Rent Monopoly for PS2
view large frontback

Monopoly

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS, PS3, Xbox 360, GBA, Wii, Xbox 360, PS3, Wii
GF Rating
5.7

452 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

awesome for groups

posted by Highlifeis (HILLIARD, OH) Nov 4, 2008

Member since Aug 2006

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is a classic. It also includes an arcade style monopoly game you can get sucked into for hours. The classic version has everything it needs, and more. The rules are custimizable before playing, can include money for free parking.
its awesome except for the fact of there is no real career type mode to keep you playing after the initial value wears off.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

great game

posted by ffamily (BLAKELY, GA) Jan 30, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The old classices are still number #1. The current games are fun but sometimes an old classic is just the thing, on a rainy night or not.
I liked the different boards you could choose from, but I didn't like the fact you had to kinda guess which board you had to return to in order to find more stamps to unlock the next board. Each board was almost a guessing game, " Am I gonna find a stamp here or not."

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

All the fun, no paper money!

posted by arabella (South Otselic, NY) Jan 4, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My family and I enjoyed this game more than most. It offers all the fun of the board game, with none of the setup and cleanup mess. Properties and money are all handled cleanly, and it's never going to be the same game twice. If you like the board game, you're going to love this version!
A few things I would change, to improve on an already good design: We couldn't find a way to save the players information from one game to another, so every time we started a new game, we had to re-input each players info. And, we started ALOT of games!! The various alternate boards seemed like a fun idea, but we found some of the boards hard to read on a regular 30-inch diagonal screen, and the new names and themes can be a bit confusing. We always found ourselves going back to the classic board! Also, Mr. Moneybags seems to get a bit behind in his narration at times, and we prefer a bit of a faster pace to our games. Lastly, we couldn't find an option for the audio, to turn down, or even off, the background music. I have nothing against a little jazz flute now and then, but when you play as much and as often as we have, it can get a bit redundant! Overall, my family came closer to the "Keep it" option on this game than on any we have played up until now! Owning this game is an option I'll keep open, we just had too much fun with it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

like board game

posted by winky54 (BACKUS, MN) Dec 1, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It reminds me of the old board game in my childhood years but I CANNOT BEAT THE COMPUTER still all in all good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Monopoly cons:

posted by tadpole (SHERIDAN, AR) Nov 12, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

It takes too long in between turns and you can't fast forward so 1 monopoly game takes about 1 hour and a half to play so you better have quite a bit of time on your hands. Also you HAVE to have FOUR people to start with so thats one of the reasons it takes so long. You can't change it to 2 or 3 players.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Bad Bad Bad

posted by ps2junkie (WILLITS, CA) Nov 11, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I will go back to the board game more fun more control. Boreing sad unfun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Gr8 game for the whole family!

posted by GypsieRose (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Aug 31, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

It has dif boards, games, kewl graphics. I just love this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Horrible, even for a family game...

posted by bjaockx (TUCSON, AZ) Jul 1, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

Oh man. I've played better Monopoly games on the SNES.

This game, even though it has a few interesting modes of play, was a let down in every way.

Granted the game relies on the luck of the roll in order to acquire properties, but it seemed that if you had the computer players on anything but easy, you would have the worst rolls possible... something about a computer creating "random" rolls that i just don't buy. The voice was annoying, and gave you no way to skip, or even turn it off, so you are stuck watching the same thing over and over, and over, and over... the animations, and over all graphics were no better than what would have been found on an old N64. all in all, i would have had a better time busting out the actual board game and playing a round by myself.

do not rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

This Game Is Lame

posted by rjluff (RICHMONDVILLE, NY) Feb 24, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

Why is it that you can't just play 2 players and you have to have "computers" as the other 2 to make 4? The Monopoly board game beats this by a mile! It stinks to have to wait for the "computer" player. Makes for a very boring play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »