Rent Monopoly Streets for Wii
view large frontback

Monopoly Streets

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, GBA, Xbox 360, Xbox 360, DS, PS2, PS3, PS3
GF Rating
6.5

977 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

Acceptable but disappointing

posted by bathos (CAMBRIDGE, MA) Nov 8, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The first version of Monopoly for Wii was actually very good. This new version was advertised as being different and new because of it's presentation of the game board as a real city. It would be reasonable to assume that, since this is the only significant difference, a lot of detail and creativity would be put into it. This just isn't the case.

My chief disappointment is that while, like the last title, additional game boards with fun themes are unlockable, THEY'RE NOT 3D! In fact, they're the exact same boards! Seriously. There's only one unlockable board that has 3D city features that are supposedly the reason this game exists. Like the first board, it's short on creativity and even novelty.

The game's tokens are represented alongside characters that have voices. The voices are so deeply annoying and add so much time to the game that you'll be quite thankful that it's possible to turn them off.

The one great redeemer that justifies playing this instead of the original is greater control over the game rule parameters. In particular I love the new speed die, which is a third die that rolls with the usual two that has two new special faces that actually add a great deal to game play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Okay but not okay

posted by jenn29 (FREMONT, NE) Dec 9, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

We only kept this game for a day, and only played it once. We played the speed version, after an hour we forced ourselves bankrupt so we could quit. Its okay but the graphics could be better for being new version and all.

It is cool to see your buildings grow but not as impressive as the commercial makes it seem. The game play is somewhat confusing and we played with our 12 year old and still struggled. If I was going to choose between this and the regular in the box board game.... old school would def win!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Monopoly Streets

posted by RiSims (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Mar 2, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Lots of fun for the family, and better than actually playing on the real board. Try it out and have a blast

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Disappointing

posted by Sweets76 (ENID, OK) Nov 11, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I rented this game as a precursor to buying it, and I'm glad I did. My son and I are big fans of Monopoly and love playing old school on a board and on the computer or whichever console happens to get going at the time. That said, the voices were very annoying, the animations were not that great, and we got bored very quickly. We played for maybe an hour before it went back in the mailbox.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Ea Monopoly Streets

posted by JerJer (COLUMBUS, IN) Oct 31, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Cute for a while. The Wii version is lacking internet play and does not use the wii's controller in any normal wii fashion, only button pushes. That's a big downfall. Appears to have been made by non-Wii programmers. Very disappointing. It is better than the old wii monopoly game but not by much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Monopoly Streets

posted by superbob87 (MONMOUTH, OR) Jan 15, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

I like Monopoly, and I like Wii, But this game CHEATS. At first I just thought that the computer was lucky, avoiding all of my properties every round, but after the computer avoided all my properties (especially properties with houses) EVERY game....I have deduced that the game cheats. I lost 12 out of 15 games due to the computer players avoiding my properties. And that was on Easy AI.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

If...

posted by EnigmaticMind (BROOKLYN, NY) Dec 26, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

You're playing with other people. It's fun enough by yourself but I seriously suggest multiplayer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

awesome

posted by kyla21292 (LEXINGTON PARK, MD) Jul 8, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

we loved it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great!

posted by Ckykyro (PHOENIX, AZ) Jun 22, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

Its good.
----------
Pros:
Fun
Family friendly
Good game overall.
----------
Cons:
You can't share a Wii remote, you have to have one remote per player.
The characters, non-stop making random noises.
----------
This is defiantly a game to try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

monopoly

posted by flacnice (ELIZABETH, NJ) Mar 23, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

It was okay, i liked that you can play either the classic way or actually in the city, it was fun, but after a while i got bored of playing.. they should had put more cities like the put more boards.. but overall it was cool..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Monoploy

posted by antandchloe (AUBURN, ME) Jan 31, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

It sucks you cant use one controller for more than one person

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game is nothing like playing the table game

posted by dukelife (LAKE MARY, FL) Jan 30, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

All I can say is BORING!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A Fun Game For Monopoly Fans

posted by Joeliboi (SEATTLE, WA) Jan 29, 2012

Member since May 2011

If your'e a fan of monopoly then be sure to rent this game. All the fun and action of the board game brought to life! Very fun overall!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

So many issues' where to start?

posted by CasualGamerWii (LARGO, FL) Dec 23, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

I played the previous version with the same problems. Camera is too close, action is too fast and takes away from the game, the computer AI is too brutal even on easy, the text is small, you cant see where you or the other players are, can't see what turn it is, the computer almost never wants to trade, they give the computer extra turns for no reason. No matter what board you are on, what properties you or the other players have among other issues.

This game makes you want to exit after about 30 minutes.

This is not a fun game!

At least I only paid a few dollars to rent it and not retail. Even if it is free; I would not want it!

Not since Monopoly 64 has there been a great video Monopoly game. Since the vc is dead and that won't be happening in our lifetime, dig through your closet
and dust off the original old fashioned one (TRUE) 3D experience! You will have 100x more fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Enjoyable despite it's flaws

posted by kerwyn8322 (LAKE PANASOFFKEE, FL) Dec 5, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

First off, I have to agree with other reviewers, this game has it's flaws. I'm disappointed that after 2 days we've already unlocked everything, there are only 2 3D boards, and the ai characters are less than desirable. We're probably going to hold on to it a bit longer as we do enjoy playing the game (perhaps only because it IS Monopoly). We enjoy Mr. Monopoly's comments even if he is a jerk LOL. We get a kick out of the houses and hotels that go up. But where we have a hard time is even using Easy AI, they tend to have all the luck, always... played a game where I had most all the properties, max houses/hotels, and it still took forever (2-3 hrs) to bankrupt the AI's. They seem to always land on safe spots and completely avoid your properties where-as another human player always lands on your properties. Frankly, it's a little disappointing sitting around waiting for someone to finish a game because all the other human players have been eliminated. Considering the Ai's can make it safely around the board 6-7 times before landing on hotel, it takes awhile to bankrupt the AI's. The little girl, and the dog-lady are perhaps the most annoying characters ever!
I wish the game had more 3D maps, and wish the dice were not rigged in favor of the AI... but other than that, we've enjoyed playing the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Like monopoly get this

posted by gameviewer (WINTER GARDEN, FL) Oct 18, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2009

I got this game because I wanted to play it. I get it home and my mom sees it and starts to play. See got addicted to it. Every time I got of work and she was home she was like you want to play monopoly. I had to get a TiVo because she made me play so much I was missing my shows. It was fun and will be a purchase. What is nice is you can use your avatar as your character. I can't remember what button you hit it located at the bottom of the screen. The only thing I don't like about the game is that they create a virtual town for this game along with regular boards. There is only to and there are almost identical.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Boring

posted by mmjnl (SAN ANGELO, TX) Sep 22, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

I have a 6 yr old, and perhaps that's the reason I have this opinion: As far as the game goes, it was kind of nice how they brought everything to life. But if there are only 2 of you playing and you have to play against the computer, the game gets boring really fast.

I think this game is probably more suited for older children and adults. I also think the more the merrier with this version. If there had been 4 of us playing, I think it would've been a lot more fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The snooze button on my alarm clock is more fun!

posted by fun4kev (ALAMEDA, CA) Sep 9, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

I grew up in the 1980's when the classic board games and Atari were very popular. Monopoly kept me and my friends happy for hours, but this version of Monopoly is boring.

The characters you can choose are limited, and the farmer, the boy in the top hat, and the woman with the dog are pretty annoying. Wish there were more characters to choose from.

Also it's not very hard to play, and you can't really play like a novice, or expert. It would be kind of cool if the characters were more creative like a millionare, CEO, CFO, entreprenuer, scientist, etc.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

not great

posted by newwiigamer (MOUNT PLEASANT, PA) Aug 29, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

I spent the weekend playing this game and we made a discovery about it. I don't know if this is true with other games but it is almost a progressive plan for you to fail. The first game anyone played was a winner. all the AI characters either fell on a high rent and lost all their money or quickly went bankrupt and we had just enough m money to unlock a few things. Then we tried several games in a row and all the human players either went bankrupt or had to pay maximum rents while you land on AI squares. The random dice roll is a joke, No one can have that many bad rolls in one hand. My daughter and I had to go to jail almost every roll during one game. The AI players only have $20 dollars in there own bank but somehow keep putting hotels on their property's. I also agree with other's VERY ANNOYING voices from the AI players.This could have been made better. Also more 3d boards than just 2. VERY LONG play in standard game. I played all the short games just to get through them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

The best so far but that's not saying much.

posted by tiloho (IRON RIVER, MI) Jul 22, 2011

Member since Jun 2005

The one thing I really hate about this game is the inablity to play with less than 3 opponents(or more for that matter). Even the SNES version allowed as few as 1 or as many as 7(each with distinct personalities). Also the only way to get your name on the board is to spend 5000 M to allow you to use your Mii character(which is very childish looking compared to the usual characters). I like that you earn a little money even when you go bankrupt and can save up to unlock specific board or tokens(only 3, not including the Mii). If you don't have any of the other Monopoly games yet, then you should get this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

monoply streets

posted by crazyfokills45 (TAMPA, FL) Jun 21, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

The game was ok i mean the co-op was fun but if you played vs the system they would keep on giveing them money when they would go broke so i give it a thumbs down

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Monopoly

posted by cstr4068 (EL DORADO, AR) Jun 4, 2011

Member since Dec 2008

It is fun it sure saves time on adding and subtracting I like that got good special affects. I really like it I may have to add to my collection of game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

ea games doesnt collect 200

posted by trex6504 (HAZLE TOWNSHIP, PA) May 20, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

I had recently received monoply streets and was looking forward to playing it because i like playing the classic board game and on the computer. I put this game in and the graphics were great. I started to play the game against an e ai oppennet which ended up being a good player. I kept having to mortagage my properties because the ai players were buying properties and building right on them. I got bored with this game and kept declearing bankrupcty just to end even the fast paced games. so i would recommend to all gamers and monoply fans alike skip this game its not worth the rent or purchase

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

love it

posted by davidlewis (HAMPTON, VA) May 9, 2011

Member since May 2011

always love the board game as a kid and loving it on the wii but I do have a question. Can u play it online with other players?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

cute and fun

posted by rodrex (HOLLISTER, CA) May 4, 2011

Member since May 2011

If you enjoy family game night at your house I would recommend you buy this game. Good graphic, classic game play, anyone that loves Monopoly cant go wrong with this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse