Rent Monopoly Streets for PS3
view large frontback

Monopoly Streets

Rent

Keep for: $24.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, DS, Xbox 360, PS2, Wii, Xbox 360, GBA, PS3
GF Rating
6.4

1566 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Way Better Than The Board Game.

posted by jay419 (PRAGUE, OK) Mar 20, 2011

Member since Jan 2009

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Played this with my wife over the weekend. I really liked it. It speeds up an old boring game and makes it fun. It's exactly what you think it is. Avatars for each piece walk the board at street level and the properties you buy change with improvements. The only thing weak is the AI. The computer opponents don't make logical moves which can drag the game on a little. But this game moves pretty quick compared to the old board game we played as kids. 2 players and 2 AI players took about 2 hours to finish. It's bright, and innocent and a nice change from all the shooters that come out. I'm pleasantly surprised that a video game made a great improvement on a traditional BORED game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A fun family time game

posted by AnimeKing001 (SOUTH OZONE PARK, NY) Mar 12, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

A good game that will keep the family entertained, for a while. It offers many options to create your own personalized game, a good selection of different boards to choose from, and online support if you want to play with someone when your girlfriend doesn't.

All in all, it's the same as if you were to play the cardboard & paper version if you still have it in your attic (without all the cheating). A good rental to entertain your party guests or for the weekend.

7/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Basic fun classic style to a new generation!

posted by Toreup (Bettendorf, IA) Jan 13, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Simple game with a few nice twists to the game,
play classic or with enhancements!

Fun for a group of people, a little slow paced with all the animation in turns which take a while to skip through to the meat of the game.

too limited in a few aspects for the cheaters out there! most of us take that for granted growing up, this will keep you honest and for some odd bad luck people will be discouraged, I recomend Playing through its ups and downs

Very easy for all ages, once you get use to it though the downfall for me anyway was the waiting to hit 'o' of skip when the AI or yourself moves about through MANY pauses for animation etc..

Good to rent as a 5-7 Rated game would be worth owning for $10-$15 as the gametime drags on and you can barely sit through a few short games before having your fill. and might be ready for another round on holidays or a month down the road.

I recomend a rent and play around all the modes for a week or so and if your not addicted still send it back and keep an eye out for it in the bargin under $10 bin next year as its good to have in your portfolio of games, much easier than the board and you can save it mid game so Do not forget to pick it up for your collection if your a balanced gamer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

is this everyones first time playing monopoly?????

posted by SteelCity (SAXONBURG, PA) Feb 15, 2011

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I dont understand the reviews. First off the game is not long and drawn out. I played my first three games around thirty to fourty minutes and if you've ever played monopoly you understand it takes quite some time. Waiting for AI to take its turn is not that long either with the speed up option. Outside of people who rent this thinking is was going to be an action packed shoot em up game (and I have no idea why they would) you should enjoy this game. There have been some horrible remakes of the game, but this isnt one of them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best MONOPOLY in some time

posted by JohnnyDark (SANTA FE SPRINGS, CA) Oct 29, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

12 out of 15 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Just got MONOPOLY Streets and I love it. Yes I am not normal lol, I do love all the great PS3 games but I play MONOPOLY several times a day everyday even on my cell, (I am disabled so no im not a slacker). This version was made the people who made the last PS3 MONOPOLY game which i have to admit was really really lacking in a lot of areas. But they have addressed almost all of those and the 3D streets version is alot of fun, I did find one error I hope they can fix soon in an update, if you modify the rules the max hotels you can buy is only 20 NOT 22 as is should be so if you own all properties and want hotels on all of them as I do everytime I play you CAN'T, because the game is 2 hotels short, so if your listening, please update this to 22 hotels! :-) Also i find the characters (female) a little sexist perhaps letting us choose from a variety of players to go with tokens as an pay for upgrade? I am looking forward to the international cities 3D unlockable I hope it is as great is it seems, and I also hope the developer provides more such 3d cities as pay for upgrades perhaps on PSN. Note to all developers of any game: if you have a city in your game provide changing day/nite versions its adds so much to repeat play and is SO SO easy to add to the code!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Good, except for the AI

posted by gamewizard1976 (INDEPENDENCE, MO) Mar 21, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is my first review of any game so take this with that in mind. This is the first Monopoly game I have ever played for the PS3. My intent was that it would be a good family game, my girlfriend and my son. Which is fine, but leaves you forced to use a computer controlled player. Why they force you to use only 4 players with no choice to change.

The game would be decent and fun to play (if you actually like the game of Monopoly) if not for the computer who seems destined to never land on your property with houses and hotels but you can't ever seem to make it past theirs. And that is with the easiest setting for the computer AI. If any of you are like me and enjoy games of skill, this game is not for you. If you have four people then I bet it is great, but the computer will beat you just about every time without exception. Rent it, try it out but expect to send it back frustrated with a computer that you swear is cheating. It could be me though, with chance games I seldom win.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Can a classic boardgame really be fun nowadays?

posted by Aragorn225 (FREDERICK, MD) Oct 28, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

8 out of 24 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I found myself so bored of this game so quickly, i put it back into the mail the day i recieved it. Not only did it make me feel bad for the original creator of Monopoly, ut i feel bad for anyone renting this game! Here's my reasons:

Gameplay: very slow paced and boring. Each player takes turns rolling the dice and then moves the number of spaces on the dice. Some slots have places you can buy for a fee, which you can whole-heartedly deny, or you can land on a space allowing you take a card from the Chance Deck. Chance Deck cards can vary from paying 1,000 hard-earned bucks, or earning 10 to 15 dollars. Seems fun, right? Nope, it gets really boring and pointless after fifteen minutes...

Graphics: Graphics suck... what else can i say? Sorry if this part is a bit too short and lacks details, but i really can't put in any details on how fake, and stupid looking the Graphics looked.

AI: You will find yourself screaming at the AI who continuously beat you EVERY TIME. It is WAY more fun to play with friends, instead of the annoyingly smart and devious AI. Trust me, you're whole effort to raise money and become a millionaire will be undermined the second it's the AI's turn. Playing with friends is way more rewarding.

Conclusion: Some people may really like this, i can see why; Monopoly brings back the old memories of a truly great game. But is it worth buying a PS3 (or Xbox 360) just to play Monopoly when you cna go to Toys R Us and buy one for a buck? Nope. Anyway, see ya'll.

:foodndrink:

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Family Game

posted by o1faerie (MARANA, AZ) Apr 23, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

This is a great game to play as a family or with a group of kids. Not really recommended for kids above 12 though because they my get bored easily. My son who is 10 loves this game but gets confused easily by it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

monapoly

posted by roni41m (OMAHA, NE) Jul 15, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

I played it on ps3 and it was a lot of fun. I even got my 54 yr old mom to play. lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

As Good as It Gets!

posted by CritScott (QUAKERTOWN, PA) Mar 12, 2013

Member since Jun 2010

I think they did an excellent job on this one. The older version of same game was very poorly done. This revision has music, interactions, better interface, animations, and produced the [expected] flow of entertainment in the gaming multimedia platform. They brought in sounds, voice talents, and made this classic board game as exciting as it can be on the system.
It's kind of ironic, because when you want to play a classic board game, you should pull out, dust off and gather up the pieces of the actual board game! But this generation will at least get an idea of what games were like "in the old days!"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Okay Game

posted by Greenz (PLATTSMOUTH, NE) Mar 10, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

I recommend this game to people who love the board game monopoly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THE BEST GAME I PLAYED

posted by MIZPS2 (BROOKLYN, NY) Feb 25, 2013

Member since Oct 2007

This version is better than all the rest. more fun,easier to play with kids and family. good family nite game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good Family Fun!

posted by lopez90 (NEW HAVEN, CT) Nov 21, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

My only problem with this game is that you can't set one controller to be passed around. You have to have the number of controllers the same as the number of human players you want to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

classic fun

posted by Cabo (PALM BAY, FL) Sep 21, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

had alot of fun with the kids with this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

monopoly streets ps3

posted by afrosamurai1985 (NEW ORLEANS, LA) Sep 20, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

this game is very interesting and fun ........a must have for monopoly fans

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Monoply

posted by Honesty_is_High (SACRAMENTO, CA) Aug 29, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

After playing it for 30 minutes you will get bored of it. I accidently kept it for a month by mistake, but the cover is more enticing than the actual game-play. I only got it because i liked it on super nintendo back in the 90's. True they've elevated graphic wise, but its not close to the advertisement/cover it presents...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Family Time

posted by GamFamBam (INGLEWOOD, CA) Jun 19, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

This game was awesome!! We had such a great time playing as a family! Good for "Game Night".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Long game

posted by The_Man_TLC (NEW DURHAM, NH) Feb 29, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

Monopoly is a great game but can take up to hrs of playtime. My wife and myself played a game lasting more than 5 hrs. The many types of boards are cool and interesting to play but a few games of this and your set to go. There are also many diffrent game styles to choose from but I am a classic type personally. good overall game great for kids even fun for adults if you have the time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great!

posted by cottton (COPPERAS COVE, TX) Jan 22, 2012

Member since Nov 2007

Monopoly at its best love this game, now that I have played this one I will never go back to the old board.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Monopoly Streets

posted by wisdom007 (SOUTHFIELD, MI) Dec 22, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

What a great game....spend hours playing it with the family

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Stick with the board game.

posted by Mr_Waddelskwat (MASON CITY, IA) Dec 9, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

This has cute graphics and you can play against the cpu. Otherwise I'd prefer to play the board game. You can't get a look at the vertual board while deciding to buy something (at least I couldn't figure it out). I just think you don't get the proper overview of the game progress. Hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

family game for sure

posted by shellymurphy (DIXON, CA) Oct 22, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

Good clean fun nothing more nothing less. It does however get old very fast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Chosing between eversion and board game

posted by fishoof38 (NORTH PORT, FL) Oct 3, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

I will chose the board game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

good game but AI is annoying

posted by southman (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Sep 22, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

this game is a good decent game but after awhile the AI becomes really annoying especially the wheel barrel AI crazy . over gameplay is is fun and you couldn't ask for a better family game altho imo the 1st one was better . overall if you like family games or have kids this is a perfect game to buy but if you are a casual gamer or are a trophy hunter this game is a good rental .

game play 6/10
AI - 4/10
replayabilty- 6/10
overall 5/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

its a fun family game

posted by hetrickthewon (GARDNERS, PA) Aug 22, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

The trophies are easy to get but the game is differnet and fun for the kids and famiily i would tell everyone its fun and a game you can always go back too

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse