Rent Mindjack for PS3
view large frontback

Mindjack

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
3.8

444 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

Only Fun for A While

posted by DangerGuy (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Mar 25, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

10 out of 10 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Mindjack is not .. a really TERRIBLE game in my opinion .. it's just not a very -good- game. Mindjack's unique play mechanic (hijacking the motor functions of random citizens or almost defeated enemies to make them fight for you) is entertaining and liberating. I think the last time I saw that was the Yuri Clone units in Red Alert 2. But there are moments when that makes winning way too easy - even on the hardest difficulty.

The environments in the game and the character models look like they were stolen from the Metal Gear Solid universe. That can be forgiven to a point, which is why I gave this game a 5. But if you are picky about things like that then it could bother you. The music also sounds like it came straight out of Metal Gear Solid 2.

Character development is non-existent in this story. The forgettable protagonists are as shallow as it gets. The main character's emotional baggage is watered down to the occasional blurry flash-back sequence and the female sidekick is nothing but a sharp-tongued wingman to fight along side you. Square Enix makes no attempt to try to tell us anything about this science fiction world of the future, other than the fact that this nebulous and unexplained mindjacking technology exists. How or why? Your guess is as good as mine. This leaves our boring characters to run around and shoot people in a world that is nothing more than science fiction wallpaper.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Mindjack

posted by EZGamer (RUTHERFORDTON, NC) Feb 27, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

For a stand alone third person shooter from Square Enix, I wasn't sure what to expect, and in all honesty...I'm glad I didn't get my hopes up. The gameplay is solid and somewhat addicting. However, the slight screen flicker, chinky dialogue, and lack of story details tends to take away from the gameplay experience. In addition, enabling multliplayer hack-ins for the campaign is slightly more difficult than neccesary, even with TWO friendly human players and ONE enemy human player. It's not all bad though, and with the various multiplayer options and fun "duck and cover" gameplay, the game offers enough to at least try it. While (and I apologise for this) I can't say too many good things about Mindjack, I CAN definitely recommend it...once it gets a $20-$30 price tag.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible timing and guys jumping off screen

posted by azmiami9460 (CHANDLER, AZ) Aug 21, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Its been a very long time since ive had a game where a guy somehow is inside a wall, still hits me with shots, and I can't hit him back or seem to do anything about him. Also, the mindjacking takes a long time to acomplish, while my two players stand out and get shot over and over, not really utilizing cover. Same goes for the enemies for that matter. Finally, I found the last straw was the freezes i had. 3 times in 5 hrs is to much to bear for a game of this calibur. I rarely find games unplayable, as i enjoy most games even if others hate it, but this one belongs on a do not play list. Great concept for the game though, I do hope they try this game out again with a better engine to see how well this idea can become as I think it has a chance to really be a great game if given a better system to work with and alot less glithces and bugs to hamper it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What is wrong with this game?!?!?

posted by roccodog1 (MERIDIAN, ID) Apr 3, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

After playing this game just one time I was almost ready to break the disk to pieces, douse it in holy water, and then light it on fire! This game is marred by technicle issues, bad AI( I mean, seriously, bosses that fire at the ground and explode when you kill the lesser enemies???). This game was the second worst game I ever played. And don't fall in for the multiplayer idea. DO NOT BUY OR RENT THIS GAME!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Japanese Trash

posted by nibroc2112 (DULUTH, MN) Feb 16, 2012

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Japan used to be synonomis w/ Video Games. Good games. Now it seems to be synonomis w/ Horrible Video Games. Japanese game makers have lost their passion...case in point, Mindjack. They come up with one idea, like hacking other people's minds, and slap something together as quick as possible...without thought to stuff like gameplay, story, and graphics. Yeah, I read the bad reviews, but sometimes a "bad game" can be fun...even if its just making fun of it... Not the case here...I dont even know why im spending time writing this, except to warn you all to STAY AWAY FROM THIS GAME!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

mindjacker

posted by kelly_hayhurst (SALEM, WV) Feb 13, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

mindjacker was sent back at the same time as the other game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Just No

posted by jbrizzy (HOUSTON, TX) Jan 18, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is very Abysmal. I literally only made it through the first cutscene, because it was a sign that i shouldnt continue any further. I slipt it into the envelope, dropped in the mail box, and never looked back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wow.

posted by Isalon (SOUTH PORTLAND, ME) Nov 18, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

All I can say is Square-Enix, W-T-F were you thinking with this? What a total piece of garbage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

mind jack

posted by snowfam (SEELEY LAKE, MT) Jun 17, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the game mind jack is a generic joke. like it was put together in one day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Great Idea Bad Execution

posted by BlueCookie (CHULA VISTA, CA) May 18, 2011

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Mindjack had a great idea and a great concept but the execution was very much off. The graphics look like something out of the 1st Tekken and the shooting system was garbage. I only played through the first mission before turning it off and sending it back. Maybe they can put a little more time into it and get the gameplay up to par. The idea isn't horrible but everything else was.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not really worth it.

posted by Ericknopf (FAIR LAWN, NJ) Feb 8, 2011

Member since May 2010

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

For starters they don't really give you a back story as to how you can invade other's minds. When taking cover, the coders didn't program in the ability to simply "corner". There are no checkpoints, so if you have a hard time getting through an area and die, guess what, you have to start over again. The is no difficulty setting, so there is no option for easy mode. I would not recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Very Disappointing

posted by THEPFAT (KEY LARGO, FL) Jan 29, 2011

Member since Mar 2008

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

So I'm going to keep it short and sweet on this...

Graphics are N64 worthy, Voice acting is bad, enemies pop out of nowhere and seem to have a preset damage resistance..IE headshot = nothing different than a toe shot..., Weapons are plain at best. The "Mind Hacking" could have been cool but they did it quite poorly as you can't mind hack ANYTHING only somethings and conveniently placed bystanders that happen to be watching the gun fight.

Story is decent with some quality writers could have been great. Multiplayer "hacking in and out" is a cool premise but when everyone realizes this game is bad there will be no "other people"!!!

All in all I would not even recommend renting this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

pointless

posted by Panther82 (RALEIGH, NC) Jul 7, 2011

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

there is no reason for a game like this exist. its basically a rail shooter with some rpg aspects sprinkled with fps. basically its garbage. theres no boss fights, no real sense of death, no story line, you level up but you get badges intead of anything useful like better skills. its not even worth a rental. being used as coaster for your drinks is the best thing this game can aspire for

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Starts bad, then gets worse.

posted by Skinart (ARLINGTON, WA) May 22, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It's one thing to try for something innovative, to buck trends, to take risks. This game tries to give the impression of doing that. But it doesn't.

They lost my interest in the first tutorial sequence when they revealed that the game controls would be the opposite of what every other game of this sort in existence uses. Every console, every gamepad since the NES, prioritizes the left thumb controls for movement. This game puts that on the right thumbstick and looking on the left thumbstick. The end result? Irritation because for no good reason, I can't bring years of experience immediately to bear.

It doesn't take long to adapt, but all that the switch does is annoy and start things off on the wrong foot. The crazy thing is, I'm aware it's a petty thing to be irritated about, but it's such a stupid design choice its hard not to--especially since it makes the very first interaction with the game a negative one. Having that first negative impression means the game has to do something awesome in the next half-hour or hour to win you over. It doesn't manage that.

Instead, you start the game annoyed with the game, and stop playing disgusted with it. I hypothesize that that single bad design choice, and that that design choice is the first player interaction, has resulted in this game being rated significantly lower than it would have otherwise just because of how that subtle first impression coloured the perception of everything else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

wow

posted by takerucw (TAMPA, FL) Mar 9, 2011

Member since Apr 2008

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

omg this game stinks, i played this for 2 minutes and got bored. im not even kidding. played for 2 min, put it back in the envelope and returned to sender.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fun Game

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Jan 21, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

8 out of 20 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game reminds me of a awesome game on the Nintendo64 called WinBack...

Playing like a 3rd person shooter, Mind Jack has a very alternative style of gameplay... Interface is like Resident evil titles, except you are able to move around and shoot/aim.

You play as Jim Coheijn, a Agent of an elite squad, who was tracking a person and manage to stumble into a crime he was investigating... Accused by the state of Authority, Jim and his partner are now fleeing to find evidence that sets them, both not Guilty.

Mind Jack is really a neat game... The graphics are sub-par but the game is very fun to play. You have the ability to MINDHACK anything -- Mind hacking is taking control over a person or thing and using it as a weapon against the enemy.
The multiplayer is also very unique. In the Multiplayer you can have friends or random players "Hack" into your game. Hacking into a game consists of a person connecting to a game and selecting what team to be on... ~Which is the fun part... You can join a random game and be the enemy in the Game's main story... -OR- You can join a random game and aid that person threw the main story.

The multiplayer paces the game a bit differently... Also, it is unlike no other title out there...

The game is fun and has a twist to it when it comes to multiplayer... If you like a challenging game--this one is a definite rent...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Super Mega Smasher

posted by tidusguy99 (SHOW LOW, AZ) Jan 24, 2011

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

"Super Mega Smasher"

If anyone has ever played the game "The Bouncer" you will be comforted. The game is very similar in nature. Mindjack play's like another 3rd person shooter when comes to the controls, but departs when it comes to the battlefield. Player's can hack into any enemy or civilian that is foreseeable. This leads to some interesting teamwork and strategies, will you sneak upon them with the exploding robot while you you corner them in with a shield robot, while you snipe the people trying to get out? All the game can be played with a co-op wanderers, up to a couple depending on the level, that also includes enemy players that can come hack into your game. The game also features a level up system where you can upgrade your character with "arts" such as carrying an extra grenade, or damage reduction ala uncharted 2. The story is strange, but is definitely one that will keep you thinking as you play. As you play, you will have different partner's, they each have their own personality but are sometimes shrouded by silly voice work, but it adds to the experience. Most of the many "people" you play as don't differ too much. But that is OK because there are space gorillas and roomba vacuums that DO play differently. The game is short, like the bouncer, but catches itself with re playability. There's many reasons to go back playing, trophies/ achievements , which are fun to get and to unlock all the plug ins and arts. i personally enjoy this game and find the graphics similar to deadly premonition, and the environments differ with the story but don't get too spectacular. The game clocks in about 7 hours shorter if you don't do anything else, but i like the length. There is always people hacking into my games, and i'm always doing the same. Though you should really play the game with people being able to hack into your game to get the best experiences of mindjack, and if you don't wanna be bothered by people you can just lock hackers out. I would recommended th

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

this game so/so

posted by gatorchron (LAS VEGAS, NV) Mar 20, 2014

Member since Oct 2012

this game good & bad well here good about it.

pro: this game have good gameplay & gaphics what so cool mind your enemy when they die push square also what so cool when u die u can go people mind or rebecca mind i dont know about enemy mind later game but they can kill there team if u hack there mind. Another think like about this game is that your friends or other player join your game & your rank carry over the multiplayer.

Con: i hate about this game is that when u kill enemy you have to be close mind hack there mind & this game really reptivie you die alot. Another thing that ignoing every time you beat the level they ask continue the game even when you start the game they ask you if you want set online so people join your campaign they do this all the time it so ignoring i didn't try multiplayer because it might not people there mind be wrong but i didn't try multiplayer so also the guns not great to kill your enemys.

If you think worth rent yea try it out but if you don't like reptivie games that make you mad don't rent this game but not worth buy tho

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great Multiplayer Experience

posted by cruelslaw (YOUNGSTOWN, OH) Jan 2, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

If you are playing Mindjack by itself, you will be woefully dissapointed. The gameplay is repetitive, chunky, boring, etc... Add a friend through online play and the game gains a great new dynamic. Granted, the controls, graphics, story and whatnot are exactly the same, but somehow - perhaps through an act of sorcery - Mindjack is enjoyable! Whether you are helping a fellow mindjacker progress through the story , or even better, breaking a rival mindjacker's spirit by repeatedly defeating his team soundly, mindjack's multiplayer spirit offers glimpses of what a good coop 3rd person game should be.

Mindjack is certainly worth a couple hours of your time, especially considering the price on it now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun game to beat.

posted by jb777 (DAVIE, FL) Aug 19, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

The game is fun to run through at least once. The graphics are ok and its fun to shoot at giant robots. Its not the best game of its kind but its fun enough to play the story mode. The game is fairly short and is full of action. The AI isnt the smartest in video games but its smart enough to offer a challenge. This game is worth a round for the action segments. Im glad I have GameFly so I could have fun running through this game without having to buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Beep Beep Beep, get used to it.

posted by joecessini (LEBANON, TN) Jul 22, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

That incessant beeping will drive you mad, when you or your AI partner "die" you will hear a beep until you are revived. Your AI partner sucks and WHEN they engage an enemy they will most likely die and you must revive them. In most cases they do little more than provide a distraction for you, so you can take out the baddies, but on rare ocasions if you use them right you can take them over and take on your enemies from two angles.
The targeting is only average and it takes tons of hits to kill an enemy, the sound track it limited, if not non-existant.
What makes this game good is the concept, It's awsome being able to takeover a defeted enemy and use him for your bidding, taking over civiliams to join in your quest, for a short while. You can also "hack" in to someone elses game, if they allow it, and enhance their gameplay.
Square Enix tried and came up a little short maybe they will try again in the future and make it just a little better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »