Rent Mini Ninjas for Wii
view large frontback

Mini Ninjas

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, DS, PS3
GF Rating
7.2

645 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

Mini Ninjas: Mini Fun

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Oct 17, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

10 out of 10 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Playing Mini Ninjas made me feel like I've seen this type of game many, many times before. An evil has taken control of the land, and it's up to our heroes to stop it by wandering through the land, beating up any enemies they face and collecting all sorts of stuff.
Wait, isn't that the plotline for almost every 3D platformer?
Mini Ninjas tries to break the mold by giving the player weapons and spellls - some of which work, like the fireball, while others are there just to solve puzzles (namely the one that creates sunshine.)
I got a real kick out of the archer ninja; it's good fun to hit enemies from a distance. The others are just okay.
But, the story shown here doesn't hold up it's part of the deal - the characters are not developed at all, the bad guys are almost all the same, and there's really no advancement to the story after each chapter. It's just go from point A to point B, fight a boss ever few levels, and repeat over and over again.
And the biggest problem here is the same as many other 3D platformers: the camera. Far too often it wanders about, and there's the constant headache of off screen enemies shooting me in the back. This game could use a simple command to instantly bring the camera behind the ninja or a lock on for the archer ninja.
Still, there's a lot of content on display here, and there's plenty of places to explore and find stuff. You collect money and items, then you can buy recipies for potions, collect the ingriedients for the potion and make them at you lesiure.
But I found this part hard due to the mess that is the inventory screen. Scrolling through the spells, items, recipies and ingriedients can get annoying.
Mini Ninjas is a smalll step for the 3D platforming genre with the content, but the camera and inventory screen makes it only a small step. RENT IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Third Party Sleeper

posted by makashakur (FREMONT, CA) Sep 11, 2009

Member since Jan 2005

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

+Graphics and animation are excellent
+Versatile moveset and tools
+Large, replayable stages with hidden items
+Great camera
+Repetitive combat can be avoided with stealth
+Character switching provides variety
-No stage map to avoid backtracking
-Checkpoints are too far apart for quick sessions
-Autosave has no SD card option
-Ranged weapons lack lock-on
-Button mapping is not customizable

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Farting Boss = good fun - the smell :)

posted by ginsu2000 (NORTON, OH) Sep 16, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

It took me a less than 4 and a half hours to finish this game (granted I didn't collect EVERYTHING) but I'd have to say "Bravo." After almost tossing it in the envelope for return after having some serious "stay on the rope" issues, I hunkered down pretty much held down the 'c' button and leveled up as necessary and shot for the end bosses. All of them are button press battles save for the final boss which requires you to use some aggressive magic scroll you should have picked up in about the first 1/2 hour of play. Watching the 'extras' does evoke some emotion for these characters, however you pretty much use your starter for the duration. One quibble was the escape avalanche stage which makes you 'redo' the whole thing if it catches up to you, but the end more than pays off (spoiler alert) that evil warlord actually makes his castle become alive and you must navigate its guts starting at it's feet to reach the top and duke it out with him one on one (stock healing potions!) All in all if you've got about 5 hours to kill this is an awesome run through (us the '+' for direction and shoot for the bosses and you're in for a good time... the 'farting' boss was a hoot)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I love this game!

posted by Ininja (WESTBURY, NY) Oct 8, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Finally, great Ninja game since "i-ninja" on ps2/gamecube. This is fun(frustrating sometimes....), cute, great action game!! I love the characters and movements. Bosses are funny and action itself is funny. I give this game AAA+++!! A must for a ninja lover!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Mini Ninjas Wii Review

posted by slayer1983 (PLAINWELL, MI) Feb 3, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This had the potential to be an entertaining game. It had some excellent concepts, such as the ability to switch characters at will
and to possess animals. Unfortunately the game is crippled by terrible controls. They actually expect you to flick the remote upwards everytime you try to pick up an item. I really do mean try, I found myself spending 10-20 seconds just attempting to pick up one item. Unforgivable! Did I mention the visuals stink? Dont waste your time or your money on this garbage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Easy to play fun adventure with humor.

posted by BoredinMN_30 (SAINT PAUL, MN) May 9, 2011

Member since May 2011

This is a good all around fun and easy game. The characters are small and cute little ninjas, and the dialogue and bosses in some parts are humorous. The game controls are smooth and easy and don't rely on shaking the Wii remote around to fight (thank god). You only shake the remote to pick up flowers and open gates. The ability to change characters any time is cool because each has a certain strength. The use of magic, like being able to take over animals or small ninjas, or cast lightning storms also rocks. You can also get instant kills with the power move which lets you stop time to target a number of enemies and kill them all in succesion. The landscapes are large and free roaming letting you search for flowers to make potions and collect koji statues. In all, this was a fun and easy game to play and figure out. Definite good rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ninjas yes...exciting?...meh.

posted by ChillGamer (ATLANTA, GA) Oct 7, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

Mini Ninjas was a pretty cool game for the age group. But it was a little silly as far as game play.

In the game you have to find Jutsu (spells) and search for plants so you can make potions and things that will help you on your quest. But most of the time it was pointless because you can beat any and everything in the game with an energy potion and some smarts. I didn't use any of the spells except for a few. Then the final boss battle comes up and I'm like "I gotta use the spells NOW."

We rescued six characters and you can switch between them. But it didn't really matter. The main character was the only one who can cast spells. If they gave him the power to shoot arrows and beat up super big guys, there would have been no need to rescue your buddies.

The camera was really poor and there was no auto lock on enemies. So it was hard to point at one guy and attack him. They could have put that on the Wii Remote pointer. They made the pointer control the camera and it was really difficult.

I got so tired of running through the forest and killing samurai I fell alseep several times. There were really no objectives but to get to point B and collect things on the way.

Other than that I really liked the characters and the environments. I just wish the programmers shortened the levels.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Slowest ninjas ever

posted by Sweaves (GREENFIELD, MA) Aug 23, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

I rented this game since I, like many people, am a fan of ninjas. That being said, this has the be the slowest ninja game ever. You don't get the ability to dash until a few quests in, and the dash isn't that much faster, and doesn't work for very long. It probably wouldn't be so bad if there were something to do in between walking ever so slowly from one place to another, but its minutes of slow walking through grass, fight a couple enemies for a few seconds, walk slowly through more grass, talk for a while, repeat. I didn't last much longer than the second village until I gave up and returned the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WOW, wat a game!

posted by thebeatle (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 8, 2010

Member since May 2010

just kidding.
this game was awful. the story was amature at best. this game is okey if u want to get ur little brother of your back for some hours. honestly this is not my kind of game. i didnt get far on it but just because i got bored hours into it. maybe its your kind of game but i really dont belive anyone above the age of 10 would even play this game. it was my mistake to rent it. overall i give it a 1 out of 10. i guess this game would be alright for begginer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Too much talkie

posted by nekosama91 (NEWARK, DE) May 23, 2010

Member since May 2010

There's a good amount of videos, similar to how Spyro is set up, that talk a lot. If you can deal with the talking the game is amazing. pretty accurate to the time period too. Me and my 8 year old brother can't get enough of the game. Highly recommend you know how to read to play though, theres a lot of read.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun for everyone

posted by RoyalA (MCDONOUGH, GA) May 14, 2010

Member since May 2010

I just got the game and I am digging it. It offers more fun than the regular Mario title that stops being fun before you are even into the meat of the game. The boss characters are OK, though I am growing tired of bosses that can only be taken down through sequence action. What is the point of having an arsenal of spells if they can only be used on thugs.

It is an enjoyable change of pace. Considering I am not the target audience, it's a nice little romp worth the rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great

posted by yeshuvtali (MONTICELLO, GA) Apr 27, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

Great game for kids. Best Wii game I have played yet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good N Simple.

posted by Fausett (CHICO, CA) Apr 26, 2010

Member since Aug 2006

It's like another Japanese art come to life. The challenges and fighting was fair and simple enough to get through it without wanting to break this game. I like this game, but its not the kinda game I wouldn't get excited bout though. They story was well thought out, the graphics was like I said, like a painting come to life. Especially the backgrounds. So It was a good simple game. And the bosses are not that hard to figure out. They give you one tip and then u figure it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mini Ninjas HI-YAH!

posted by twigward (MORRISTON, FL) Dec 28, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

This game was amazingly awesome! Some things needed to be a little more challenging but everything else was pretty great. I loved the cute little characters (Shun, Suzume, Hiro, Futo, etc) and for a 1/2 inch ninja, or any sized ninja for that matter, they were killer beastly. It was the cutest ninja-tastic game in the history of forever (and infinitely into the future)

I certainly hope they make a squeal to this!!

The Boss Battles were pretty good, the second one needs to be made a little more challenging but hey, sometimes a little bit of easyness is good :D this game is a total win!
:D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »