Rent Mindjack for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Mindjack

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
3.9

811 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

Square pumps out another oddball

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Jan 23, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

38 out of 40 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

Square Enix is usually definitely known for creating some weird games, and this is one of them. Mindjack is based on the concept of being able to use mind control to takeover enemy humans and robots. You can become this little floaty cloud and 'mindjack' over available targets in the game using certain controls.

Using this mindjack ability, you can become a lot of different characters and robots throughout the campaign and multiplayer modes. This game is also designed to be played 'OPEN', giving you or others the ability to hack into other gamer's sessions...literally. You can join another xbox live game that is OPEN, and hack into either his team, or you can hack into the enemy team and try to kill the host and impede his progress (perfect to annoy people). You can also turn this mode to OFF if you want to just play by yourself and not have people hack your game and mess you up.

So that adds a unique aspect to this third person shooter. It also uses a cover system like Gears of War, when you press A to get in and out of cover. It's very flawed and doesn't work half the time which adds to the frustration of this game. Along with that, it takes a thousand bullets to kill enemies, while theirs seem to shred through you like you're made of paper. The guns are pretty bland, not much variety or uniqueness. The shooting gameplay in Mindjack is below average, and on level with games like "Wanted" and "007 Bloodstone."

If you're looking for something different, than I may suggest checking this out, but I could recommend 100 better shooters for the 360. The story is non-existent, graphics were blurry, sound was bad, and the campaign was repetitive. Online play was kind of fun, but there is not much depth to anything, including customization, character leveling and upgrading, new guns, etc. A very forgettable game that I would only play if you are also an oddball or want to get a few easy achievement points.

Milt Drucker
-gamertag-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Absoluetly horrible.

posted by lordkor (MANAHAWKIN, NJ) Jan 20, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2008

47 out of 56 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

Don't be like me and let the high ratings fool you, this game is garbage warmed over. Utterly boring and repetitive, once you play for 10 minutes it's the same through the whole game. Same enemies with minor variations, same weapons, idiotic AI for a partner. I returned it the same day. It had promise, the visuals were pretty good and the ability to take over someone else was a nice add. However it ends there. Apparently you have to observe a woman who is a target of interest, then suddenly you become an outlaw instantly because of a fight. Now everyone is trying to kill you and her. Although there is a "single player" campaign, the game is obviously designed for multiplayer. The game has way too much of a arcade style shooter. It's divided into stages, some which are very short. You start a stage, fight enemies, complete the stage, start the next one. Same thing over and over it gets far too predictable. It's like putting peanut butter and jelly on different bread, tastes practically the same each time although it looks slightly different. Also, weapons don't carry over to the next stage. You start each one with a crummy pistol and need to find others. Your partner is a complete moron, often charging into a fire fight, and they won't pick up any weapons unless you take control of them. Enemies also take a good amount to kill even with head shots. Also, they keep spawing out of buildings until usually you kill a certain amount, again very arcadish. A better plot or storyline, well, wouldn't help but might have been nice all the same.

THE GOOD
Graphics
Mind control

THE BAD
Repetitive
Idiotic AI
Two weapon limit

THE UGLY
Repetitive
Idiotic AI
Too arcadish

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Garbage doesn't even begin to cover it.

posted by CaBBisH (LAKEWOOD, CO) Jan 18, 2012

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game gets a 1 because it's trash complete and utter trash. The friendly AI seems like it was designed to make everything in the game more difficult. The controls are so poor that the game is almost unplayable, and the voice acting, story, and graphics follow suit, there is nothing redeeming about this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Mind who

posted by bigbadbear (BESSEMER, AL) Mar 17, 2011

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I like the next age games from all sorts of providers. This one had some limit to it. Now the ability to jump 3 times after shot to another body was great. The ability to warp close to next body also great. Now the premise of this game is to hijack a person a robot or a dog. The issue is that they have to be dormant or just almost dead. Not the ideal setting for you to play in because lets face it if a person jumps into your game all they have to do is kill you 3 times or kill all of your jump sites and well game over. The AI added benefits like spray reduce and such are great but show no real advantage in the game. The AI you play against is deadly in his shooting with a 98 % hit accuracy. You on the other hand with multiple shooter are around 54 % so the off swing is not balanced. I wouldn't recomend buying this but what do i know ?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

mind-jack review

posted by ec320x (MACOMB, MI) Feb 3, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game is an OK 3rd person shooter. Its good but not satisfying enough. The game has the storyline of one of those pedal pushing shooters of an arcade. ( quick lets get out of the airport now shoot these bad guys while the girl hacks the door) this game would be great if it came out 2 to 4 years ago but now it just feels out dated. But the biggest part of this game was its downfall. The game allows you to take control of downed enemies and have them attack for you.....but also when you die/get downed this game allows you to just travel to a civilian(which are placed way to often) and take them over till your guy gets his health back. but in the end its a quick and easy shooter game. For anyone who focuses on shooters this game is a easy gamer score booster. I'd say its worth playing but its not gonna replace any of your other shooter like COD or GEARS

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Super mega smasher!

posted by tidusguy99 (SHOW LOW, AZ) Jan 22, 2011

Member since Oct 2006

6 out of 25 gamers (24%) found this review helpful

It's fun and different, the controls are unique, and are fluid. The graphics are budgeted but don't affect the game. There are tons of people to be, both female, male, monkeys, and robots. The game is great reminds of deadly premonition and spy fiction and lifeline, super strange but super good!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

No.

posted by NukeDukem (WALLA WALLA, WA) Mar 31, 2013

Member since Aug 2008

I played this for like 20 minutes before I was done. Usually I get farther in games like this, but this game doesn't even pass into "So Bad It's Good" territory. It's just terrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

fair game

posted by ridgybarracuda2 (BOCA RATON, FL) Apr 1, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

Personally i like this game and think it is enjoyable. Some flaws are voice and the action are lacking. Square Enix has good ideas but didnt quite live up to them. All in all some may like it while others may not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

An interesting Gem

posted by rcg851 (COEUR D ALENE, ID) Feb 24, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

I'm sure if you are reading this you are just doing it to see the "This game sucks" or "don't buy this" because you watched Angry Joe or Zero Punctation, but I'm about to blow your Mind....Jack and say this game is not bad....its not good but it isn't as bad as one would think now.

Let me explain, when this game was released of January of 2011, players were plauged with terrible AI and terrible story and voice acting, ok the story and Voice acting is right up there with resident evil but it isn't "all your bases are belong to us" bad. But its the A.I that got an overhaul. They feel like a threat rather then a bunch of stupid mooks.

The mind hacking portion is pretty enjoyable, and comical because when I mind hack a scared civilan, they pull out a gun out no where....I'm not even gonna asked where she had it. The gun play is pretty solid, not perfect but it isn''t too loose.

I admit, the story makes no sense but its almost like watching evil dead, you are kind not suppose to make sense of it.

Pretty much this is an interesting rental at best which I give a 4.5 out of 10

Just make sure you don't go in thinking it will be an epic on the level of Mass Effect, or have the game play of Gears

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

squarenix hit or miss

posted by uzumaki_naruto (LONG BEACH, CA) Feb 9, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

it missed. it missed bad...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Neat Concept but BORING

posted by BruceF (BENTONVILLE, AR) Jan 15, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

It's a pretty neat twist on your typical shooter, but there was nothing here to keep me interested. I played it twice for a few hours then set it on the shelf for a few days and could find no real compelling reason to put it back in the Xbox. I have no desire to see how the story unfolds and ends. It just didn't capture my interest.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

good idea... bad end product

posted by mathhisas (DES MOINES, IA) Nov 9, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

The idea of the game is good... you play a guy that has the ability to take control of anything and anyone... sounds fun... and it is... but the problem is that on the 3rd or 4th mission they make it almost impossible to win... your character dose very little damage to the enemy and u have to literally almost kill the enemy before you can take control of them... and on top of that there bullets kill you in 2 shots... so when you finally get out of the beginning area (i don't wanna ruin it for the poor individuals that rent this) you have to fight 4 cops that are waiting for you. no problem. beat them and take as many as u can to help you... well right when you kill them a cut scene starts and you then have to fight a huge robot... with no explosives or anything... and it tells you bullets don't damage it. you then spawn in the middle of the road with like 10 enemy's already shooting you... if it wasn't for this one part it might of gotten better ratings... but I'm sticking with don't get this game...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Needs Smarter AI Companions

posted by d0g333 (SPRINGFIELD, MO) Aug 17, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

You know i had high hopes for this game, its not often that you run into a game that lets you turn your enemies to your allies. Unfortuantly, however, if you turn into the AI bubble and leave your main characters by themselves, they will run straight into enemy fire. While i was controlling a citizen trying to get the "drop" on the bad guys, the main characters got themselves killed, so i find myself constanly playing as the main character, that alone made me feel like the concept was a dumb one. If they had made the AIs a litte bit smarter to where you didnt have to constantly check up on them then it would be an ok game worthy of a five instead of the 3. The story doesnt flow very good nor is it very creative, bodies being shipped? WHY? If they are dead why ship them, why not just have them buried and also why not have the people just plain abducted. Nothing hardly makes your character have a distinct advantage over the bad guys except for the mind hack thing. Another thing that was small but bugged me was that there are propane tanks, thinking they would explode i shot them hoping that they would, however they dont. What kind of game has propane tanks that dont explode when you shoot them? Not only that but there is one thing that annoyed me the most about this game. . . the next level screen. After each level or scene as the game calls it, it asks you if you want to continue the story. If i press campaign i want to play the campaign dont ask me to bring me back to the menu constatly. You cant even pause the campaign if you are playing it! I know that thats a multiplayer feature to the game but if i change a setting to where nobody but me can play, IT SHOULD BE ABLE TO PAUSE!!

This game is very bad, however its not the worst game i have ever played. All in all horrible game and unless you want a few hours of your life wasted by a game with a horrible story, bad gameplay, dumb AIs, and (i didnt mention) unclear instructions, dont rent this game!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WOW?!

posted by lunchbox0924 (ELK GROVE, CA) Aug 5, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

this game was good and all but you DIE way to fast

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Mind Jack-Lame Jack

posted by noblewarrior37 (KALAMAZOO, MI) Jul 23, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

I've been playing video games for over 30 years now. So I consider my gaming and my review of this game fairly professional, and now my 12 and a half year old son is starting to become a young gaming master him self. Now when I first read about Mind Jack in my favorite gaming magazine (Game Informer) I thought to myself this game look's like it might be awesome. Like I said might be. You can mind jack from character to character when your main character you play as dies or get's to wounded to go on. Basically this means when your character is wounded or you just want to use a different playable character on the screen at the push of a button on your controller, it kind of looks (graphic wise) like your soul leap's out of your body and you control the floating soul into the next playable character to take control of him or her or even some mechanical figure-robots as well. Sounds like a lot of fun but only for a limit time and gets repetitive fast. In fact the whole game is repetitive and the weapons you use lack in whats available as well (not many in fact) and the graphics are Ps2 at best and the story is barely noticeable in fact I can't even remember what the story was that it was so absent from the game. Basically floating from playable character to character is mainly the only thing fun to do in this game and even that is short lived like I said. Plus if you don't swap out from character to character fast enough which can get confusing or hard to find at times who's available to leap into (you will just die) even if your just in a simple fire fight between you and the bad guy's that aren't even part of a boss fight. Basically I wouldn't even rent this game if you really want to try it out find a friend who has it and borrow it from them. Then tell your friend how terrible they are for letting you borrow this PooPy game from them in the first place and wasting 10 or so hours of your life you can never get back. This game would only be fun if you lived in prison

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

MindJack

posted by SilentHobgobin (BASTIAN, VA) Jun 28, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

This game was absolutely terrible, the fluidity of the movement was a rip off of Resident Evil and Gears of War. The concept of the game is indeed one the developers could have expanded their game around. But I couldnt stand the first 15 minutes of the game 1/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

ugh

posted by nickie (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Jun 6, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

this game will wear you out, nothing but shooting. have to kill everyone in order to move on. at least could have a few puzzles to figure out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

You guys are too nice

posted by DrakesInception (LANCASTER, CA) Apr 9, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

No ones given this game a 1 yet? C'mon guys, stop being so nice!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »