Rent Might & Magic Clash of Heroes for DS
view large frontback

Might & Magic Clash of Heroes

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.5

277 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

The best puzzle/battle game yet.

posted by DocHoliday (Omaha, NE) Dec 23, 2009

Member since Oct 2005

13 out of 13 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

You can't exactly put this game in the category of Puzzle Quest because it takes the puzzle battles to a new level. Instead of competing on the the same board, each player gets there own screen (top/bottom) to assemble their army and launch them against the opponent.

There is much variety in the army types. There are four different kinds of armies, each with three infantry types, two elite types, and two champion types. You can't use them all at once so you have to pick and choose what type of strategy you want to use. That strategy will depend on which of two commanders for each army you choose. In addition, there are eight artifacts per army that give you another special ability.

Now all of these options may make you think that the game eventually becomes unbalanced when you figure out the power combinations (a la Puzzle Quest), but that doesn't happen. This game is beautifully designed to balance offense vs defense and special army powers. This means you can actually play multiplayer with your friends and winning depends on strategy and luck versus who gets their ubber-spell off first.

The story itself is ok. It takes lets you play the four army types through the eyes of one of the commanders. The story is typical fair but at least it doesn't suck. In addition to pure battles, there are puzzle boards based on the unique combining abilities this game employs.

I can't recommend this game enough. It is the pinnacle of puzzle battling on the DS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

neat but....

posted by tycho0042 (SEQUIM, WA) Jun 10, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

pretty weak all together. I went into this thinking I'd be playing some kind of cute variation of the existing HoMM formula but instead was surprised to find that I was dropped into a puzzle battle game! That in and of itself isn't really a bad thing but frankly I found the tutorials weak and the battles to be stacked against you with little recourse but to lose. Perhaps it was my not being familiar with the puzzle formula but there's only so many times one can tolerate being stomped the same way despite playing different moves. The opening to the game they make the fights to be relatively equal matches then move on to progressively more difficult fights where the enemies in virtually EVERY encounter is vastly superior to your character in level.
Bottom line for me is they needed to balance this better for difficulty and maybe explain the mechanics of the puzzle elements better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Somewhat repetitive, but still fun and addicting.

posted by Ascalon (LEWISVILLE, TX) Jun 10, 2010

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is one of the few well made original RPG/Strategy games for the DS. If you're playing a role playing game on your DS it's usually Pokemon or a Final Fantasy/Dragon Quest remake, now it's time to take those games out and give Clash of Heroes: Might and Magic a try.

It has very good graphics for a DS game, the gameplay is fun, addicting, and often times forces you to think in order to survive a match and defeat your enemy. As for the story, you control 5 characters and the game is 6 chapters long. You can only control one of these characters at a time so each chapter focuses on only one of the characters. Ultimately the plot is throwaway but that's probably not the reason you're going to play/enjoy this or any other DS game.

I'd highly recommend this game to anyone who own a DS and loves RPG/Strategy games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

If you like doing the same thing over and over...

posted by thelosh19 (SAINT CLAIR SHORES, MI) Jan 30, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I initally had no issues with this game. It was only after about 2 and a half hours that i realized one major flaw in this game. If you die in a boss battle atop a certain tree, the game locks up and you can not interact with anything.

Besides that, the game itself has a very unique battle system that is easy to understand, and possibly easier to master. Basically its whoever can get more attacks off in a lesser time. And they try to throw this repetitive battle system for a loop every once in a while by making sure you don't hit a specfic target or by trying to get you to hit certain enemies.
Graphics were acceptable and the game itself flowed nicely, but too repititive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not for the colorblind!

posted by snkynja (MARTINEZ, CA) Dec 22, 2009

Member since Dec 2006

5 out of 16 gamers (31%) found this review helpful

Great idea. Cool looking game, but nearly impossible to play if you are colorblind. This game relies on lining up characters with the same color.
Most people with even a mild color vision deficiency, will be unable to differentiate between certain characters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A very fun game.

posted by Kifu (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Apr 5, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

For a strategy puzzle type game, I give this high high marks! Granted there were a few things that I really didn't like.
1. If you mess up by moving a unit to the wrong spot or you accidentally delete the wrong unit, then you can be heavily punished. There is no redo or mulligans save for retreating and restarting the battle over again.

2. A bit short on the campaign story. I wish there was more expository information.

3. The diversity of the archetypes could have been a bit more diverse. I wish it could be a bit more dynamic.

Replay value of this can be very low. It is slightly repetitive. Even multi-player can go so far.

The things I did like:
1. Simple to understand battle mechanics.
2. Nice graphics and use of colors.
3. Great diversity of archetypes requiring different means of strategy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

well................... fantastic!

posted by yatcha (PORT EWEN, NY) Aug 25, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

first of all i was very surprised at how good this game was. i thought it would be just like any other ds rpg.... but its not! its fantastic! it will definatly provide you with about 15 to 20 hours of gameplay. :) another good is the battle system. its very original and creative and provides lots of strategy. you are almost controlling an army on the bottom screen and your enemy has an army on the top. its turn based. you make units go together and wait however many turns until it can attack and inflict damage. the story was also surprisingly FANTASTIC! another thing i liked was that each units had abilities that were very useful, original, and creative. certain ones are your only realiability for beating a boss. another thing i found really cool was that you controlled many different heroes and the game braught them together fluently. another good factor was that they only let each of your units go to level 5 and your hero to level 10. which for all you big levelers out there dont worry its a good thing. the thing i really enjoy about this is that i hate leveling and unless you level up with surprise attacks its hard to get past level 8 with any of the warriors. however i found myself needing to get to level 10 once or twice simplay because i couldnt beat the boss without more hp. however only being able to go to level 10 is good because it makes you use your brain and strategy more. another up is that the difficulty factor is perfect. you will find yourself struggling to beat almost every boss and losing several times. the battles are hard without using your brain.

2 complaints. 1 is that it is a little repetitive. 2 is that i found the final boss to be a huge push-over. i found him to be the easiest boss. but those 2 things were nothing major. people who dont like reading:

graphics:8
difficulty:10
fun:10
original:10
battle system:10
music:9
strategy level: 9

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Might and Magic CLash of Heros

posted by Robin1776 (BAYONNE, NJ) Jun 15, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

Hi! Now a days some games are so complicated that it takes away from the fun of the game. You are so busy looking up hints and tips or
reading a game guide that you lose sight of the pure joy of just picking up a game and playing. I recommend this game to anyone who needs a break from the complex games or someone old like me who enjoys video games but does not have the time or patience to devote to normal RPG games. The only reason it did not get a perfect 10 is because the ending monster is so hard that it does not fit into the game. If the ending monsters grew progressively harder, then I would not have a problem with a tough boss at the end. But in the end, I still won!
Highly recommended, Great Game, Awesome Graphics!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »