Rent Midnight Club: Los Angeles for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Midnight Club: Los Angeles

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
7.1

7132 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Flat Out or Flop?

posted by MdubMedia (Glastonbury, CT) Nov 12, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

100 out of 111 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Nothing delivers to fans of the racing genre like large amounts of customization, fast races and fast cars. Does MC:LA deliver? On some levels, yes. Unfortunately, on many other levels, no.
Let me begin by saying this game is massive. You start off in a sandbox style world with markers indicating your choice of events to enter. Anything from highway races to delivery runs are found on your Google Earth styled map. You'll soon feel almost overwhelmed by the large amounts of choices. It doesn't end there. MC:LA also has tons of modifications for licensed cars. Everything from widebody kits to tire size ( that actually shows ) to performance parts are at your disposal. And that's where the excitement ends. The first major flaw comes from the A.I. At first, they are pretty reasonable in the skill level department, but soon you will find that even the fastest car cannot save you from your opponent making that last second boost over the finish line before you. Now, this wouldn't be so bad if it wasn't for the fact that these races are generally over 5 minutes long. It's one thing to get beaten, but not when you've had a steady lead for 7 minutes, only to be beat in the last second by a stock 1983 VW Golf. Other than the unforgiving A.I. the only other "flaw" is how hard it is to make a lot of money. You have all these great cars and motorcycles with endless possibilities, but it takes so much money to buy an exhaust system for your Mercedes SL500 that you'll be racing for hours just to get it. Overall, the game looks great, plays great and is a solid title in the racing genre. If you have the patience and can look past it's flaws you'll find a street racing game that will keep you busy for a very long time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great game

posted by lowlobo (FLAGSTAFF, AZ) Feb 8, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

17 out of 18 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

This is an amazing game if your into the whole racing and modifying scene. the details in the cars and environment are crisp. the only downfall to the game was that it seemed a little difficult compared to other games of this genre. the thing that makes them hard is that the computers players are trickier and a little faster which actually does give it more of a realistic feel. the game overall is great and i highly recommend it to anyone who is into street racing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Finally A Racing Game With A Challenge!

posted by Sabrewulf (SEYMOUR, CT) Jan 7, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

31 out of 35 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I'll start this review by saying that Midnight Club: LA is a HUGE game. There are the usual tournament races, drag races and the like, but then the game tosses in "Red Light" races [Race One-on-One to a preset point once the light goes green] and "Delivery Missions" [In which you deliver a customer's car to a set location in under a certain amount of time].

After a few missions, to get you familiar with the controls, you are given free reign to attempt the races offered in any order you like.

If you feel like just taking a drive around town you are rewarded for doing so by finding "RockStar Collectibles" that unlock things like having the ability to never damage out of a race or remove the police from the streets as you drive around town.

Controls in MC:LA are the usual fare: Triggers control your gas and brake pedals, the face buttons control your handbrake and gear changes [if you like to run your car with a manual transmission] and the Back/Select Button brings up your overhead map.

Most races are run against a single opponent with some races and tournaments against up to seven other drivers.

The most common race type is a "Checkpoint" style race in which you travel from point to point on a map boosting and forcing your way towards the finish line. There are also "Freeway Races" in which you race along the expansive LA highway system for points and cold hard cash.

The variety of races doesn't end there, but you get the idea: There are a LOT of different race types to keep you busy.

All makes and models are represented in the game from the lowly ones you select from at the beginning to high output Lamborghini vehicles that can easily exceed 200MPH.

Most racing games follow a set formula: Buy the best car and dominate the other racers. You can't do that here...you have to EARN your victories.

If you like a racing game that won't put you to sleep with how easy you can win; Midnight Club: LA is the game for you!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

You must play this game

posted by dfcannon (REDMOND, WA) Oct 15, 2010

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you've bothered to check the reviews for this game, then you might as well rent it. This is easily one of the best if not most satisfying racing games ever and I've played every racing game on the Xbox.

Being able to drive around in a free roam lets you really get the feel of your car to let you pull off maneuvers that will get your heart beating. Flying down a street dodging cars in the rain and neon lights of the city or flyin off a ramp at 200 just feels amazing.

Stop wasting your time reading this. Just get this game already.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

More work than it is fun.

posted by XdrStrange (LITTLETON, CO) Dec 13, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

14 out of 18 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

I was really excited about playing this game. Probably more excited do to that I live in L.A. and had the curiosity of how well the city would be replicated. I will not say that the game is bad, however, for the majority of racing fans, I will say this could have used one tweak to make it much better.

GRAPHICS
Very nicely done. The cars, the streets, and the buildings in the mock L.A. are very well done. While it is true that the game does not have the city spot on it does a great job of including some of the well known spots of L.A. like the Chinese Theater, Pinks, Santa Monica Pier, and even the BestBuy downtown!

SOUND
I really enjoyed the tracks of the game. All over the map from Snoop Dogg, Kanye, to NIN. In game, the sound of the engines and the screeching tires are well done to the point that you will know if someone if coming up behind you.

PLAYABILITY
This is where the only problem really lies with the game. The races CAN be good, don't get me wrong. The issues is that the AI is so well done, that frankly the game is very, very hard. Chances are that if you wreck in your race you probably will not finish 1st place to beat a part of the story. I did win quite a few a races, however, I never had the feeling of accomplishment when I was done, however, more of a feeling of "finally, I don't have to race that track again." It can get so infuriating with these races. Personally, I tried to give it several tries by winning races and getting a new car and then upgrading. When this is done, the AI opponents match what you have done, so this really eliminates any reason to get a faster and better car because your opponents will too.

CONCLUSION
This game would have received a much higher score if the playability was better. If you have the patience to retry your races several times, it could be for you. I definitely will not say it is horrible, so give it a rental. It wasn't for me, but it could be for you.

XanderStrange

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good, But not Great

posted by 89foxGT (PORTLAND, OR) Oct 29, 2008

Member since May 2007

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

In my opinion, this game feels like Rockstar took a step backwards from the last one. I own the last one (Dub Ed.), and i LOVE it. But after playing this one for 4 hours... Its decent, But I don't think i will ever buy it.

It's fun, But it can get a little frustrating. The AI is ALWAYS on your tail, no matter how much money you have in your car... One screw up and your at the back of the pack (and traffic is ALWAYS in the wrong spot at the wrong time, so you see the back often). You don't get a chance to relax like you might in other games, when your car is fully modded... This one you are always fighting to be ahead (even when the car behind you is clearly slower).

Same goes for the cops. These aren't NFS Most wanted cops. They don't go down easily, and their is no tactile things to knock into their way. So each chase lasts quite awhile (i was on the freeway for 10 minutes, going the wrong way weaving in and out of heavy traffic.. and they still stayed on my tail the whole time!!).

And since the cops will come after you for almost anything, Just driving to the race you want to do can be a challenge if the cops keep busting you before you can reach it.

Car selection is another sore spot... I mean, 46 cars isn't a small number at all, But i would have loved to see Trucks/SUVs make a comeback, and a better bike selection.

All in All, its a good game. I do recommend renting, MAYBE buying if you are a real die-hard fan and the rest of this review hasn't killed your spirit. Just make sure you also go to the library and check out a book too, Because you will need something to do while you relax between grueling races, Attempting to get your heart beat back to normal for the next race.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Just spinning my wheels on this rental.

posted by XBLRadio (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Oct 25, 2008

Member since Mar 2006

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

I'm a fan of the racer. Loved MM3, Moto GP, and the NFS series. (My gamerscroe proves it). But this game was just unpleasant to play.

Don't get me wrong;the graphics are well rendered. I felt like I was cruising L.A. Even the weather and times of day looked nice.

The cars were business as usual for most car games. Also there just isn't that many to choose from. And the ones you start out with don't encourage you to want to play long.

The real problem with this game is GAMEPLAY!

For novice to intermediate gamers it's a real challenge. Not to drive well, but to beat the AI. Your car seems to hit or be hit by anything within a bumbers radius. However the same isn't true for the AI, and this is fricking frustrating.

Most games I would bear down and accept the more difficult challenge, but with so many new games in my game Q I don't feel the need to make myself aggrivated when I'm suppose to be entertained.

However if your a die-hard race pro this challenge may be your thing. Thats why I gave it a average rating and didn't trash it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Ok game. Kind of unfair.

posted by krichard (AUSTIN, TX) Oct 28, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

18 out of 26 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

It's a good arcade-like game. Don't look for realistic characteristics. If you want realism, try GRID. It is a much better game.

The game is an ok game. Here are some of the things that REALLY annoyed me:

1. Even if you buy the fastest car, challengers will be just as fast (even if they are in a 1998 Eclipse). The game doesn't reward you for purchasing fast cars. Competitors just get faster. I literally beat more events in a Ford Focus than in my Saleen S7. I even experimented by racing more difficult events in my Focus and WON. I raced medium difficulty events in my S7 and lost by miles!

2. The car list is weak. The only good rides are the S7, Lambos, and the Bikes.

3. This game is a huge commercial. Everyone corner you turn, there is an ad. I mean I don't even see that many ads in real life. And since when is there 4 Best Buys in a 1 mile radius? Seriously. Way to sell out.

4. Story is really weak.

5. You don't even get rewarded after beating the game. Usually in racing games you get a massive amount of money to spend. When you beat this game, the next thing you need to do is "WIN $1,000,000." This is the only game I've played that rewarded me with a horribly hard task after beating the game! How fun is that?

6. Even if you won $1M, you already have the fastest car. What else are you going to buy? A 1986 Golf?

Overall, it was a good game to waste time with. I'm glad I have GameFly because I'd be mad if I bought this game.

I'd recommend GRID over this 100X. If you already played GRID, play it again, because you will enjoy it more than this game, even the 2nd time around.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Good remote flinging fun!

posted by Bahamut63 (PAGOSA SPRINGS, CO) Dec 8, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

10 out of 14 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I play games to relax and defeat a minor challenge now and again. The thought of playing a game that makes you mad enough to hurl your remote through the TV is ludicrous! If I wanted one chance to fail/win odds, I'd play... life, which I'm trying to escape from momentarily in the first place so it defeats the purpose.

This game is beautiful, the rendering is awesome, the vehicles are great and the racing is okay. I find the AI to be a little tough however, and I'm probably an average racer. The thing that makes me volcanic is the propensity of the game to tank me in the last few seconds of a race. Come around a corner wrong, WHAM, you lose. Miss a turn? You lose. It's frustrating after you’ve raced a few minutes only to culminate in a loss.

One of the other problems is a lack of clearly defined progression. Everyone's cars seem to run a little faster than yours no matter how much money you dump in them.

It was a great effort Rockstar, but I have to recommend skipping it to anyone that reads this. I find the Need For Speed Series to be of the same genre, but much more forgiving and enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

I like challenges but...

posted by Memememe (HARRISBURG, NC) Mar 22, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I will give you the ups and downs of this game to start off:
Ups:
Huge customization.
Huge World.
Realistic Cop chaces.
60+ hours of gameplay.
Downs:
People randomly spin you out.
Horrible AI.
Uneasy controls.

Here we go...
When I say people randomly spin you out I mean they do, I will be racing and they will just come out of nowhere and SSWWEEHH. I will crash by them clipping the end of my car. Now you might say that that will add a little challenge but I have broken a controller because of this...Three times a race will this happen, and the races are so long it pisses me off.

Horrible AI:
Since when does a Mazda (Easy) , beat a supped to the max Kawasaki, Lamburgini, or A-Class tuner?
Since this game.
Never have I played a game and screamed at the T.V. or break a controller untill now. But when I am playing for a dub'd out awesome car and I am racing the last race in a tourny and am about to win when a car comes barreling out of a corner with full NOS and crahes me taking the win... It pisses you off!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!

I had high expectations. As soon, (and not a second later), as I beat this game I am sending it back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game is awesome

posted by cFox92 (WINDSOR, CT) Oct 22, 2008

Member since May 2005

13 out of 20 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

This is the best racing game I've played EVER! The graphics are great, the map is big and very detailed, and you can customize almost everything on your car. The only thing I don't like is that the cops are really hard to evade. Other than that, this game is real good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

U play one you've played them all....

posted by hOtSaUz3 (PHOENIX, AZ) Nov 12, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Yep thats right, You play 1 you've played them all.... At least thats what it seemed to me when I 1st picked up midnight club LA. Now the reason I say this is because to me this game is no different then midnight club DUB Edition. Pretty much the only change here was that Dub edition was Detroit and this ones LA. Seriously... Dnt get me wrong, I love tweaking out cars and pimpin them out but other then that it was the same game for me. One real cool feature (and new too) was that u can actually pimp out a ride and post it on xbox live for other people to see and rate it from a scale of 1 to 10. The multiplayer mode is pretty cool but nothing new there either. Theres also the fact that theres plenty of cars to tweak but not enough money to spear, It takes awhile to get alot of money. All in all its a fun and dnt hurry in beating it cause all u find is a disappointing ending :( I'll let u find out for yourself... But I will tell u this, Just make sure u have lots and lots of money...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best racing game

posted by RealWeowh (BEAVERTON, OR) Jul 3, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

by far, you won't be ashamed of getting this game

amazing graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

ITS GOOD BUT....

posted by LARlawyer6 (SANTA ANA, CA) Feb 10, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game is good i love the graphics and the handling of the cars but.... the A.I. in the game is sometime impossible to beat and sometimes the game glitches but overall its a solid game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This ones definately a controller thrower...

posted by kerplowned (ALABASTER, AL) Oct 19, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Midnight Club: LA is a good game...the customization features and online features such as rate my ride are great. however this may be one of the hardest racing games i've ever played...you will be grinding your teeth and shouting at how hard this game is....but when you do manage to finish a race without crashing it gives you a big sense of accomplishment. The main problem is just that you're in a highly populated city. you will be expected to keep up with everyone else driving 180mph through morning gridlock traffic...i do not know how many times i have had to restart a race because a bus went across an intersection i was going through. also it seems like no matter what....if you hit another car you're gonna be spinning. so if your not up for a challenge and you want easy gamerscore.......this is not for you. but if you want a good game with a high sense of fullfillment and great graphics...give it a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by naughtyd0g (HOUSTON, TX) Dec 26, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game just blew me away from all of the different car makers and the police chases are the best the way you can run from the cops on the little dash cam. It makes me feel like im watching cops and the graphics are decent and the customization is really good. The only bad thing I have to say about this game is the fact there isn't really any story line pretty much your just some guy who likes to race. But overall this game is a must rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Overrated and disappointing

posted by F1Mike (STERLING HEIGHTS, MI) Oct 31, 2008

Member since Dec 2005

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Ok, Midnight Club LA. So I'm a racing game junkie and I haven't been this disappointed in quite a while. Maybe it's because I expected more because it's from Rockstar and they've been on a roll lately.

There is very little variety to the racing that I've found, the cop chases aren't very interesting and the story is virtually nonexistant. While I personally didn't have a problem with the difficulty many people do and it takes quite a while to earn enough money expand your car collection because even if you win 10 races in a row. So basically it's a nonstop grindfest of races that earn you next to nothing in terms of money. You have to race perfect as well since one smash up and you're probably going to have to restart the race. It would be nice if they had the instant rewinds like GRID where you could undo a bad wreck or poor choice in judgement.

Pros:
Good graphics and audio, good controls, car customization is pretty indepth as far as cosmetics and "pimping your ride"

Cons:
Very little variety in the gameplay, weak story, not enough drivable cars, unforgiving gameplay.

Verdict:

Fails to beat the 3 year old launch title Need For Speed: Most Wanted in the gameplay department. You might as well just play the races in GTA 4 or other open world racing games like Most Wanted, Burnout Paradise or Test Drive Unlimited and you'd have more fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Well Polished

posted by Phaze91 (PACIFIC PALISADES, CA) Oct 28, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This is a great game. It may be a turn off at first but once you get into it you find out how polished the game is. Responding to the over powered AI i have found in all my races that the AI put up a good fight and in the end its always close and fun, and even if you loose you still get partial credit with your rep and money. Rockstar has done a great job on the races in making them very balanced and fair. The controls are amazing. The online capabilities will keep you busy for hours. And one of my favorite features is "Race Editor" that allows you to EASILY create your own races that you race on online. You can choose to play this game like a arcade game or an intensive simulation with gear shifting and cockpit view. Its fast paced and plain out fun and definitely worth a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by imcool925 (CHADDS FORD, PA) Nov 20, 2008

Member since Jul 2004

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

This games a joke. In every other GOOD game you must go through a story and complete missions in order to beat the game and get to the credits, In order to "beat" this game you must get a million dollars. Well to get a million dollars you must play for hours and hours of racing, wasting your life to a game that doesn't even have a story, and getting frustrated with yourself. The A.I. is so hard that you can't even beat some races unless you are god himself. I mean you can spend hours just trying to beat one race because you keep loosing to the impossible A.I. even if you have the fastest car! Than after you get a million dollars you must give them to the guy who owns the car shop and than credits show, and you are able to have every car or part for free, wow how rewarding right? Whats the point? I could buy every car and part with the million dollars I just spent weeks on trying to earn. Now that you have so called "beaten" the game you have no money, and there are still tons of races left. It never ends, you beat one race and four more appear, and what is the point in beating a race now that everything is free? There's no need for money, and there is NO story, so WHAT THE F is the point?!!! And most of the races are impossible so basically it is just a waste of life. Also the cop thing is very unrealistic, how can they know I just made a sharp left onto Hollywood avenue when I'm 5 miles away from them and there's no helicopter? Yeah it sucks. Also there are only 3 bikes and all of them are ugly, the body mods for all of them are unrealistic and make the bike look even uglier. This game is garbage and I threw it in the trash.

Bottom line- this games so hard that even god couldn't beat some of those races, its not worth the sacrifice of time and hard work to beat it, the cars and bikes suck, the music is annoying, and this game is garbage. And....its in my garbage can!! haha! Peace...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Step down for Rockstar

posted by wgtaylor (LEWISVILLE, TX) Oct 25, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I love the Midnight club have played and beaten each one. My major complaint with this game is the computer AI is WAY off. No matter how much you upgrade your car or how good you race the computer will always be faster and can recover from anything whereas if you mess up once it's pretty much over. Also not that many cars to choose, driving controls are worse than previous iterations and a lot of that races are unnecessarily long and you can't restart easily on series, wager and tournament races. Rockstar can kick rocks for this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not so good

posted by Schlypdog (LAKE OSWEGO, OR) Jun 8, 2009

Member since May 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Not very fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Ridiculous

posted by chiwoo18 (IRVINE, CA) Jun 6, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Any fool can make a game frustratingly hard. All they did was rip off the assests from GTA4 and give it a lame AI system and called it done. I feel sorry for the suckers who bought this game. Not even worth the rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Crashes every other race

posted by Thales (PLANO, TX) May 27, 2009

Member since Sep 2003

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This version is just plain awful. While DUB edition was fun and entertaining, this one relies on cars pulling right out in front of you at the last second before the red flag and police cars that literally appear out of nowhere to arrest you.

And that's when the game makes it long enough to race without crashing. After 3 different crashes on various races, I just gave up and sent it back.

It's sad to see Rockstar ruin such a good franchise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not a Good Game

posted by cdgman (KATY, TX) Jan 3, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I remember racing "games" they were a lot of fun. This is another racing simulator, not a "game". If you like your car to lose control going 80 mph, and very long, boring, difficult police chases, you'll love this game. This is the bad part of need for speed meets the bad part of grand turismo. I loved DUB edition, and this is a poor follow up, Offering significantly less vehicles (only 4 motorcycles) and less fun in the vehicle customization area.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Like getting angry?

posted by Rejeckted (ESCONDIDO, CA) Oct 1, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Midnight Club....oh Midnight Club. Great looking game, the cars and upgrade options are great. Lots of customization. Driving the cars is frustrating, and the collision detection is HORRIBLE. The other drivers talking through PTT will undoubtedly annoy you. That's OK though because you can turn off their commenting.

One thing that can't be turned off is the anger that you will feel while playing. It seems that every time you race, SOMETHING gets in the way, and usually that something appears 2-5 checkpoints before the finish lines. This allows every other racer to pass you and forces you to restart the race. Prepare to restart 2-5 times before you catch a break and get lucky. I was anxious to play this game, i went into the game not expecting much in the realism department, but COME ON. Bouncing off trees, light poles, and other cars makes the game incredibly dumb. Randomly the collisions will send you spinning and its SO SO SO difficult to get yourself pointed in the right direction again. By the time you've corrected yourself the AI are almost at finish (DING, RESTART RACE for the umpteenth time).

If you like repetitive games...then this ones for you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse