Rent Minute to Win it for Wii
view large frontback

Minute to Win it

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS, Xbox 360
GF Rating
3.2

550 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
4

Weak

Minute to Lose it

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Dec 1, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

32 out of 35 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

I have not remembered any game based on a game show that’s worth the money - from Deal or No Deal to Are You Smarter than a Fifth Grader?
Now we get Minute to Win it, and your host, Guy Feiri, and a compilation of 38 mini games.
Problem is, all but 10 are locked, and can only be unlocked if your avatar gets the million dollars top prize for finishing all ten tasks through three of the four episodes of the game show.
Even in multiplayer mode you can only play 10 games - which makes this a very bad choice for a party game because nobody wants to sit by and watch one player slog his or her way through the single player mode to try to unlock the rest of the games.
Adding to the headaches is the fact that these games can get tough; knocking out all nine lights or bouncing a penny into a bottle can be tricky because of non-intuitive control schemes. Needless to say; you may have to play the first ten games many times to get the hang of the controls. This doesn’t make a game fun, it makes it frustrating.
But the most hideous part of the game are the avatars you use - they are some of the ugliest models I’ve seen for this type of game. Why can’t they just use the Miis? (I would’ve like to see what Guy Feiri looks as a Mii.)
And what do you do with your winnings? You buy some really bland and cheap looking clothing for your avatar. I would’ve like to have the ability to unlock some of the other 28 games for multiplayer use.
It will take longer than a minute of your time to get through Minute to Win it, the video game - and I’ve put enough time in it to know that said time was misspent. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

minute 2 lose it!!

posted by mosh616 (GARRETT, IN) Jun 14, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is pretty terrible. the remotes dont respond well enough to the game which makes the games almost impossible at times. nintendo has never been one to go all out with thier graphics either but this one is pretty bad. i was sick of hearing guy's voice within 5 minutes of playing the game. big dissapointment :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Overall an OK game

posted by htka77 (JANESVILLE, WI) Nov 18, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game isn't the worst and it isn't the best, it's just OK.

Positives, it has 36 minigames that are played on the real show so there is a nice variety. It also follows the show pretty well also with the intro to each game and a description of it along with showing the controls that are needed to perform the challenge.

Some of the games are fun to play and have basic controls using nunchuk and wiimote.

You can play an episode, do a time trial, or practice games.

Negatives

Graphics - They are horrible and look bad, mainly the characters in the game. They're too generic and cheesy. You also start out in a generic outfit that you only can change after you win some money and the new outfits aren't much better.

Game instructions - Some of the games you need to really look at to find out what they really want done. IE: Punch Your Lights Out

The instructions told me to turn off all the lights on the board and that is what I did, but I didn't win.

The second time I tried, I looked to the right of the main board and there is a smaller board with only a few lights on and the rest off, so I figured I needed to only turn the light ones on that board off of the main board.

Wrong again. I realized that after seeing the number /9 in the upper left corner of the screen. Didn't even notice it the first play through, and this time when I noticed it, I saw the numbers were going down when I was turning off the ones that were lit on the smaller board.

So then finally to complete the challenge I had to turn off the lights that were not lit on the smaller board.

Playing an episode, the challenges stay the same for that episode, they don't randomly change which would have been more fun. So if you want to play episode 1, you'll play the same 10 challenges everytime in the same order.

Some games are just boring. Moving on up all you do is rotate between shaking wiimote and nunchuk to move the cups.

Rent if you enjoy the show.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

tough

posted by jgarr51 (WAWAKA, IN) Nov 19, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

tough game all most impossiable

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Takes way more than a minute to win it

posted by blondecrane (AARONSBURG, PA) Feb 25, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I played this game for exactly ten minutes , I understand it's not supposed to be easy , but is it supposed to be impossible ?
I sent it back the day after I got it .
I do not recommend it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Disappointed

posted by Wilson06 (EDMOND, OK) Jun 22, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was alright, it was a bit disappointing because I was expecting it to be more like the actual game. There was one game my Husband I played that was similar but the rules had changed a bit.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

dont waist your time

posted by roddood (IRON RIVER, MI) Dec 6, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

dont show how to play and ant consistent on controls played for 30 min and sending back

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Too hard - poorly done

posted by eggman4397 (RENSSELAER, NY) Sep 2, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

Children AND adults quickly become frustrated because the challenges are just too hard. It is as much poor game controls as it is the difficulty level. The graphics were terrible. Don't bother with this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BOO!!!!

posted by lindseynderek (GREENVILLE, VA) Aug 30, 2012

Member since May 2012

Worst game I have ever played. You can't operate the mii good enough to even pass the first level! HATE THIS GAME!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Minute to keep it.

posted by camp (FAYETTEVILLE, NY) May 14, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

Stunk.Boo. Not fun on the Wii at all.None of the motions
it told us to do worked as they were supposed to.
A lot of effort, no fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It was ok not like i thought

posted by kuana1979 (CHICAGO, IL) Jan 29, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

not happy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

SO DISAPPOINTED!

posted by biged30 (BALD KNOB, AR) Jan 8, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

I was really excited to rent this game cause I love Guy, but boy was I heartbroken once I tried to play it! I never even got past the first level of the game! Sorry Guy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Minute to win it

posted by bamdizzle2010 (FAYETTEVILLE, TN) Oct 13, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

This game is ok..... deff not what i thought it was going to be. im glad i rented it before i went and spent big bucks on it. if you have the time and the people to play the game with you then by all means check it out it was cool the first ten mins but after that i got bored really quick with it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

minute to boredom

posted by trex6504 (HAZLE TOWNSHIP, PA) Aug 28, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

I had recently received this game and thought that i would enjoy this game because I like the show on tv. Boy was i disappointed. The graphics on this game are not done very well. Guy looks like a lego character that talks way to much. The controls are not very responsive which has you losing all your lives before you even get off the level one challenge. They need to give you two or three minutes to complete these challenges just to let the controls catch up. I would highly recommend avoiding this game as a rental or a purchase. There are definetly alot better games out for wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

One of the WORST games I've played

posted by AEbabe007 (BREWSTER, OH) Aug 11, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

I understand that the whole goal of the game show is to make it difficult for people to win. It's challenging to do these things in just a minute. The problem with this game? It's pretty much impossible to beat some of the challenges without serious strain to your arms! I played the first game and didn't get it at first. Okay, it's not easy to understand at first, yeah it's that way with many games. But once I understood the game controls, I found it very hard to get the game to register my movements. If someone would have looked through the window while I was playing the game and didn't see the TV, they'd probably think I was trying to kill someone with as much force as I was using to get the dang game to register my movements. I was incredibly disappointed (not to mention thoroughly frustrated) in this game and returned it the next day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible Game

posted by Malek149 (SUMMERSVILLE, WV) Aug 3, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

This game has absolutely horrible graphics. The controls doesn't work very well either. Seems it was very quickly put together and wasn't thought through well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Couldnt play it

posted by dands (LAWRENCE, KS) Aug 3, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

The disc was faulty not to mention it was one of the 2 very first discs we tried out when we signed up

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

One of the worst

posted by sweetkatness (CHICO, CA) Apr 25, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

Well first thing off the bat the graphics are so poor it's like a 5 year old designed this game, I figured it would be a lot better then it was. Part way through the first episode I was already bored and said this game is total waste of time! Put it back in the mailer and am shipping it back!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Minute to Win It

posted by jdnance (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Apr 14, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

I was very disappointed in this game. For me, the 3.1 rating was completely inaccurate. Even for the Wii the graphics were poor. The original Nintendo console may have had better graphics. And the game controls are difficult to grasp. Requires lots pf practice, but sadly the game isn't worth that much time to invest. My advice, don't let this game take up space in your GameQ.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Poor graphics, difficult to control objects

posted by katreview1 (CASSELTON, ND) Apr 3, 2011

Member since Jul 2008

The graphics on this game were embarassingly poor, it looked like a rough draft version before the REAL graphics are made. Trying to control anything in any of the tasks was very clunky and frustrating. The hints in the corner of the screen are too small and vague to understand. This seemed like a rush job and poorly developed. It could have been a much better game. We returned it to the post office the same day. It's this type of game that makes me very glad that I "try before I buy".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not good

posted by cstr4068 (EL DORADO, AR) Mar 26, 2011

Member since Dec 2008

it is hard to get off the first game. I didn't like it to much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not fun

posted by stormyvawn (ATLANTA, GA) Mar 15, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

I did not like this game. It was not as fun has I had anticipated. There was not enough explanation on how to complete different challenges. I was easily frustrated.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't waste your time

posted by Critios (SACRAMENTO, CA) Mar 4, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

The game can be summed up in the first episode, first game - "this blows"

The game is broken down into shows all of which have 10 games to play. It's all about doing these tasks in a minute or less and the game itself is so broken even knowing how to do actions to make it through is like madness in pill form. There is no way to make your avatar move more quickly to do a task and you can't even move on to another episode <show>until you make it through the ENTIRE first episode to begin with.

You might have fun for 5 minutes - there after you'll want to throw your wii mote into your television. Rent if you want to torture yourself - I suggest this game for the trash bin myself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Fustrating and disappointing

posted by allielayton08 (OAKLAND, MD) Feb 22, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

I found this to be a disappointment. The controls were very hard to figure out. The game did not inform you well on using them. Got for the family to play and it was not worth it much at all. Wouldn't get it again

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't waste your time

posted by mmciv (FORT DODGE, IA) Feb 13, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

This game is NOT fun. I had high expectations because I think the television show is entertaining, but even if I'd had no expectations, I would have been disappointed.
My husband and I literally had to force ourselves just to finish the 10 levels. The blueprint for each level is just like that of the show, which would be helpful if I were actually on the show. However, I'm playing a video game, and the instructions on how to play for the Wii were down in the corner-- in a small and unclear graphic. The game is slow to respond to your actions, and the graphics are childish-- especially compared with the majority of the other games available nowadays.
In addition to being not that user- friendly, the game itself is boring. We played the 'multi-episode' version-- I have no idea how this compares to 'championship', since there was no description and I couldn't stand to play it any longer to find out. Every player is given points, no matter how badly they did- so, when my husband and I both failed to knock over any cups in "This Blows", we both tied for first/last place with 4 points. Where's the fun in that? I guess the game had it right with that blueprint: This Blows.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse