Rent Metroid Prime Pinball for DS
view large frontback

Metroid Prime Pinball

Not Rentable
GF Rating
7.0

387 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Mushy physics, fun theme

posted by heimburg (ORLANDO, FL) Jun 21, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2005

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game starts out as a really pretty form of pinball, where you bop Samus (in morph ball form) around with flippers. This is probably the toughest part because the physics are a tad bit off compared to other pinball games. The ball doesn't always go where you'd expect it to. If this is your first pinball game, though, I don't think you'll even notice.

It gets better, though. By triggering various things on each level, you can play spontaneous mini-games. For instance, there's "rampage mode", where Samus returns to human form and starts gunning down enemies -- in this mode, she stands perfectly still and you just guide her aim, sort of like a turret.

Another example is the wall-jump mini-game, where you guide Samus up a wall by bouncing back and forth using the traditional Metroid joystick movements. If you're good at Metroid, you'll like this. If you aren't good at Metroid, it might be a while before you get the hang of it.

I would have given it a little higher score but for two things: first, it's kinda hard. You will be at it a while before you figure out how to get off the first level. Second, it crashed twice during my one-week rental. Maybe it was just a flaw in my cartridge, but it was frustrating. The second time it crashed, I lost my progress and had to start over from scratch... so I sent it back. Hopefully you'll have better luck.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Metroid Pinball, good or bad?

posted by Metroid3 (MORGANTOWN, WV) Dec 24, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

To my point of view,Metroid Pinball was good,not perfect. It is fun playing in Metroid enviorments but the fact that some are extremly hard (such as "PHAZON MINES") gave me too believe it was fun, but sometimes too hard. My true score is 9.6. I recomend this to all pinball,Metroid,and DS fans. If you rent then buy it ,it rocks. I had this game since 12/22/05. Trust me you have a 33% chance of not liking it ( if you are not a Metroid,pinball,or DS fan). In the game you play as Samus Aran,in Morph Ball mode! By earning letters of the word SAMUS you can blast bugs or enemies silly. In multiplayer you play in Magmor Mines only. In the final unlockable arena you play as chozo balls trying to make it in Phazon gaurdians. P.S If you need to find more hints look at CHEATS&CODES on the same page.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A mostly morph-ball exclusive

posted by imnopoet (NATCHITOCHES, LA) Aug 5, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

I've played most of the Metroid games; some good, some bad, a few amazing. This is one of the more original titles in the Metroid series. Morph ball and pinball seem like such a natural combination, it's amazing this hasn't happened before!

The good news is that there are a few boards that are primarily score based. These boards are inventive and have progressively difficult skill challanges. These boards are quick, and great for those people that don't have hours to invest per gaming session. The variety is cool: there is a spot where Samus changes out of morph ball and you get to shoot at some minor enemies. Some of the challanges are unbalanced, however. One of the enemies is able to grab and hold Samus and spit her out directly at the space between the paddles, effectively killing one of your turns unless you have a shield in place.

The bad news is the "boss" levels. You get one turn to try to kill an over-sized bad guy along with some metroid/space pirates minions to get in your way and drain your health. The minions can be affected by using the bomb function, but it is a clunky feature that feels tacked-on. The bosses are capable of attacks that not only hurt Samus, but drastically change her direction. Often the change of direction involves a flash, so that you can't tell where Samus is until it's too late to do anything about it. The frustration level quickly rises until you stop to go back to the first two boards.

Don't get me wrong, this is a fun game. It has its problems, but it is a good game. The physics work realistically; you can play this game without the tilt function at all (I did). In my opinion, there are not enough boards, but the ones there are fun, varied, and challanging. This is recommended for any fan of pinball, and you don't need to be a Metroid fan at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

fun road trip game

posted by caseman96 (SAN JOSE, CA) Aug 20, 2008

Member since Dec 2005

This game is great for road trips. It is always a great way to pass time on those long road trips because scoring big and not losing all of your balls in 10 minuies is fun anytime I say. It's also great because it's a pinball game you will never play. The unrealism of it makes it all worthwhile.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not a great Pinball Game

posted by lsafford34 (CALDWELL, ID) Aug 4, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

I spent more time killing aliens than actually really playing pinball - it is ok as a rental wouldn't purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Cool Pinball game

posted by dabluesman (ALEXANDRIA, VA) May 24, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

This game is good. It starts off pretty challenging, but it can definitely be mastered given enough time. It's cool to have a pinball game where right in the middle, the ball opens up, you become Samus, and blow up some enemies, then return to ball form and play some more pinball. It's great for both the Metroid factor and great for the solid pinball feel it has. The game really could do with a bit more variety in the boards, in my opinion, but the boards they provide are well thought out, laid out, and developed. The multiplayer is probably the weakest part of the game, but honestly, it is weird complaining about a pinball game's multiplayer abilities (really, now, who gets a pinball game for multiplayer?). The multiplayer was most likely an afterthought, and it was treated as such during its development (looks to me like it was a proof of concept that someone decided "heck, why not slap it in the game?"). However, when you play pinball, it is for the single player mode, and Metroid Pinball delivers a fun game that can keep a video pinball player very happy. Those that like Metroid on to of that (like I do) will find it only that much more enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst game i ever played

posted by Agenthalo3 (HONOLULU, HI) Sep 20, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

The graphics is horrible and also the gameplay

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Short But Fun

posted by JAlexander (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Aug 28, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

Metroid Prime Pinball is a perfect example of genre-jumping done right. The pinball tables look fantastic and feel true to the original game. My only complaint is that there are but 2 tables in earnest, accompanied by several simplified "Boss" tables.

The mission mode is long enough when you have to play through all the tables consecutively, but only having two actual tables leaves a lot to be desired in terms of replay value. Nearly every area of the original Metroid Prime is accounted for here in table form, with the puzzling exception of Magmoor Caverns. I would have greatly enjoyed a lava-themed table, as idea seems to lend itself naturally to pinball possibilities.

Metroid Prime Pinball provides excellent graphics and sound wrapped in an attractive Samus theme. The pinball physics and table layouts are spot-on. This game is sure please any pinball or metroid fan. The only downside is that there isn't more to this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Metroid Prime Pinball

posted by Spartan93 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Sep 11, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

The game I didn't like so much. I mostly like it because of the graphics and how you can turn into normal Samus and fire at enemies and bosses like you would on a machine gun turret. Most other pinball games aren't like this one. I also got it because I'm a fan of Metroid.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Weak Multiplayer

posted by KevmoS (ELGIN, IL) Sep 1, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

Personally, I play games for the multiplayer capabilities, and I was disappointed with Metroid Pinball's. You play one table and try to get the highest score, then it's over. No progression, no passing of elements back and forth.

The game itself is very high-quality. The Metroid theme works extremely well for a pinball game. The physics are solid, the characters are interesting. There are unique elements that I've never seen in a pinball game before.

For me personally, non of the tables made me want to play the game over and over again. But that's just a personal feeling. I'm sure others would enjoy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

No Story, but still fun.

posted by GuitarJon (YORKTOWN, VA) Aug 17, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

This game is pretty fun, aside from some of the drawbacks.

When you start up this game, there's no real storyline (aside from the Metroid basic), and it immediately just starts you in on playing pinball. It's neat, because it's fast paced and has tons of in-game extras you can earn, like Phazon Balls, Wall Jumping, etc. But some things you don't know unless you find out what to do yourself, like the Power Bomb or Missiles.

But, it's still a fun and addicting game, like all Pinball.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »