Rent Mirror's Edge for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Mirror's Edge

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.0

16522 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great while it lasts

posted by ColMoses (TORRANCE, CA) Nov 16, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

73 out of 84 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

"Mirror's Edge" plays like the opening chase of "Casino Royale." Great visual style. I almost wish they had just used the in-game engine to do the cutscenes instead of going with the whole anime thing. It was kind of jarring going between one and the other, and you never have a good idea of what in-game Faith (your character) even looks like until you beat the game.

The emphasis on running away from enemies, or tactically taking them out one at a time, reminded me a little of N64 Goldeneye. I would LOVE to see somebody license this game's engine to do a Bond FPS.

This game is at its best when you are being chased and looking for a way out. You WILL die a lot looking for that exit. Fortunately the game is pretty generous with respawn points, so it's not overly frustrating other than in a few places.

The combat is a little weak, but it's actually more fun to try and avoid it anyway. This game has arguably my favorite achievement of all time, "Test of Faith," where you're rewarded for completing the game without shooting anybody. It's a nice touch. Unfortunately, there are times when you do need to at least hand-to-hand it, and sometimes the controls can get a little dicey there.

Story isn't so great. The end is a little anticlimactic after all the cool stuff you've done up until that point. You don't want it to end with one of those "setting up the sequel" deals. What I'm trying to say is you won't be playing this for the story, unless you think Faith's cop sister is cute.

Replay suffers a lot from a lack of proper multiplayer (there's a time trial, but...), but I don't think anybody with a GameFly account is really worried about that.

If you liked the demo you won't be disappointed with the full version. Definitely worth a rental. Shouldn't take you more than a weekend to beat it, unless you're really into unlocking every achievement.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pleasant Surprise

posted by AquilaMino (WICOMICO, VA) Oct 12, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

15 out of 18 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Mirrors edge was a really fun game. I'm not a critic, I'm not a game reviewer, so I don't know all the gimicks to get you to feel a certain way about a game. I'm not trying to manipulate you into making a decision or persuade you to rent the game. You'll make that decision on your own. What I will say is that this game was a lot of fun.

I really liked the gameplay, the controls were easy to understand, but a challenge to master. There's a mini tutorial level at the beginning of the game, but it lacked real combat training. Combat is not a very big part of this game, but it can be frustrating when you're not 100% solid on the different combos and what not. I didn't have any trouble controlling Faith (main character) and the first person nature of the game really didn't give me any trouble; I've got limited shooter experience, but i play them enough.

The story was pretty cool, but not really deep or thought provoking. If you played Mark Ecko's Gettin Up, you've already heard this story before. If not, it's interesting, but not awesome. The gameplay and level design pick up the slack the story leaves behind. I know story is important to a lot of video games (I'm an rpg nut, myself) but when the game is as much fun to play as this one and the levels are as beautifully designed, the story is allowed to be just something that strings the levels together. ::I don't feel cheated out of a story:: - that's what I'm getting at.

Overall, this game was a boatload of fun to play and I'll probably end up purchasing it soon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very fun game

posted by clicb4 (BYHALIA, MS) Nov 17, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

50 out of 64 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

I pre-ordered this game because I enjoyed the demo so much (and I got the yellow bag she collects in the game when I picked it up at gamestop. The bag is big enough for my laptop and all accessories!). Was it worth it? Let's see.

I gave this game an 8 out of 10 because I only give 10's to games like GoldenEye, so an 8 is a good score from me. I was going to give it a 9 out of 10, but there's little things that hold me back, such as certain times when you hang from a ledge, you can't look around quite as freely as I think you should be able to. Sometimes the moves can take some practice to pull of (especially some of the jumps in the time trials) and if you get stunned by an enemy melee attack, it's often very difficult to regain your composure before you are killed...so you'd better be on your toes.

Those things aside, the game is great (in my opinion). The ending is satisfying, but not epic by any means. It may even leave you thinking "that's it?" but the freshness of the gameplay makes up for it...or it did for me anyway. The way that you can mostly seemlessly run, leap over objects, climb pipes, wall jump, and the 180 turn button all make the game very enjoyable. If you're not sure, watch some youtube videos about it. If it looks fun, give it a try. Be warned though, there is no online play and the game can be beat in approx. 10 hours (give or take), but if you go through time time trials and get all 3 star ratings, you will invest much more time in the game. You can also download other people's ghost times online and race against them in time trials to learn the strategies they use (a feature I really enjoy).

Although some people don't like the anime style of the story telling, I do. The game is enjoyable, and you can go back through every chapter of the game and race against other people's uploaded times. It's a new experience that is definitely worth sinking your teeth into at least once.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Mirrors Edge

posted by foolmanchu (BRISTOL, WI) Nov 20, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

83 out of 117 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

....okay....so i couldnt think of a good title for this review, sue me. thats how it normally goes. catchy title followed by a witty quip relating to said title.

unfortunatley...theres realy nothing sarcastic or funny so say about Mirrors Edge. its a good game. it just is.
PROS:
1. the graphics. theyre clean, crisp, simple, and beautiful. this game is a perfect example of minimalism for best results.
2. level design. not only are the levels big, but they guide u thru them with little to no OBVIOUS indication as to where to go. subtle color changes and improvisation are all that guide u to the end.
3. story. its actually pretty good. the voice acting is solid and i kinda enjoyed the change between animated cutscene and live action-ish gameplay.
4. gameplay. dice has almost perfected the firstperson view with this game. ur peripherals blur, u react to harsh light, u black out...the only thing thats missing is the occasional hair blocking the view of the player while running. Yes, this game is a run,jump,shoot (downplay on the shoot if u want an 80pt achievement)...but the way they do it is fun and adreneline pumping. the physics are very realistic, and at points, maybe TOO realistic. vertigo is very real when u look down from high rooftops, and if u fall...well, the sound and visuals combined may give u a personal fear of heights.

CONS:
1. maybe a bit TOO realistic. getting shot HURTS. more than a couple of bullets and ur dead. fall more than 25 feet without rolling, dead, mis-time a jump...dead.
2. no real multiplayer. i'd personally like to see a sequel with some sort of pass/intercept message capture the flag sorta deal, or maybe just splitscreen foot races...idk.

eitherway, this game has no real flaws. u'll either like it or not. if u like fast paced games and/or portal, u'll love this. its kinda short though, so if u dont think u'll replay it, just rent. a 8 and 1/2 outa 10.

this review brought to u by pucheo films on youtube.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Innovative Fun

posted by perilX (UPLAND, CA) Nov 21, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

24 out of 36 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I have rated this game a perfect 10. I found really no flaws with this game.

Some complain of falling too much or bad collision, never did I have this problem. There were times when the jumps were indeed very hard, but too many players today expect the ending to be hand fed to them.

If you remember, how hard was it to beat old games? 3 lives for 15 levels, if you lost you start over. Over time, we have lost sense of that and expect to be able to control these games like we are just along for the ride, with no REAL effort. I remember those games and miss them very much so. I literally, died about 40 times on one jump, and I didn't blame the game. I know there are people out there that are better than I am and landed it the first time. Getting the technique requires a fair amount of skill.

The game can be very difficult, but that should not deter you from grading it how it should be, an amazingly innovative and very fun game.

The story was well executed, albeit not an epic quest of sorts. It places you in a realistic situation for your characters setting. No mythical creatures, amazing robots or undead zombies here.

The artwork was absolutely phenomenal. Being an art major, I can really admire the work and talent of the art team. Many times did I catch myself thinking "Wow, that looks real." The artists did an amazing job and they deserve immense amounts of credit.

The music was great as well. It fits the art style perfectly, a very clean and new age feel. The voice acting was well done too!

And the strong point was the gameplay. Any quarrels one has with the other aspects should be greatly outweighed by the gameplay. This takes the embodiment of freerunning and puts it in your hands. A truly fresh and open world giving you so much freedom, you actually become the character. You are constantly on the edge wondering if you will run into "the blues" at any given moment.

Now, I tell you, this game is hard. You will die. A LOT. But it's worth every moment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

has potential, but is frustrating in the end

posted by octopon (SAN MARCOS, CA) May 19, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

19 out of 32 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

The good:

This game looks fantastic. The sound is great, as well as the music.

The Bad:

This game basically takes the Prince of Persia games and makes it a first person view with no combat. I didn't really mind that the combat pretty much sucked because that's not the idea of the game. What really bummed me out was the frustration factor. First, this game is VERY linear. In an environment that appears to be very open world, it isn't. With a whole city roofscape at your disposal, you have a pre-determined path set up for you. Here comes the next level of frustration....The game mechanics are pretty cloogy. You have to time things just right to pull of certain jumps, slides, grabs, swings, falls, punches, disarms...the list goes on. Let's not forget about the fact that there are some jumps that if you are not extremely precise on where you jump from and your aim, you will plummet to your death. There are several spots in the game that take many tries to finally get.

Overall, there are some fun parts, but for the most part, the frustration outweighs the fun factor. Before I played this, I heard mixed reviews, so I didn't have high expectations, but I was let done. It's worth the rent just to see if you'll like it, but it seems there are people who like it, and people, like me, who don't.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WHAT WERE THEY THINKING?!!?!?

posted by StarWars94 (BAYONNE, NJ) Feb 3, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

10 out of 17 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

Good things: Graphics are good, movement is realy smooth

Bad Things: Basically everything else. What is the point of the elevator scenes? All it does is your waste time. The controls can be annoying. The jump and wall run are the same button and you can already guess this means trouble. I find myself jumping when I want to wall run and I wall run when I want to jump. On stair ways you are continuously find yourself stuck and it makes it easy to die from pursuing enemies. Combat is broken. It takes forever to kill an enemy hand to hand, even if you have a gun it's annoying to aim cause they keep moving around while aiming at you with no problem. The game is WAY too short. I sucked at it and I still was able to beat it in a day on normal! AI is far smarter and stronger than you. Their aiming is that of a marksman and they can take you down with two hits in hand to hand. They attack in groups so while you're fighting one enemy, the others shoot and kill you in moments. This type of game is what I like to call "trial and error". You have to die so many times till you know in advance where everything is and when to hit the right buttons to complete the jumps. This basically takes the fun out of the game, it also really ticks you off. If you're looking for a game to raise your blood pressure, this game is for you. You'll face will be red and you'll throw your remote faster than you can die.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Frustrating!!!

posted by reedseed26 (EDINBORO, PA) Dec 16, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

10 out of 17 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

Frustrating!!!! Great concept, however you are so rushed during game play that you can't enjoy it.
I just couldn't pull off any of the cool moves they showed during the load screens, sometimes trying to run away just got me killed faster! while trying to take out the cops i'd always get killed. I don't know the game is cool, i liked jumping off the buildings those puzzles were ok, but it needed some kind of lock on system for bad guy nock-outs. I usually have no trouble beating games, I didn't try to finish this. I'm sure some people will like this game and some, like me won't

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Interesting but good example of what not to do.

posted by mattr25 (PHOENIX, AZ) Jan 18, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

12 out of 21 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Novel concept, semi realistic graphics and actions.

So much for what is right, now what is wrong. The controls are screwy, the two action buttons are same side of the controller, there is a use all attack button and that about covers the controls. Looking is simply a matter of looking in the direction you want to go, it is not engaging to look about, you simply need to look the direction you move and not touch it until direction changes.

You get a so called open world, with red markers creating a path, there is nothing open about this world. The recognition program is weak, at the very start you are to jump up a wall to a higher area and sidle along a walkway, first attempt I fell off because it did not notice I was on the walkway.

You are to crouch when you fall longer distance, but doing so is questionable. To early and you get hurt, to late and you get hurt, the right time, unknown, perhaps if I could stand not doing it right several times.

Combat is mostly a serious matter f not doing it. Actually doing it, unless the ones you are supposed to get past you die.

The idea behind this game is interesting, the story line is interesting, actually playing, is not interesting. Prime example of good idea done wrong.

Not that you can expect anything else from EA, new direction my rear end.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Bring Back COMBOS!!!!

posted by HippyVock (SEATTLE, WA) Dec 23, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2006

13 out of 23 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I dislike this game and here's why: I am beginning to detest context controls more and more as games decide what to do instead of what the player wants. I found my character constantly executing the wrong wall move instead of doing what I thought was going to happen. Over and over again I was repeating things because she, say, hopped off a high ledge instead of creeping along it because the computer forgot to engage the ledge move, or getting the timing right to roll after a high jump to soften the landing becomes a monster as it seems to vary depending on the height of the jump and the mood of the computer.

Just like in fighting games, there should be a combo system in place so the player has control over the onscreen leaping action. There are several places in the game that this would do nothing but benefit the player. Instead, we get a game that basically plays itself as you run thru it because you have no idea where to go, you can't impact the game world, and it all looks the same.

Oh, and as for the game's built in "helps?" Worthless. One button shows you your desination but gives no clue how to get there. Easy, medium or hard are pointless as the game is designed on trial and error, not difficulty and the red runners vision comes and goes on the whim of the computer. As others have said, I find myself getting more ANGRY than I should and that's a problem for a game. Rent it, maybe play thru it and judge for yourself, but I want some old school techniques mashed in with the new ideas to make this game better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Very annoying despite being graphically pleasing

posted by darren004 (CHARLOTTE, NC) Jan 25, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

A very unique game that is very visually appealing and something very new. However, if you are a gamer that gets frustrated easily, this is not a game for you. I echo most of the other reviews that state you will die a lot, and the game does a very, very poor job of pointing you in the right direction. And you only have short amount of time to look for the right place, because otherwise enemies come out of the woodwork and there is little point with combat as you will lose. So, the alternative is to die and start over from the last save point. I got really frustrated with it and had to play something else for awhile, but when I started back up, I ran into the same problems and decided I had had enough.

If you are looking for something new, this is certainly new with a very cool concept and the button layout is certainly unique, but I just got too frustrated and only got through about 30-40% through it before I couldn't take it anymore.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Extremely frustrating game with no payoff.

posted by doctorrdcl (WILLIAMSPORT, PA) Feb 19, 2009

Member since Feb 2007

8 out of 14 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

The negatives of this game far out way the positives.

The positives are essentially good graphics and a somewhat novel approach to first person game-play, but these days great graphics are 10 a penny, it's not enough to drive a title any more.

If you strip away the presentation, all this is a late 80s early 90s platformer with good graphics. The feeling of frustration and annoyance hearkened back to Commodore Amiga games like Another World. That incredibly frustrating feeling of hitting the jump button just a split second too late and falling to your death and doing it over and over and over again until you made it.

The difference is that in 1991 the payoff was finishing these new genre games ... saying you did it. Platformers are old hat now and there is simply no payoff to this game. After falling to your death for the 20th time because you didn't quite make that jump just makes you want to throw the controller out of the nearest window.

Many parts of the game play are simply unrealistic and unnecessarily difficult to judge. I compare to games like Assassins Creed and Splinter Cell, in those games you can judge. You can look at a gap and determine whether the character can make the jump or not, in Mirror's Edge you just don't know. There were many places where I gave up after 10 attempts on a traversal, only to come back another 10 attempts later to find out that I could have made that jump after all.

The other realism problem is Faith herself. She'll happily tumble of a building with the slightest miss flick of the stick. Her character would simply not do that, if she slipped off the edge of a building she would grab on an pull herself back up (Ala Splinter Cell).

If they just included a little allowance to stop falling and a better way to judge distance this game would really be a lot of fun, instead of a frustration dive-a-thon with little to no payoff for your trouble.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

An entire game of FPS jumping puzzles

posted by ils123 (SAN MATEO, CA) Dec 24, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

8 out of 14 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I thought Mirror's Edge was fairly lacking in substance. The premise is interesting and fun... for the first hour or. After that, it really becomes evident that you're just performing jumping puzzle after jumping puzzle.

The engine is adequate. I had some issues making certain jumps and triggering some actions properly, but nothing major.

My other complaint? Don't rent or buy this game if you're colorblind. God forbid you have trouble seeing red. I haven't been so frustrated with a game mechanic in my entire life. I'm not saying they need warning stickers all over the case or anything, but caveat emptor (or the renter, for that matter).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not as fun as I thought

posted by kyoput (WINCHESTER, KY) Nov 19, 2008

Member since May 2008

10 out of 18 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Never have I been more infuriated with a game. I have been a gamer for a long long time. I like to think I'm pretty good at most games. I blew through Prince of Persia and Assassin's Creed in no time with little difficulty. I expected this game to be in much the same vain. Well, yes and no.

First off, the game does look very good, if you enjoy bland, similar levels. I know most rooftops look the same in real life, but come on. Did every building in this game use the exact same blueprints? The character models, though, are very detailed and move smoothly through the game. The lighting is troublesome in some of the many repetitive air duct/ventilation shaft sections, but over all very good.

The first concern I came across was the lack of direction. many times I had to stop in the middle of intense situations to take time to figure out just where I'm suppose to go. I love games that use little to no HUD, but most of those games have other markers to keep your bearings. The last 3 levels were especially troublesome in this regard. Run, stop, look. Run, stop, look, and so on. Expect to die many, many times before accomplishing your task.

The game is short, the cut scenes are boring, and the story is jumpy and hard to care about till the end. Still not quite sure what it was all about. I really wanted to love this game, but by the 5th or 6th level I was almost ready to pack it up and ship it back. The game needed more refining. Just my opinion.

There will be, of course, many who take to this game quite easily. I was not one of those people. Controls were unresponsive in many situations, resulting in many unnecessary falls. Can't wait for the new Prince of Persia. DICE can see free form platforming done right. Good first effort. Hope, if there is a sequel, they address some of the issues I see many gamers sharing with me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Suxor

posted by Thaylog (CLINTON, OH) May 19, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Ok, it looks fine there is little or no glitches. But this game is just not fun. The story is lame. The continues just hitting buttons all in the goal of just getting to point a to b. There is nothing for a reward other to further the lame story. The combat is duel. There is no thought to this game. It's also very short. It took me two days to beat it. And it only took me that long cause I couldn't stand to play longer than a hour or two at a time. In all I can only say this. Don't rent it sure as h-ll dont buy it. It's a waste of space in your dvd holder.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

POS

posted by Davidovich (COSTA MESA, CA) May 3, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

I tried this game because it was a refreshingly new idea, but I'm woefully disappointed. Words can't describe how utterly terrible this game is. I returned this horrid piece of junk the same day I received it. And to think, I was at one time thinking of buying this heap of garbage!

Extremely frustrating, getting killed over and over and over and over and over and over because I can't find that one tiny manhole or ventilation shaft or whatever that I'm supposed to climb through while I'm dodging SWAT cops are shooting assault rifles at me. The supposed "hint" button does absolutely no good, and half the time actually points in a completely random direction. It was all I could do to keep myself from kicking my TV over, hurling my controller against the wall, and snapping the game disc in half.

The levels are not designed in an intelligent manner; you'll get killed over and over while running around the environment looking for that one specific path the designers want you to take. The "trial-and-error" gameplay in effect here is cheap and infuriating. I am given this huge, sprawling city to run around in, and yet the level design funnels me in and boxes me into a very linear mode of progress that doesn't allow for any kind of branching pathways for multiple solutions to a given obstacle.

Extremely disappointing. You'd do well to pass on this one. Don't say nobody warned you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It just got too Frustrating.

posted by flirtara (MONTGOMERY, AL) Apr 11, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

I love the concept. I have to admit I loved the demo and eagerly awaited this game. It is a little of a transition to get use to the controls. However game play is fun for about the first 4 chapters. Then I guess I lost my runners mojo, because then is when camera angles really started to annoy me. Also I found my self at points standing going darn where do I go now. That is infuriating. I was also like why did I go down all that just to go back up? Or maybe it is just my imagination?

Then you have sections where even after extensive cheat research, I could find only 1 way through it and of course it required a move I found difficult. More infuriating is the fact that standing in a construction site with many real life movable objects that one could have used to assist ones certain move issues, no dice. You can't move a thing.

I have to admit that I did finally get past some sections and felt like I had really accomplished something. However, that only gave me a momentary boost. Sections requiring cheat research became more abundant and after a while going to cheats just got ridiculous. Forget running or disarming, I want a machine gun so I can plow them down and stroll to the red door at my leisure baby. Shoot even a nice can of spray paint to leave a message I was here note on a white wall.

I have to say I am sad to think I have reached this point over a game I so eagerly anticipated getting. Now the only question left. Do I finish on easy or just bag it and send it back?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great potential, flawed game

posted by justdave (PROVIDENCE, RI) Jan 3, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Some games get a mediocre rating because they are mediocre. This game gets one because two things cancel each other out. The feel and originality of this game send it off the chart. But the frustrating gameplay, lame combat system, and other problems, send it back down.

I've been gaming for a long time, but I had to reload so many times on the story mode that I didn't bother to finish it. The time trial mode was worth the rental, but it only goes so far.

This is one of those games which I think deserves credit for making game history. Which makes it even more amusing that it is almost not worth playing.

I look forward to playing the sequel. Maybe then they will take the time to do some playtesting, and make their excellent idea actually work.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst game ever

posted by rsljlt0708 (HUNTSVILLE, AL) Jun 13, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

When the game first started the graphics reminded me of the Esurance cartoon comercials. Very poorly done. Gameplay itself get extremely boring only after a few minutes into the tutorial. You basically run and jump from building to building the whole time. Instead of fighting your enemies, the point of the game is to run away from them. There is no map to follow, you just hit the "B" button and it points you in the direction of where you are supposed to go. And in some points in the game it seems like you will never figure out what you are supposed to be doing. I made it half way through chapter 4 before I took it out and packed it up to ship back. Don't even waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Steal grandpas blood pressure meds- you need them.

posted by thebrad (VALLEJO, CA) May 15, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

Wow, where to start off...

The good:................. I didnt buy it.

The bad: Controls- why cant you put the jump button where it should be? Really? the bumper button on the hand that is controlling where you run? Why dont you make us fire up a second controller and hit a button on that to jump? And why is this bimbo so willing to fall off ledges? If i'm falling, i grab stuff to stop myself, she is happy to plummet to her death. Level planning- Open world my left nut. There is one path to take in this game. If you deviate the slightest bit, you are dead. You are dead. You are dead. You are dead. You are dead. You are dead. You are dead. (get my point?) The Elevator Simulator- WTH? If i want to be bored in an elevator, i'll do it in a REAL elevator. Battle- BROKEN!!~!!! Enemy AI was programmed with the brains of Steven Hawkins, Einstein, Nikola Tesla and the Flying Spaghetti monster. Disarming is useless at best, and shooting is pathetic. And the main problem- this is a Platformer game, with a little bit of shooting (and waiting in elevators) to make it interesting. The problem is, the platforming is broken. You will try to make the same jump 53 times, jumping at the last moment possible, and miss every time. But you can make that jump if you jump from a couple feet back from the edge.

The Ugly- This game is NOT pretty. It would be awesome graphics if it were for ps2 or the original Xbox, but i expect more from a 360 game.

Controls 1
graphics -1
story -12
replayability -1356

Come on DICE, you can do better than this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great idea, so-so execution.

posted by chirs3 (Johnson City, TN) Dec 16, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

This was the game I was most looking forward to this year... sadly, it doesn't quite live up to its potential.

The main problem the game has is it throws together a lot of conflicting goals at once. Sometimes you'll be dropped into a room with five enemies and a hidden exit. The game discourages fighting, always recommends running, but they want you to puzzle solve to figure out where the exit is. Puzzle solving while getting shot at is not fun.

The game works well when you're dropped in a single, easily defined scenario. You are being chased, so run. You are at the bottom of a room and you need to get to the top, so puzzle solve. You cannot leave this room until you beat the enemies, so fight. When your goal is clear, the game is fun. But all too often, your objective isn't clear, where you need to go and what you need to do isn't clear, and you're left feeling frustrated.

The main campaign is super short. I beat it in about five hours, and aside from a few notable setpieces/puzzle rooms, it's mainly a lot of filler stretched around an incredibly predictable and generic story.

What's compelled me to keep it is the Time Trials, which are a lot better than the main game. There's something like 20-25 bite sized stages where your objective is simply to find the fastest route between checkpoints. Coming up with your own lines, finding new shortcuts and techniques you hadn't thought of before, it's all great fun, and it's kept me busy so much longer than the main game.

Some people have called Mirror's Edge an important game. It's an important first step, at any rate. It's worth playing, because what they get right (the sense of movement) is really good. But I don't think it's worth purchasing, not at full price. It's an interesting idea that occasionally works like it's supposed to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Flowing on Water

posted by LJ2daMax08 (APO, AE) Nov 30, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

This game rocks from beginning to the end. Its a high adrenaline ride that leaves you like, wait...wait... there's suppose to be more!! at the end.

Mirror's Edge is A+ in visuals and level design.
I like everything about the game except for the combat. It seems a little weak to me. The moves Faith pull on the enemies are pretty sleek, and the way the combat sequence is set up makes it seem like you're doing a little something. The other flaw is the story it just doesn't draw you in at all, I personally didn't pay any attention to most of the cutscenes. I found the transition from anime to actual gameplay kinda awkward.

But to those who are considering renting this title please do it.... you will not regret the game's clean and refreshing game experience. It's like flowing on water

thanks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Frustration overload!

posted by Xyruzz (SUFFOLK, VA) Jun 3, 2009

Member since May 2009

11 out of 21 gamers (52%) found this review helpful

It just baffles me why developers insist on making games based solely on trial and error. Frustrating, time consuming, boring trial and error. This game is a prime example, more than half the time, you'll be in a small room, hectically looking everywhere for a way out, while soldiers are shooting you from up top, you die CONSTANTLY, and 90% of the time, it's because you don't know where to go, and they just shoot you down. Forcing you to replay the last 5 minutes of your life. This will happen constantly until you FINALLY find where you are supposed to go, but you have already wasted about 20 minutes of your life, 20 minutes you will never get back!

When the game is good, its when your running at high speeds, jumping from rooftop to rooftop, vaulting over fences and sliding under air ducts (there are a ton of air ducts in this city your in...TONS!) however this exhilarating experience lasts for no more than 2-3 minutes at a time, and follows a jarring and completely unexpected halt by 1 of a multitude of things. You'll run into a boring, frustrating game of jumping from pole to pole, or they will stop giving you the red markers, so you will stop and you'll have to look around for 5 minutes for where your supposed to go next, or a cutscene will trigger, or you'll slightly tilt the thumbstick a milimeter to the left or right, and you'll miss the bar your jumping to by a fraction of a centimeter, and you'll plummet to your death. This happens all throughout the game, and its just not fun in the least. The slow motion in the game just downright sucks, and its frustrating when you push it, and its just wasted while you either recoil from a bullet shot at you, or even during a takedown, but then, after you takedown, you can't use the slow motion again for a few minutes, so you got one slow motion every few minutes, and many times you'll be facing 5 or more guys shooting at you, leading to countless deaths, and more time of your life wasted

Not recommended, AT ALL

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Mirrors Edge suffers from worst control layout!

posted by Chinook (MANCHESTER, NH) May 1, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I am part way into chapter 2 and this game is about to take a a trip to back to the mailbox. Graphically it is good, but not amazing. The idea is interesting, but the game play suffers and mostly due to one of the worst control schemes I have ever seen in my life. The jump/up action button is the left bumper (can be swapped for the right bumper - gee thanks for the super variety!!!) The button that is used for 95% of the game play should not be an unreliable bumper. That is all. Programmers learn from this colossal mistake! At the very least provide an option to map the controller as we see fit. PC games have done this for decades.

Get down or lay down!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Awwww man.

posted by rumarch (LAKEWOOD, CA) Jan 30, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

In a game where it's all about running you kinda need to see your feet. I died like 10 times in the tutorial, that should have been my first clue. And what's up with the dying? I have to watch myself fall for 20 seconds and then replay the last 5 minutes too!? Suck. Overall this game looks good, plays smooth and has a great concept, it's just really REALLY hard. If you're not a pro a 1st person shooters (I'm not) then you should probably save yourself a lot of frustration and skip this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse