Rent Monster High: Ghoul Spirit for Wii
view large frontback

Monster High: Ghoul Spirit

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS
GF Rating
5.8

232 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
4

Weak

Basically a monster-themed chore fest

posted by BlueFlameBat (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Apr 1, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

You like doing chores? You like constantly running errands? Enjoy boring mini-games that are pretty much all the same and having to do them three times in a row? If yes, then you have very poor taste ... and this game is for you. It's barely worth a rent if you're a Monster High fan. Otherwise, don't waste your time with this monstrous piece of trash.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Monster High

posted by dducknbelle (VANCOUVER, WA) Jan 24, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Rented this game because my girls are Monster high crazy!!

I can honestly say I was very disappointed! This premise is just collecting things and running in heels to the stairs over and over again..Ugh..My girls (age 10) liked it more then me.

We all were hoping for more customization of our characters( you have to remember these are not sims bummer), you have a total of 3 choices. 3 outfits, 3 hair, 3 shoes, 3 types of monsters to be. That was a huge disappointment. My daughter wanted to be Frankie, but could only be green like her, not even the outfits looked like the favorite characters ones.

For game play you chose a quest, Pick which character you want to be friends with first then do a series of tasks which involve going to different places, talking to different monsters, and collecting things from miscellaneous lockers. Unfortunately no challenge here. Again total bummer!!

For first time gamers it is cute, and easy to learn. Not a recommend for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Awful graphics make this game hard on the eyes.

posted by Plizzy (TRENTON, NJ) Dec 16, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

The graphics on this game are appalling. You don't expect anything earth shattering from a Wii game, but these are just so bad. I have games for the original playstation that look better than this.

The character creation is insanely limited and mediocre, which is a shame since I think that's what most people are looking forward to- a chance to create your own Monster High girl.

The quests are dull (it's a lot of fetching things, and walking back and forth). On top of that, you get so many quests at a time that it can be hard for young players to keep up with what they are supposed to be doing.

All and all, I really don't recommend wasting a rental on this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not bad for a kids' game

posted by AshMCairo (AURORA, IL) Aug 22, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

Graphics are good enough, and the missions are simple enough to follow. If your kid is a fan of this series, it's worth it to pick-up on the cheap.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

LOVE IT!!! <3

posted by JennieDeAnn (SAINT PAUL, MN) Jan 14, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

Very cute & addicting! You DON'T have to be a kid to enjoy this game!!! LOL

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Poor Excuse for a Game

posted by MichaelO (PITTSBURGH, PA) Oct 20, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2010

Pros:
On the positive side, Monster High: Ghoul Spirit does do a pretty good job of capturing the Monster High world. You create a custom monster and pick its outfit from lots of options, and then walk around the school talking to all of the characters from the show. As a result, hardcore fans of the show might have a positive experience with the game.

Cons:
Unfortunately, as a video game, this thing is just awful. This game is a clear case of the game makers phoning it in, knowing that people will still play it just because of the Monster High logo on the cover. The entire game is a plotless series of fetch quests where you walk around the same 10-20 room world over and over and over and over, doing the same cheesy wii-motion-based minigames and talking to the same people. There's no tension, no villain, nobody to fight, and nothing interesting to do. To top it off, the ending is a disappointing anticlimax.

Conclusion: This game might be enjoyed by someone who is obsessed with Monster High, but even in this case, they will probably be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game is stupid

posted by eeyasmom (HERCULES, CA) Aug 9, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

My 6 year old enjoyed it but I had to sit with her while she played it because of all the reading that was involved. This game was stupid, not to mention that game instructions were not included in the envelope. Since I am new to GameFly, is this standard? Game instructions not being included with the games? It was difficult to figure out. All you do is run around, back and forth around the school campus, doing favors for everyone. It's totally stupid.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

hi

posted by lonewiso (FREEMANSBURG, PA) Jul 16, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

My daughter loved the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

My Second Favorite

posted by khump2 (HAMMOND, IN) Jul 2, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

I like Monster high so far i unlocked all of the facts but have not become scream queen i will not get this game until my godsister comes home from Missouri. but for now Thank and countinue to make Kids Happy!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »