Rent Midway Arcade Origins for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Midway Arcade Origins

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
5.4

186 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Fantastic Assortment

posted by BruceF (BENTONVILLE, AR) Feb 26, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have no idea how many quarters I plowed into these games in the 80's, but it was probably enough that if I had purchased Apple stock instead of playing Sinistar, Spy Hunter, Wizard of Wor, and Gauntlet I would be retired by now.

If you have a similar background then you will love this assortment of games. All the Midway favorites are here.

Most games suffer from the constraints of the Xbox 360 controller so that's really the only downside to the collection.

Crank up the J. Giles Band, grab a TAB, and enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

If you're over 30 this game is a must!

posted by ShaneKarma (STATEN ISLAND, NY) Jan 17, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

A thorough, nostalgic collection of some of the greatest titles in arcade history. Highlights include Super Sprint, APB, Smash TV, Toobin' and Joust. The only thing that marred an otherwise perfect port was poor controls, most notably in APB and Super Sprint. The achievements are easily obtained by any old school arcade aficionado. Not even a pocket full of tokens would have given you this much access to these classics in their heyday.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Nice Collection

posted by RhoTrux64 (PASADENA, TX) Nov 29, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I was really excited about this collection of classic arcade games. Most of them I played as a teenager at the local video arcade in the early '80's. They stayed true to the classic look and game play. And the controls are acceptable. Robotron and Joust are my favorites. The only thing disappointing is there doesn't seem to be any noticable difference between the difficulty settings. Easy or the lowest setting is extremely hard after a handfull of levels. Very frustrating and not at all how the originals increased in difficulty from level to level. Maybe a title update could fix this issue. If that could be fixed i would give it a 9 rating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

this really takes me back

posted by boygamer (SOUTH BEND, IN) Aug 25, 2014

Member since Jul 2013

this game has some pretty hard achievements and this game really takes me back and i really appreciate that this game will do the same to you it is highly recommended to get this even if you're not into old school games its good to see how much gaming has gotten better over the years and appreciate the past

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

better with the 360 joystick

posted by DavidSKi (ROSEDALE, MD) May 6, 2013

Member since Apr 2010

so Xbox 360 made a joystick in 2007-2010, looked like a white atari controller. Find this and use it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »