Rent Monopoly Streets for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Monopoly Streets

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, DS, PS3, PS2, Wii, Xbox 360, GBA, PS3
GF Rating
6.4

1989 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Fun Game!

posted by Kibedoe (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Nov 24, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

18 out of 18 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you love the board game, Monopoly, then you'll enjoy playing Monopoly Streets. There are several different versions you can play, which I really liked, other than just the original board game version. I also really liked the auction option for buying properties, and trading properties with other players. The only thing I don't like about the game is when someone lands on a property that is already owned it doesn't clearly say who owns the property, or how much they are getting paid rent. There is a small text box that pops up at the top, but it quickly goes away, so unless you already know who owns what (and sometimes it's hard to remember when you are playing with multiple people) you'll wonder who got paid & how much. I think they could have make a better "announcement" of who gets paid since that's the really fun part of the game.
Other than that I really enjoyed playing. I think what keeps it fun is the different game boards and the different game versions. Once you play one of the other versions you won't want to play the original!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty Fun

posted by bluerayne (YUCCA VALLEY, CA) Feb 1, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I had fun playing the different variations of boards, it was pretty easy to unlock new boards. The different versions of the game was also fun. I liked auctioning off all the properties at the beginning. Its fun to use your own xbox avatars too. Not a game you could play forever, but a nice game to add to your collection!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Monopoly Review!

posted by jjcrg2080 (DECATUR, AL) Nov 10, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

12 out of 13 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

If you love Monopoly, you will find this game is for you. The graphics are cool on the Monopoly Street boards, the classic boards are not as visually impressive but are pretty basic for a monopoly board. The 3D boards steal the show here. Also, the are many variants of these boards to unlock in the store, as well as other Street boards, I am sure you will see some more DLC boards and such coming along in the next few months. Other than that the gameplay is as you would expect its Monopoly. On the other hand you can customize a game to the way you want to play, everything from Free Parking to how many dice you wanna roll. Some people will push this game aside but for anyone with a family and children that would like something to play together this is it, just remember this is Monopoly. Nothing more, nothing less. Very good family game for everyone!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not worth it

posted by kiljor2 (LEBANON, OR) Sep 27, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is terrible. I love monopoly but the computer cheats so badly. Never let's you trade anything and is always rolling doubles. They trade between themselves but never with you. I will not be buying this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun, but AI does "cheat"

posted by Robeaux (DUBUQUE, IA) Apr 10, 2012

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've been trying to beat the 3 AIs in hard mode and I'm almost convinced it's impossible. I had bankrupted the two other players and had all but two monopolies. After that, I would always land on Income Tax, Luxury Tax and the AIs monopolies while it kept landing on Chance and Community Chest and kept getting the payouts from those. It took it about 20 turns, but it slowly whittled away everything I had until I had mortgaged everything. Three times in a row I landed on Luxury Tax and on the next roll I would end up on Income Tax...incredibly frustrating.

Other than that, it's pretty fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

fyi

posted by uzumaki_naruto (LONG BEACH, CA) Feb 9, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the AI cheats!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome but...

posted by BrittyB (LAS VEGAS, NV) Mar 6, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Monopoly streets was an awesome game. The graphics were good and the options to play different types of modes ( classic monopoly, house rules, speed die, etc.) was a plus. The only thing that i would say that i was disappointed about was the lack of board themes, although i am sure if you have xbox live you would be able to download more. Overall awesome game but i would have loved more game board themes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Hooray for electronic monopoly...

posted by texx77 (IOWA CITY, IA) Dec 17, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Do you like Mario Party but wish that there were no mini games, random events, or general entertainment?

If you answered yes to any of the above then Monopoly streets is the game for you! Its not that this game is poorly made as the graphics and music and actually quite decent, but that its just Monopoly in the form of an Xbox game and not much more than that. Of course if you rented it then I'm sure that that is what you expected anyway, but for me I just thought maybe there would be some new perks or twists. But no, its just regular ol' Monopoly.

So if you are looking for a way to play Monopoly but don't have the time to set up a board game whenever you get the urge, then get this game, otherwise just stick to the board game because this isn't any more than that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

THIS GAME IS GREAT...BUT

posted by sampson70 (OAKLAND, CA) May 19, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Monopoly Streets is a fun game. there are a few modes that mix things up a lot,like speed die and you can make up your own custom games! I just wish more people were online though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

AI avatars are annoying

posted by daboogha (TRUSSVILLE, AL) Apr 27, 2011

Member since May 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The review title should say it all. Played one game with three computer AI players. Sent it back. Unless you have three other people to play with you then don't bother. By the end of the game I wanted to deafen myself with qtips.

Good idea - annoying presentation though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This game is very good!

posted by elidog (WINCHESTER, VA) May 17, 2014

Member since May 2014

This game is good for people who like MONOPOLY and wish to find a better version. It's cool because it takes you into a 3-D landscape of the game MONOPOLY. It also has regular boards too, for people who like the old ways best. Overall, this game is a great game for MONOPOLY fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game

posted by quennnbeee (JEFFERSONVILLE, IN) Apr 17, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

Me an my niece spent over two hours playing this game. I recommend it for any family for a family night. It also has different levels of play short long quick etc for those who dont want to take forever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Loved it

posted by LadyGemini1 (POCATELLO, ID) Apr 16, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

After a marathon of hack and slash video games I was looking for a break. Monopoly Streets was perfect.

You can either play against AI or with your friends (up to 4 players.) You also get to chose the hardness level of the AI (easy, medium, or hard.) As you play you earn Monopoly money you can use to unlock other tokens or new boards.

Also, you can play several different versions of Monopoly. Just like the ones that are described on the actual board game version. Plus you can change or incorporate house rules as well. Like landing on go means you get $400.

I've always been a huge board game fan so it was no surprise that I fell in love with this game. My husband, on the other hand, states he hates board games. I can never get him to play with me. Except in this case, he was willing to try it since it was on a console. One night we spent almost 5 hours playing different versions of the game and I even caught him playing it alone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Monopoly Streets

posted by Eagle42876 (EDGEWOOD, NM) Jan 23, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

This game was very enjoyable. The game play on the streets board has visually stunning graphics. Game play speed may be a little slow for some especially when competing with the AI. Hard to gain enough monopoly money to buy other boards. Overall good choice for a family game to play with your kids. Clean language and no violence.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Entertaining

posted by OneSxyOne (BALTIMORE, MD) Jan 16, 2013

Member since Jan 2008

If you enjoy the classic boardgame then you may have lots of fun with this game. It plays well and the graphics are very nice. On the downside, there is only so long one will be entertained & enjoy the somewhat repetition of the game. Its good for a rental of a day or 2 but any extended time may be boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Boring...

posted by LilBit84 (HINESVILLE, GA) Dec 10, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

I feel asleep 3 times trying to play this game and only made it around the board 5 times. Yes, this game will also favor the A.I. and there is no getting around it. The avatar animations and sounds are down right annoying and if you don't mute the sound, Mr.Monopoly will keep talking!! Rent this if you have 3 other ppl to play with.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by george33333 (COMMERCE CITY, CO) Nov 14, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

My entire family loved this game! Great game for any age. Also easy even my youngest did not have trouble figuring it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Low Expectations, Low Satisfaction

posted by Wald1984 (OSWEGO, IL) Nov 12, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

We thought that having a new take on monopoly might be fun. And, for the first fifteen minutes of the first game the graphics were cute and the interface not bad. Then it quickly got monotonous (keeping in mind that we realized it was a MONOPOLY game). Furthermore, it became frustrating when the AI difficulty is increased as it seemed that this did not simply have the AI make better decisions, but directly altered it's rolls. The fact that my wife and I got tired of this without completing the first game was a quick warning to mail this one back to GF as quickly as possible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun Game, Cheating AI

posted by 5H3375 (VINTON, OH) Nov 6, 2012

Member since Nov 2009

This game is fun. A little rough around the edges, not completely polished. After trying for two days, finally got a multiplayer match, it lagged out. The AI cheats, I swear. Always roll doubles, never trade you anything. But, besides that it is a fun game. Playing it offline with some friends is a blast. Achievements are pretty easy to get. Probably not a buy, but def worth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Ai cheats

posted by roguekouga (DALLAS, TX) Oct 19, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

As a warning the game is easy, BUT i play two rounds in both games had the ai gone from all but 2 property and with in thirty minute the AI had most the board and 4000 buck. Losing AI would not land on my buildings but in rather land in chance/ mortgaged properties or go to jail. so ya.. have four humans to play with

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not working

posted by Glenna (SAFFORD, AZ) Sep 8, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

the game will not work. will send back need new one. go so far and not work. not our game console your game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Monopoly is fun, but I could swear it's rigged...

posted by themerc (WEST ROXBURY, MA) Aug 26, 2012

Member since Sep 2010

I have read a couple of other reviews mentioning that the AI cheats, though I wouldn't say that the AI cheats, it's more like rigged against the losing person and for the winning person. In my numerous games I have many examples of it being rigged, but ones I remember for example, going to Jail 2 times in 3 rolls, sometimes when I was slightly behind I would land on Chance and I'd get 3 spaces back and land right on his property while he got better cards or land on Luxury Tax constantly, etc. I've won many games so I'm not bad at Monopoly, so I can say from experience it's pretty obvious that it is rigged.

It just seems like the dice rolls to the difficulty and isn't random like it should be, because it definitely does not seem random at all, which is bad game design. Which goes into the next part of the review.

If the dice are truly random, I've never seen so many doubles thrown and so many doubles thrown right in a row, like 3 doubles happen Way too often, I mean c'mon! And it always stops at 3, if I can throw 3 doubles in a row somewhat commonly why can't I throw a 4th?

My last big complaint would be that the AI is way too hard to trade w/, even on easy, I'm sending a player great trades and they deny it constantly while sending me these awful trades in return.

Lastly, a rather minor complaint now, the game moves way too fast for you to read who's giving
who rent and trades. It'd also be nice to be able to see what properties they build and how much,
so I don't get to the other side of the board to find out they built 4 freaking houses and I need to start worrying.

Overall, it's a fun game and I wrote a lot of negatives, but these negatives detract from the actual Monopoly game too much to forgive. Pros would be Monopoly is super fun, the 3D buildings and zooming around the board is fun adding immersion to give a whole new level of enjoyment and a new view of Monopoly I couldn't get in the board game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by jeffeema (ALISO VIEJO, CA) Aug 11, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

The fun never ends, and this game is highly addictive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

For board game lovers and monopoly players

posted by mbustoz85 (AVONDALE, AZ) Aug 9, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

I gave this an eight for the people who love monopoly or board games to play with family members. Its great for a few friends but playing solo against the computer isn't as fun due to the time length for one game. There's a couple of ways to play the game that bring the board to life that was pretty cool and game play is pretty easy and basic even for non-gamers which came in handy in my case. So if you like board games and have friends that like them too then this game is fun but if you plan to play this on a weekend solo , you may be disappointed. Hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Save our time

posted by captchaos (OWEGO, NY) Jun 25, 2012

Member since Jul 2008

If you want to play Monopoly, just puul out the board game. Save you valuable clock cycles for better games than this. Takes forever and there really isn't anything special about it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse