Rent Metroid Prime Trilogy for Wii
view large frontback

Metroid Prime Trilogy

Not Rentable
GF Rating
8.1

1720 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

3 for the price of 1

posted by Bl4ck3n3d (ARMAGH, PA) Sep 1, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

23 out of 24 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

This package is certainly nothing new if you are a Metroid veteran but, if you are like me and aren't this is a great set of games. You get 3 games, all of which are some of the best on the Wii to date, on one disc. Metroid itself is a fun game combining some FPS with some fun puzzles. Overall it's a good experience and definitely worth renting, probably even buying if you are new to the series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

what can i say ITS METROID

posted by dooger (SYRACUSE, NY) Dec 28, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i only rented this game to beat MP:2 ECHOS because i own prime 1 and 3 and rented 2 when it first came out and didn't have enough time to finnish it.
the graphics look about the same, just sharpend up, but the way you attack is the same as prime 3 with the wii-mote. the major improvement is that the doors open when you shoot them, before there was this anoying lag that could coust you life, but in trilogy they fixed this problem, when you shoot the door it opens automatically, if not its only 1 door out of like 70.
so it is just a grouping of the past meroids (obviously "trilogy")
there isn't mutch more i can say..... i guess thats it (10/10)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Long, silent and worth every cent

posted by Rubic0n (EDMOND, OK) Jul 8, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First, it's important to know that this disc includes three full games, each one longer than most other Wii offerings. It will take you at least sixty to ninety hours to see the trilogy to its conclusion.This is a series whose pace is mostly determined by the player, and I recommend you take a while to savor it. Prime, the first installment, isn't a hardcore FPS at the outset (there are some very impressive battles later on) but if you stick with it you'll find a deep, immersive experience that only gets better. While you come out o' the tutorial with very few abilites, do not be discouraged. Every suit and weapon upgrade makes the game a bit better, and this is one of the trilogy's more compelling factors. And once you finish Prime, you'll find the same amount of depth in the darker, atmospherically heavy Echoes, as with the slightly more action-oriented Corruption.

Graphics: Really top-notch, especially considering the first two titles were originally released on Gamecube. In all three, the level design and attention to detail is remarkable, particularly among the various creatures that range from hulking, genetically enhanced space pirates to tiny, water-dwelling fishthings. Some areas are dark and a bit disorienting, though.

Gameplay: Controls are fluid and aiming is a breeze. Not too hectic, but not boring either; the games flows seamlessly between exploration, shooting and puzzle solving.

Story:These are lonely games, with not a word of dialogue and no NPC's in Prime, a single non-Samus humanoid in Echoes, and some Galactic Federation personnel in Corruption. You have to be willing to scan numerous computer terminals and whatnot in order to uncover the overarching plot that spans the entire trilogy. It is enriching, trust me.

Replay Value: A primary playthrough takes 20-30 hours, and after that there are missle and health expansions scattered throughout the game world. 100% completion is a considerable challenge.

Best deal on the market.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Must Have Wii Game!

posted by TheGink (SPRINGFIELD, OR) May 17, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

After logging just hours or so on the first of the 3 games on this disk, I knew I had to have it. Hunted down a used copy. I suggest everyone with a Wii do the same while you can still find it. Worth every penny.

I get pretty tired of the same ol' same ol' stuff that's out for the wii. After getting a PS3 so I could play real games, the Wii started collecting dust until I rented this game. Now the Wii is worth the space it's taking up, I'll be playing and replaying this game for a long time to come.

FPS + Puzzle Game, can't beat it. Large complex areas with non-linear progression. The fun of starting with basic equipment and discovering upgrades as you go, which allow you to deal with enemies and obstacles in different ways, as well as to access those doors and ledges you've been staring at and going "How am I supposed to get up there?" It's a winning combo.

I'm not a hardcore gamer, and haven't followed the Metroid series closely. I recently played an old GBA Metroid game, classic side scrolling Metroid, remembered how much fun the old Metroid games were, decided I had to check the new out. Was wary about the change to FPS style, but it really works.

The only downside to the FPS perspective versus seeing your character is that it can make the platformer part of the game a challenge. Jumping from ledge to ledge, etc is a bit harder when you can't see yourself or your feet. Hardcore gamers probably won't be challenged, but us average players should plan for some areas of frustration at having to climb up somewhere over and over because we keep missing a jump and falling back down. Doesn't detract from overall game enjoyment much though.

I've generally enjoyed using the Wiimote for FPS action games, but love the way it works on this, utilizing the controls to quickly switch weapons and visors. Only control challenge I have is the button combos needed to fire off power missiles when in battle and trying to dodge and keep a target lock at the same time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Metroid Prime Trilogy

posted by torch347 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Apr 7, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Gamefly. I got hooked on this game after I rented Metroid Prime 3: Corruption, I got use to the controls and weapons. I never played this game or even knew about it. Then I rented Metroid Prime Trilogy and it blow my mind. At that time, the game was not for sale. Today I heard that Target was selling it for $50.00 and now I see that Gamefly (the best place ever) is selling it for $20.00. Take a guess where I'm purchasing my game from. I can't wait for the next version that will be coming out very soon. I love it!!! Thanks Gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Nothing new, but it's certainly awesome.

posted by Ragmar (LOUISVILLE, KY) Aug 31, 2009

Member since May 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've never played any of the Metroid games before, and I was pleasantly surprised. It takes some brainpower to figure out, and is the best buy you can possibly get. 3 games for the price of one! I love that. Plus, there are funny extras, like bumper stickers on the back of her ship. Or a Mii bobblehead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

An Epic Set That Is Wortht of Any Collection

posted by SHAN3ST3RR (LONDON, KY) Sep 2, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

12 out of 14 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Let me just start off by saying that if you like any form of puzzle game buy this and if you like any form of shooting game buy this. I bought the first Metroid game back when it first came out. I didn't actually beat it till about two years later when I FINALLY figured out how to progress. Not to say thats a bad thing, I spent more time on Metroid Prime than any other shooter I can remember. Those are some great memories. Then I bought the second one and never beat it because frankly, it was the hardest game I had ever played.

Ok, now to the trilogy, This is a MUST HAVE for any fan of the series. I know you have heard a million times the same things like OMG there is an art booklet, its in a nice metal case, its got better loading times, and the controls are amazing for all games. Yep, that's ALL true. Not just that, but fans of the series are going to love the freedom they get throughout the first two games. It is truly astounding, the level of imersion you feel while playing the old ones. It literally feels all new with the new controls and works flawlessly. Some things where taken out like the smoke coming out of the barrell when you shoot alot in the first game but thats understandable because there is ALOT in this box set, from achievement coins, to unlockables, to a TON of amazing gameplay and three games that would make anyone smile because of just how great they all are. My least favorite would be the thirrd just because it has to many pparts where you fall, whats up with that? It's stupid, but the third game does make you feel alot more like Samus with all its little things it does.

Graphics-What else can I say, even if all three games where ten years old and we had virtual reality these games will still look great, its there art atyle that makes then so fantastic...

Gameplay- The new controls make each experience brand new. My favorite moment was in the fight against the rock golem thing is Phendrana Drifts I could shoot his parts while he rolle

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Worth Buying!!!

posted by DebLee (ALBERTSON, NY) Sep 26, 2009

Member since Jul 2006

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This game is essentially three games in one. Even if you already own the GC games that are included in this trilogy, it's still worth taking a look. All three of the games use the Wii Remote controls, which are fantastic.

Since each one of these games include ENORMOUS worlds that need to be explored, it is safe to say that you won't be beating this game in a week. I will be working on this Trilogy for months before I even get close to completing all games 100%!!!

The game menu allows for separate game files. Each individual game file includes save files for each of the three games in the Trilogy. So you can share the Wii with other people and be able to have your own game file.

NOTE: You do need to have a nunchuck to play this game. And if you want to play M-P Echoes in 2 player mode, you'll need two nunchucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Three Great Games with Impeccable Controls

posted by ThaSquare (ROSEVILLE, CA) Sep 3, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2007

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Metroid Prime Trilogy, as the name implies, houses all three award-winning games from Retro Studios. Each game has been tweaked, both control and difficulty-wise, and its fantastic. If you've ever wanted to go back and see what came before Prime 3: Corruption, this is the perfect way to do so.

After playing Prime 3 with the Wii controls, I went back to play the original on the GameCube and it felt so alien. With this game, however, the controls all go over without a hitch.

The amount of gameplay, depth, and fun here make it well worth a looking at. Be you a Metroid fan or a newcomer to the series, you won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfect.

posted by DaTruth78 (BLOOMING GROVE, TX) Dec 23, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

If anyone says nothing is perfect, this lives up to the name: nothing. Very awesome graphics, beautiful music, and a girl hero, must have to spell: Metroid Prime Trilogy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I loved this game

posted by blipperp (AIKEN, SC) Oct 30, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I have only played two of the three games in the metroid prime series, but by the looks of the first two games i am going to love the third one. They are the most awesome games i have ever played!!!!! metroid rocks!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

its worth it SERIOUSLY

posted by rafexa113 (ASHEVILLE, NC) Sep 17, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

its just plain amazing! i mean a 3 for 1 deal each game worth playing. if you like shooter games youll love this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Trilogy, Great Value

posted by Delirium (SOUTH MILWAUKEE, WI) Sep 1, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Even if you've played all three Metroid games, chances are it's been a long time since you've played MP1 or MP2. What's even better is the newly added motion control to make the experience that much better.

It's also a great value. All three games are readily available for the Wii and with motion controls for only $35. From what I remember, the games are pretty lengthy so it's not like you'll be able to blast your way through all three games, either. If you're a Metroid fan, you should definitely pick this up if not for the memories, then for the convenience.

I would definitely recommend this if you don't have anything else to rent for a while. If you do have something you want to rent, a buy isn't a bad choice as you can take your time with all three games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Simply amazing

posted by Aulistrian (COLONIAL HEIGHTS, VA) Nov 19, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I loved metroid from the NES days all the way up. I will admit I was unhappy when they decided to go first person, as I do not like those games on console systems, with good reason. It was metroid though, so I tried the first one when it came out. Absolutly hated it. It was the controls, and that was the only reason. I never bothered with the second one at that point. When 3 came out, I decided to give it another shot, with Wii controls. It took me all of 30 minutes to get into the controls, after that, I loved it again. Now with them doing the trilogy with these controls, I can finally go back and get to see the story correctly. I still am hopeful for another "old school" metroid type of game, but as long as they keep these type of controls, I will never cry over another Prime game again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

metroid prime is better on the wii

posted by dude666 (FORT COLLINS, CO) Sep 29, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Something you may notice is im mostly an ptimist but ill try to rate to the best of my ability.

pros:

1. could have the best graphics out of the wii

2. Remastered graphics, hd{if you own hd wii cables},
widscreen and motion controls

3. there arent many hardcore games on the wii, I would say
this counts as a hardcore game. Especaily the third in series.

4. 3 times as long as most games and most if not all is
satisfying.

5. plenty of place to roam and go looking for upgrades or extras.

games are pretty satisfying but the second game can grow boring at times.

cons:

1. second game lacks some of the fun the first and third game has.

2. You have to find things out by yourself. I say thats a good thing but people can argue otherwise.

3. your always trying to acomplish something in the second game. always trying to get somewere, getting something.

4. third game is pretty short compared to others, but is regular play time compared to games other than metroid. You should be happy enough to have three games in one disk for the price of one though. Closest to a good first person shooter that it can be compared the other systems games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Metroid Prime Trilogy Review From Spaceman23

posted by Spaceman23 (BELLINGHAM, WA) Dec 15, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

At first I never played a Metroid game. I obtained my interest for the trilogy by playing Super Smash Bros. Brawl and then discovered this game. I waited weeks for this game and I recall being so excited when I got the game. That excitement didn't fade.

It was so great primarily because of the Wii's interactivity. It made me feel like I really was blowing stuff up and what not with the arm cannon. I enjoyed Metroid Prime 2's Multiplayer with a friend and loved the Wii's interactive puzzles of Metroid Prime 3.

Trust me If you rent this game you will not be dissapointed, You might be playing it for years and decide to own it. With it's unique storyline, Characters you will both love and hate, and incredible weaponry you will enjoy this game!!! Perfect for youtube filmers and etc.

All In all You won't be sorry that you rented or purchased this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Play it again, Samus

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Dec 4, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you like Metroid... well, you probably already played all three of these games. However, for the nostalgic and the Nintendo neophyte, the Metroid Prime Trilogy offers a staggering amount of content.
You'll explore the ancient Chozo ruins of Talon IV in Metroid Prime, search the light and dark worlds of Aether in Metroid Prime 2: Echoes and protect civilization from a massive phazon outbreak in Metroid Prime 3: Corruption. This is the first time Metroid Prime 1 and 2 have been on the Wii and Nintendo has left them mostly intact. While there are no improvements to presentation value, the controls have been revamped to be just like Corruption, making good use of the light sensor for targeting. In a smart move, all three games control the same now, so you can jump in and out of each one without getting disoriented.
Even though all three play the same, Corruption is far more cinematic. The graphics are also much improved, but don't detract from the value of the first two games.
Each of these games alone provide tons of content. Together they give players more adventuring goodness than you can shake a control stick at. And if you want to get 100% completion on each game, prepare to set aside a month or two.
Returning to these games was fun, but the real value is for people that never got their hands on them to begin with. If you're new to Nintendo, you have to play the Metroid Trilogy... period.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

good game

posted by eatspie31 (LOUISVILLE, KY) Nov 29, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

metroid prime trilogy is a excellent game, i highly recommend it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome!!

posted by wootdog (SEDALIA, MO) Nov 21, 2009

Member since May 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I should start by saying that I'm really not a fan of first person shooters as a category, but I'm hooked on Metroid!!

I have a hard time playing Metroid Hunter because of the small screen. (Yes, I'm an old guy! >sigh<) So if Nintendo creates an add-on to allow DS games to be played on the Wii (like the Gameboy Player allows GameBoy games to be played on the GameCube), I'm all over it!!

I only just started Metroid Prime 1, but I've already decided to buy the trilogy!! I found the controls quite intuitive! A very easy transition to the Wii!

My only complaint (and the reason for not giving it a 10) is that you can't lock onto what you're shooting at. This was my only real complaint with Metroid Prime 3.

Well...you CAN lock on with the Z button, but I'm not sure what that accomplishes because you still have to aim with the Wii-mote. Perhaps it keeps you from wandering away from your target. As I said, I only just started the game.

Oh...and the metal case?? I gotta have it!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good deal

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Sep 2, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

The last Metroid Prime for the wii was pretty amazing. And now that the trilogy is out, you have the perfect excuse to splurge for your wii. Im not sure if there were only 3 games for Metroid Prime, since i only played the most recent one, but it has some of the older ones too. The second game has multiplayer, but its only local mutiplayer so you can only play with your friends on one tv. The graphics are pretty good, especially with the most recent one. The story lines for the campaigns are really good. The controls are pretty good, but could be slightly better. I think there could be some more extras to this and thats why i didnt give it a perfect score, but its really nice and a really good deal to get three games for the price of one. Try it and if your a Metroid Prime fan buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Tough for Younger Kids

posted by pkck007 (CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA) Sep 12, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

3 out of 13 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

Wondefully well made game, but the only reason for note rating it higher is due to the fact that younger gamers find it difficult (our case). So, while it is a great game, it is above average in terms of difficulty and complexity for the younger gamer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Its just all 3 games

posted by shidowdawg (PORTAGE, IN) Aug 31, 2009

Member since Jul 2004

1 out of 14 gamers (7%) found this review helpful

If you played Metroid Prime 1,2,3 then what do you inspect. but The good thing about this is no more switching between 3 disk every thing is on one disk i like 1 and 3 and don't mind playing thru them again theirs nothing out good right now and it stalls until CODMW2 comes out and hope that halo ODST is good but if you have one of the 3 Metroid that you are working and but want to eventually play the other 2 then get it and no sweat play them when you get a chance if you have one and only one you like then don't bother. but other then that its still the great metroid that you know and love.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

metroid prime trilogy way to hard

posted by dudeguy (WALNUT CREEK, CA) Sep 16, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 43 gamers (2%) found this review helpful

its ethere me or am I buying realy hard video games this game is really awesome but most of the time if you dont get the weapon upgrade you pretty much have to restart the level after a few levels the game became extremely boring I mean the only reason I rented this is because it was as close as I could get to halo (I only have a wii) so i give this game a 2 so this game sucks dont get it dont even think about it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Possibly the Single Best Disc Made

posted by TheBlarghMan (LOOKOUT MOUNTAIN, GA) Aug 1, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

Metroid Prime Trilogy is an incredible collection of three of the best games ever released. These titles are absolute masterpieces, and are worth giving a try regardless of who you are. Incredible combat, fantastic exploration, and a masterful sense of atmosphere and pacing make these three titles a must try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

What More Could A Metroid Fan Ask For?

posted by HylianPlumber16 (SPRINGDALE, AR) Dec 25, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

This is an amazing package. You get three huge games all on one disc. If you are a Metroid fan and don't have this, you need to get it! The new wii controls for Metroid Prime and Metroid Prime 2 Echoes feel great. With the wii controls, you can see more of the world. Also, if you had trouble with particular bosses in Metroid Prime 2 Echoes, you might notice the difficulty was toned down ever so slightly. If you are wanting to give something new a try, pick up and play Metroid Prime Trilogy. Worth a rent no doubt!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse