Rent Mobile Suit Gundam: Crossfire for PS3
view large frontback

Mobile Suit Gundam: Crossfire

Not Rentable
GF Rating
3.8

1177 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good for Fans.

posted by Nightbreaker19 (TEXAS CITY, TX) Jun 4, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you take into account this is a "on launch" title and also a dated title, and you are a Gundam or Mecha fan, you may enjoy this. I certainly got more than I expected after all the bad reviews, but once you take into the factors mentioned previously, it's a pretty decent game. Reccomend you play it with Japanese sound if you dont mind reading subs, sound's far better than the English voice actors, but that's personal opinion.

Short version: Good if you don't expect a Grade-A game and realize its dated, great for Mecha/Gundam enthusiasts.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

When will they get it right

posted by Drewvian (SAN JOSE, CA) Nov 23, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

17 out of 19 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

One thing I must say before I post this review is that I am a long time fan of the Gundam series ever since the start. Really I thought they would have gotten this game right but I was clearly wrong.

The controls are very very jerky and when you block you can not walk or turn your mech. Something that I would hope the makers would have thought about

The graphics are no where near what I thought it could have been. Oh well no one is perfect

To top it off the gameplay is very very stiff and it is even hard to aim and move about. I thought there would also be a run mode with your Gundam but I was wrong there as well.

Really it just feels like a rush....well let me rephrase that a very such game and not even nail polished was ran over it. In my suggestion if you really like the series maybe try and that is a big maybe and if you have know idea with the E.F.F is then don't even touch it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Poor controls detracts from the game play

posted by gregjs (DAVIE, FL) Jan 24, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game would be great if the controls were corrected. The fact of having the camera view not locked on the character view detracts from the game play. When you move right the camera keeps the view as before so you walk right but the camera is looking across the mech. You have to move the mech, camera, and shoot at the same time. This does not make for a fun/entertaining experience. This could be a great game if the requirements of adjusting the camera at all times was corrected. Allowing to adjust the camera angle is a great thing however, having to adjust it in the middle of a battle to view the enemy is a bad plan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Very, Very Terrible...

posted by DrGDogg (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jan 20, 2007

Member since Feb 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

So terrible I just couldn't play this game for more then 30 min, and i tried hard to enjoy it, how could they allow a game like this to come out??? Sorry for the ppl that actually bought this game though...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

I would have liked it if they had worked on it mor

posted by 456789 (MIAMI, FL) Jan 14, 2007

Member since Sep 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I would have liked it if they had worked on it more

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

poor controls and camera make a big difference

posted by zPlayer (PROVO, UT) Dec 30, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the game is very blocky in controls. i couldnt even use the controls to look in the right direction! that was really annoying as i was being shot down by the games enemies. not smooth at all. like about every gundam game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not even good for the PS2

posted by Vertisce (TOOELE, UT) Jan 5, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

23 out of 27 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

This game flat out sucks. Ive been a big fan of the Gundam series since I can remember but the games have always been a dissapointment. This game is no exception. First thing you notice when you start the game is it has an arcade game menu. Then the graphics. Horrible graphics. Not even close to being worthy of a PS3 title. Then there is the voice acting. Its no better. There is no feeling in the voice acting at all... it sounds very bland, kinda like the actors didnt even wanna be there. The controls are terrible too. You cant even side step. Enemies move 3 times faster than you and chasing them down is almost impossible especially when they leave the area. You are limited to a zone in which you can move but the enemy goes outside the zone and starts shooting at you. The GM is stiffer than heck. Very hard to move around in and is very slow. And last of all it seems the game isnt very stable. Whether your in a cutscene or in game the screen jerks every second or so. This game is horrid and not even worth renting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A Fair review for a Fair game.

posted by Jordano (SAN DIEGO, CA) Dec 17, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

As a long time Gundam Wing fan I was much anticipating playing this title as one of the release games for the Playstation 3. Unfortunately it didn't quite live up to what I was hoping it would be, and lived up to the recent string of horrible Gundam Wing games.

Pro's:
1)Jerky movements that to me simulate what it would really be like to be in a mobile suit.
2)Aiming isn't the easiest thing in the world, but with practice can be made effective.
3)Decent Array of Suits and Pilots to choose from.

Con's:
1)No Online Play.
2)Graphics left something to be desired for a next gen game.
3)The Sinlge Player mode for both E.F.F. and P.o.Z. is extremely rushed, game was over before I knew it!
4)Not enough mobile suits to keep me interested very long.
5)Not enough time in between missions on E.F.F. to train your suit properly.

Overall this game was a dissapointment, but was still fun to play, I ran through each sides story acouple times playing different Zaku's and GM's each time, it made for a day or fun or so. Definately a rent title.

-The Overlord-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It could be better but it works for me

posted by Wosnom (HILLSBORO, OR) Jan 28, 2007

Member since Dec 2003

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This Gundam game isn't as bad as everyone says. If you are a kid like me, you will enjoy this game, but you may also have to be used to the controls or you'll throw the controller on the ground and have a fit. Read how to play this game, get used to the controls, and keep trying even if you continue to mess up because you'll get better at it. Trust me!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

never show of to friends

posted by matthewsea (FUQUAY VARINA, NC) Nov 29, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Mobile suit gundam crossfire is the latest. In a long running, mostly unsuccseful series of games. If you saw the TGS 2005 trailer you had to be stuned the graphics in that video were amazing. Now take a look at the later videos so. If you did you'll see the last game on you're new shiney PS3 that you'd like to show off to you're friends. Basiccly you'll see somewhere in between a great looking PSP to a okay looking PS2. And thr framerate is like A NES trying to run MGS4 while taking a drug (and not steriods they the one you smoke) (can't be said on site. If you exmine the ground you might see A PSOne. But graphics aside gameplay is what matters. Well this one fails more then any other Gundam game. The slow mech's the most reptious missions and the worst paceing ever in a gundam game. And even the awful framerate also takes away the fun from the gameplay.
final verdict:
never buy rent play or look at unless you're a safe distince away.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WORST GAME EVER

posted by sebXC1 (CHICAGO, IL) Jun 18, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

this game is horrible its hard to play the controls of the game are just impossible to get used to and understand. the only good thing that i liked was that the damage is very real and would have been fun to play if the controls worked correctly. the walking was very sluggish and not responsive. that is how i viewed the game you are entitled to your own opinion but
I would say

DO NOT RENT WASTE OF TIME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not even good if you do like Gundam

posted by tman121 (DALHART, TX) Jun 2, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Felix954, Bro you got it all wrong man it may be the best looking MSG game but not worthy of a ps3 title. The game is very jerky even in cut scenes. Gameplay is poor, by the time it takes the gm to turn around i could have used the restroom after eating a 72 oz. steak. One time i lost both arms and my head in my gm but it took me 1 hour to ram every other mech in the level. It should have put me out of my misery. I should correct myself this is not a mech game it is really a bunch of metal thrown together. In conclusion I would tell MSG fans to rent this game play i then take it back before you have a seizure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

One very disappointing game.......................

posted by blkplague (ARVADA, CO) May 4, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I will list all of the pros and cons of this very disappointing game.

Pros:1)It can be entertaining for a short period of time.2)Looks really awesome when you cut off other robots arms, legs, and heads.3)Very challenging, but that just might be the terrible controls.4)When you shoot down a building, it looks extremely realistic.5)There is 2 story modes, evil guys and good guys.6)There's cool enemy deaths.

Cons:1)Terrible controls(To push a button you have to stop moving and everything.)2)Terrible cameras that move very bad to the point of where you can't see.3)Graphics are pretty good.......... for a ps2 game.4)Very repetitive game play that gets old after a while.5)The frame rate is very slow and looks terrible!6)Normal difficulty is almost impossible(one shot, and your dead)7)Aiming is extremely difficult to do without dying, because you can't move. Since you can't move, a robot shoots you with one missile and you're dead.8)Terrible voice acting(Actors are talking about the fact that some weird robots are taking over without even a sense of fear(or even any emotion)9)Explosions don't look very good at all.10)The Robots move way to slow.11)You can kill enemies with the sword without even touching them.12)You die the same exact same way over and over again.

Overall, this game is a very disappointing game that was way too rushed and should not belong on the Ps3 system. All though this game does have a few perks, it is still very, very weak. It might be a good game if they actually took their time on it.

By the way, I have never played a Mobile Suit Gundam game before this was a pathetic game to represent the series, that's all i have to say.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

copy cat

posted by coolfool21 (PHENIX CITY, AL) Apr 2, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

this game looks like a copy of the armored core series it was terrible and I expected more from a gundam game if they don't do better on the next one then they should just stop trying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A rushed game targeting true fans

posted by MacTruck (IOWA CITY, IA) Jan 16, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

9 out of 13 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

This game will divide players into two groups: casual fans who can't overlook the minor flaws and hardcore fans who have happily suffered through much worse Gundam games in the past.

The premise is great - start out as an Earth Federation or Zeon pilot and fight your way through the last three months of the One Year War. You earn points by completing missions and can spend those points on upgrading your MS or requesting new, better mobile suits and pilots.
The story's time-line is pulled straight from the book/anime, but you won't be fighting in major battles like Odessa or Jaburo. I like to think that the Medea my Dom shot down had Matilda in it...

The list of mobile suits is near-perfect, including many rare and specialized suits I won't spoil here. The weapons available to each suit are also accurate, so you won't see a Gouf sporting a beam rifle. Each suit is finely detailed, and the battle damage accurately affects different parts of the MS. There's nothing better than watching the severed head of a GM roll down the hill as the body sparks and explodes at your feet.

If that warm review has you excited, be warned there are some major negative points about this game. It was obviously rushed out the door to meet the PS3 launch. There are MANY points where framerates drop and you have no control. Even the pre-mission briefings suffer from stutter. Most of the slowdowns during battle are more annoying than fatal, but you will eat a few missiles before you learn how to adjust.

The controls can be hard to get used to, and it makes the game very difficult in the beginning. Mobile Suits are heavy objects, so don't expect them to juke back and forth like you're playing Madden. If you learn to keep it moving smoothly without stopping then you should be able to finish the game. If you play this game expecting to bunny-hop around the screen you won't last too long.

Bottom line: if you're playing this game because you enjoy the Gundam universe, 7/10. If not, 4.5/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

It isn't all that bad

posted by gundamrvw (MEMPHIS, TN) Aug 5, 2009

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game isn't all that bad to get a 3.4 maybe a 4.5 at the most. Once you figure out the lock on function it becomes more interesting. Sure some of the guys you kill sound like the voice actors were not paid enough to do the voices but that shouldn't distract you from playing a pretty good gundam game. My own personal hang up is the physics of the game. In the anime, the "Beam Saber" or the "Heat Hawk" goes right through the opponent. One would think the most detailed Gundam game would follow the same rule. But there are more good things about this game. One thing is the heavy detail that the mechs have. Dirt, bullet holes, burns, laser damage, etc... All very impressive. Personally I think this game goes right next to the first Dynasty Warriors Gundam. A good game just not enough time spent developing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Expecting this sequel to be good? Think again!

posted by Melons (CAMARILLO, CA) Nov 28, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Consider this game to be an FPS for a moment. You are shooting at moving targets with yourself piloting something, close enough. The biggest annoyance for me is the fact that if you want to aim, you have to go prone, and not move. It was overly difficult to destroy any other MS unless you choose a low damage high rof weapon set. If you expect to use a high damage with accuracy weapon, you might as well try to throw your beam saber at the enemy. If you run out of ammo (and you will... constantly...) and find yourself unlucky enough to be on a defend mission, and manage to knock off an arm or two on an enemy, you might as well give up then. They will run to the point you have to stop the from reaching, while trying to run at nearly the same speed, attacking with a short range weapon that forces you to stop moving in order to attack. I read articles online saying that all of the other previous Gundam games were bolloks, and this one was supposed to be the end all good sequel. Turns out my thoughts were wrong. I doubt I'll bother to even try any new ones.

My verdict: Skip it as fast as you can.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Opposite opinion

posted by Snake616 (MOGADORE, OH) Jun 18, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

ok for starters, no this game isn't all that great. especially when you are first starting out. learning how to move and use the controls right takes a little bit of time. graphics aren't the best, and it seems to lag some at times, but thats to be expected of any game.

the games voice actors probably are the worst in history, but when it comes to a game where all that matters is getting missions done to earn credits, the voices dont really mean a thing.

one serious downside though, is the accuracy of the enemy fire. even at a range where you cant lock on to them, their shots are incredibly hard to dodge. especially since their rounds are like somethin out of WANTED and seem to follow any direction you move.

ammo is constantly a problem until you learn how to use what little you have.

overall, 8 out of 10 may be a lot higher than most people have given this game, but once you take a little time to get used to a few things, the game is great

and on a side note, i think melons was talkin about a different game. very little of what was said doesnt happen in the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty Fun

posted by gameguy102 (SEARCY, AR) Nov 2, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Why is everyone saying this game sucks?To me it wasn't that bad. And no I'm not a re+ard. I' m a noob to Gundam games so I probably wouldn't know the difference from this and another gundam game. Also I got used to the controls fairly quickly!The graphics look fine to me too!So since I'm a noob to gundam this game gets a 7 from me!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

100% P.O.S.

posted by Homer55 (WALLINGFORD, CT) Mar 9, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The concept is great - the graphics are ok - the game play is HORRIBLE!!! I cant stress that enough - HORRIBLE!!! Only play this game if your life depends on it... and even then you'll have to ask yourself if it's worth playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Disapointment

posted by rarrarrar (WALNUT CREEK, CA) Dec 17, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have played a ps3 before and I played this game. What a huge messup they have made. Bad camera, Bad controls, Bad next generation graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Well.....am......its good and bad.

posted by DarkFenix (NORWALK, CA) Nov 21, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game cued be beater but its wort it.

good
1]whit this game u cam get the feeling of being in a mobile suit.

2]when u get a hang of the controls u start too like the game a Lot more.

3]after u finished the game in e.f.f u get the real gundam for 50,000 but its more den Worth it.
p.s if u finish the game about 5 times u get all the mobile suit's that are in this game that is like 112 mobile suit's and 10 gundam 's

bad
1]the controls are super annoying and hard to master.....no nearly impossible

2]the graphics are median 4 ps2 but rely bad 4 ps3

3]the fact that have u have a zone that u cant leave is bad but jest up grade your range and its not even a problem.

4]it is hard to make the shield use full and cam even make fink's harder

overall this is only good 4 die hard fans of gundam.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Could be better

posted by bmheneghan (MARYLAND HEIGHTS, MO) Apr 2, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game has it moments, but they are far and few between. This is one of the games that I'm happy I joined Gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Did I really rent this? Waste of blue-ray discs.

posted by mrc131 (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Aug 2, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is a total disappointment. If you think you might like it and want to play it, download the demo on the PS Store and if you actually play that all the way through, then maybe you would like this. The game is slightly better than the demo w/ some more options but it is very lacking in everything except hoards of bad robots that you can demolish w/o much effort.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

terrible

posted by Alakazoom8 (ALISO VIEJO, CA) Jan 23, 2007

Member since May 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

probably one of the dumbest games i have ever played. its so bad i'm not even going to explain why, im just going to tell you that it had no worth. There is no point to it's existence and that this is just another reason why i regret having a ps3. This game is terrible and the makers should be sued for creating this game and selling it for $60. i bet they had it in development for less than 10 months and then decided to throw it into the market.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse