Rent Monopoly for Wii
view large frontback

Monopoly

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, PS3, PS3, GBA, Xbox 360, DS, Xbox 360, PS2
GF Rating
5.8

2416 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

A die hards comparison

posted by sborwege (LITTLE FALLS, MN) Nov 2, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

16 out of 17 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

I am a die hard monopoly fan. Growing up I used to love the monopoly game for the SNES. I'm sure now days it wouldn't hold up. I have owned the version for the Gameboy(while with no color still the best version ever made). I also spent many hours playing the Gamecube version of monopoly. Trust me, I know my monopoly.

Many people like monopoly on video games because they don't have to count out the money. Which is true, but every monopoly I've played in video games has made trading difficult. This game is no exception. Once you figure it out it seems so simplistic, but my first couple trades I gave properties away by mistake.

Another annoying thing is that after each turn you must point at the screen to end your turn. The option for a single button push would have eased things a long in a simpler method.

The auctioning of properties, has a simple button push to bid, but you can also bid by raising the remote. I have to set the remote down if I don't want to bid because I have by mistakenly bought properties by just moving the remote a slight bit.

The new richest version is a fun gimmick mode. its not great but its not a game seller. There are some fun mini-games but it seems like majority of the time anyone could win based on luck.

I wouldn't recommend a rent for this game.... Not because its a terribly bad game(its just monopoly, you can't expect too much more then that) I just think someone is better of either buying the gamecube version for less then $15 if you can find it. If you have the patience to wait 6-8 months you should be able to find this game used for cheap or go to best buy and get it for under $20.

sound-2
generic, and Mr. Monopoly is very repetitive.

visuals-7
great backgrounds. Some more animations would have been nice, or mii options.

controls - 3
The tried to hard to use the Wii's motion sensor

fun factor - 6
the more players the better

replay value - 8
The game will always stand the test of time

overall(not an average)- 5.5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Family fun

posted by LynnD73 (JACKSON, GA) Dec 20, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is great for family fun night. Once you figure how to play. If you have a group and love to play I highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun for a group, but....

posted by Bild0zer (ROCHESTER, NY) Nov 16, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

18 out of 20 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

My wife is a huge fan of Monopoly, having collected dozens of boards.
She was very excited to play Wii Monopoly, but her main complaint was the inability to play with less than 4 players at a time.
The mini games are fun & the Richest mode of alternate play was interesting, although it involved way too much luck & not a great amount of skill for my playing enjoyment.
Playing boards opened up additional boards using different themes.
The ability to create custom boards would have been a plus.
If you love Monopoly & don't mind playing 4 player every time, you will like this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

ok game

posted by Panzy91 (ARCHER, FL) Jul 26, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game was ok except the music was to loud and could not find a way to turn it off. Otherwise it was a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

OKay but better on PS3

posted by Ruedog16 (ROCHESTER, MA) Apr 17, 2010

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The graphics were poor on the wii. Its a fun game, just better on ps3 thats all. 6.5 of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Need a group!!

posted by Shanellz (PALMDALE, CA) Mar 17, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Monoply is a fun game in general on the board but playing it on the systems.. Your going to need a group of people. Its quite boring with just 2 people. And the graphics on Wii are pretty lame so maybe it will look better on PS3 or 360.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Monopoly

posted by gmsbeak22 (INDIO, CA) Mar 16, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a great game for the gamer who love Monopoly. But just like the classic board game we all played as a child, its a board game. Meaning it is going to take some time to get the game going. But a positive note, little brother can't come over and knock all the pieces off the board, but he can flip the switch to turn off the Wii, none the less, this is a timeless classic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun for entire family

posted by Rampage3 (CREST HILL, IL) Nov 16, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

We love this game, it keeps track of all your money and properties for you. The only downfall is I wish you could only play 2 players, you have to play 4 even if 2 of them are the computer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A fun time with friends

posted by texasangie (FREDERICKSBURG, TX) Jul 16, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

We had a fun time while playing this game but after a while it did get boring but we have that same problem playing the original monopoly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun I guess

posted by WFO4LIFE (EAST STROUDSBURG, PA) Jul 1, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When you play a game and win, you want to feel like you accomplished something.... I never got that feeling with this game. I would much rather play with my friends on a real board.

If you want this game, you need more then one controller, if your playing with friends. Otherwise, you will be like "just roll for me" and where is the fun in that?

Its ok, I guess if you want to play a few games of monopoly, or dont have any friends to play at home with.. its worth renting for a weekend or so.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Title

posted by mdias814 (ERIE, PA) Jun 24, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Well monopoly has always been fun. I see alot of reviews about people crying about loading times and cutsceenes, but the fact is its a fun game just like it always has been, the sceenes arent 5 mins long so im not sure why everyone is crying about them. The only thing i noticed that i didnt like is the fact that the CPU players make bad trades to benifit one cpu player. id reccomend this to anyone who truely enjoys monopoly, not to the sissy's that cry about everything.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty Fun

posted by kwithers (SINTON, TX) Jun 11, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed this game, especially the added feature of opening up new boards - just added a little to the whole thing. Biggest downside is that the board is small on the screen and the various screens about the properties are hard to read. Otherwise, a good time and especially nice to play against the computer since I didn't have anyone to play with.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Buy a hotel in this economy!? Seriously...

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Jun 2, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ah, the board game: a classic piece of recreation, yet barely relevant in the digital age. Some moved to the video game realm to stay fresh and Monopoly is one such example. However, it's still the same game it was more than 70 years ago.
As you play the game, Mr. Monopoly will follow you around the board as you buy property, trade with human or computer players and build houses. The game plays just like the board game and at about the same pace. Each piece is animated to move over each and every space to it's appointed destination and pop-up screens keep you apprised of new purchases or trades.
If you get bored playing the normal game, Monopoly also includes a Richest Edition, although this removes what little strategy is inherent in the game. You play mini-games so you get first pick at a dice roll, the number representing how many random spaces you will occupy. It's all left to chance and more a gimmick than a game, but it's there if you want it.
To keep things interesting, you can unlock a bunch of new boards by collecting properties. These boards have distinct personalities, but still, it's just Monopoly with a new coat of paint. The game also allows you to customize rules which might help you get more value from the game.
Playing with friends will probably prove more interesting than playing your three virtual opponents, who only have a few difficulty settings.
Overall, the game makes for a good round of Monopoly. It runs smoothly, has a straight-forward interface and enough extras to keep you interested. But let's face it: a great version of Monopoly is still just Monopoly. You'll get as much playing time out of this game as you would from the board game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wish I Could Skip the Animations

posted by Bosleps (GREENSBORO, NC) May 22, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This has all of the old Monopoly stuff you know, and a few extra modes. You can customize the rules, too. You unlock boards as you buy properties. The only thing that is really annoying is having to wait through animations and Uncle Pennybags's talking. Anyway, it's fun if you like Monopoly, and don't want to deal with the board and pieces.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Just what it is

posted by sayandjohn (BESSEMER, AL) May 11, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Monopoly. Just the board game. Really slow getting into it, you have to have patience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Monopoly Review

posted by GhostCandy (Dalton, GA) Apr 15, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Great for a Party Game, boring playing by yourself, it got very repetitive, and it drags a long time. You get to unlock a lot of cool looking boards, and the graphics aren't bad, except you can't really read the letters or numbers in the game cause they are too small. But other than that, it was fun for awhile, but got boring real quick.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

It's a great game to have

posted by Gokuss8 (MYRTLE BEACH, SC) Mar 30, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love the bidding for the property senes. hours of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Could have easily been a 10

posted by zendba (WILMINGTON, DE) Mar 4, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

You've got to hand it to EA Sports, they are consistent. No matter what they touch, no matter how easy, they mess it up.

The game itself on the Wii is terrific for young kids in the 6 - 11 range, as it is enjoyable for them to play, and as a parent I liked it because they get to learn/practice simple math.

Where EA Sports missed the mark was the easy stuff. Make the board bigger, no reason to keep it so small....have an option to speed up rolls...and allow for more customization of the monopoly dude's animation.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great take on an old classic

posted by HeyD88 (MONTROSE, CA) Mar 3, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed the graphics of this game. The different boards/themes were really fun. Great choices for game pieces as well.

I played this by myself and was frustrated at having to play a game with three "other" players. Maybe there is a way to play with just two but I couldn't figure it out.

Having to wait for the computer to play three other people got boring quickly. I played one game and got my fix. But, i think this would be a lot of fun with a few other people.

I would rent again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Monopoly - Really well done!

posted by Siksh0tz (GRAPEVINE, TX) Nov 23, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Probably the best aspect of this game is there is no board, dice, or paper money to have to drag out to play. You get the full Monopoly experience while being able to lay on the couch armed with your wiimote. There are also some pretty cool game boards to unlock which give Monopoly a whole new feel. The mini-games are entertaining as well.

The only thing to be aware of is this is Monopoly and I got bored after a few games. For me this game would be something I would play 3 to 5 times a month. If you love Monopoly and can play it over and over than go buy this game! If you are a casual Monopoly player than just rent it from GameFly!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Entertaining but talks too much

posted by COMondo (DENVER, CO) Nov 11, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game is rather interesting with its many unique boards and minigames it offers. The Richest mode is interesting to play and is designed for 30-minutes of game play, which it would be shorter if you could get the Monopoly character to stop repeating the same phrases over and over again and just moving slow.

The game overall offered the Monopoly guy talking too much. Same thing over and over and after playing for 30 minutes you grow tired of it and wish there was a way to shut him up.

If you have plenty of time to play this out and don't mind the guy talking too much it is interesting and entertaining, but if I was to buy this game it would have to be at the $10-17 price.

You could stop play and continue on the next time, but you only had one chance. If I was playing with my kids and had to turn it off due to bed time, the next day if my wife wanted to play it by herself she had the option to continue the game previous or start a new one. Starting a new one deleted where me and my boys left off and we'd have to start over.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It is what it is

posted by tropical (MC ARTHUR, OH) Nov 3, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is exactly what it is suppose to be. A Board game. It is a little slower than I like, but it is an ok game to rent. I would not recommend buying it though. The single player games are a little odd. There are mini games you can play as well. They seem about average.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good BUT only with four players.

posted by Ghostcrash (BROWNVILLE, NY) Nov 2, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I wanted to like this game more but. The graphics are great. A lot of different boards, some ok mini games.

I played a solo game which was very slow you have to watch the cpu players role and character move and there is no way to speed it up. Also the cpu seemed extremely lucky and was getting doubles very often they would have done great in yahtzee. I still stuck it out and kept playing until I was forced in to bankruptcy. I still owned property but since my mortgage values would not been high enough to pay the bill I was forced to quite. I know I would have lost eventually but I should have had the option to sell of my land to other players to play a little longer.

The worst part after losing the game. THE GAME DID NOT END. The two cpu players then played each other.

Simply put this not even close to being a single player game. Terrible.

That said I would buy this game for $10.00 the cost of the board game because not having to work the math and make sure no one is cheating is a nice feature. And you don't have to worry about missing pieces.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

As fun as Monopoly can be, over and over again...

posted by DebLee (ALBERTSON, NY) Oct 30, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

If you are a die-hard Monopoly fan (hey, maybe there are some out there) then this game is perfect for you and is a must-buy. However, if you are just a casual Monopoly player, it's worth a rent but I wouldn't pay full price. You could always play the ACTUAL board game.

There are two game modes in this game - Monopoly (classic game) and Richest (new game designed for the Wii). The best new feature about Monopoly for the Wii are the new game boards. They are beautifully designed with fun themes such as "Sweets", "Cheese", "Jungle", etc. The game pieces and property deeds all change based on what board you have selected.

The classic Monopoly game is essentially the same as the board you have in the closet. You can set your own house rules, such as a payout on Free Parking, or double Go money if you land on Go, etc. Everyone chooses a game piece and the game play is exactly the same as the real board game. Except you don't have to do the math yourself, which might be a perk to some people!

The Richest game mode is difficult to explain. It is a shorter version of the game, where you can earn several properties in one turn, and whoever is richest at the end of the game wins. The amount of properties you can win in a given round depends on your performance in a Wii-style Mini Game, like those found in WarioWare (they all involve either shaking, tilting, or point and click Wii-remote motions). The Mini Games are based on the familiar titles of Chance and Community Chest cards "Get Out of Jail", "Christmas Fund Matures", etc. However, there are only 12 of these Mini Games, and they get old REALLY fast. This game mode is kind of ridiculous. You can be winning in one round, and then be in last place the next.

IN SHORT: If you like Monopoly it's worth renting and giving it a try. If you love it, great! If you're like me and realize you can have just as much fun playing the actual board game in the closet, then go with that instinct.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Monopoly

posted by Clankrocks (STATE COLLEGE, PA) Oct 30, 2009

Member since Feb 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game has very creative and fun boards you can play from like the classic board to the World Edition Board. With each board comes cool creative pawns. Good Graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse