Rent ModNation Racers: Road Trip for PS Vita
view large frontback

ModNation Racers: Road Trip

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.1

137 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

The king of share and create game

posted by megaaustin (COSTA MESA, CA) Mar 31, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Good
- You can create your own track, karts, and avater with lot's of tools to use
- You can also share and load new tracks, karts, and avater
- easyer to create stuff
- great use of gps and near on the vita ( you get stuff to put on your create)
- Great use of the touch screen and rear touch pad
- You can download tracks, karts, and avater from psvita and ps 3 players

Bad
- No online play
- No story in carear mode
- No motion control

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Toss up for best racing on the PS Vita.

posted by tysonedwards (Meeker, CO) Mar 18, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

ModNation Racers Road Trip is a toss-up for the best racing game on the PS Vita, however that also isn't saying much when compared to the likes of Ridge Racer or Asphalt Adrenaline.

It is much less "don't blink" than Wipeout 2048, which enables much more of the "casual" gameplay that is ideal on a portable.

The problem is that the game just doesn't seem "finished".

That is not to say that the tracks aren't good, and that you have full access to the many available tracks online that have been built for the PS3 version, but there seems to be a whole lot of things "missing" from this version that feel as though they should be there. And I am not talking about things that are in the PS3 version, but things that should be in any racing game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Just not the same without online

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Feb 24, 2012

Member since Dec 2009

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Overview
====================
In many ways this game feels just like the PS3 game... However, without online it just wasn't compelling enough to buy. It is a nice rent...but that is it.

Pros
====================
1) nice graphics (not PS3 level, but good)
2) controls well (just like being on a PS3)
3) same cool game

Cons
====================
1) no online play
2) long load times like the PS3 version

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Meh

posted by vahdyx (WESTMINSTER, CO) Mar 5, 2012

Member since Sep 2005

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

So when I first received this game I was somewhat excited. Graphics are good, music is nice, playful, fun and entertaining. The music has this way of making me feel like a kid or innocent, but the gameplay made me swear and cuss way too much to be a kid. The issue I have with the game is the cheating AI! Oh it's frustrating to the max for me. I don't understand how I can get a perfect launch no turns no nothing, just literally hitting the acceleration button and all the sudden the AI passes me. Then slows down after about 20 video game feet in front of me. This happens all to often. I understand the game wanting to keep it interesting with constant challenge, but to make the AI racers all the sudden go 200 MPH when I'm only traveling at 50 just to make the game more challenging is discouraging! It makes me feel like no matter how good I do it's not good enough.

Because of this I returned the game with 30% trophies accomplished.

Rent not buy if you ask me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Online

posted by captsplatter (CRYSTAL LAKE, IL) Mar 30, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Now I have not played this game but I have played ModNation Racers for PS3. Yes this game does not have online yet, but a patch will be put into the game later that will include online play, so the only bad thing about this game now is the the cross compatibility with the ps3 version of modnations racers, but whatever. This game is for people, like Little Big Planet where you need to be willing to spend the time to customise and create levels. No it's not for little kids, I would know I'm 23 and I enjoy games like this as well as the gory and cussing games as well. So in short, the bad is no online play (but will be patched in) and cross compatibility with ps3 version and the good pretty much everything else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

pretty fun

posted by Painedanthony52 (MILWAUKEE, WI) Mar 22, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

this game is fun for little kids

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

boring

posted by fatmatt (ALHAMBRA, CA) Mar 3, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

this game is just boring no online this game is just really boring and it is also really easy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun...but then...

posted by VitaPs4Review (SAN ANTONIO, TX) May 23, 2013

Member since May 2013

First of all this was the first game where I had full control of creating things and really going wild for the Vita. That is my type of game!! The problem with that is, you have to back it up with game play.

Creating tracks and customizing my character was so much fun......For about 1 hour. After that, you are kinda put in this situation where you really dont know what to do. You want to play it but the racing aspect has become boring and repititive and you have run out of things to create.

I played this game a few months ago and I can remember the Character vividly and I can recall a few of the custom tracks I built but I cannot remember a single race that I raced...That is where the problem is for me.

Really cool with the "Mod" part but pretty dull on the "Racers" part

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »