Rent Mini Ninjas for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Mini Ninjas

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, Wii, DS

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
7.1

2241 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

don't call it a kids game!

posted by headhunter (WHITE RIVER JUNCTION, VT) Sep 28, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

22 out of 24 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

It is hard to hate on a game that is just so pick up and play fun. True, the challenge is low, and some will label it a kids game mostly from the cartoonish visuals, but there is a charming little game here. The visuals are cartoony, and the enemies don't really die. Once defeated, enemies will vanish in a puff of smoke, and revert to the cute animals that had been transformed. A lot of the fun comes from your (the players) willingness to experiment with the weapons and tools at your disposal. At its best, Mini Ninjas has the feel of the first Tenchu. Sneaking atop buildings, hiding in tall grass waiting to ambush patrols, a quick flash of a smoke bomb to disappear with ease if you're spotted, shirken, caltrops, magic, all these tools of the ninja way are present if you care to use them.
I say if you care to because really the game can just be beaten by running up and laying the hurt on fools with your sword. Mini Ninjas tasks you with the usual ninja goal of stop the ancient evil, but along the way you also save four of your ninja friends. Once saved, each ninja can be switched to on the fly, and their unique talents can be applied however you wish. See, it was really the varying ways of dispatching the "evil guards" that kept me the most interested. I never grew tired of sneaking about, laying out traps, and keeping the AI tripping all over itself trying to figure out what i was up too.
The levels are each mini open worlds, most haveing multiple routes to the exit gate.
The weakest point for me, was the boss battles. All except the final boss has a set pattern you need to expose, then active time button prompts walk you through the rest. Wash, rinse, repeat three times, and another one bites the dust. I am also sick of collectibles in games, and this one tasks you to find quite a few if you want all the achievements.
I gave this game a nine out of ten because in the end fun won over frustration. A solid rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Mini Nijas vs the mean blue samuri

posted by EazyE360 (SAINT PAUL, MN) Feb 16, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Overall I thought the game was fun & entertaining. The tutorial was helpful but a little short on some subjects, leaving me to figure out how much of the game worked. The levels are challenging & some are rather large. The graphics are good & the overall game play is worth it. But in the end I got bored with it. The levels started to blend in together & searching for items to complete tasks or levels got old. In the end I gave it a 7 out of 10 mainly because it kept me occupied over the weekend... It is worth a try but do not expect a complex or difficult game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good game

posted by gamekid1 (WHITESTONE, NY) Jul 30, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is fun being small in a ninijas is wicked

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not just for kids

posted by toxic99 (CHILLICOTHE, MO) Jun 12, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is a blast to play. It's got some quirky humor and the gameplay is fairly solid. I did, however, have some issues with some level design. There where times when I couldn't see where I was going (level with lots of snow), and others where the rain and tree effects made it hard to tell what was going on in the combat. Other than that, I really enjoyed playing Mini Ninjas. Will it go down in history as a classic? Probably not, but it is still a solid game with much fun to be had. Not to mention it's an easy 1000 achievements!!! Do yourself a favor and give this game a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Mini(classic)Ninjas

posted by SpasmFists (GLENDALE, AZ) Sep 8, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

28 out of 33 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

This is a fun-to-play game. If your looking to have a great, kick back time, rent this game.
Not difficult at all, yet satisfying. Gameplay is smooth and easy to learn, able for any age.
The Ninjas are funny and you learn to love them quick.
Graphics are nothing to brag about, but a great cartoon look.

Doesnt matter if your 8 or 20, youll enjoy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

rated a 8

posted by KaosSwirl (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Nov 2, 2009

Member since May 2009

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

The atmosphere and level design are perfect for the type of gameplay this game creates. this game doesnt take itself to seriously, and neither should you. imo this is the biggest plus for the game.

the characters are varied, although i've found myself going back to a few of them and completely forgetting about the others. the boss battles are entertaining as a novelty (pushing buttons during interactive cut-scene) but sneaking into the castles before the boss fights were the highlight of the game for me.

each levels designed as a mini-sandbox, theirs atlest 2paths to take to get to the end of every level. however theirs tons of places to explore off the beaten path, and the collecting achievments make the level exploration a necessity.

a fun game to play through, when it goes down in price ($15) i'll probably buy it to finish up the collecting achievments.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Funn!!!

posted by DevilDoug (MIDDLEBORO, MA) Nov 22, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Mini Ninjas sets you on a quest to recover your fellow ninja brothers, and uncover the truth behind the strange storms that have been occuring over the land. While on your journey you discover that dark magic has been used turning the forest creatures into an army of evil samauri. The world is drawn out in a beautiful animated art style, with interesting special effects. The worlds varies from jungles, forests, and graveyards, to caves, and castles. Defeating an enemy will release it back into it's animal form, that you can take control of .

Along the way you will rescue your ninja friends, all which are playable at anytime once unlocked. Each character has his or her own unique special move and comes in handy for different situations. The controls for the game are fantastic. You can access frequently used items and weapons from a quick select wheel by pressing and holding the RB button, and you have your character selection on the same style selection wheel by pressing LB.

You can collect plants and other things to use as ingredients to make your own potions such as health. The game has alot of depth to it and is very fun and addicting to play. Great controls, great story, great graphics, and a blast to play. I highly recommend this game. Sometimes its great to get away from the ultra violent and realistic games and go back to something that you will enjoy and take your mind off the everyday troubles of life.Have fun!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Kids Love It, You'll Like it

posted by Mikewarren (HORIZON CITY, TX) Sep 10, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

10 out of 13 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

The graphics are cute, the fighting is as easy as Fable 2, and, in many ways, equally complex. There's magic, there's varying weapons (projectile and melee), and there are platforming moves like wall running and cliff clinging. The game provides some Zelda-like qualities by allowing you to use your hat as a boat and fish from it. Unlike Zelda, however, the game's story isn't quite as deep and rich as you may like. You are commissioned to rescue six other ninjas who, once found, become playable with their own unique set of skills and movements.

What won't you like? We'll, it's rated E10 for a reason. My young girls love the game, and so might yours, but your older boys may not fiind it as appealing. The controls are not tight as the developers thought using the "a" button to jump and interact with items was a good idea.

Overall, if you like Mario and Zelda, you'll probably like this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Probably better off named Mini Samurai

posted by OsisNie (EXETER, RI) Sep 9, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

9 out of 14 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

When I think of ninja, I think of stealth. While there is the ability to hide in this game, the vast majority of this game is just going around in the open field and slicing through a bunch of enemy samurai and archers (oooh how I loathe those archers). Misnomer or otherwise though, there is fun to be had in this game.

You start off with one ninja but along the way you find/rescue 4 more to bring your party to five. Sounds nice in theory but for the most part there's no reason to use anyone other than Hiro, whom you start with. The only reason to use the others is for their respective achievements. Hiro's power attack (Y button) far outclasses all of the others', especially once you level up some.

As with any game, this one is not without its faults. The camera for the most part behaves nicely, controlled with the RS. There are some places (namely the second to last level) where the camera can go a bit wonky which can really screw up the platforming. Next, sometimes (namely when trying to jump a gap) it seems like the controls are late to register (and this you plummet to your demise.) The variety of enemies.. well.. there is -no- variety. You'll be fighting the same guys the entire way through.

There are 5 bosses to be dealt with amongst the 20-some-odd levels and all but the last boil down to quick time events. While some of them are... imaginative.. I found myself just not having fun with them. I'll chalk that up to this being E10+ though.

The art is nice but not breathtaking. The story is basically nonexistent. It's your basic "Evil has resurfaced, go vanquish it!" scenario. Why can't evil ever stay dead anyway?

All in all it's a quirky little game that'll keep you well occupied for 15 hours, but is only worth a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Can't Decide?

posted by krkraum (ROCKLEDGE, FL) Oct 19, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Then my advice is to rent it! The demo made me unsure and I almost removed it from my queue, but I'm glad I didn't... It's a fun game to play through and worth the time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pure Entertainment - Worth a Rent for All Ages

posted by TheDox (MARYVILLE, TN) Sep 18, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Alright, straight out of the blocks I will clarify that this game is simple. Easy control scheme, predictable story, and minimal difficulty (even on the "hard" setting).

Nonetheless, this game is amazingly entertaining - one of two games released in 2009 I couldn't stop playing until completion (Prototype being the other).

Those who played one level and called it a Zelda: Wind Waker ripoff are dead-wrong. The cel-shaded graphics are reminiscent, and your health is represented by hearts. That's the extent of the similarities.

The easy-to-learn control scheme helps the game immensely, as it is very easy to master the mechanics in a short period of time. The characters will keep you slashing away at the oppressive samurai of the realm - midway through the game you will have all characters unlocked, each of whom has a unique ability/weapon - the protagonist wields a standard katana and can possess animals (any animal you see you can control) through Kuji magic - the subsequent characters unlocked wield a hammer, flute, bow, claws (think Weapon X + ninja), and a spear. You can change characters on the fly, even in battle, creating a somewhat strategic element to the fighting (i.e., the ninja with the hammer is good for large groups, the bow-ninja good for eliminating enemies at a distance, etc.)

Again this is a very simple game with zero plot twists and easily-mastered gameplay. But imagine a fun-factor on the level of the LEGO games, with similar humor. I'm 26 years old, and I absolutely loved it - it's not just for kids - but they'll love it, too. It's nearly impossible to "lose".

If you're into achievements/trophies, they're quite easy to obtain. 15 hours tops to acquire them all.

Great game for a rental, incredibly fun, but not worth a buy. Hope this helps!

-Dox

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

ok

posted by yatcha (PORT EWEN, NY) Jan 23, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

it was fun. it was very short, and the story wasnts that great though. but it was fun to play. the spells were fun and so were the speacial abilities.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mini Ninjas

posted by UnsungZero (MENOMONIE, WI) Oct 16, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I loved this game so much, its fun and I really love the fact that it has nothing to do with killing. It has a fun story line and I can play it for hours. It's relaxed and I love the idea that you can spirit transform into the animals. Its a good game...and I love it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good game

posted by nicklc (FORT PAYNE, AL) Oct 16, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

this is a good game because its funny a fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Beat it, fun game

posted by IzakGt (AUSTIN, TX) Oct 12, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Decent game overall and enjoyable game. Maps are a bit on the long side, which is fine but sometimes the end of that map did not come fast enough.(I shouldn't complain there are to many games that end quickly) Also if you are trying for achievement points you might as well do it on the hard setting and then go get all the easy achievements on a much easier setting(obviously). The Bosses are relatively easy, I have not tried it on hard but I can imagine it being a whole lot diff from the normal setting. Overall very entertaining

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Very cute game

posted by Harpy9 (Manassas, VA) Sep 19, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Intended for kids, but still worth playing regardless of age. It's not very challenging, but it's funny, cute and just plain fun to play. The graphics are very well-done and the UI is also well-made.

Along with fighting, you fish, raft, collect herbs for potions and "sled" down a mountain to escape an avalanche. All of these have their own twists to it that make it even more fun and not mundane.

Definitely worth the rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

wicked fun game

posted by Bmoney1508 (SPRINGFIELD, MA) Oct 12, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

this is not your avarage little kids game i thought it would be corney but it is actually alot of fun its a nice feel and lets you get away from all the new games out there rite now companys are just pushing out to make money it is a really laid back game no stress at all just wicked fun and very easy achievement points its not a buy cause there is no replay value but it is a refreshing game to play takes about 12 hours

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Mini Ninjas

posted by FlashGod (HARRISBURG, PA) Dec 7, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

Boring repetitive unimpressive graphics - fine if if you are trying to entertain a 7 year old, but it's rated E10+. Would I buy it for my kids? Yeah for like $15 def not worth $50 dollars, or even $40...

Oh well...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

baddd gameee.

posted by c4h4vox (BUFFALO, NY) Oct 7, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 13 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

do not rent the game was boring...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I love it!!!!!!

posted by Uenderking (GERMANTOWN, TN) Sep 13, 2013

Member since Sep 2013

OK, I only played the demo, BUT I played it like 10,000 times so meh...number 1 in qune

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Family Fun

posted by jacksonran (BEDFORD, IN) Mar 30, 2013

Member since Aug 2010

I play anything from kid games to Extreme adult games. I enjoyed this game even though it is pretty simple. It has enough challenge on hard to get all 1000/1000 for an adult but laid back enough for children to beat it on easy.

Good: The general game play is fun. Its innocent humor but not cheesey. You free ninjas with different abilities as you progress and meet different types of enemies with different abilities, but you do get new abilities yourself. It has a cliche storyline but its still a good one.

Bad: The gameplay is repeatative. You got through a few stages, go through a castle, and kill a boss. Repeat 4 times and you win.

Ugly: The only hugely bad thing is that glitchyness of it all. The animal and Tengu acheivements are glitched. If you want thehm (totaling 140 between the 2) you should research on what not to do so you can complete these without hassle.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

for young players

posted by uzumaki_naruto (LONG BEACH, CA) Feb 9, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

if you have a child your just tryin to break into video games. this is the game for you. its simple, creative, and lets you choose what ninja u want to be. great bonding game for parent and child

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not what we thought

posted by greywolg1963 (FORT WAYNE, IN) Jan 21, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

the game looked fun on the trailer but when you start playing its one person, it does alot of talking, whenyou just want to get into the game, don't get me wrong it may be good for some but not my cup of tes was disapponinted, maybe someone else may like it more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Epic game but not completely perfect

posted by TwilightNinjaX (SAMMAMISH, WA) Jun 21, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

This game is excellent! It is NOT a kids game! I am a teenager and i love it! The graphics are great and this is much better for xbox than say, for ds. Stealth mode is pretty boss, and the choice between ninjas rules. I only have a few dislikes about the game. For one thing, occasionally the character slides and/or drifts (depending on whether you are on land or water) its also hard to wall run, which is the key component to getting Futo. It also annoys me how there is NO multiplayer which is really fun on the ds but would be better for xbox. Other than those things the game is easy but it does have a lot of challenges which is the best kind of game. My last issue with the game is it just seems short, i got it a week ago and i am already more than halfway done and i have only played it 3 or 4 times. But this game is great and i recommend buying it after you rent cuz it is that epic! Hope my review was helpful and you enjoy the game as much as i did

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Astonished at the rating this game has...

posted by ShazamFTW (DOWNERS GROVE, IL) Oct 19, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

Major problems:

A)Achievements are insanely glitchy. I was VERY fortunate to walk away with 1k. You can't replay any levels or it fries the achievements, and half of them don't record half the time. This took way more time than it needed to.

B)The camera angles for what is essentially a 3d platformer are inexcusably bad. Several times I had to redo levels 3 to 4 times because the camera self-adjusted at the point I was moving and caused me to fall into various chasms etc. Excruciatingly annoying.

The game is horridly easy however. Even on "hard" level, it was more or less a joke to burn through. It is 1000% not a purchase on any measure, and I would only suggest renting this if you have an absolute love in your heart of hearts for 3d platforming (which I obviously don't). Even then, there probably should be at least 10 games ahead of this in your queue.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse