Rent Monopoly for PS3
view large frontback

Monopoly

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, DS, Wii, Xbox 360, Wii, Xbox 360, GBA, PS3
GF Rating
5.6

1653 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

IT's Pretty Good

posted by ladywoo (RALEIGH, NC) Mar 15, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It's not the best video game by far but it is pretty good considering the alternative. It gives you many different boards to choose from and the mini games are fun for a while. It may not be the best game ever made but it is far from the worst. It is a good game for a family game night.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Greatest Version of the Real Game I've Seen Yet

posted by jayjayswif (SAVANNAH, GA) Feb 15, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a great game. It's the best version of the real deal and I am a lover for old games, so this is the greatest for me. Will definitely be adding this to my collection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

unimpresive

posted by tomturbine (MECHANICSBURG, PA) Dec 14, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i played this game for the original ps1. i liked it. For a game a that is on a platform 14 years advanced you would think it would be better, NOPE. Game speed is slow, AI seems to have an advantage and options are very, VERY limited. The only reason it gets a 5 is that some effort was put into the game. You get a variety of boards but it takes a bit of gameplay to unlock them. On the other hand if you've played one version of monoploy, you've played them all. Multiplay with people is probably the only redeeming quality. I can't be sure because i sent the game back the day i received it. If you're a fan of monopoly, stick to the board game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Monopoly

posted by thunder32 (GAYLORD, MI) Aug 26, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Graphics for Monopoly are exremely poor, reminds one of PlayStation One. One would expect it would be more fun and have good graphics and game play as it does if you play online.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Boring

posted by Square07 (SMYRNA, GA) Jul 25, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

In a nut shell, it's more fun playing the real game in real life. All you have to do on the game is hit X. I thought it would be fun for my wife and I to play, but I guessed wrong...lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Takes the fun away....

posted by PMSGamer (KILLEEN, TX) Jul 9, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

14 out of 16 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

This game does have its ups and downs. It does beat taking out the actual board game, because it is less of a mess, but that is it. The creators of this game, must have taken the board games instructions and followed them down to the niddy gritty. You cant make "deals" or honestly have the fun you can with the actual game. The upsides of the video game version, is that there are a lot of character possibilities, there are cute seperate themes, and it does keep track of money, property, etc. It would be a good aid to teach children how to play, but for adults who know how to play already, it bores you quick.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Board Game is much better

posted by JPea5USMC (STAFFORD, VA) May 25, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

The board game version is much better. This game takes entirely too long to transition between players. You also lose the fun family experience. I highly recommend Buzz Quiz TV for anyone looking for a fun family type game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Monopoly, for the creatively impaired.

posted by Raidersfan (NEVADA, IA) Nov 30, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

24 out of 31 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

This does not live up to the Monopoly game. Did these guys ever actually PLAY this game w/ someone that's good at it? They made the game using the instructions only. Little creativity w/ the game play or rule settings.

Pros:

1) Graphics are great in HD
2) Wide array of pieces & boards (Future board fav)
3) Controls easy, needs custom settings
4) Mini games are a neat distraction.
5) "Buy Set" for house purchases is cool. Buy 1 or 3 houses at a time

Cons: (Possibility of imprint left on TV screen)

1) Game options are whether you want subtitles or not. That's it!
2) House rules & how the AI handles them if changed needs fixed. One game lasted 1/2 a turn, AI went to trade mode & I had to reset the "House Rules" after 30 mins to get a turn. Do not play game with all props sorted at beginning of game (fast start game), you will not get a turn.
3) Lopsided trades offered by the AI. Who set these rules? AI only trades for Monopoly props. (Offered $450 for a RR, two unowned left on the board, no trade) Won't trade if it's not getting a monopoly set.
4) MONOPOLY GUY WILL NOT SHUT UP!!! Needs more than 10 phrases!!
5) No way to speed up game play. Every time will be the same. The pieces will bounce around the board and the little guy will race to the prop you landed on. After a few games this gets old. Needs to have button to take you to the prop faster.
6) Music is nice for the 1st few times then gets really old. Think elevator techno in repeat loop.
7) No free rent in trades. Neccesary basic game tactic. You are low on funds offer free ride for rent.
8) When turn is done, you have to move the icon to the "Next Turn" box. This should be the default setting, not "Accounts". I won't start in on the "Accounts" screen.

I love the game of Monopoly. I hate it when designers "make it better" & ruin it instead. The PC version is closer to being a real game. Thanks for reading my rant.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good

posted by hnkhnk06 (SAN ANGELO, TX) Nov 29, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

9 out of 14 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

This game is good for a board game genre. It beats having to take out the game board and set it all up. Great for friends or family that you want to play Monopoly with, without the extra hassle.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

yeah ok

posted by Lyons504 (MARRERO, LA) Jul 1, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Its a good game to play when bored. Need to be able to speed the game up a bit. Shut the monopoly guy up. LOL
If you love the board game, and can't get nobody to play with you because you are too good at the game.... you will love this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Game Ever Made Award!!!

posted by Scoggpod (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Dec 20, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is by far the worst game that has ever been put together. It takes the ONLY fun out of the game in the first place which is rolling the dice and counting the money. AWFUL GAME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

monopoly

posted by mikcali (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Apr 18, 2009

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

It's just like the old board game, except on my $700 high tech video game/blue ray system....Sounds kinda stupid when you say it like that... There is really nothing "wrong" with the game other than you're playing monopoly on your ps3. I'm not going into the graphics or the gameplay....YOU ARE PLAYING MONOPOLY ON YOUR PS3! You spent a butt load of money on a gaming system to play a board game on your television. May be families might like it for some together time and their kids are so addicted to PS3 they can't relate to anything else or you're just a monopoly freak (if there is such a thing), but in my opinion you're really better off just getting the actual board game, which, believe it or not, is less boring than this and I'm sure, a fraction of the price.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

most boring game in history

posted by jg1313 (BRYSON CITY, NC) Mar 5, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

yippe.. monopoly on my ps3..what a waste of time.. very boring and if you wanna unlock all the boards fast have three or four controllers so you can earn passports faster... my advise buy the boardgame its cheaper and you can cheat..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

So, no dice! (no pun intended!)

posted by CritScott (QUAKERTOWN, PA) Nov 22, 2012

Member since Jun 2010

I stuck this game in the PS3, and yes, I was completely prepared mentally to try to enjoy an old classic. Back in the day when all you had was board games, this was the shizzle bedizzle, dawg!
Reality speaking, this is 2012, and we've come to expect smooth interfaces, entertaining cut scenes, and some kind of ba-bling. The intro movie and initial setup was completely jittery and jumped around too much, and after a few rounds, I was not impressed and realized this game had way too many bugs. The transactions were not very interactive - it just didn't draw me in.
I did not like that they offered additional game boards, but you have to unlock them. Geeze - this title might get a second glance if it were not so buggy. I think more love and attention should've been given to this game. I know there is a newer version, which it in my queue - I hope to have better comments on that one! (which I'm sure they cleaned up a bit)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not that good

posted by stallionbuck (LOUISVILLE, KY) Oct 22, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

It was fun for the first hour,but after that boring,very boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Cheating Game

posted by NaturalRed (GLENDALE, CA) Dec 1, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

The game rolls the dice in it's favor. I was sent to jail five times in a row while the computer players amassed money while missing my properties. They never got sent to jail, paid minimal Community Chest or Chance fees and rarely landed on my property. The game is rigged.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

garbage

posted by Babomb1337 (DUXBURY, MA) Jun 30, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

not one redeeming quality to this game. if you looking for fast fun action monopoly grab monopoly party on the xbox or ps2 or gc. this game was a total bummer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

If I could rate it at 0 I would

posted by lislou2782 (VIDA, OR) Mar 2, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

I received two seperate copies of this game, and neither would play. So after the second copy did not play, my partner went out and bought a brand new copy of the game. It still didn't play! This game is horrible, or at least it was for me..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

monopoly

posted by wthima311 (WHITSETT, NC) Jan 25, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

it is a good game on the fact that it plays like the actual board game but it could have been better by adding online multiplayer, trophies/acheivements and for god sake put a muzzle button on the game somewhere for the monopoly guy he can be very annoying...whats up with my membership date gamefly? ive been a member longer than that!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not what we expected

posted by MainsMom (FREDERICKSBURG, VA) Jan 13, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

This game was boring to say the least. We love Monoploy my 6 yr. old and I and we play the board game as well as on the computer pogo site all the time We thought this was going to be fun when we got it out the the mailbox ne afternoon we put it in and were all excited needless to say five mins after starting a game we both quit because it was so boring. I'm so happy I did not purchase this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

kinda boring

posted by william007 (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Oct 22, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

They did add some mini games but unless you are playing with actual people it's pretty boring. The comp is easy to take advantage of and with out the fun of the haggle monopoly looses a lot of it's fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Fun!

posted by Squeegie (BELLINGHAM, WA) Sep 14, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

This game has many Monopoly boards, not just the traditional one. There's also another version on the disk, "Richest" which we haven't yet explored, we've been having too much fun with the 'regular' Monopoly. You can adjust ceratin settings, like getting a payout for landing on the Free Parking space, or getting double pay for landing on Go. I highly recommend this game to anyone looking for fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game

posted by wesleysh21 (SHREVEPORT, LA) Aug 11, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

This is the best video game version of Monopoly yet. That being said, its still not "perfect." I don't like the fact that you can't just pass on buying a property, as they force you to auction the property. I'm glad they finally opened up options for landing on Free Parking...acknowledging how most Americans play the game (pay tax money on Free Parking). I'm also a fan of the double money payout for landing directly on Go.

In the end, for us Gameflyers, its worth the rental for Monopoly fans. I wouldn't buy the game though. I wish they would have basic options, and then advanced options to customize every aspect of the game. That way those that don't want to tweak much don't have to go thru a zillion menus...and those that do want to can.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Monopoly still good

posted by zebaroth (ASHEVILLE, NC) Aug 10, 2009

Member since May 2007

i have played the nes snes and this by far the best ver and the best looking the cake broad look so yummy. the one thing the game did not
have was net work play sure you can have 4 others siting around
the tv playing or play with your split personaltys if you have any
but would been fun to play over the net work

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

MONOPOLY(WORLDWIDE EDITION)

posted by deemii (BRONX, NY) Jun 22, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

This game is awesome. MONOPOLY the game, has so much details in it. If the board is different, the dices are different, the pause menu is different, the players that you pick gets different. Its so cool and fun. I give alot of props to "Hasbro" and who else developed and supported this game. There could've been a couple of things in the game that was left out. 1 - online gameplay, 2 - unlockables, 3 - creating your own board. But i most believe that "hasbro" already have those ideas ready and running.(thats if they are making another monopoly game). I will be so happy if that can happen or will happen. Monopoly is the best deal game ever.Maybe im wrong to other people but i know everybody plays this game alot.

LOOKS LIKE ITS GOING TO BE A GOLDEN BOARD,LETS PLAY!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse