Rent Midnight Club: Los Angeles for PS3
view large frontback

Midnight Club: Los Angeles

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.1

3607 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Picking up where Need for Speed has fallen

posted by firebirdud (GAINESVILLE, FL) Aug 5, 2009

Member since May 2009

15 out of 16 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

Great selection of real name-brand cars and mods. Graphics are "acceptable" but nothing special. However the cars look genuine inside and out. A lot of the posted traits of the cars are true to life. Example, the RX8 handles very well in the tuner category but is a little slower on acceleration. The city contains real stores such as Best Buy, Game Stop, T-Mobile, etc. There ARE police in this game and they do chase you occasionally. Although it's not very often and they're easy to lose in the city. On the highway it's a little tougher until you get the fast exotic cars. I have never seen the police use any tactics or bust out a helicopter.

Gameplay. First, light posts and trees may as well not exist. You NEVER wreck if you hit one. Even dead on at 150mph. The game just "pushes" you to one side or the other of the tree/post. On the note of wrecking, there is "somewhat realistic" vehicle damage. If your car gets too much damage, you're out of the race. However this NEVER happens because it's so unrealistic. I know it would suck if everytime you smashed into a car, you were forced to drop out. But it take literally 8-9 head on collisions at 150mph to damage out. Even decently hard impacts on buildings often dont move the meter at all. Weather. It does rain occasionally, however it doesn't seem to have much, if any, effect on driving.

Bugs. Well I think the tree/post thing is kinda a bug. But one honest one I have found is when you're between races in a series and you choose to "repair your vehicle before the next race," the car still appears wrecked at the starting line even though your damage meter is now at zero.

I have spent the majority of my review picking apart the game. Basically just to note the downfalls of what would keep this game from getting a perfect 10. I love this game. Nobody who is a Need for Speed fan will dislike this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awsome game!!!!!

posted by djh888 (PEORIA, AZ) May 12, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

21 out of 24 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Just played midnight club L.A. & i dont know why it is getting such a bad review.
I think it is way better than nfs undercover.

Great game!!!!!
a must see to believe game, dont listen to all the neg stuff.
judge for yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A little mind-numbing

posted by photek (PALM SPRINGS, FL) Feb 27, 2012

Member since Dec 2004

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed Midnight Club DUB Edition when it was released, and i thought i would enjoy this title just as much, but i was wrong, the selection of cars is great, as well as the customization, but from what i saw that was the only two good points of the game.

The race mechanics are horrible, car stability is rough, AI drivers..as others have said are almost completely immune to any traffic or crashes, making it difficult for you to catch up if you make a mistake.

Earning money is a bit difficult, i found myself running race after race only to realize i've only earned a tiny amount of $2,000, so more often than not, i would only be adding 1 or 2 parts to my car at a time, and to only find out it didnt make much of an improvement as far as performance.

The storyline to me was a joke, i honestly could do without these "thugish, im better than you, prove yourself story lines."

The sound track wasn't all that that impressive either, i actually turned the music off, not everyone listens to rap, which is what i found most of the songs to be.

This game had a potential to be great, but it fell short, with lack of cooperative AI, car physics, and graphics. I actually felt as though i was playing a PS2 game.

This game is worth a rent and maybe a day or more of play time, but i wouldn't suggest paying for this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Really Fun But Gets old!

posted by AlLoUt (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Jul 3, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Midnight Club LA is really fun at first but then it just gets kinda gets old when u got a lot of money and can buy what ever car u want!!

But the Online gameplay is wow super fun. u can curise around LA with a bunch of ur online friends and show off ur car !!
Buy it if u love playing online!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game

posted by sh0ckw4v3 (GRAND VIEW, ID) Jun 24, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed this game. The selection of cars is is large enough and the races are enjoyable. I really only had one problem with the game and that is the the computer cars don't seem to be affected by the traffic, they just blow right through them. But other than that i would say this game is worth playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Must use logitech wheel

posted by monkspank (SOUTHAMPTON, PA) Apr 5, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is my new favorite driving game. Force feedback works great. It's like Gran Turismo meets Grand Theft Auto IV. You can completely customize every button. If you're not a very good driver, you'll get better. Trust me about the wheel. Make sure you get a logitech with force feedback. Race in bumper view and you'll never want to leave home again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I LOVE IT!

posted by jayrocko21 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Feb 21, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was totally awesome. It was intense, fast paced, and very exciting. Totally deserves a 10 on my rating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Built for racing game addicts...

posted by NikoBk (SCOTTSDALE, AZ) Feb 6, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is great. It's very frustrating at first because the difficulty level is pretty high. The opponent AI is almost unfair at times, but I like a good challenge, and it takes skill and knowledge of the map to win the hard races. It's best to spend your money on performance upgrades than stuff to make your car look nice at first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREAT GAME

posted by madcat (BRUNSWICK, ME) Jun 9, 2009

Member since May 2009

12 out of 14 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

this is the best game i have played for RACING

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

F--- THIS GAME!!! DESIGNED TO MAKE YOU ANGRY!!!

posted by Skeptic (PLAINWELL, MI) Jul 25, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I am a fan of Dub Edition, so i expected this game to be just as fun. WRONG!!!!! only had it for 1 day and right away i could tell something wasnt right. seems to me the creators designed this game to p1ss you off. traffic is rediculous, very f'n rtarded. wasted a week of gamefly taking its sweet old time to ship me this piece of dog s---! gamefly better hurry up and recieve and ship games quicker. im not going to be paying hard earned money for bad service. not to mention this game was a waste of time waiting for. DO NOT RENT THIS UNLESS YOU CAN HANDLE YOUR FRUSTRATIONS! i have post traumatic stress so it doesnt play well with me. graphics suck, soundtrack was kind of cool, gameplay BLOWS, and traffic seems to teleport in front of you when racing. nearly impossible to knock rivals off the road with out running into a bunch of cars and blowing the whole race. the nitro use is stupid. this is one of the worst racing games ever made. GAMEFLY, RECIEVE AND SEND GAMES FASTER.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

m

posted by MlNDCRlME (ALTAMONTE SPRINGS, FL) Sep 9, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

midnight club is the best game ever besides cod mw2 this game is the best because u can customize youru car and put vinlys

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Midnight Club L.A.

posted by TaTaTa (O FALLON, MO) Aug 14, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is so sick!!!How u customize ur cars is so cool intercoolers, bodykits, airscoops, rims, what more could u want??

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Mindless Frustration Generator

posted by xstang (SNOQUALMIE, WA) Oct 26, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This newest version of Midnight Club: Los Angeles, is graphically very nice and the car physics are good. The cars also look great. However it is one of those mindless street racing games requiring more luck then skill. Time after time you will find yourself within sight of the finish line running in first place, about to win the race, that's when you will be wrecked by traffic blocking both sides of the street. There's no opportunity for strategy, just mindlessly driving full throttle through the crowded streets of L.A. hoping you won't hit anything. You end up in last place more than half the time. It's also very difficult to see in the night races. It is unbelievable that Rock Star put their name on this game after creating the awesome GTA4. I mailed this game back after only a few hours of play. I would highly recommend NOT buying this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Looks great at first but frustrating after...

posted by red23la (WEST HOLLYWOOD, CA) Oct 23, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

19 out of 30 gamers (63%) found this review helpful

The graphics of this game are great, although the locations of the landmarks are quite a bit off from there real locations in LA. The excitement dwindles from there. While racing around the city is fun at first, you begin to realize the computer controlled cars are immune to crashing into the traffic (you won't be) which makes even the very beginning races very difficult to win. If you do win, you only get about $300 at a time so you are stuck with the first car you choose for, lets say the next 8 hours of continuous gameplay. Also, each race is about 6 minutes long which doesn't seem long at first but when you are trying to win money to get a better car this is an eternity. Unfortunately I don't recommend buying this game, rent it for a couple days then send it back. Not something you would think would come out of Rockstar Games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I'm shocked!

posted by RACECRAZY (PORTLAND, OR) Oct 29, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

9 out of 14 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

I'm simply shocked at the bad reviews I've been reading. Has everyone forgotten how hard the races were in MC3 Dub edition? I didn't even finish it. Midnight Club racing is not for the faint at heart. If you don't want hair raising action than you are playing the wrong game!

As far as winning only because of luck is concerned, yeah, granted you do sometimes accidentally hit cars and yeah, it does suck but most of the time you have to have lightning quick reflexes and have to be a good racer to avoid accidents.

Right at first, I will admit, that the physics of how the car handled kind of bothered me. But then I played around a little with the settings and found that MCLA is just mixing it up a little with offering more challenging views. Try shutting the camera shake off and/or drive in the "in car" or "static" setting and I think you will find that It is a much better experience.

As far as the lack of money is concerned, well, if you just keep playing and advancing (if your good enough) you will suddenly start getting higher pay offs for races and even a car delivery option which is really easy. There is even a pink slip option and cars rewarded sometimes for other events. Also, let's not forget that as you build up your car it gains trade-in value so you can trade in for the next level of car. I think MCLA is just trying to keep the money thing realistic and has done a good job of it.

Another thing that I think that alot of people are forgetting is that in almost every racing game you have to come in first to advance. MCLA gave an alternative to that. You don't have to win 1st to advance. How cool is that?

Overall I think MCLA is better than MC3 DUB Edition and in my opinion even most of the Need for Speeds. Now here is the kicker. I'm a huge NFS fan! MCLA is the most intense racing I've ever experienced and a pure adrenaline blast!!!

Just play for a while and change the settings. You won't be sorry unless you're terrible!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

omg this is the best...

posted by ilikgames (NEW YORK, NY) Oct 27, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this is the best game ever its so fun and i like it i might buy it but when you start this game its kinda boring but then you learn evey ting and it gets so fun. once u get it you have to keep on playing and keep playing .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

The other reviews are dead on. Not the best racer.

posted by JonnyKill (WINTERSVILLE, OH) Oct 26, 2008

Member since Nov 2005

12 out of 20 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

If you need mind numbing repetitive racing with unrealistic computer drivers. This game may be what you are looking for. Even if you win all the time, it will take hours to get enough $$$ to buy any serious upgrades or cars. But, you are more likely to have occasional contact with the AI drivers which will send your car spinning and usually end up facing the wrong way with no time to get back in it. As for hoping to use nitrous to get back in the game, forget about it. You can buy the upgrade after many hours of play and charge it up at gas stations. But to start out, in a race, it seems you are supposed to draft your opponents to get boost. And once charged, you must use it, or loose it. And rarely seems like you gain any speed or distance when you do use it.

Overall, it might be worth the rental. Most likely, you will be better off waiting for the next Need for Speed, or stick with Burnout or GTA4. Many already have those and are worthy replay titles. This is a bargain bin title just like it's predecessors.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

WEAK STORY LINE

posted by ELEMENTPRO (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Dec 6, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I guess this game is ok; the graphics are decent. But the story line is really hard to grasp after all the racing that takes place (too much racing). I know this is a racing game, but the game is filled with race after race of typical racing and it gets really boring after a while. I really love racing games, but this one really disappointed me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Great game gone Wrong.

posted by DamegE (BRONX, NY) Nov 8, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

8 out of 15 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

The midnight club series for the ps2 used to be my favorite car racing games. I was really looking forward to this game since the last part.
But it was a huge DISSAPOINTMENT.

1: The online play, Is just wrong, You cannot go to the lobby, like you used to in MNC3
or create your own room so that your friends could look for you. Here, you randomly join a room.

2: No clan. The best thing about the online experience was the CLAN creation.
In MNCLA: its gone.

Despite the online flaws. The graphics are great, thats a plus, the sounds are okay, the Voice acting is kinda weird, But not the worst.

I like the new features like, the 1st person driving. Its pretty cool. They really did good on that. Custom creation on the car is not very wide. You are limited on all sizes. Very little to choose from. You CONNOT INCRESE the rim sizes. I mean comon? I wanna roll on 24's =)

I DON'T like the game, I personally think it was a waste of time, because to get a good car you need 10hours of playtime. AND that SUCKS! I don't recommend this game. It's not a BUY and Not a RENTAL Either. Stick to Need For Speed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

FOUND A GLITCH!!!!!

posted by guner101 (AMSTON, CT) Dec 27, 2009

Member since May 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

go to the gradge select one of your CARS and go to custumelise vehicle doors do scissors and QUICKLY do side skirts and it will freeze
the doors and then exit the gradge and the doors will stay up

ps sorry for the spelling errors

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

No Fly Zone

posted by navycop27 (EWA BEACH, HI) Oct 26, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

this game is a no fly zone for me. graphics races speed of the game, just an all around waist of time. it takes hours till you can gather enough money to purchase another vehicle. graphics were terrible compared to the quality of games we are getting today. dont waste your time. wait for Need 4 Speed to come out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not As Sucky As I Was Expecting, But Still Sucky

posted by notthatguy (BOSSIER CITY, LA) Oct 24, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

4 out of 13 gamers (31%) found this review helpful

Yeah, I've been playing this game for 3 hours now, and I am still driving the 1988 VW Scirocco. This game is better than all of the other trashball Midnight Clubs combined, but we've already played Need For Speed.

Just envision racing Grand Theft Auto 3 cars, with Grand Theft Auto 3 graphics, in L.A.(a.k.a. Paradise City)with the free roam, GPS, and police features from Need for Speed, and you've got Midnight Club:Los Angeles.

The races aren't as much fun as they are frustrating. The other racers NEVER wreck..they may hit a car, but they just shake a little and keep on truckin'. You hit a car, and you might as well accept the fact that you will not win. Most of us at this point would press "Start", and "Restart Race"..LOL..Nope you must choose "Restart Series" Because there is no "Restart Race". Not all, but many races are a series (you know the race 3 of 5 thing) so ya gotta start back at race 1 if you want to restart. All of us who know and love nitrous will find this is the WORST NITROUS SYSTEM IN ANY VIDEO GAME. The scenery moves faster, but you don't.

All of these frustrations combined, resulted in an unwanted revelation of my darker side, so make sure the ones you love are far, far, away.

I can only conclude by saying that the most fun I had was test driving all of the cool cars that I had not unlocked yet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

This game is straight up weak!!!

posted by trevorh (WOODBRIDGE, VA) Oct 30, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Pros:
1.GPS graphics

Cons:
1.Glitchy
2.Default controller settings
3.Vehicle damage
4.Story
5.BORING

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

way much better

posted by averageman (UNION, SC) Feb 7, 2014

Member since Oct 2010

this game is way much better than NFS rivals. it has a story line, more selection of cars, and is a lot more fun to play. like I said in another review, rock star can make a better racing game than E A ( NFS ) ever can.......unless they join forces, then who knows what kind of awesome game they can have. I also love the online gaming as well without having to put in some code or pay like you do with E A. as you can tell I wont be renting anymore E A games until they improve their game by a 100%.keep up the good work Rock Star games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun arcade racing

posted by Riotcraft (FRIENDSWOOD, TX) Feb 4, 2014

Member since Mar 2013

As someone who isn't a fan of arcade racers thanks in large part to not having the patience to deal with lazy rubber band AI, the post-patch MC:LA makes for a great, yet still challenging arcade racer. What's great is that the post-patch difficulty settings more or less allow you to play the game at the challenge level you desire, so that like so many other (to be fair, mostly from amateur developers) arcade racing games you don't go from immediately slaughtering the competition to being slaughtered once you pass the first 1/4 of the game.

By the time you hit the half-way point, you'll have no problem racing against hard AI in neck-and-neck races and if you hit a brick wall, that's fine. Just lower your difficulty.

However, there are some major, MAJOR frame rate issues. The game very frequently drops to around 5 frames per second sometimes when nothing is happening to cause it, but absolutely guaranteed to drop every time a special ability is used that causes many car crashes and it stays lagging for many seconds beyond the crashes, too. Also, the city blocks really don't provide for the best racing. By the time you're reaching the end, you'll have done races that feel almost exactly the same as ones you've done before many, many times. You can only take so many turns at city block intersections before you realize that they're never going to change. Likewise, going off into the river or highway only changes up the races so much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse