Rent Michael Jackson The Experience for Wii
view large frontback

Michael Jackson The Experience

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.6

2242 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Michael Jackson is The King

posted by Tomboy99 (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Dec 7, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2005

22 out of 25 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Wow! This was awesome!!!!

The graphics are super sweet and the sound is perfect. This game allows you to dance following real-life moves of Michael Jackson. Or, if those are too hard for you, you can follow the easier moves of his back-up dancers (on many).

It's also great exercise and keeps you moving and warm on cold days.

Any fan of Michael Jackson would love love love love love (is there enough space to type love one billion times?) this game!! Rent it... right now... Just click that Rent button immediately.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good For Fans

posted by Wearex316 (OCEAN CITY, NJ) Jan 4, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

its cool if your a big fan like me. but it just seems rushed no story mode and really no help learning how to play. some songs are not really meant for this game by being way too slow. and alot of songs are missing. Rock my world isn't even in it. but it is fun to play and most the songs are good and fun to dance too but i do wish there was more to it than one arm movement. good to rent not to buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This Game Is Awesome!

posted by DSchulz95 (Valley City, ND) Jan 16, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I love playing this game. I love Michael Jackson and his songs so it is pretty fun dancing to. The thing that I didn't like about it is that it didn't have a few songs that I thought would be on there but they weren't. So overall a wonderful game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst EXPERIENCE Ever

posted by Lynae (BOWIE, MD) Mar 23, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I was excited when I received this game, thinking it was going to be tons of fun, I mean hey its MJ .... WRONG ... I found my self bored after the first hour of playing this game:

1) Sometimes the game does not even show you the moves that are coming up - so you end up finding out what to do after the move is over

2) Once you earn a high level (points wise) it unlocks a "dance class" - BORING

3) The producers could have added more songs to the game, MJ has a MILLION songs out - the selection on this game is very slim

Over all, I guess I expected more from the producers of this game, I mean its MJ.

If your looking to rent this game just because it's MJ, go for it, but if your looking to stock up your collection of FUN games, run for the hills, this game FAILS

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Awful

posted by KatieHolly (APPLE VALLEY, CA) Dec 13, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

9 out of 17 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

Michael Jackson The Experience is no experience at all. If you're looking for a good rhythm game with dancing that will keep you entertained and has great gameplay and music, you need to head over to the Dance Dance Revolution titles on various consoles, or Dance Central on the Xbox 360.

The on screen instructions for the dance moves are minimal at best, sometimes non-existent and disappearing, not to mention terribly confusing. You can essentially just swing your right arm around and get "OK", "Good" and "Perfect" scores throughout an entire song. There's no point in even dancing along to most of the instruction for the rest of your body because it only tracks your right arm (the one holding the remote) anyways, and even then it's terribly inaccurate.

If you're a big fan of MJ's music and don't care about quality gameplay and accuracy, maybe you'll enjoy this just to have the music and see the mirrored choreography on the screen to follow along to. But other than that, this is definitely not going to keep someone entertained long at all. Not worth buying, and hardly worth renting. I've had it less than 2 hours and already sticking it back in the mail.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome!!!!!!!!!!

posted by GirlGames (APOLLO BEACH, FL) Jan 22, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The people who are rating this game 1 are blind. Michael Jackson the experience are made for people who are Michael Jackson fans and people who like to dance! If your not one them i dont know what to tell you! Also IGN what you guys said was a total lie their faces do show all the way and its not cheaply made! Also you don't not just get "ok" and " good" if u just fling it back and forth you have to work for it! Overall its a great game and trust me it's not a waste of money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Awesome Game!!, Needed more content before release

posted by shimysplak (NORTH LAUDERDALE, FL) Jan 12, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Being a big fan of Michael Jackson I wanted to rent the game and get into learning the choreography. I may not be the most coordinated person but after going through about 3 songs I decided to try out some of the training. The training breaks down specific moves but doesn't really incorporate learning the choreography with the music (maybe that comes after you unlock all the training sessions). The game is fun and entertaining especially since it's multi-player. You can definitely work up a sweat with this game and can be used for those who want to dance as their exercise for the day (maybe a light workout day). I think the creators needed to hold onto this game a little longer and implement additional ideas (ex: learn the choreography, additional tutorials, songs missing ). They pushed the release too early to try and milk more money out of the remembrance of MJ rather than giving the game more content. I'm hoping the creators rectify this and release a few more titles resolving some of the issues in this first game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fantastic fun!!!!!

posted by scoobydu (PORT ORCHARD, WA) Jan 1, 2011

Member since May 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Played this game at a friends house to try out before buying it and it was fantastic fun. I am a big fan of the "just Dance" game line and this proved to be right up there with it And I Love michael jackson music and videos. DDR may be good for those who like jumping around in one spot, but if you want to feel like your dancing and look like your dancing than this game and the other mentioned are great High sweat level games. If your not coping the dancer "completly"and just moving your arms than your cheating yourself. There are pros and cons to all of these types of games none of the cons take away from the fun. People who don't like this game either had WAY to high an expectation or just couldn't KEEP UP with the moves. A great quick work out or Party game.Wish there was more songs! Hope there's a 2nd.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

mj lives 4 ever now

posted by mykids (BROOKLYN, NY) Dec 29, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

my sons 11 and 13 both gave this game a 9 they loved the game, but the were quik to realize that they were not follow the great gloved one

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREAT GAME!

posted by msjro76 (LEBANON, PA) Dec 24, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I CANT DANCE FOR NADA BUT IT IS STILL FUN TO PLAY ALONG WITH MY NEPHEWS I MAY HAVE TO RENT IT STILL FOR NEXT MONTH, ME AND THE KIDS LOVE IT! I'M A HUGE MJ FAN!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Don't waste your time with this one!

posted by oznorts (PASADENA, CA) Dec 30, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

This game isn't much fun. The interface is clumsy. The live action instructional sections are terrible. The "warm up" consists of 30 seconds improper stretching techniques. As much as I love MJ's songs, I would get tired of hearing them before I could master the moves. I noticed that it often rated me as "perfect" when I was way off. The visuals during the songs seemed lo-fi & boring. It might be fun for someone who is REALLY, REALLY, REALLY into dancing to MJ songs (which admittedly I'm not).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Michael Jackson: The Experience

posted by ringoasp (HUNTSVILLE, AL) Dec 1, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

8 out of 22 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

I have a 9 year old girl, and 13 year old boy. We kept this game for only 2 days. Both of my children couldn't wait to return it. They said it was not fun at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

What can I say?

posted by QueenPinky (CASA GRANDE, AZ) Apr 23, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

So, I would recommend this game for all the great things about it. The music (all the songs you know and love), the dancing, the group fun. My only gripes:

1. Too easy: I was expecting a huge challenge. I am not a great dancer but i got 4 stars on Thriller which I played on hard (Zombie) my first try. I wasn't even Mike which is so hard its "Inhuman" :) Maybe I know more than I think I do. Or maybe its the fact that the controls give out a lot of perfects.

2. Do you really expect me to lean forward like that in Smooth Criminal? I LOL'd when I saw that madness. My daughter thought I was crazy (she's 4).

3. I can see getting bored because once I master the songs, which wont be long by the controllers standards, that will be that, but on the flip side, I played just Dance 2 about a million times and I still love it. Will probably be the same for this.

Give this game a chance. Rent it.

Ps. Does anyone realize that this game is made by the same people who make Just Dance.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

really good game

posted by deandre865 (GLEN BURNIE, MD) Mar 13, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

i really enjoyed this game but not sure why i can't buy the game if any one know how i can purchase this game please let me know thanks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Blah

posted by gsize19 (MORROW, OH) Feb 2, 2013

Member since Jun 2010

Got it for my daughter and wife, they lost interest after 25 minutes... I was never an MJ fan... I guess graphics good, but this is not my type of game... Maybe for others who like him, but this game lacks anything that I would be looking for out of a game... IGN gave it 3.5, I have a feeling the guy was like me... Take it or leave it??? I say leave it...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

get ready to dance

posted by trex6504 (HAZLE TOWNSHIP, PA) Sep 21, 2012

Member since Jan 2011

This game is a very good tribute to Micheal Jackson and is a very fun fitness game feature all michael jacksons best songs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Michael Jackson the experience

posted by bernie44 (RICHMOND, VA) Feb 12, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

M.J. the experience is fantastic, my daughter and I played this game 3 times everyday. We love and enjoyed every minute of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Wasn't What I Was Hoping For

posted by Random_Boo (TUSTIN, CA) Jan 25, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

This game is great! I've played it before but I rented it at a nearby store. I was excited when I received it a few days later. But when I was about to play it, I noticed that the CD was scratched a bit and it wasn't functioning properly. I know it wasn't the system because it was new and I recently played another game before inserting the MJ Experience. So it had to be the CD.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great workout but needed more forgiving controlls

posted by 999love (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Jan 15, 2012

Member since Oct 2006

best work out and most fun songs are
thriller
black or white
ghost of jelosy
getting 5 stars is to hard
reason
bad controlls on parts(still fun thoough)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

maggie

posted by zachmaxnick (WHISPERING PINES, NC) Jan 6, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

I really enjoy this game! Great workout also

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pretty Good For Being on The Wii

posted by KoolAidMan321 (WILSON, NY) Dec 4, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

This game is pretty good for being on the Wii (like i said in the title). The major problem is the fact that the only dancing connection between the game and the player is the Wii remote, meaning there could be a minor mistake with the hand holding the remote and the game will count at as a miss. What many people overlook is the fun aspect of the game. Its suppose to be a fun, immersive game about dancing to a Michael Jackson song. What its NOT supposed to be is a hardcore game. I do agree that there are songs that are far to slow to dance to, but they can be overlooked. Overall this is an outstanding game for anyone looking to have fun and dance. Knowing this prior to buying it, it deserves what i gave it. The only problem that i warn people before buying is the wii remote issue.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Its ok but really hard i still like justdance best

posted by Addielperez (CAPE CORAL, FL) Nov 27, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

JUST DANCE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

havent got it yet

posted by cristophe32 (DENVER, CO) Nov 9, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

would be nice to beable to play it been waiting for 4 months for this game i get biiled everymonth for it but yet they dont send it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great work-out!

posted by gameflyreviewer (SACRAMENTO, CA) Nov 3, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

The graphics are pretty amazing and there are a lot of song options. I got a little annoyed because sometimes it would not pick up my moves. It judges your movements based on your right hand so even if you are not moving the rest of your body, you can still get a high score. Biggest complaint is (for the most part) they just throw you into the dances without a break down of the moves which go by really fast. This is Michael Jackson okay, the BEST dancer of all time!!! I did feel good after nailing Thriller though, even though I bombed at Heal the World which is one of the easiest songs! It is an outstanding work out though and if you are someone that has dancing talent already, you will definitely enjoy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great workout

posted by monteroej (LACEY, WA) Oct 30, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

It is a sexy game. I love MJ's songs. I am a fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse