Rent Monopoly for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Monopoly

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, GBA, Xbox 360, DS, PS2, PS3, Wii, PS3
GF Rating
5.8

3560 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Lots of fun

posted by unseth (LEESBURG, VA) Oct 27, 2008

Member since Dec 2005

103 out of 109 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

I saw a lot of inaccurate reviews on this game, probably just from people wanting to be a "top reviewer" so I thought I'd put in my quick review.

Yes you can play with less than 4 players. I played with my wife last night -- just a 2 player straight up game. You can always select to play vs CPU (varying difficulties) if you like too.

Lots of different boards - i have only unlocked 5 of them so far. The new game Richest has 3 different modes and lengths of gameplay and I tend to enjoy this more than just playing classic monopoly. Well done.

Sure it doesn't have online multiplayer, but not sure I want to join in a game and have sore losers quit on me anyways. The game is still good despite this.

The graphics aren't bad, surely better than anything I've played on the Wii, but yes being on the xbox i've come to get used to great graphics. But come on, it's monopoly, not gears 2.

The game has a nice interface, a ton of House rules options where you can change if and how much you get for free parking, if you can build houses unevenly, etc. So you can customize the game to how you like.

Overall, very well done. I give it an 8.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Boardwalk like you have never seen

posted by ElementD (DALLAS, TX) Feb 11, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

16 out of 17 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

Monopoly is a great game and a time killer that will keep you busy for hours. If you like achievements you will be able to get about 500 points out of this game in about 45 mins or less.

This is more than just the board game, it has multiple boards to unlock and two different game types with the second one having mini games and putting a twist on Monopoly like you have never seen.

I had a friend recommend this game and just rented it to see, it turned out to be a great rental and the only complaint is there is no XBox live play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Monopoly

posted by jnorlinda (COVINA, CA) Dec 22, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

18 out of 20 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

I thought this game was pretty cool. It has the original board version which is easier than setting up the board game itself and it is just as fun. What is interesting is the 'Richest' mode where you roll the dice and choose how many tokens you want to be dropped on the board which will be worth cash or cost you cash. Very simple and mostly just luck of the draw type of strategy, but I found it interesting enough to play every level and for the first time I got 1000/1000 achievement points. I would recommend this game to those who enjoy a relaxing, non-stressful type of game, or for those looking for a quick way to increase their gamer score.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Monopoly! What A Classic!

posted by marshall84 (ASHEVILLE, NC) Mar 21, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2008

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

I received this over the past weekend, I'm a fan of the board game & thought "I'll give it a try!". It's just like the original classic multi-million selling board game, simply put on the 360 console. Some new changes are you can play "Richest Monopoly" and even a futuristic playing board that you unlock with certain achievements you gain with each time you play.

From buying properties, making certain trades that also can unlock new playing boards, additional achievements. There's even an achievement for having the exact amount of money on-hand of when the game was made! I thought that was a cool idea. I enjoyed the game very well, the disc had some scuffs on it & the disc tended to have long pauses in between load times.

I would recommend playing it with more than 2 people, the more the better! Single-player can tend to be a bit boring just playing against the computer. You learn how to finance, mortgage properties, build houses, obtaining hotels, and buying utilities, do your best not to land in jail! I know I kept doing it over & over! :). I hope you found my review helpful. Thank you for reading. Happy Gambling Gamers!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Could have been really great

posted by beatlehead (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Nov 12, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

While the game is fun, online play would have made this game really great. I also wish there was an option to speed up the pace by fast rolling, fast movement etc...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Console Version!

posted by RevMoses (PRATTVILLE, AL) Oct 24, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

15 out of 20 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Is this better than the board version? Yes. Is it a great video game? Not really. Monopoly is really fun, if you like Monopoly, yet it's not exciting or spectacular. The gameplay is done well, with everything being pretty easy to access.

The next best thing about it is the ability to change house rules. You can choose if you want Free Parking to pay nothing, $200, or $500, or how much you want paid out if you pass Go or if you want that doubled if land ON Go! You can also choose the starting cash amounts, taxes, etc etc.

The passport feature is also done pretty well. As you land on each of the properties for the first time, you'll receive a "stamp" in your passport book. When you get a certain number of stamps, you unlock a new passport, and a new game board. The different game boards are pretty cool, and they also have theme-related pieces.

For the Achievement lovers out there, you'll be happy with the 80+ points you're likely to receive in the first game.

I gave this game a 10 because I rented it as a Monopoly lover, and it is everything a Monopoly game could be. It's perfect for casual gamers and families. If you're just tired of Halo 3, Gears of War, and Call of Duty 4, I don't think this game will quench your thirst.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

It is what it is....Monopoly w/o the mess

posted by Tedow42o (ENCINITAS, CA) Jan 15, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I play it with my girlfriend and friends its just monopoly without having to pull out your old box and trying to remember how to play (rules, etc..) This game makes it simple, it knows all the rules, explains the game very easily, does all the math and banking for you, but at the same time allows you to make trades with other players at your leisure. 1 to 4 players. NO ONLINE, NONE AT ALL! I know it's lame, my friends and I had 1 especially disappointing night when we discovered that. But IT'S FUN! It also has many different boards to play on with different themes and stuff. I've had it about 2 weeks and am about done with it now. IT IS WHAT IT IS....>MONOPOLY!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Monopoly

posted by Tommyboy84 (LANDRUM, SC) Nov 2, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is pretty fun. My wife doesn't like horror games like i do, so this gives us some bonding time on the 360. It has standard monopoly with about 10 different boards, mini games, and Richest games. Even though I'm 24 years old i would recommend this game to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

How could Monopoly be so annoying...

posted by Trinity (CENTENNIAL, CO) Aug 23, 2010

Member since Nov 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I like monopoly, but come on... feels like the developers played this game once and stuck it on the shelves.

Pros:
It's Monopoly
Up to 4 players ( no multiplayer)
Easy 600+ achievement points
Several cool boards to choose from

Cons:
-the little monopoly guy is annoying, after the first couple of playthru's you should be able to turn him off...but you can't. Thus he goes thru his 'tips' schpeal every game. For those with a lack of patience or who easily know the rules, you should just be able to turn him off and enjoy the game.
-On the Richest game mode, you have to choose 4 players... you + your friends + the rest CPU... so if you and ur buddy just want to have a game, you're out of luck.
-The mini games between rounds of the Richest mode give unfair advantages to the losing players... i understand them trying to keep the player with the most cash from overtaking the board, but some of these disadvantages per mini game are ridiculous. That should also be an option to turn off.
-Very little options to choose from.
-This game felt like an opportunity to highlight their new Richest Game
-while i can't prove it... i am suspicious of the 'randomness' of the dice rolls... play through the game a few times, you'll see what i mean.

Conclusion:
Easy points for those obsessed over gamerscore.
It's monopoly, so if you're tired of your same ol' board game, try this version.
Definitely a "Rent" only game... owning it would be horribly frustrating to me.
It's a good start for a game, but needs a little bit of polishing in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

not bad

posted by dcderon (BROWNSVILLE, PA) Jul 5, 2009

Member since Jan 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Not to bad but playing classic monoply is really hard against computer because they buy everything they hit and they buy some lucky with the dice lol... but overall fun family game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Its Peanut Butter Achievement Time

posted by yodathecat (SHORELINE, WA) Apr 22, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

OK so if your like me and Love achievements this is the game for you, me and my little brother played this and got 400 in one day, but besides that its not that great, you'll find that the horrible graphics combined with waiting for the other players to move gets old quick. now the multiplayer is actually pretty good, if you do not own a monopoly bored you might want to get this. there are a lot of maps, so its kind of cool.
there are also mini games that are a cool idea but kind of miss the ball of the game.

I rated this 8/10 because I love achievements but if acheivements were not invented I would give it a 3/10

Its one of those game you rent for a day to boost your gamer score, nothing too great

Good:
Achievements
Multiplayer
Lots of maps

Ok:
Minigames
Controls

Bad:
Graphics
AI (take your move, you got chance! will slowly make you crazy)
No xbox live
gets old quick

Rent it for achievements DON"T BUY IT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun, But Not Worth $60

posted by kowrip (BURLINGTON, NJ) Nov 3, 2008

Member since Nov 2004

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful


This game is a pretty decent video game conversion of the classic Monopoly game. It offers many different board layouts besides the classic. The interface and the animations look good. It also allows tweaking of the rules and includes a lot of the popular "house" rules such as a player getting cash when they land on Free Parking. However, as others have mentioned, there is no multi-player Xbox Live play. There is only local multi-player. I think this was a poor decision as Xbox Live play could have made this game a lot more fun. Overall, I think the game is decent. Hardcore Monopoly fans will like it. I just don't think this is worth paying full price for. I'd buy it used or wait until the price drops.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not worth a rental

posted by mrgrim (WARMINSTER, PA) Jan 18, 2009

Member since Dec 2003

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

It looks ok and it plays ok and the sound is ok and thats where the ok ends. You have to wait thru the AI turns and they are a slow process. The game seems stacked to help the AI win. You will find that the AI can avoid a space you build on and only hit empty spaces or those with low rent. You can do trades but the AI will only trade with the AI. Case in point I offer the AI 1,200 for a space worth 200 just to see if it would take it and it would not. I did the same many times and the AI would not take it no matter how sweet I made the deal. This game is a 0-1 at best so stay away and hope some other board game comes along.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Great For Kids, But Not For Me!

posted by alphabeta7 (WEXFORD, PA) Feb 6, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I love Monopoly and board games in general so I thought I would give this game a go. First off, I found it to be really annoying because of all the slow commentary going on. Just get on with it and let me play! Second off, the view of the board was really confusing. It seems like it MIGHT be a good game for a parent to play with their kids, as long as they understand the "tabs" for each player.

So, a good game for kids, but not really for me. Ill go back to my FPS and racing games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not THAT bad

posted by MrsMericle (WISCONSIN RAPIDS, WI) Apr 30, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game, on normal mode, is great, my only compaint there was the amount of time it took for each turn. Then I played the Richest Edition. Its almost as if the developers never tested this version, the computer cheats, LIKE CRAZY. The first richest game I played, first turn, on EASY, the computer stomped me in the mini game, picked the six and completed TWO MONOPOLIES on the FIRST TURN. Computers can't cheat? Think again. So again, normal mode is great fun, richest edition.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Board is still better but

posted by Yogurt109 (MILLERSBURG, OH) Oct 25, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this isn't that bad of a game. Some of the few worse parts. You can't skip any othe players rounds, it would have made this a lot better if they had added just that little bit. It does get a little slow playing vs. three other computer players. Also it explains everything every time it happens, that should have been made to happen only the first time.

No Xbox live? It didn't bother me that much. I got it for a family game and as such it is simple enough for just that. We all had fun playing it.

Different board options changes things up and makes it a little more refreashing than just playing on classic board.

Riches play option. Nice change of pace but mot are pretty short.

Mini games. Really only of interest when being used for ingame play during Riches.

Graphics are about as muh as you can expect. They were cute but nothing extrodinary.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This game is actually quite fun

posted by Jack31 (NEW BRAUNFELS, TX) Oct 25, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

everybody seems to be giving this bad reviews but if you actually give it some time it can be fun for medium periods of time i recommend renting

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Should've been better

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Nov 3, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

10 out of 25 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I love the board game Monopoly. I even have Monopoly for my phone. And now they come out with Monopoly for xbox. And to top that off they didnt do a really good job at it. I think EA is really good at making games in general, however this game really should of been better. First of all it doesnt really have any Live for it and it doesnt make any sense why you wouldnt put live in this game. It is customizable, but it should of been more customizable. It has mini games, but they're nothing youll be playing for a long time. In general this game shouldnt be a full game on a disc. It should of been a downloadable game on the marketplace. So yes, it is Monopoly but, is it as good as we all know it should of been? No. This game is an "OK" rent if you like Monopoly, but if you dont i wouldnt bother.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The Worst

posted by EACirillo (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Oct 22, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

17 out of 48 gamers (35%) found this review helpful

I was really excited to get this game. I love monopoly and read several reviews about the game before the release. Once I recieved it, it was apparent right away that this was not a well built game. There is NO (I repeat NO) multiplayer availabe on Xbox Live. So unless you have 4 friends sitting around your house, you cant play with your friends. How could they make a game where you cant play on-line with your friends. The graphics where preschool level at best. With all the new games coming out with amazing graphics and multiplayer......I dont see how EA couldnt live up to the challenge. Not worth the button to push to even rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bad, bad, bad

posted by DenmonX (LAKEWOOD, CO) Dec 8, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

Compared to Monopoly Party from last gen, this title is a disgrace. The graphics and character voice are much better, but it stops there.

Far fewer customization options, a much slower game speed, annoying explanations for every action, and a complete lack of online play murder this title.

I would have expected much more than this in an XBLA game for $10, but as a Retail Game this is unacceptable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

don't waste your time

posted by petezombie (LAS VEGAS, NV) Feb 18, 2009

Member since Jan 2006

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this is worst monopoly title ever get the board game out the game play will be faster and just as graphic the game interact was slow and mind numbing board animation was dully and lifeless my dog was a better opponent then ai. wish i could get the 30min back i sent trying this title ea should be embarrassed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

AI CHEATS

posted by carladogg (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Feb 12, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

AI wins, you loose. No online play.

Sent it back next day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not worth the plastic its prined on

posted by tony2loco (ALBANY, GA) Apr 7, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Would have been better with multiplayer enabled, but the overall gameplay is slow and deliberate. The actions and cinemas followed by every roll take away from actual playing, its like the game was designed for two year olds to keep the occupied watching monopoly man's needless animations.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

cheating xbox360 as usual

posted by chris36 (CINCINNATI, OH) Mar 15, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

this game cheats so bad. if the cpu needs to roll a 3 it will. and on top of that you own every piece of realestate AND SOMEHOW BY AN ACT OF GOD THE CPU WILL ROLL NUMBERS ON CHANCE OR CHESTPLACE. or land on its property only. THIS GAME IS HOT TRASH. bottom line its B.S.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

slow

posted by ChesterElegante (MILWAUKEE, WI) Jan 3, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

It takes too long to play the game and the voices are annoying. Monopoly Party was significantly superior than this title. I don't recommend this game, rather the older title Monopoly Party.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse