Rent Michael Jackson The Experience for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Michael Jackson The Experience

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS, Wii, 3DS, PS Vita, PSP Games, PS3
GF Rating
6.5

1825 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun Family Game

posted by gmhickok (SCHERTZ, TX) Apr 13, 2011

Member since Jan 2008

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My kids ages 17,8, & 7 love this game. It would be a blast for big families or parties. Has alot of MJ's popular songs and you get to learn all the famous dance moves!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I Am MJ!

posted by bkthedj (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Apr 29, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Let me start by saying I am a 42-year old male. In other words, I grew up when Michael Jackson was at his peak. If you are in that demographic, you should really try this game. It is a blast to see how the developers have translated some of the great songs/videos from the 80s and then YOU get to be a part of them.
One down side, if you do not have a wireless mic/headset, the game is much more difficult to play at max volume. But, if you do, you can sing and dance right along with all your favorite Michael Jackson songs.
I gave the title an "8" because, as surprised as I was to see "Dirty Dianna" and "Heal The World" in the track list, I was disappointed that some of my other faves were not included like "Man In The Mirror." Also, had I not had a wireless headset, the fun would have been somewhat muted.
In short, lots of fun for anyone who has ever enjoyed Michael Jackson's music.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Advanded Dancers Only

posted by jdizzle23 (Cottonwood, CA) Apr 24, 2011

Member since Mar 2004

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I try to think of myself as a decent dancer. I have rythm and I'm not the guy everyone stares at on the dance floor and says " does this guy realize what a tool he looks like?" That being said, MJ I am not, not even close not even a little, but most dances use or incorporate MJs moves so I thought it couldn't be that difficult to mimic some of the mans moves until I got this game.
Your arent mimicing his moves your doing them and there really isn't any help to do them at all in this game. There are practice videos but the teachers blow through the moves and they don't break it down so you need to be darn quick and remember every detail.
This game really is like your a backup dancer going on tour with the King Of Pop and its not forgiving at all. I enjoy Micheals music, I even thought I could do a couple of moves, hey we all moonwalk, but this game is out of my skill level. There isn't an option to change that by the way. The lower level is just more forgiving on you screwing up a move.
I recommend this to huge MJ fans, and to truly skilled dancers. My daughter enjoyed it (age 6) but thats because she got to use the mic. If your looking to use this for parties or a workout, I recommend Dance Central.
The only fun my family really had was laughing their butts off at dad looking like a fool. So it was worth the rental, if only for hurting my pride a little.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun Game, but no Lasting Appeal

posted by kencushing (VALENCIA, CA) Jul 6, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was really fun to get and try out, and I liked the fact that you could see yourself in the game. Doing the moves from my favorite MJ songs was pretty cool, but I quickly realized that I only remember the videos for 8 of them, so the rest were pretty forgettable.

The Dance Battle mode would've been more fun if they did it like Dance Central, where you take turns and it switches mid-song. Sure, it breaks up the song, but it's annoying waiting for an ENTIRE song to be finished just for the second team/person to have their chance to compete.

I didn't try the trainers because I honestly didn't keep the game long enough, but other people were pretty critical of them, so I figured it was skippable.

This game is fun to rent, definitely NOT buy, and Dance Central is way more fun for parties. Also, it's pretty much no fun at all when you are by yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Why can't they have the dances on dance central?

posted by twan972 (ALLEN, TX) Jul 5, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

All I want is a good michael jackson dancing game that teaches you how to dance, but instead ubisoft made this piece of junk. Within the first 20 mins of the game I turn it off, most because it's not meant for beginners. they do not break it down step by step. making it impossible to learn unless you are a professional dancer. Why Ubisoft? Why? listen to the review guys and do your self a favor, DO NOT get this game. you just gonna get disappointed like i did. 2/10 for me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Just Alright

posted by perkiallison (RUSTON, LA) Jul 1, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Rented the game just to see how it was. Returned it after trying it once. Doesn't always catch your moves. It is hard to watch the back up dancers to know what moves you are supposed to do. If you are a big fan of Michael Jackson then I suppose this game would be fun for you. But in my opinion, stick to Dance Central. Any other dance game is a waste of money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Terrible Game

posted by dougieswag62011 (SPRINGFIELD, MO) Jun 28, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a terrible game. The only reason i gave it a 2 not a 1 is because it shows you on the screen. Even that could be better. The graphics suck, its super hard to get the moves, and the singing is so easy. All you have to do is sing at the right time. It sucks. One of the worst kinnect games for tracking of the body. This is the worst game I have played since Wii Play, and it may be worse.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Micheal Jackson The experience

posted by stawat3 (CAMBRIDGE SPRINGS, PA) May 13, 2011

Member since May 2011

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I am glad I did not buy this game like I was going to. It does not have a Very good practice mode.I could barely see the dancer that I am supposed to be watching and you can not tell what moves you are supposed to do.In the MJ school they have dancers that show you moves but they do them so fast you can't follow and they are not even the moves in the dance. I definately would stick to Dance Central it is so much better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Shamone!!!

posted by jjasper (CINCINNATI, OH) Apr 12, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

If you love MJ, you'll love this game.

It is so exciting to pull off all of Mike's moves while singing.

Don't rent this game!

Just go buy it and make it a fixture in the family gaming rotation.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

NICE DANCE GAME

posted by XBOXMAN12 (ROARING GAP, NC) May 9, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Great motion capture. Nice to see self in game. Wife loves it! Bonus that you get to sing as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING

posted by analya10 (NILES, MI) Apr 14, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME IS INCREDIBLE. IF YOU HAVE EVER SEEN THE MJ MOVIE THIS IS IT, THIS GAME ALMOST IS SIMILAR TO THAT. DANCE ON STAGE TO THRILLER WITH ALL THE BACKGROUND ZOMBIES, THIS GAME HAS DONE MJ WELL! TRULY A REMARKABLE GAME FOR ONE WHO IS CURIOUS ABOUT THIS. DONT RENT IT, JUST BUY IT CAUSE UR GOING TO ANYWAY. YOUR NOT SOME CORNY AVATAR PERSON DANCING ON STAGE LIKE ALL THE OTHER DANCE GAMES OUT THERE, ITS ACTUALLY YOU ON STAGE LIKE U WERE WATCHING YOURSELF IN CONCERT. AND THE FACT THAT IT JUDGES YOU ON SINGING TOO MAKES ALL THE OTHER DANCE GAMES LOOK RIDICULOUS!!! THIS GAME IS FIVE STARS

THE BEST GAME THATS EVER BEEN MADE BESIDES NBA 2K11.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Love it

posted by thom18 (WEST JORDAN, UT) Jan 6, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

It is fun and entertaining. Some of the instruction parts go super fast, but it walks you through things pretty well, and who doesn't love the music?!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good, but...

posted by vandilization (PORT WASHINGTON, WI) Dec 27, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

This is a very fun game but I have a few complaints. Many of the dance moves are repetitive and the song selection could be a little stronger. Where's Scream? You Are Not Alone? Very little in DLC.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

its different

posted by cruzinho (IMPERIAL BEACH, CA) Nov 20, 2012

Member since Apr 2005

i played this game back on the wii when it came out and i liked it my daughter aswell , so i recently bought a kinect and played this and is not the same the dances are different and its harder , it was a let down for me , only good thing you can use a mic to sing along .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Michael jackson Experience

posted by Bigmike22 (BLOOMINGTON, IL) Jul 5, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

awsome graphics and songs

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Breathtaking...

posted by pcsman81 (ORMOND BEACH, FL) May 14, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

Literally, 30 minutes with this game and you're on the couch, sweating, and sipping iced tea...The game play itself is very fast paced, with easy, medium, and hard settings. The song list is almost endless, including all of Michael's bests, along with a few I'd forgotten about over the years. There are instructional videos for Michael's moves, which I thought could have been more thorough and informative, but you learn a lot of these moves as you play. While I may have looked like a complete idiot to my children, by the end of the second day I was groin grabbing and moonwalking with the King of Pop himself. The overall setting is similar to most Kinect based dance games, wherein you are the center of attention. However, in this installment, you are most often accompanied with a crude MJ look-a-like, and appear to be directly in the music video itself. Some of the animation could have been toned down to allow for faster loading screens, but all-in-all, it was "Bad" (pardon the pun)...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Too Difficult

posted by RocketGib (OWASSO, OK) Feb 24, 2012

Member since Feb 2007

The controls were difficult in this game. No mic mode for Kinect so I couldn't use the Karoke mode.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Michael Jackson The Experience

posted by MrNeoMatrix (MIAMI SPRINGS, FL) Jan 5, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

You would think this would be much more fun. Its good, not great. The music is what you would expect. Maybe I am just burnt out of Music Dance Karaoke, but this is just a collection of Jackson tracks (as expected) but nothing special. This is why Gamefly exists, rent it for a weekend and return it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Did not like.

posted by Hisqueen (NEW HAVEN, CT) Dec 29, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

Michael Jackson for Wii is so much better. I would not recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

amazed

posted by peanutrocks1392 (SOUTH RYEGATE, VT) Nov 28, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

i was every impressed with how fun it was you can sing to all the mj songs and you can dance! :) but there was on down fall you had to use your hand on chosen the song it it was sorta hard.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

LOVE IT

posted by EDemontJ (LAUREL, MD) Nov 13, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

You don't have to be a dancer; but if you have a little in you can definitely catch on QUICK. I love the singing and dancing. You get a great workout while having fun... Downside, I wish they had MORE songs like Another Part of Me, and Heartbreak Hotel. But the songs that are on here are GREAT....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

MJ

posted by BrieC364 (NEW YORK, NY) Nov 6, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

did not enjoy it at all the wii is better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

FUN for most but not me

posted by usafguy1981 (MINOT, ND) Nov 6, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

Do to me being white, 30 years old and a lack of any type of dance moves i found this game was very hard for me. there is no break down of the move like in dance central and it just moved way to fast even on the easy modes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great for MJ fans

posted by keif76 (HUNTSVILLE, AL) Oct 31, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

I enjoyed following Mjs dance moves and singing along! This game had an incredible assortments of MJ hits!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Disappointment

posted by coriepinckney (KANNAPOLIS, NC) Oct 23, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

After reading all the reviews and good compliments that the game got, I was excited to try it out. Until I got the game and it was so hard to understand. There were no direct labeling of the steps to learn the dance, or how to perform the dance. Music was great, but couldn't learn the moves.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse