Rent ModNation Racers for PS3
view large frontback

ModNation Racers

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PSP Games
GF Rating
7.2

3777 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Insane Fun!

posted by robert_h (PROVO, UT) Apr 1, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This is the most fun I have had playing a game for as long as I can remember. I think I have more fun creating than actually racing. I am seriously thinking of keeping this one. The graphics are great, online is awesome and career is extremely fun yet challenging at the same time. I love the fact that when you create a character, kart or track you can publish it and other players can vote on them and you can share each others creations. I give this 4/5.

I gave it a 4/5 only because sometimes getting hit multiple consecutive times during a race is pretty annoying and frustrating. But, I keep coming back for more!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Tire Melting Exlplosion Causing Sound Waves

posted by Stephanh89 (FORT WORTH, TX) Dec 30, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I ordered this game for the customization, unsure what to expect. After popping it in, the first thing I did was head to the creation station.

The creation station is pretty nice, it comes with quite things already unlocked. I thought the outfit and accessory set was lacking, until I found out about what all you could do with all of the sticker designs. What's great about the creation system in this game, is you do not have to spend an hour to make a neat looking character. I made my first mod doing basic editing and felt fairly happy with it, but you can go back and sink a few hours into making that perfect mod. The kart and mod possibilities seem endless.

Not expecting much from the game play, I went into my first career race and was blown away. This game is fast and easy to pick up, my girlfriend who is not a gamer at all loves it. You can pick up on the controls within your first race, thinking with the small button usage this game would be simple; I wasn't expecting so much out of the quality of the race. This game is a great break from the racing games that take themselves too seriously. Each race also has three challenges to unlock more items for customization, and these are tough. This game has plenty of hard challenges for the completion that will keep you occupied for a while

I would highly recommend this game as a rental, and possibly even a purchase down the road. Hands down this is the most fun racing game I have played in a long time with plenty of customization, and really.... this game has been a non stop pleasure to play since I received it in the mail two weeks ago.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Nostalgia Kart

posted by Thrasher20 (LYNWOOD, CA) Nov 4, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Long review written short. This game is awesome. The choices from choosing or creating levels, karts, and characters are limitless. MNR is highly addictive and fun. Trophies are awesome but challenging and also adds way more replay value than there already is. Anyway, if you dig Mario Kart, Diddy Kong Racing, then this game is for you. Highly recommend it for racing fans and people who like to be creative in making stuff up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Load times stall out this racer

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) May 27, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

22 out of 31 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Sony's "ModNation Racers" is a great idea- take the customization of "LittleBigPlanet" and mix it with a kart-racing game. And the customization is great- there's plenty to unlock to make a huge amount of drivers, karts, and even your own tracks. Just designing things could keep one busy for a good chunk of time. But just how is playing with all of your creations? The racing itself is fine, as the karts control very well (though shielding yourself from attacks is a bit iffy), and the tracks are varied, with multiple shortcuts to find. Graphics are bright and colorful, but not outstanding. The sound is good, and what voice acting there is is fine. So what keeps this from getting a higher score? Two words: Load Times. The load times are ridiculously long, and really stall out what should have been a very fun experience. And in between the races, cutscenes, and visiting the Mod Shop, those load times pop up. So it's do something, wait, do something, wait some more, and...Well, you get the idea. It's too bad, as there is a good amount of game here for your dollar. If you can get past the load times, this is worth the purchase. For myself, the long waits reduce it to a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A fantastic customizable racer from Sony

posted by SGHi78 (SOUTH GLENS FALLS, NY) Oct 5, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

ModNation is a great racing game to come to the PS3 with the Create, Play, Share initiative. When I first saw the game, I thought it would be a little too cartoony, and maybe even easy. I was quite wrong. The game is a little corny, but in a good way. The customization options for Karts, Mods, and tracks are near endless. Without paying a dime extra, I downloaded over 150 Mods (characters) that people created, ranging from Spiderman to Sackboy, to even Solid Snake and Barack Obama. Just customizing and downloading things can make you get lost in the game without even racing.

When it does come to racing however, the game gets even better. I feel that this is a very challenging game as you advance. With tough AI however, it can get a little stressful when you do fantastic 2 laps, then get zapped right before the finish line and you have to race it again, but alas that is the way of the racing genre. I enjoyed the weapon system, where you have multiple "stages" of weapons. If you pick up one little orb, you get for example one missle (think one green shell in Mario Kart). If you don't fire it and pick up another orb along the way, you can have about 3 missiles that lock on (think 3 red shells), and one more orb for about 5 that hit multiple players at once. Very fun system.

Many people are complaining about the load times, which are long. However, it needs to be understood that the game has many things to load with the customizations of the Mods, the Karts, and the Tracks. Sure it would be nice if it was faster, but for a good game, you can be patient.

Well done Sony.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Really fun game

posted by Cuddlep00p (MARICOPA, AZ) Aug 2, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome but the load times are a bit too much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Great new Enrty in the Play,Create, Share Genre!

posted by HeavyToka (FREDERICK, MD) May 26, 2010

Member since May 2010

12 out of 18 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is a ton of fun; the Karts handle very well and the track creator is very easy to use. All around this is a great game; my only complaint is the load times and that is being fixed in a patch soon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game, Loooooooong loads

posted by 0Silver0 (BOISE, ID) Oct 3, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is great, lots of custom everything. This game is a definite buy rent to try it out if you need to but it would be like renting little big planet. Everything you do adds to your collection of things you can add to your character, car or track. I have no idea if the load problem will be fixed but it can literally take up to 2 mins to load a track. There is another problem too with the career mode, after you finish a race it kicks you back out to the little town with all the things to customize and look at. when first putting the game in there is about 20 mins of updates to be downloaded so be ready.This game could have easily gotten a perfect but minor annoying things make it just fall below what could be the best racing game ever. (Grid, Grand Turismo and Burnout aside). K best kart game ever, this has what mario kart doesn't. If you love to spend lots of time customizing everything this game is for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Fun

posted by locorican6 (WOODBRIDGE, VA) Sep 28, 2010

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game was pretty fun. I liked the graphics and the fast paced race. I did experience some connection problems with my PS3, but I don't know if this is related to the server. So I had limited time to play with the online features.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

awesome game,u can mod all kinds of ways

posted by pupp3t (PERRY, FL) Aug 16, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

positive:people have mics,mod you vehicle&character,even thought its sorta hard to get use to the track building its good. only negative i see is the lack of weopons that are in the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Load Times are so worth it...

posted by Gamer12340 (RACINE, WI) Jul 31, 2010

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

BEFORE I START THIS REVIEW I WANT TO SAY THAT A PATCH FOR THIS GAME WAS ANNOUNCED TO RELEASE ON AUGUST 4TH THAT WILL CUT LOAD TIMES IN HALF AND INCLUDE A CASUAL DIFFICULTY FOR CAREER.

I've heard many mixed reviews about this game and decided to check it out.

Career: As of right now, before patch, the career in Modnation Racers isn't very good in my opinion. It seems like the difficulty level is way too high (no way to change it) as early as the 2nd and 3rd races. One good thing about the career is the announcers, I think they're hilarious saying things throughout the races that help raise morale (my opinion).

Creation: The main part of Modnation Racers is obviously creation. As a new addition to Sony's Play, Create, Share line of games, it really lives up to that title.
Comparisons: The creation aspects are similar to other games so here are some examples of similarities: The kart making reminds me of Forza Motorsport 3, allowing stickers and paint to be applied to vehicles. The Mod (character) creation reminds me of LittleBigPlanet, stickers, props, and clothes can all be put on your Mods. Finally, the track creation is mostly similar to FarCry 2's map maker, with terrain modifications and tons of objects to place. These all work very well and you unlock items from career races to add to your collection.

Cons:The only con besides the tough campaign is long load times, this game can sometimes take up to a minute to load, which can be annoying when trying to do simple things like accessing the career. Both of these problems will be solved with the patch, so in the end this game really has no cons.

Overall, this is a great game and when the patch comes out it'll be even better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mario Kart who?

posted by JLO215 (HIALEAH, FL) May 27, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Step aside Mario Kart racing trilogy , the Modnation train is rolling over the competition and with style. I bought this game yesterday and at first it did hurt to pay $65 but boy was that long forgotten after i started creating and racing . I spent all night playing this game , my pregnant wife wanted to kill me when she saw it was 1:00am and i was still playing trying to unlock new items . GREAT GAME , this is a game that will evolve more and more in the upcoming month(s) . Get it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Load Times are NOT that long

posted by Kruelgor (CASTLE ROCK, CO) Jun 7, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

12 out of 21 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I'm in love with the game. It's simply awesome. I have a hunch that people complaining about the slow load times most likely have a slow Internet connection. The game does do a lot of uploading/downloading of content so a reliable fast Internet connection is highly recommended. As far as modded content, they literally have any fictional character you can think of as they're already made and look just like the real thing. Making maps is awesome and very easy to learn. You can easily add hundreds of friends to your friends list and can send them challenges to play your custom made maps. The controls are easy, the weapons are a blast, and is just totally fun. You'll enjoy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Kaboom! The mods are OFF!!!

posted by multak (NORTH CONWAY, NH) May 28, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

8 out of 14 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

this game is packed with many things.create share and download user created tracks.even mess with the originals. spice them up and throw them down. this game takes power ups to a hole new level! you can warp drive, launch a swarm of heat seeking missals, shoot an engine stopping photon cannon and a hole bunch of other stuff in between them. create your own racer,car and track them pawn your friends online. packed with boost,customizable jump heights and lengths,stickers and all kind of fun stuff. in case you were wondering about loading times... it takes from 15-45 sec to load but after that as long as you don`t exit the track you can restart almost instantly no lagging on the track if you ask me you wait for what you get. altogether this game is an always expanding awesome non stop racer. yo plumber... put that in your exhaust and smoke it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Move Over, Mario

posted by cidgrad01 (NEWNAN, GA) Aug 20, 2010

Member since May 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Mario Kart has been my favorite kart racing game since it first came out on the SNES. Not any longer. This blows MK out of the water, even MK Wii. Not only does it have a ton of courses, uh, you can MAKE your own. And you can make your own racers and karts, as well as share everything online. For free. Feel nostalgic for the Mario Kart racers? Good news: they've pretty much all already been made by someone, so get this game and download them all. Not to mention the tons of other characters from other games, movies, etc out there. The only drawback to this game is that you're limited in your creations by a certain number of "props" that help you modify your stuff. However, as long as you're making a 2-D image, the sticker sets let you make whatever you want. The creation system is still not 100% perfect, but there is zero competition out there so it's practically heaven. Can't say enough about this game. If you like Mario Kart, you'll love ModNation.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game

posted by xpepox (CLARKSVILLE, IN) Jun 5, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

This is over all a great game. There are only two problems with this game the load times and the ridiculously hard ai. the load times are tolerable just a little longer than most current games. the ai is the ony real problem you can race a pefect race for two and a half laps and then on the end of the last lap you will get shot repeatedly and lose. very frustrating. still worth playing though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

major buzz kill

posted by calebcdub (REDLANDS, CA) Jul 26, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

cool game, fun racing, but way to long of load time between just about every screen... major turn off

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good game well worth it

posted by Silohara (ELMIRA, NY) Nov 6, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this is a good game actually its great i liked the controles the creatability of the tracks racer and kart there is even plenty of moves to learn and alot of playability i find alot of people have complained about the load time i didnt find the load time to bad it loaded fairly quickly for me and i kind of like the cartoonish look of it its bright and fun so i think it is well owrth the purchase or even to just rent it a few times and just conitnue to play even if you keep it out long enough beat it there is always more to do such as online racing or creating more karts and stuff :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

New Type of Racing Game

posted by xboxforlif (FORKS, WA) Aug 10, 2010

Member since May 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is a awesome version of Mario Kart mixed with Twisted Metal. The customization of this game makes Gran Turismo look like it has nothing on this game. With its awesome car customization and track creation. It makes this game totally different for each person who plays it with its great custimization each user who plays will have a different experience by making each character and each car their very own personal world. My opinion is that this is the best racing game in a long time.

10/10= Nothing else comes close.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

My problem with this game is the AI

posted by DrWattz (WEBB CITY, MO) Jul 21, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

When I started out the career mode of ModNation, it seemed to be pretty fun. After a couple of races, it starts to get more challenging. I thought to myself, "Okay, a little harder, but it's still good." I started playing a little more and the obvious happened.

This game is INCREDIBLY difficult. But the only reason I keep playing it is to try to unlock more stuff. You unlock stickers, clothes, car parts, and other various things. You unlock these items by completing objectives DURING the race. Objectives like, "get 50,000 drift points", and "sideswipe 3 other racers". That's not even the most annoying part! You usually have to complete those objectives AND finish in 1st place. This game can be very frustrating for that reason.

These challenges probably don't sound to difficult for someone who plays a lot of racing games, sure! But the most annoying part that tops it off is the AI difficulty! I usually end up playing a track over a ridiculous amount of times because I'll usually end up getting blown up by a rocket at the very end of the race, therefore, getting passed and not getting first place.

This game is definitely not for people like me, who get easily frustrated or for people who do not like taking their time and racing a track over and over again to unlock stuff.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Hurry up and wait!

posted by BallzyDAN (PALM BAY, FL) May 27, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

8 out of 18 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

I have never been so frustrated with loading times. To race in career, I start in the community circle, drive over to career circle, load to pick a race, then load the actual race, after finishing the race it then loads to a cut scene, then loads me back to the community circle where i have to drive back to career circle to repeat this process again.

The gameplay is pretty fun, but it is just like Mario kart and Sonic and Sega all stars racing. I would rather play a PSN game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

load times drive me crazy!

posted by wasabiuli (CHICAGO, IL) Jun 2, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

this is not a lbp experience. at least with lbp you can hang with your friends in your pod while a level loads and it seems so much faster. i played with friends for about an hour got bored. the characters are actually kind of annoying, this game could have had so much potential. the load times are ridiculous and sucked all the interest to play the game. i may rent again in a few months to check out player crated levels but by nov or dec lbp 2 will be out and i will probably be playing that non-stop with friends, so have to see. i was looking forward to this game and was so excited if they could just improve the load times. it’s a racing game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Load times and very difficult AI!!!!

posted by Magnamack (SACRAMENTO, CA) Jun 1, 2010

Member since May 2007

7 out of 21 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

With a next gen machine I thought load times were a thing of the past but ModNation Racers brought it back! I guess they were feeling nostalgic when they made this game. I've also had a very difficult time beating the AI in career mode, the only way to unlock items to create with. This is definitely not a game for casual gamers like me. They should have given the option to change the difficulty level in career mode. I feel I wasted $65 on this (what should have been a gem) piece of junk game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

less than i expected

posted by oldani311 (FAIRFIELD, CA) Jun 30, 2010

Member since Apr 2008

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

i know alot of people are crazy about this game, and it gets good reviews...but honestly...i hated it...load times are incredibly long...i mean cmon...its mario kart...what the heck is taking so long to load? the customization is cool...but meh, you could customize a piece of poo all you want but its not gonna be much fun when youre finished...plus your hands are gonna stink...gameplay is unoriginal...like i said, this is mario kart with, ill admit, a great online component. but that's about it...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

nice work

posted by lollol (CHELSEA, MA) Oct 29, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

know this game is fun .........

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse