Rent Midnight Club 3: DUB Edition Remix for Xbox
view large frontback

Midnight Club 3: DUB Edition Remix

Not Rentable
Also on:PS2
GF Rating
8.0

524 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Race more cars for bigger profit

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Jan 7, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

It's bigger, but is it better? While I have played better racing games, I'd have to to say Midnight Club 3 is the best underground street racer I've played. And while the gameplay separates itself from other street racing games, it has it's benefits and problems. With the advent of Remix, Midnight Club comes back to the table with more cars, more tunes and a whole new city: Tokyo. Some things I liked in Midnight Club 3 over other street racers were the extensive customization options, variety of vehicles you race and large collection of licensed music. Something you might notice in the overall gameplay is that Midnight Club keeps it's city wide open for all but a couple races. Now, while this is more realistic (I mean, who would really put up immovable road blocks for an illegal street race?) it also becomes the cause of frustrating moments. You will get seriously lost amongst rows of skyscrapers looking for your next checkpoint, while everyone else passes you by. There isn't much different in the gameplay of Remix, but you will have city races that unlock tournaments and this time around some tournaments are based on class, not type. Get ready to buy back that class D tuner you dumped long ago, because you'll need it. And that brings me to the best part of Remix: taking your save game from the original and transferring it effortlessly to the new game. That's right, you won't have to start from scratch if you've played before. The frame rate stays steady, the races are plentiful and there is plenty of incentive to play. Winning league races unlocks new parts, vehicles and cash to trick out your ride. And what a selection of rides you have: sport bikes, choppers, exotics, tuners, trucks/SUVs and luxury cars. With tournaments, street racer challenges and optional races over four cities, there's plenty of content. The Tokyo Challenge adds enough content to warrant playing the Remix edition. Rockstar got this one right. Enjoy the extended ride.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Right On The Money

posted by cem3340 (FOUNTAIN VALLEY, CA) Apr 17, 2006

Member since Mar 2005

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

The Good

The controls are solid, the sense of speed is excellent, and the added cars and parts are nice.

The Bad

The music engine is clunky. Finding the tune you want to race to can be a painful task. Cut scenes are not exactly high art, and the story line is remarkably unexciting.

Bottom Line

Check it out. Solid and enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Bomb Racing Game....

posted by Acevedo (PICO RIVERA, CA) Jun 13, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

For a platinum hits, adding a whole new map is something unheard off... But R star hit it off, man can they make a gamer happy...

Anyway Dub edition remix, is pretty much the same game as MC3, the only difference is and added map, and vehicles...
Not bad for 20 bucks, I say... If you didn't buy MC3 this is you're time, you'll have plenty of satisfying hours in story mode...I say the only drawback is the somewhat limited players you find on Xbox live, though you'll find people showing their new rides and hydraulic skills...and for all the haters, This is no simulation game by any means, so PS2 lovers don't come talking smack, and comparing to your beloved GT4...This a clean game for anyone, tons of fun, just customizing and racing, so if that's you're thing go ahead and rent....I doesn't hurt 2 try.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Midnightclub3dubedtionremix

posted by ghead20089 (CINCINNATI, OH) Apr 18, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

The awesome
The graphics on this game is
are the best. The new cars are cool.
Parts make the car alot better.

The O.K.
The songs could be alot better then they are now. The deciels could be better.

The Flat out BAD
There sould be a story line in this game.

The conclusion
The game over all is realy good.
But other than there being NO story line what so ever the game is all good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome street racing! Better than NFSU2

posted by SHRIMP (CYPRESS, TX) May 28, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i never knew that rockstar could make such a cool street racing game, but they`ve proved their point! this game is alot better than the original MC3:DE. i highly recommend it, seriously!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sweet Game

posted by Newnum101 (KALAMAZOO, MI) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is sweet because you can go new school with a dodge magnum or go old skool with a 64 Chevy Impalla. Also you can get mucle and luxurey sadans like vetts, and chargers, or hummers and eclades. I would recmond this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

dub

posted by juggalo666 (DELAWARE, OH) Apr 8, 2011

Member since Dec 2009

best race game ive played in a while

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Well Made

posted by dragonswar (RIO RANCHO, NM) May 11, 2009

Member since May 2009

this game was made well and had some very good qualities. one example is the need for speed underground style of roaming the streets and not having a set course. i also liked the fact that you did not have to follow a given course just the flares. i did not like the fact that some races could only be raced with a specific car and the handling on the muscle cars , class B cars, and sedans had really bad handling but all in all if you can only control the weight transfer this is a great game for you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

NEVER EVER RENT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by BUDROB (HUMBLE, TX) Jul 7, 2007

Member since Oct 2004

Imagine a game with bad graphics,no story,and super difficult. Guess what you get. Midnight Club 3. DUB edition is just a way to take up room on the cover. After the first few races you can't win. I play alot of racing games so don't think I didn't give it a chance. You don't have a designated course so you make your own . The computer always knows the fastest way to the finish line. Everything is expensive and you don't get paid alot if you win. Customizing the cars is only fun for about an hour then it gets boring. Don't rent this game or any previous editions or any future editions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Midnight club 3 was very good game

posted by stark0098 (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Mar 10, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

The game of Midnight Club 3: DUB Edition Remix was a very good game the cars was good but some was not good one of cheatcodes was good & the others are crapy codes & the game was good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good to a point.

posted by xjoeyx92 (DELAND, FL) Nov 30, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

This is an amazing game and very fun to pick and play. The graphics are good and its fun to just pick up and play. Plenty of cars and customization's to keep you busy for hours. 2 problems with the game. 1. After about halfway through the game it becomes impossibly hard and I know of no one who can beat it. This would be perfectly fine but you cant set the difficulty level and there are no cheat codes. 2. No story mode at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Overall a 9

posted by Spikey (TWO RIVERS, WI) Nov 6, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

When you play midnight club 3 dub edition, it kind of reminds you of need for speed. The main differences are that you can get more into adding parts and upgrading them,different kind of vehicles,including low riders,bikes,muscle and tuners.I liked how you can charge up your enegy booster and hit X to go flying past yout opponent,only downfall is that its hard to control at that speed.Another good feature that I liked is how easy it was to control the vehicle while racing. So that is why my overall rating for this game is a 9 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not a bad game, but didn't keep my interest

posted by aubreyp (PORTLAND, OR) Sep 10, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

I'm a fan of racing games, and I rented this one, since it was highly rated on a very popular video game site. Over-all the game is a good package of graphics, music, sound and driving, but the basic mechanics of driving weren't fun after not too long.

I felt there was very little skill necessary to naviagte the car, so races were too easy. It was also painfully obvious to see the "rubber-banding" of the AI cars who got faster or slower artificially depending on the difficulty level of the race. In addition, I found most of the races to be very repetetive. There was a lot of re-use of environments (like most racing games), but since the physics were so unrealistic, there was very little replay value added by changing the tracks around. In addition, the cars (at least the ones that I played) did not seem that different from one another, even in different classes.

That said, there's a lot of races available, a lot of different cars to race, and an interesting upgrade system. If you enjoy the physics system, and you love to pimp out your ride, you will probably enjoy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The best racing game out there

posted by PDJordan (PEORIA, AZ) Aug 31, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

As if Midnight Club 3 wasn't already awesome, the Remix version takes it one step higher. It adds a few cars, some music and the Tokyo Challenge. The customization of the cars is way better than NFSU2 (except for the fact that you can't layer vinyls, but no biggie). The soundtrack is awesome. The game play is tight and the physics are very cool. I would give it a full 10 except for the fact that I think the graphics could have been just a little bit better while racing and I would have thought that Rockstar would have made the 'cruising' a little more worthwhile (you can search for the Rockstar logos, but that's about it).

All together this is the best racing game out there. BUY THIS GAME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good arcade racer

posted by autobaht (LONG BEACH, CA) Aug 15, 2006

Member since May 2006

i've never played the previous midnight club games, but this one impressed me. it's a hybrid of many games out there. the layout of the cities are much like grand theft auto 3 and above (which is expected since this is a rockstar game). you're given a mini-map with dots and other icons showing where races or racers looking for races are located. you're given free range of the entire city to cruise, and the cities look good! much detail was used to recreate cities down to the signal lights and traffic signs. if you've played GTA, think of the driving missions where you have to catch someone, and make the graphics better and you get MCR. oh, minus the ability to driveby.

another game MCR draws influences from is need for speed: underground, of course. customization is a key component to the game. here, however, you can select from a wider range of cars and can customize each of them. you can customize and race luxury SUVs, legendary muscle cars, low riders, luxury sedans, and subcompact imports. NFSU you could only customize imports. and in a game like forza motosport, you could buy muscle cars, but couldn't visually customize them much (just paint, graphics, and rims; no body kits/spoilers, etc). the range of cars is awesome. this IS the DUB edition, so expect spectacular rim selection with much emphasis on chrome.

the game is very much an arcade style game. collisions do nothing but slow you down, damage is present, but not very visual at all (bumpers and spoilers don't go flying off in all directions like in forza).

in all, this is a solid game if you like arcade style racers. simulation fans beware.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

the best one yet

posted by Jason76 (JOPPA, MD) Aug 10, 2006

Member since Mar 2005

ok love the game especially the way you can trick out your rides however you want

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

How did this get over a 2? The worst racing game!!

posted by Pugmug177 (ROCKAWAY PARK, NY) Aug 9, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

How the heck could this...... excuse for a racing game get over a 2? Really, the graphics are cheap, you can't run over people, it isn't realistic. The changing of cars and designing of them is why it got a 2, not a 1. I really expected this game to be super cool, but it just plain sucked.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

The best street racing game, kind of

posted by poodleking (MALCOLM, NE) Aug 8, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

This game at first is very, very good. Then it got very annoying. The thing is that the bikes r sweet, but for me it seems like its a magnet to hitting cars or buildings. I like the choice of cars. If u buy this game u gotta have really good senses to get out of the way of cars coming at u.
There WERE NOT ENOUGH AUTOCROSS RACES. I give it a 6 to 7. It lost point for too many cars and buses.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Almost a great game!

posted by Calculated (BELFAST, ME) Jul 31, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

This game is very entertaining if you like customization. Even the racing is pretty good on this game. I loved the fact they had Street bikes on this game. I had loads of fun beating the Street bikes, Tuner, and Muscle cars part of this game. But i got kind of bored with it after that. The Trucks/SUV part is ok but i personally bought this game to race cars... not Hummers and Escalades. The Luxury part was ok but and the Exotic part was pretty good but i lost interest with out a strong storyline which i like. The Customization is great though from body kits to the color of your NOS that kept me entangled into the game a little longer. I did like the huge list of cars you could customize too. I think the customization really holds this game together along with the huge selection of vehicles to race. I think this is a better game than juiced but i still favor Need For Speed Most Wanted or Forza over Midnight Club 3 Dub Remix.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

An Awesome Game

posted by nighthwk12 (TRENTON, NJ) May 18, 2006

Member since May 2006

This is the best edition to the Midnight Club series. It has over 20 new vehicles and has alot more authorized tracks like Sean Paul Breakout ect. a new map Tokyo. Remix also has new Vinyls,
engines and hoods, and alot more. If you get this game you won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SO GOOD

posted by DKELLY88 (RAYTOWN, MO) May 1, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

IF U R SICK OF NEED FOR SPEED 1,2 THIS IS A GOOD GAME TO PLAY.

U MAY LIKE THE CARS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »