Rent Metroid Prime for GC
view large frontback

Metroid Prime

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.5

1505 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome game

posted by legomaster1223 (LOUISVILLE, KY) Aug 12, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the game is really fun its so long that i still havent beaten it but that shouldnt stop you from playing it still i love the game i also like metroid prime 2 and prime 3 other m was good but the 3rd person doesnt do it justice still this is my favorite ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Metroid will never be the same

posted by nintendo (BUTTE VALLEY, CA) Apr 13, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2006

16 out of 18 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

This game deserves to be in the top 10 greatest Gamecube titles. It's gameplay and graphics are some of the best I've ever seen for 2002 title, if you love Halo games, you're guaranteed to love this game. It's one of the best looking Gamecube titles I've ever seen. If you've ever played the old classic Nintendo Metroid titles or the Game Boy Metroid titles and fallen in love with them, you're guaranteed to fall in love with this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Still in process

posted by MrChaos (SUMNER, WA) Dec 27, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I'm still playing this game but from what I have played, one of the best games ever! Metroid was always one of my favorites and this just makes me love it more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pure Brilliance

posted by Spectre (WELLSVILLE, UT) Apr 29, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game was easily the best game of 2002. It is one of the best adventure games ever and it has to do with how genre defying this game was. This truly is a first person adventure not a FPS. Unlike most games this one was willing to take a risk and it paid off. It has some of the best level design in a game and the puzzles are very well thought out. Exploration is what makes this game so good and the environments are huge and beautiful. The game is great the whole time through. It's only flaw is that it is not that replayable only worth going through once or twice but since it is such a long game that shouldn't stop you from playing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

What Are You Talking About?!?!?!?!?

posted by DarkSamus (ORMOND BEACH, FL) Apr 26, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Of course there is a lot of backtracking that's why it called "METROID" not some straight forward level by level game like Crash Bandicoot GEEZ do some RESEARCH god, freaking IDIOT!lol (no offense)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

METROID PRIME

posted by GAMCritic2 (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL) Sep 8, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I had played the game METROID PRIME but I had not beat it. POSITIVE: This is a great first person person game. The graphics are good for the GAMECUBE. The weapons are cool. I really dont have anything negative to say about this game. This game is pretty awesome!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Simply overrated...

posted by GameflyMan (BLUE SPRINGS, MO) Aug 31, 2006

Member since Apr 2005

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Metroid Prime is not a bad game and it is not a great game it simply floats at the top of 'okay' games. Once again the player takes on the roll of Samus in her struggle against space pirates, metroids and more. This time however the effort falls a bit short.

First the good:

Graphics, they look great, are crisp, nice lighting effects etc, no complaints here.

Music, the score is nice, appropriate for each location, brings good tension at the right moments.

Level design was interesting although backtracking is a drag.

The so-so:

Storyline is alright.

Replay - there is a hard mode, you can get 100% scan/items.....

The terrible:

The gameplay is awful. It feels very clunky. You walk around in 1st person perspective, if you see a bad guy you press the L1 to lock on and press fire or missile, that's about it. You can aim manually with R1 also but you cannot manually aim and walk at the same time. The problem this posses is if an enemy does flank you, you cannot turn fast which makes sense in a huge suit but it feels clunky none the less.

Your evasive action is reduced to a strafe jump basically. So a typical fight would be lock-on, strafe jump, regular jump, move left and right in a circle and fire. If they flank you then hope they fly back in front of you or your going to have to painfully turn to reacquire lock.

In summary: You have a graphically pleasing game with a so-so story and a clunky movement design, had this not carried the Metroid brand name your looking at a sold 6 or 7 by most gave reviews, instead of the 9.7 etc from Gamespot.

I wanted to like this game, I wanted to love it, but its just okay. I think the same game done from a 3rd person perspective(like Zelda: Windwaker) would have worked much better.

Final Score - 6.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

long and somewhat boring

posted by shadey74 (POTTSTOWN, PA) Jul 26, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Graphics are decent. Gameplay is a bit tedious. You have to keep killing the same stuff over and over again. For instance, if you clear a room, leave, than come back, all the enemies are back. This takes away alot of satisfaction for me, I like killing everything and than having free roam of the place. Now, in a normal linear game, thats not a problem because revisiting old rooms isn't necessary but this game is free roaming. You have to go through everything multiple times to get secret items.
There is also alot of bs as far as having to scan everything.
There was 1 cool aspect. Rolling around in a ball is fun. I really can't think of anything else.
I just didn't have the patience at all. I didn't for the original metroid either. I was glad I only rented this!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

ok

posted by JPCCool (Shiloh, OH) Apr 20, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this is a pretty cool game but i did not relise that if you had a wii you could not save you have to buy a seprate card for the wii

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the Greatest Cube Games of All!!!

posted by bigngamer (LAWTON, MI) Apr 14, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Game play 4/5

The game only has one problem in my opinion is that its got a lot of back tracking. In the other game play aspects there are no flaws and there's nothing else i can say.

sound, graphics, ect. 5/5

The prime job done on the game series for game cube exclusives. The only other is Resident Evil 4 (witch is now not exclusive). i cant say any thing bad in this area.

So I give this game a 9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A bad joke.

posted by ArcadeGuy (BROOKLYN, NY) Oct 27, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2006

3 out of 12 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Metroid Prime brings the elements of the classic Metroid games into a 3D first-person shooter only in principle. This game is an atrociously grueling marathon of exploration and searching to the extent that it's essentially unplayable.

Bringing Metroid into 3D apparently somehow means adding the frequent use of several extra buttons for basic movement. And 3D Metroid apparently also requires the tedious and endless use of the scan visor to look for small emblems hidden around walls and ceilings, which literally are required to open doors, as well as obscure cracks which lead to a new area.

Whereas the 2D Metroids were charming and accessible, Metroid Prime is mundane and tedious. Prime is as uneventful and dull as any first-person shooter can be.

There is also little trace of actual skill gameplay in Metroid Prime. Aiming is done automatically with a button, and bosses are degenerated into either a series of sequential tasks, or endurance circle strafing.

If only I thought that guessing obscure solutions to linear puzzles and getting stuck constantly was a rewarding gameplay experience. I don't understand why many gamers selectively give Nintendo games like Metroid Prime the benefit of their utmost patience.

Be warned.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A Shooter With No Point

posted by Spider (KANSAS CITY, MO) Jun 5, 2008

Member since May 2006

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Don't buy this game just because you have a GameCube and want to play a Nintendo game. If you wanna do that I suggest Super Smash Bros. Brawl. Maybe that doesn't have a point either, but it's hard to find a good fighting game that has a point.

I don't understand the point of this game. It's about.... Samus ....... shooting aliens ....... and I think that's it. Other than that, it's a pretty good game. Great graphics for the GameCube, and a fun challenge. But, I really only recommend this game to big-time shooter fans. It just seems so pointless. If it had some sort of a point, it would rank higher, but it doesn't, so it gets 5 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wow...An amazing Game-To bad it was rushed

posted by toasttoast (BLOOMINGTON, IN) Mar 22, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

2 out of 13 gamers (15%) found this review helpful

I just don't like the Metroid series. I am good at the original metriod, but the new games are overly complicated because of the camera angle being in the Helmet. This makes for an odd game play like Call of Duty, but without the accuracy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Metriod Prime

posted by geerolled (DALY CITY, CA) Aug 4, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

2 out of 24 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

given it took a while to get to playing the game, the biggest downside was that the game didn't even start up. it would get to the Nintendo/Gamecube load screen, and freeze. had i been able to play it, i might've been able to give a better reivew.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

U have not played a game until uve played this

posted by dr_octagonapus (SOUTH LYON, MI) Aug 22, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

Ok, I didnt get this from GameFly. But this game is still awesome! I mean, seriously! This is a 2002 game for the game cube, and it has graphics of that of the PS3! The missile combos are VERY usefull on bosses, and the sound is overwhelming for a game cube game. (spoilers ahead) and if u connect a game of metroid fusion to a (finished) game of metroid prime, you can restart the game with... (drum roll) the fusion suit! This game is a BUYING GAME ONLY!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best metroid

posted by yeayea103 (EL DORADO HILLS, CA) Jun 11, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

i hadnt heard about metroid until super smash bros and i wanted to try it and this did it for me. i love every aspect of it the design, music, graphics, gameplay it is an all out great game. it has enough of a challenge to make it fun but not too hard. if you like sci-fi shooters you NEED to get this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Oh my god, At least this one isn't below an 8.

posted by mackdaddyyoshi (PORTSMOUTH, NH) Feb 18, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

Get real people. Go down-vote Mario or Halo.

Ugh, there have got to be so many 5 year olds on this thing giving bad ratings.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

metroid prime review

posted by nmakin64 (CISCO, TX) Aug 17, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

wow what can someone say about metroid prime just one of the best gamecube games ive ever played back in the day i wasnt much into female leads in video games then one game came along to change that all probably the best graphics on the system it reall gives you that distant feeling of being on a faraway planet with strange creatures when metroid was made it was suposed to combind the platforming aspect of mario with the exploration fetures of zelda and they did that then when nobody thought it could get better they gave us a look through samus' eyes its the same feel of the earlier games just amplified 100,000 times over its a great part of my childhood and i will cherish it forever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

lame controls

posted by NOshun (EDEN PRAIRIE, MN) Mar 17, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

it needs a story and better controls and bosses suck levels are plainly long and its pointless nothing is good about this game exept graphics

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Most In-Depth Review I could write.

posted by DekuMiguel (WHITTIER, CA) Jul 24, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

First let me just get this out of the way, this game looks amazing, you'd swear your TV is HD even if it isn't. Especially when you first start a game up and continue from a save point. And the fact that your looking out through Samus' visor first person style is really quite good. And the fact that visors actually make it seem like you're Samus, looking out of her eyes. Rain will sometimes fall on it, and you can see it treckiling down, and water pouring down when you come out of the water, it looks great. Youtube, doesn't do this game justice when it comes to looks.

As for the gameplay, well, I've never been a fan of first person shooters myself, this may be different for you, but for me it's not all that great, just shoot anything that moves, and if it dosen't make a reaction then walk towards it and see if it does any thing good. But be carful of shooting everything, becuase you'll need to scan all the enimes, bits of wall, computers, and everyting else. Well you don't have to it's just for the best ending, but sometimes it's nessacary to scan things to do things like activate elevators, or deactivate forcefields. There is an ocassinal puzzle involved but these are usually just little bits of extra hassle then anything else.

I like this game a lot, and the difficulty curve is great. And unlike other games (I'm looking at you "New Super Mario Brothers Wii") it doesn't really to much on nostalgia, sure it's great to use "old-school" knowladge of past games to help you, but there's a fine line between homage and being lazy. Sure they have the staples, Morph Ball, Ice Beam, Varia Suit, but they also mix it up with new things like the Boost Ball. Some people say that going back and forth is a hassle, but that's part of the beauty of the games, going back to old areas to get items and upgrades that you couldn't before. Also if you have Metroid Fusion, you can link it up to the Gamecube for some awsome bonuses. So in conclusion, this game is awsome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

The game is pretty good.

posted by cutie123 (Bronx, NY) Oct 23, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

I would recommed people to rent this game. It's not terrible but I wouldn't say it was incredible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

MOST TERRIBLE GAMECUBE GAME EVER!!!

posted by BULLY123 (PRATTVILLE, AL) Jul 19, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2008

I REALLY HATE METROID! This game is very useless and isn't worth renting or buying or even PLAYING!!! First of all you can't see Samus!!! She is not there! All you can see is that stupid old gun! I HATE 1ST PERSON GAMES! WHAT IS SOOOOOO GREAT ABOUT NOT SEEING THE CHARACTER!? I couldn't even stand the first four seconds! Why would anybody play Medroid games!? The area was too steel and machine looking. The music made me want rip apart my Gamecube controler!! I hope nobody else trys out this pitiful game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

pretty sweet...

posted by thereedsta (LA MARQUE, TX) Jul 15, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

The graphics on this game are awesome compared to most gamecube games. The whole 1st person thing is great, and the weapons you have are nice. The enemies you fight are fun (especially the pirate dudes), and most of the bosses are hard where you die once or twice fighting them. Solid 9, man.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Metriod Prime review

posted by Priceman5 (HAMPTON, VA) Apr 29, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

It's almost hard to believe that you're playing a game that came out for the gamecube when playing Metroid Prime. The graphics are beautiful, with vibrant environments and spectacular effects. The soundtrack is great, bringing bouts of nastalgia from the original NES metroid. The gameplay is fun and challenging, but repetitive at points. Finally, the story isn't hard to follow (so long as you read all the log entries). All in all, this was a fun game that I enjoyed playing through, and I can only hope the sequels are just as entertaining.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of Nintendo's Best

posted by Iballin (JOSHUA TREE, CA) Jan 21, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

I've actually owned this game for some time now. But this is still pretty much my favorite game to play. It has some really good graphics, and with the first person, 3D environment this really increases the Metroid expirence, especially for those who palyed the Gameboy versions. It also reminds me of Halo and those that loved that game should probably try this game if they havent already. I still think that Nintendo really out did themseleves and that this is one of the best Gamecube games that came out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse