Rent Mini Ninjas for PS3
view large frontback

Mini Ninjas

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, Wii, DS

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
7.1

1787 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Mini Ninjas, Mega Fun.

posted by Monster0 (LISBON, NH) Dec 29, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I wasn't sure what to expect from this game when I put it in my GameQ. In fact, the only thing that made me put it there in the first place was the fact that my brother got the platinum trophy a while back and I've been intrigued ever since.

Graphically, this game is nothing special. It has a great color palette and the art style is pretty cool as well, but technologically there's nothing special here.

The sound is good for what I need it to be. Not too subtle but nothing repetitive or overbearing.

The story is fun, quite obviously aimed at children. You really can't take it too seriously when the story revolves around ninjas fighting samurai who are really forest animals turned into samurai by an ancient evil dude.

The gameplay is where this game stands out, in my opinion. There's a pretty simple set of ninjas, moves, and abilities to play around with, but you can mix and match these attack abilities and powers as you see fit to make the bad guys tumble and the story advance. There are side quests and there is crafting, but neither of these things are deep enough to detract from moving the story along.

The game is not difficult at all, I've been playing on hard and I've still got a backpack full of health potions and food to keep me combat effective. I have died a few times but every time I died I knew I had jumped into combat too deep and too quick. It's just not possible to jump into a crowd of 20 samurai with no forethought given to distraction or stunning beforehand.

The fun factor is very high in this game. While a lot of games aimed at kids tend to be a bit of a grind, this one delights with a quirky story, likable (if a bit quiet) characters, fun gameplay, and a visually pleasing environment in which to play. I recommend this for anyone looking for a fun few hours to throw away on a few weeknights or over the weekend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Beautiful Atmosphere

posted by lolperson (REDLANDS, CA) Nov 1, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I loved this game because the landscape and feeling created through atmosphere and sound is so consistently beautiful and peaceful.

There was a part where I crossed a stream and turned around to look back the way I'd come; the mountains and trees rose above me with the path I'd come down on, the stream swept calmly passed and turning to my right, a bridge and hills in the distance faded in the sunset. The 'lens' feature here used is better than that in the original Ratchet & Clank's: it shows distant things larger, as though through a modest zoom, and this gives a significant sense of scale, and I found to be more immersive.

I like that you can take your time exploring. The animation and lighting is wonderful and the particle effects in the cemetery are gorgeous. The light reflects off the characters realistically. Sunset, an orange-toned landscape is not the boring or gaudy orange of typical "lava levels"; it is warm and subdued, and feels like a beautiful sunset. Too, the midnight level shows high dynamic range and the feel of nighttime is achieved much better than those games that turn everything to a pastel grey/blue for night scenes.

Each character moves uniquely and realistically, and has their own audio. I loved the tone of the archer, who whispers nervously; it is perhaps in keeping with the distance nature of his chosen weapon that he is the most careful of them, appearing humorously almost paranoid. The girl has a laugh which doesn't work and I couldn't play long as the big guy because his labored breathing made me feel anxious.

One thing lacking is a more specific narrative; cut-scenes like those of the Ratchet & Clank brand would have been welcome.

Nonetheless, the feeling of story is conveyed more almost by the landscape itself; it's very large, and for once in a game, I was not bored exploring this gorgeous and massive castle.

Highly rated for atmosphere and mood, art, ambience, tone, sound, technical production.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very enjoyable for a kids game.

posted by VandalHart (BRONX, NY) Nov 2, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm into the hardcore type of games like God of War, Assassin's Creed and so forth, but I'd have to admit, I had an awesome time playing this game. You don't use all the spells, but that doesn't stop how well this game was put together. Catching a fish and pulling it out of water turns it to instant sushi. I die laughing everytime I see that. My favorite fight was when you fight a boss that breaks wind and uses the wind from a fan to maneuver it to you. That was one of the most funniest things I've seen in a game. The controls respond well, plus there's a lot of action to go around. This is a game I might consider buying when the price drops. In the meantime, it's an awesome rent. I'll play it again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Mini ninjas

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Sep 14, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

21 out of 24 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Mini Ninjas is a well suited game for the younger audience, but Mini Ninjas is a fun game if you are into cartoon mischief. The gameplay is similar to the Ratchet and Clank series. Instead of a futuristic approach Mini Ninja takes on Japanese folklore. With the same Arcade style of game dynamics, the game is very easy to adjust to, very easy to control, and keeps you interested with a funny but witty storyline.

You assume the role of the Ninja, Hiro, who posses the power of Kuji Magic. In a forgotten land of peace and growth, a dark magic awakens. The Ninjas of Ninja mountain are called to defeat the evil power that is plaguing the peaceful land. Hiro, being the last ninja left, is set out by his Master to find what has happen to his fellow Ninjas and defeat the dark force that is taking over the peaceful land.

Mini Ninjas is very well designed. Being a Ratchet and Clank fan, I found the game pretty entertaining. You don't only play as Hiro, but you spend a good amount of time using him for objectives other ninjas can't perform. There is a total of 5 Ninjas you use, Hiro, Futo, Suzume, Shun, Kunoichi, and Tora. Each Ninja has their own special ability and technique to fighting. The levels are very open and you spend a good amount of time wondering around threw the levels. You don't automatically regain health, so you have to pick fruit, fish, or create a potion. The game is very well rounded and balanced well. The favorite things I liked was the ability to go to the extras and watch a small video of the ninjas background story once you have found/unlocked that ninja.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Ninja Gaiden for Children

posted by Jrw1202 (KALAMAZOO, MI) Sep 13, 2009

Member since Mar 2007

10 out of 15 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is really endearing, the main character move so much like Ryu from Ninja Gaiden in regard to traversing the land. It really is a pleasant game to play, sceneries are gorgeous, and the music is very appropriate to the context. If you have kids this is a game that you will not regret picking up for them, it has there humor and is not overly difficult for them to play.

If Eidos does decide to make another, I feel that there should be levels tailored to the additional characters that you pic up along the way. In this game nothing is really gained by using the other characters. However nothing is lost using them as well.

Great Game, enjoyed every minute playing it and I know the kids will enjoy it as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

mini ninjas makes for max fun

posted by mutha001 (SUWANEE, GA) Nov 6, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Mini ninjas is a great action adventure title that throws you into a myhtic time of fudal japans past. Lots of hack & slash with some stealth aspects make for a worthwhile experince plenty of power ups,characters,wepons,magic and enough searching to stay intruiged looking for the sweet goods stashed through the well designed levels. I enjoyed laying waste to everyone possible knowing that I was saving helpless animals, (You go Peta!) Fun for all young or old!
Buy or rent you wont be let down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I can has Kuji Magic

posted by Berzacker (HUEYSVILLE, KY) Oct 26, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I have to admit when I got this game I didn't even have what would be consider any kind of hope for it. However when I started playing it I became immersed in the world of these six young ninjas, each having his/her own style of play. This turns out to be a great concept that's adds a level of strategy to the game that is more than just a normal Hack-n'-Slash by making you decide wisely which Mini Ninja would be best suited for the current situation your in and can mean the difference in victory and defeat especially on the harder difficulty.

I loved the games graphics which put me in mind of a better version of The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker. and really the only complaints I have is the dialog at times can be childish and some of the Bosses could really be based on a children book at least two of the bosses in particular can and the bosses themselves are usually push overs. when compared the Levels are harder. but I can't give a game a low score just because its maturity level is low I mean the game is more geared toward a younger audience. The reason I gave it a 9 and not a 10 was it seemed rather short and the mini bosses I thought could have been a little harder even for a younger audience.with that said theirs nothing about the game as far as how its made I can say is bad, It had no glitches and I played through it twice. and the controls control well. so the game is solid.

All in all I thought this was a game defiantly worth renting especially if you like ninjas. at times it can seem like the easiest game in the world and other be frustratingly hard so in the end its well balanced and a well made game. and for you trophy hunters out there this is a good easy platinum with two playthroughs at least. and the second time trough it will seem like a breeze. trust me.

if anyone has any questions my PSN ID = berzacker
add me and ask away

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun game for kids and adults alike

posted by Shanghai (CLEMMONS, NC) Sep 16, 2009

Member since Dec 2006

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game surprised me with it's quality. It's a very fun game and I found myself always wanting to play "one more level". The controls are exception, with the slight exception of the reticle aiming for the bow - but it's just a little over-sensitive.

There are some small graphics things that could have been improved, such as shadowing of the main character, there's some seams that show up now and then, and some minor clipping issues. But for the intended art style, it's very well done.

This is a great kids game as well. It's not overly difficult, contains no blood (the enemies change back to their animal forms when defeated), and no bad language.

I really enjoyed the game which is similar to a Ratchet & Clank or Crash Bandicoot game. Sure it's old school, and it really doesn't innovate that much, but the pacing and story are well worth a play.

Let's talk potential here though - It would have been nice if the different mini-ninja's you save throughout the game had more purpose. I only used 3 of them (the main character, the heavy one, and the archer). I didn't find any compelling reason to use the others.

But the one thing that should have been included is a co-op mode. This would have been a fantastic parent and child co-op game, and the developers really missed an opportunity here.

Bottom line - this game is surprisingly fun, has a great story, is mildly humorous, even for adults, and although it lacks real replay value, I think I'll play through it one more time because it's just fun clearing levels.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun

posted by djthaiboxe (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Mar 15, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is fun in the beginning...offers a fresh, relaxed, somewhat of a kiddie game that adults can enjoy.

However, this game gets incredibly redundant with the levels and enemies. Sure you get new types of magic, but most isnt at all helpful until you advance in the game.

Im still struggling to put it back in the ps3 and actually finish this game. It held my attention for about the 1st 4-6hrs.

Overall, i give it a 7 for effort. Held my attention for awhile, but its lacking depth and reply value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Mini Ninjas

posted by CaLi805 (VENTURA, CA) Oct 7, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is a very good game. Dont be put off by the childlike characters. It has a pretty good story and great game play. This is a very good game for trophy hunters out there. Easy platinum!!!

Pros: Good graphics, good story, diverse game play.

Cons: Short story, no replay value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best for families that aren't gamers

posted by jenirose (AFTON, VA) Nov 14, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

My wife and child played this game and appeared to love it. My wife wanted to give it a high rating. She informed me that this game would be great for children under thirteen and adults who are not gamers. I watched her play and the graphics were cartoony and the controls appeared to be very simple. She says the game consisted of rescuing forest animals and defeating the evil ruler who transformed the animals into minions. I felt like she was volunteering her time to the SPCA. She was running around demolishing cages and letting wild, maybe rabid, creatures run free in a town. I was bored of this game upon start up. So in conclusion if you are a gamer i would put a restraining order against this game if i were you. BUT if you are looking for a child friendly, easy to play game for the family to enjoy then this may just be a winner!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Great Kids Game

posted by Patrick_Regan (SAN JOSE, CA) Oct 11, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

A lot of gameplay for your dollar. Though you only have to go through the game once you can replay levels to find previously missed items. Five playable character each do very different things. Each have different animations for each thing they do such as swim, run, fight, etc. Fun to go through and a little on the easy side. No real challenge until the last boss which can give you problems if you don't know exactly what to do. Overall a fun experience. Worth a rent for trophy hunters too. It took me only a week to get platinum.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better than it looks

posted by treyperk3 (LEES SUMMIT, MO) Jul 27, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

The game is very very good, its alot better then advertisement recommends. U get to b a real ninja and you use stealth tactics like hiding in the grass, walking on small walkways, and use some spells to get the upper hand on your opponents. The only thing thats dissapointing is how your only aloud to use one ninja at a time. If you could use all the ninjas the game would be a master piece, but instead its just a pretty good game that takes a while to get in to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not What I Thought

posted by Annon420 (ADRIAN, MI) Jul 7, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

I knew going in this wasn't aimed at adults, but friends and even a couple Gamestop employees recommended it. So why not? Well, it was bad. I couldn't even play it an hour. Very repetitive, BAD camera, weak fighting system and VERY Repetitive, oh its also repetitive. I was going to rate it lower, but its a kids game and on that level I suppose it could be good.

If I was about 15 years younger maybe I could have seen the fun, now I'm just upset I have to wait another week for GFs slow mailing to ship me my next game. Starting to wonder if GF is worth it at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Avelanch

posted by JoRenae (SAINT JOHNSBURY, VT) Apr 19, 2011

Member since Aug 2006

The Avelanch level is a bit hard because sometimes in that level you can't see at all so thats the hardest level that I have done.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

if i could have played coop, and local coop...

posted by mfgink (COLUMBUS, OH) Nov 21, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

If this game had coop and local coop, it would be a ten.

Once you beat the game, going back through is not very appealing (not for lack of action and fun) if you are being a collector. Completing the collecting is less fun than, say, having gamefly send you the next game on your Q.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Adult Freindly

posted by UkManiak (ROCHESTER, NY) Oct 21, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2010

Great game, good fun. Ages 5 to 95 will enjoy this game. Definite try if not buy for your kids. Where is Tenchu?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Definitely Child Game

posted by Mathazar (WASHINGTON, NC) Jun 17, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

Not a great game to me. Very age 5 ish. I can't say its bad because it looks well done for a children game, but definitely not for me. This might be one I rather watch TV and just send it back. Thank goodness for Gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Mini Ninja (not so good)

posted by gameORnot (BRANDON, FL) Apr 14, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

First this is how i rate games.

2-action(if there was enough actual play time)
"half a point for action."

2-graphics(if the game had good graphics)
"no points for graphics."

2-sound(if the game had good sounds and if it made you feel like you were there)
"half a point for sound"

2-character(if the game had a good main character/other characters)
"one point for character"

1-online(has a OK online)
"no online"

1-multiplayer(has a OK multiplayer)
"no multiplayer"

The game had way to much talking. They didn't even talk they made you read it. The game had terrible graphics, not good at all. The sound was OK because you could hear the animals in the forest and my blade hit my enemy but barely it was just a WHAM kind of sound. I like how they let you switch through different characters, but only your main one can do magic, so I'm usually him. The game had no online and no multiplayer.

Please tell me if you think my reveiw was helpful and if i should add anything to this review and my others.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Cute and totally fun

posted by douger1la (WEST HOLLYWOOD, CA) Dec 17, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

So this game doesn't have amazing graphics or anything, but if you like cute, fun adventure games, this one is pretty great. You are this little guy, you run around and acquire scrolls which contain spells, you fight your way through various levels and beat the big bad boss in the end. It plays a lot like a more interesting Super Mario Brothers type game. I loved it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Mini Ninjas

posted by popularone (CRESTLINE, CA) Nov 2, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

The graphics are great and the story line is ok. Down fall is that I was able to beat the game in about 6 hours. I give an 8 in rating because it is a childs game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

a lite hearted game with serious appeal

posted by Sutherland (ELK CREEK, VA) Oct 15, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

Mini Ninjas has a great whimsical art style that I absolutely loved. Each of the small ninjas that you play as are fully realized characters with small details that make them stand out as individuals. The bad guys are gloriously silly running about in a panic and sounding like a bunch of Japanese jawas/ewoks.
The game is pretty linear though there are side quests and places to discover. Combat is simple with special attacks and magic to spice things up. Stealth can make up a large part of your gameplay or very little it's up to you. There is a leveling up system that improves your stats and a alchemy system that lets you mix ingredients that you find to make potions that grant you abilities.
This game is full of Japanese myth portrayed in a very pleasant manner. If you like ninjas, then this game is a worthy rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decided not to Finish

posted by giese095 (NEW PRAGUE, MN) Sep 21, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

The gameplay is fun and the graphics and art style are very cool but I got very close to finishing the game but then I reached the avalanche level. Maybe I'm the only one who found this impossible, but I could not beat the avalanche. I would be able to get so far escaping the avalanche and then I would fall down into a forest and it seemed there was no way out and I would always die. I was getting frustrated so I just decided that it wasn't worth it and I just quit and decided I could watch the end of the game in a video online. So if that tells you anything...Usually I'm not one to give up on a game but I just didn't find this one to be worth my time to try to figure out how to get past the avalanche. I decided my time would be better spent returning this one and getting something else. I just watched the ending online and it turns out I didn't really miss a whole lot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Mini Ninjas Is a Solid Platformer!

posted by grommyfrog (CONROE, TX) Sep 18, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

Finished the game last night and I unexpectedly enjoyed every minute of it!

Mini Ninjas is a very good 3D Platformer with solid game play and no noticeable flaws. There is very little in the way of innovation throughout the game. But, Eidos has spent a considerable amount of time polishing the controls and game mechanics.

I enjoyed the "cartoonish" graphics and level design. The whimsical look added to the games charm and appeal. It's a nice contrast to playing "Gritty" games like Fallout 3 or Killzone 2. Lighthearted and rather silly in places.

A very simple control scheme is implemented. It's for the most part a simple Button-Masher. This a great for allowing younger players and the less experience gamers to enjoy the game. After playing for a few hours and growing accustomed to the controls I found that there was quite a bit of depth to them. There is an opportunity for skilled gamers to vary their attacks and strategies if they wished. It is not necessary to do this but it can add a lot to the game.

Collecting items and ingredients to mix potions, Jizo Statues, Secret Kuju shrines and and just floating around in your hat fishing add a lot of little extras that keep the game fun.

For 3D Platformer fans I recommend Mini Ninjas.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »