you go against the humongous monsters.

Two things that can be considered bad about the game is that
1) It is an old port, Decent, but I would have been more then happy to wait for a Revamped MH4.
2) No Local Multiplayer, You can only play with people online or with local players who have a 3DS and the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate

posted by xTheOverSeerx Mar 29, 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

For all of the returning MH fans:
The game is as it was on the Wii; Monster Hunter Tri. Except more monster, armor, weapons, items, areas to explore, etc. Basically how Monster Hunter Freedom 1 & 2 and then there was a Monster Hunter Freedom Unite. MH3 Ultimate is the Freedom Unite of the Wii U. As a returning fan you should already know what to expect.

For all of the newcomers:
Monster Hunter in itself is a very repetitive, frustrating, hard-working type of game. It takes lots of practice and skill to actually be good at the game. Work alone as a solo hunter offline and collect materials by yourself or work as a team online and duke it out slaying monsters with your friends or with random people. Although the game is very repetitive it offers hundreds and hundreds of hours of gameplay. The game is never over. Even when you've beaten the flagship monster of the game (usually the monster on the cover of the boxart), the game is still not over with. Even if you've beaten every quest in the game (which may take hundreds of hours), you're still not done. Go out and collect every piece of armor or the strongest weapon or the toughest armor out there. Make your own creations to make the most ultimate armor out there. There are endless creations and possibilities within the Monster Hunter series. The game will never get old because there is so much to do. You will get frustrated with the game. It takes a lot of patience and skill to overcome the enemies with this game. If you're unsure of buying this game, at least rent it and play it for a few days before you decide to buy it. I doubt it's a game that you'd want to return if you buy it though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun and challenging, but repetitive

posted by CylanthMN (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Mar 25, 2013

Member since Jun 2011

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Monster Hunter offers a HD graphical makeover of a 3 year old game, lot of content and very deep gameplay, but also a lot of repetition. There is very minimal story, generic quests, and small zones to explore.

Positives: Fantastic combat, great looking monsters, deep gameplay, lots to do and get, thrilling to take down a huge monster.

Negatives: No story, repetitive quests, online multiplayer can be hit or miss, some fights can be very frustrating

Overall: A deep online game that can last hundreds of hours, if you love challenging battles. There is just enough variety to keep you from getting bored, and if you can find a good group of people to hunt with, the game really shines. Lack of any story is a bummer, but you will have plenty of other things to worry about.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Uh-oh, here goes another 400 hours of my life...

posted by HrdcrGamr (HIGLEY, AZ) Mar 22, 2013

Member since May 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

MH3 Ultimate is pretty much a mega expansion to MH Tri. It has everything from the original, but with TONS of new monsters, armors, weapons, areas, and items to make and discover.

The best part is that the Wii U, can synch up with the 3DS versions so all 4 of us can all hunt monsters in the same room. Screaming out tips or laughing at each other's misfortunes. You can also play online as well if you don't have any roomates or fellow monster hunters to play this with. And, in a few weeks they will be releasing a add-on that allows the 3DS to play online with you while you play on the WiiU.

The game is a BLAST TO PLAY! Since my roomates and I got this game 2 days ago, we have put in about 35 hours or so into it. And have loved every minute of it.

For monster hunter veterans, the game starts off a little on the easy side so new hunters can get used to the game. But, once you travel online and make it to the High Rank and G Rank missions, the game will thoroughly start kicking your butt again if your group does not come prepared.

For new players, this game can be quite tough at times, so make sure you play a good chunk of the single player campaign before you decide to head online. Because the monsters there are MUCH, MUCH stronger then offline. Also, doing so gives you much needed experience on monster patterns, and gives you a chance to get your farm going giving you a constant supply of much needed items.

Pros:

Tons of New Monsters like the Nigelsnarf and Duramboros
New weapons like the hunting horn(Who doesn't like giving your whole team infinite stamina)
New Areas
Too many new armor sets to count
3DS connectivity
Took away the lot of the filler missions from Online missions

Cons

Game starts off a little slow if you are new to Monster Hunter
If it hooks you say goodbye to your social life
Takes a little while to get to the new content

For fans of Monster Hunter, this is another 400 hours or so. For new players, you may find yourse

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A Rehashed Monster Tri Game

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Apr 3, 2013

Member since Jan 2008

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

Back in April of 2010, a game came out on the Wii called Monster Hunter Tri. In this game, players play as hunters in a land filled with giant creatures that could crush a human without even noticing him.
A little less than three years later, Nintendo comes out with an updated version called Monster Hunter Ultimate – with better graphics, better controls (you don’t use the Wiimote and Nunchuck in the WiiU version) and maybe more material.
For those of you who haven’t played either version here’s how it works: you create a guy or gal who’s a hunter, equip them with all sorts of weapons (both melee and distance), gear up on armor, items and supplies, and then go off into the dangerous world and kill any creature that you come across.
Your choice of melee weapon is important – some do a great deal of damage, but they are so big that you need to time your swing right to land the hit. And others are faster to use, but they do less damage.
But when I started playing this game, I got a big flashback to the Tri game on the Wii, and after about two hours of hunting, fishing, mining, swimming and planting, my level of interest dropped.
The single player mode just doesn’t thrill me very much. I felt like I was doing the same thing over and over again – with little incentive to go on doing the same thing over and over again.
Which is why they have the online multiplayer part – where you and up to three other players can go out and fight all sorts of creatures over all sorts of lands (that’s where they get that 200 quests they say in the promo.) This is where the fun is.
Monster Hunter Ultimate can be fun – with other players. But $60 is a hefty price to pay, so I say you rent it first and try it before thinking about buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Game for the Wii U thus far

posted by Fradp_king (SALEM, MA) Mar 21, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Anybody who writes a bad review for this game is obviously not a reliable source. I am not that huge into Japanese games but this is solid. Graphics are good but the fun factor makes me give this game a solid review.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

fun game

posted by sweetlew (CEDAR CITY, UT) Apr 3, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

It was fun but it was ok game but it was not the game I thought it was.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Ehh

posted by Johnan (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL) Mar 20, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

7 out of 34 gamers (21%) found this review helpful

My first game of this series but my take on it after a 2 hour trial was pretty poor. You get a avatar that can use like 10 different weapons but each weapon kinda has a specialty. But unfortunately even after trying them all I found most useless because your avatar is so hard to control. Controls are confusing as well, whereas the shealth weapon button is different from the unsheath, thus I found myself wasting herbs and such when all i was trying to do was pull my weapon out. NPC text is also crazy small making my eyes hurt after only a few conversations. I ended up pretty much skipping them all. Graphics are decent but still don't make up for the small irritable things you would have to go through.
Point is: Clearly the game has depth, but is not user friendly nor is it very concise with player movements.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A Hunter's Life Awaits

posted by Teenkitsune (ABERDEEN, MD) Jan 15, 2014

Member since Oct 2013

I decided to give this a try and while I found alot of good qualities in this game I just couldn't get into it. You basically start out as a rogue hunter volunteering to help out a small tribe figure out the reason behind a mysterious series of earthquakes as well as take out a deadly sea monster disrupting fishing activities. You get to design your own hunter and start a new life hunting monsters and helping citizens. The graphics look exactly like they did on the Wii (Monster Hunter Tri) with more polygons to have a better resolution, which works at a distance but up close you can really tell that the graphics aren't truly HD. Though it is fun to hack and slash monsters, forge from their corpses, planting and growing vegetables, make friends, and complete quests both in the story and in multiplayer. It truly is a combination between hack and slash combat and virtual life. While I couldn't get into it, I did enjoy what I did experienced, and I do recommend it highly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Too much deja vu makes this an expansion pack!

posted by nr_clark (MARLTON, NJ) Jul 6, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

I'm a Monster Hunter fan and I really wish I could've given this a better rating, but...

MH3U is just too much like MH3. There's barely anything True and New enough to make any statement worthy of wowing gamers. It's basically a polished-up version of MH3--not really a good game debut on a console, let alone on a new console.

The only difference is a few other weapons, more armor, more monsters, and more battlefields, all in HD. That's nice and all, but it's nothing innovative for a new MH game. If repetition tickles your fancy, more power to you (boy does that sound fun). But I'm not interested in leveling up all over again just to get a few more of everything. Compared to its prequel, there's nothing "truly innovative" to the gameplay or experience...nope, not even up for argument, sorry. If the other fans weren't so biased/brainwashed by the franchise like a COD or Halo fan, they'd ultimately agree on this point.

With this being supposedly the best game for the Wii U, as reviewers keep on saying, then sales projections of the console are going to continue to struggle indefinitely! Come on, guys...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Definitely not for everybody

posted by DelugeMyth (WALTHAM, MA) Jul 2, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

It appears that this game has an absolute ton of depth, but it is lacking in tutorial and early game.

I simply don't have the patience to give this game the time to show me everything it can do when the beginning is so boring and complicated.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This is a more complete version of MH tri..

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) Jul 1, 2013

Member since May 2010

This game is a more complete version of Monster hunter tri! monster hunter games seem to go in circles.. First they give you the intro version of the game then they give you the complete version several years later..
Monster hunter (Ps2)- completed with Monster hunter freedom(PSP)
Monster hunter freedom 2(PSP)- Monster hunter Freedom unite(PSP)
Monster Hunter Tri(Wii)- Monster Hunter 3 ultimate(Wii-U)..
Nothing wrong with it; except for the fact that it is ANNOYING!!!!
In any event, I am glad they have a more full array of weapons to choose from this time around! I keep getting a rather annoying feeling which bugs me(Very few RPGs for the Wii-U)... Wii-U hasn't had many RPGs as yet, and I hope they expand there RPG selection, so they can compete.. I am sure we just need to be patient here folks.. It bothers me that this game is the only RPG as of this writing of this review... This IS a good game to be certain... Worth a rent, at least! Well, try before you buy in any event!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Why I was dissapointed.

posted by PootietheFish (RESTON, VA) Jun 17, 2013

Member since May 2013

I heard great things about this game. Projared even gave it a 12/10! Because of all the great things I heard, I decided to rent it, and experience something great. However, I didn't actually enjoy this game. I'm sorry to all the fans, but I thought this game was pretty boring. Maybe it's because I went from Serious Sam, a fast paced action shooter, to this game, a slow-paced monster hunting simulator. I expected this game would be an unrealistic, fast paced monster fighting game. But instead I got a.....Simulator that wasn't very fun. Please do not think this is a bad game. I was just expecting something different than what it was, so for me, it really wasn't that good. However, I'm sure that if you are a fan or RPGs than you will love this game. I just didn't have much fun with it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Only the hardcore need apply

posted by el223 (Ridgewood, NY) May 22, 2013

Member since May 2013

I tried to get into this game, but there's NO WAY it's happening. This is a game that you need spend 40 hours just to acquainted with the controls and system of the game. This game has basically little to no tutorial, the manual doesn't show you ANYTHING!! So you're pretty much left to discover everything on your own and are left with an EXTREMELY clunky and outdated menu system to work with.

I recommend this game to young unemployed people who have an extreme amount of time at their disposable; everyone else this game is not for you.

Only the hardcore MH fans need apply

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Poor Port with tons of glitches! Stay away!

posted by Andrew01093 (HARRODSBURG, KY) Apr 22, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

If your looking for an adventurous game, you might want to look somewhere else. MH3 was ported from the 3ds and you can clearly see that in the graphics department. Game looks literally horrible! I've seen some N64 games that looked better. Story is bland and you travel from monster to monster and never nothing new. No replay value whatsoever. I also have to mention the button lag. Both the analogs and buttons on the game pad and the pro controller have horrible lag. So much lag that after you stop mashing the button it will still be striking a second or two after! Say far away from this and play a real game. This was a cheap port Nintendo did in a quick attempt to feed the MH desire from Nintendo fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »