Rent Metroid Prime: Hunters for DS
view large frontback

Metroid Prime: Hunters

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.3

1421 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome Shooting Adventure

posted by wordwithin (MCHENRY, MD) Jul 18, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

13 out of 15 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

Pros:
-good amount of gameplay
-many cool weapons at your disposal
-lush environments even for the ds
-wifi connections/up to three players can battle it out for victory
-sweet touch screen ability allowing for easy and smooth navigation and aiming
-good amount of medium-difficulty puzzles
-detailed rivals who are somewhat hard to kill
-bosses at the end of each world
-portable metroid prime/take it anywhere

Cons:
-when you are using the directional pad and shooting with the left trigger, your hand may seem to cramp up over a long period of time
-levels seem somewhat too short and sequenced
-some may "not" be able to get used to the freehand play in Metroid Prime:Hunters

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Simply Amazing!

posted by Johannes (WILKESBARRE, PA) Apr 14, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

34 out of 42 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

This game is incredible, and if you don't play it, you are seriously missing out.

Graphics: I have never seen such good graphics on the DS. Being able to put these graphics in, along with so many extras gives this game a bonus point from me. That's all I can say here.

Game play: The game play is great. Wifi omitted nothing, and made the game much better. There were around 27 stages, and 7 hunters to play as, each with there own effect. I won't go into it in detail, but basically, every hunter has their own weapon. Everyone can use those weapons, but the hunter that specializes in that weapon gets an upgraded version of it. Also no effects outweigh the others. There are enough checks and balances to keep each hunter equal, or close to it. the controls are strange, but not overly hard to get used to. Being able to cram in all of these extras in, along with the graphics gives a bonus point, as I have said in the above section. Not a single complaint from me here.

Length: The game is far too short. Though the single player is in no way the main focus of the game, I must be fair and take a point off here.

Sound: Very good. The sound is good in both battles and explorations. No complaints here.

Story: Though the story is not too good, it takes a terrible story to get me to take a point off.

Graphics: -0
Game play: -0
Length: -1
Sound: -0
Story: -0
Bonus Point: +1

Ten minus zero equals 10. Final score: 10/10

Buy, Rent, or Ignore: I say you should buy this game. If you're sure about it, and this did not persuade you out of it, then rent the game, but I still say you should buy it. Do not ignore this game, whatever you do. Even me, someone who is terrible at shooting games, loves this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

In one word, excellent.

posted by KohanX (POULSBO, WA) May 15, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

12 out of 15 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I must say, I enjoyed this game to its fullest. The graphics are exceptional, and have never lagged in all of my playing. The sounds can get a little redundant, but anyone who's played any First-Person Shooter can live with that. The music is fantastic. The enemy AI is almost too efficient (note efficient, not difficult), and makes them seem less human, but they're fine. The inclusion of several other hunters makes this game very versatile, especially with multiplayer gameplay. Due to special affinities each character has, their 'signature weapon' has some sort of bonus to that character.

Online play has only improved the game's fun factor, especially with the Rival Radar (close your DS and take it places and other people with the Rival Radar on will become your rival, then when you get home, check your rivals) and friends-only voice chatting. For some, it's a way of showing your skills on the battlefield. For others, it's a humbler when they find a superior enemy. Regardless of its effect, a jar of fun in every game is assured.

A great deal of strategy comes into play in this game, just as in the other Prime games. Many people consider this game much more action-oriented than anything else, and it is. But that doesn't mean you don't have to think, and in fact, it's quite the contrary.

I don't know what these other people are on about, but the control scheme is fabulous. It's just like being at home on the computer with a mouse and keyboard. Locking-on was removed, but how many First-Person Shooters beside the first two Primes had a lock-on feature? You have such precise, yet when needed, reflexive aiming, and I tell you, that can come in handy when sniping.

Metroid Prime: Hunters is a game you won't want to miss. Words alone cannot describe the feeling of being there, and nothing can tell you if a game is good or not, save playing it yourself. If you don't play this game, I assure you that you're missing out, good game or not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Metroid Prime Hunters Misses the Target

posted by GameSpider (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Apr 28, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

The thrill of seeing Metroid Prime on the DS screen was short lived. The music is great. The graphics are great. The game is not because of the horrible controls. Aiming at enemies accurately is hard, if not almost impossible to do. Your only hope is to basically do a shotgun pattern--keep shooting in a general area until you get a hit.

This is not how a shooter should be. While I give Nintendo high marks on production value, the game controls bring the fun of the game way down. Maybe they'll improve on this next time around.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Metriod prime- Over-ruling the Hype

posted by cementsock (COVINGTON, LA) Apr 15, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

24 out of 33 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

I recieved metriod prime from gamefly recently, and I must say I was fairly surprised. It was a good game overall, for me. A good handheld FPS is very uncommon at the least. However, this lacked many elements. Let me explain.

First, the nitpicky details. This game was fairly glitchy. There were points in the game where if you looked up, the screen would split into off-color glitchy bars. I thought this was just the cartrige, but my friend's version did the same thing. Shame, shame, nintendo! Also, the doors were unusually difficult to open. Sometimes I spent upwards of 20 seconds shooting at a door 4 or 5 times, and that's rediculous when they're supposed to open is 2-3 seconds.

Next is something that bugged me personally- respawning enemies. Whenever you left a room and came back, all the enemies were regenerated. This bugs me, especially thanks to another annoying game element: You must RE-TRACE every map several times to complete the game. This means getting lost over and over in the SAME mazes, and refighting the SAME monotonus enemies. Still, for the game designers' sakes, the AI was quite good.

The mission mode was ok, but what saved this game for me was the multiplayer mode. This is so amazing and fun, I could do it all day. You get numerous characters to use, each with unique abilities, and it is an amazing experience for me.

Back to one player, though, the story mode was pretty fun. There is little to no replay-value in it if you ask me, however. I didn't like the default controls at all, but luckily there are a pleathora of control modes to choose from. These redeemed this great FPS.

In conclusion, this is pretty Good. Heck, I'd play it. 7 out of 10, but please, nintendo, WORK HARDER!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Clunky controls hold this game back

posted by xvolution (SEVIERVILLE, TN) May 21, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This could have been a really good game if it wasn't for the horrible controls. Nintendo could have easily used a control scheme similar to Metroid Prime 1/2, with the selection of weapons/visors left to the touch screen. I barely made it through the first boss before I threw my DS Lite down in disgust.

A game can have many features that bring it above the rest, but if the controls for the game are terrible, then the entire game suffers from it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Metroid? Not really.

posted by Cabrill (Roy, UT) May 18, 2006

Member since Apr 2004

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is barely even a Metroid game in any form. I could tell after playing through Metroid Prime and Metroid Prime: Echoes where they were headed but with Hunters the transition is complete from action-adventure to pure FPS. Now it's indistinguishable from any other FPS on the market, except it has more platforming than most. Even the enemies in the single player game were basically just deathmatch AI. The sole times I fought something other than a random deathmatch AI as a boss it was just a huge pillar you had to circle strafe. I'm sure having a FPS that controls this well on a portable system is a feat unto itself, but if you're here looking for more classic Metroid content in the vein of Super Metroid, Metroid: Fusion, Metroid: Zero Mission or even to some degree Metroid Prime look elsewhere. The single player experience is a spectre of it's former glory.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good Game Overall but something missing

posted by Krisss (HOFFMAN ESTATES, IL) Apr 12, 2006

Member since May 2005

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

I think that this game is really fun to play among your friends but on wifi sometimes it gets way too hard. they should add a feature where if you have a nintendo account it should rate you on your gameplay by linking your nintendo ds wifi Id and then you can play by the skill lever you are at. Anyways getting back to the game the microphone feature is cool when you can talk back and forth between players before and after games but they shoule make a headseat for ds and also it should be able to use during gameplay too. Overall the game is fun on wifi too but make sure you find people who have lost sometimes. that way you can have more fun instead of getting beat all of the time. Oh and the graphics are okay for a handheld game but what nintendo ds is missing is a anlog stick like on the psp. first person shooters would be way more fun if it had an anolog stick.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good game ruined by bad controls

posted by kornhornio (BRENTWOOD, CA) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Dec 2003

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The concept and gameplay of the game are very good, as you can see by reading anyone else's review. However, the controls are *horrible*. Sure they're intuitive and all that, but they're also cramp-inducing.

Most of the DS games I've played that make heavy use of the stylus do not require you to use your left hand to press buttons or directions very much, so that hand is basically there to hold the DS while you play with the stylus. On the other hand, games that involve a lot of button pressing usually do so with both hands, so the DS is supported by both hands. In the case of Metroid Prime Hunters, you're expected to support the DS with your left hand while also trying to move your character, and you have to use the stylus in your other hand to attempt to aim at the enemies. For someone with hints of carpal tunnel, this is not a pleasurable experience.

That brings me to my other problem with the controls. Part of what made the Metroid Prime games on the Gamecube work well was the lock-on feature. You could easily strafe around enemies and concentrate on dodging their attacks, just like playing any FPS game on the PC with a keyboard and mouse. For some reason, they thought it was a good idea to replace the lock-on feature with the stylus. That was a very bad decision in my opinion. I ended up spending half my time just trying to keep enemies on the screen, let alone in my line of fire.

What about the other control mode, then? The one where the A/B/X/Y buttons are used in place of the stylus? Aside from the sheer awkwardness of that mode, there is still the problem of having to use the touch screen to select weapons, change forms, and use the scan visor. There are no buttons for these actions.

It hurts me to write this review because I really do love the Metroid series. Here's hoping for another portable side-scroller Metroid in the future.

Graphics/Sound: 8/10
Gameplay: 7/10
Controls: 3/10
Overall: 6/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

well...

posted by Shazoo (TITUSVILLE, FL) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Jun 2004

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the controls are what make this game more of a disappointment in the gameplay. It comes out frustrating unless you're able to easily switch from holding the DS with 2 fingers and moving your thumb from the pad to the screen to change weapons etc. The game might be worth a rental but dont waste your money purchasing it, most of you will find right after the first stage, not being able to save until the end of the stages and other frustrating features, that you'll put down the game and just put back in the metroid pinball.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One word: Wow.

posted by rockinfect (MONTCLAIR, NJ) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I know, you're skeptical because I gave Metroid Prime Hunters a 10. However, this game is literally, in every sense of the word, perfect. A good handheld FPS (first person shooter) comes around once in a blue moon. However, NST has finally got it right.
First of all, the graphics are absolutely spectacular. The Nintendo DS was originally planned to have 64-bit graphics, like the N64. But, to quote IGN, "I don't remember any Nintendo 64 game EVER looking this good." It's just that simple.
That said, it's time to move on to the actual meat of the game: the gameplay. Single-player, that is. Metroid Prime Hunters does not deviate from the well-known franchise that is Metroid. Although in 3D, the gameplay itself is extremely reminiscent of the past games. It's not only nostalgic, it's insanely fun. From running through hallways, frantically switching your weapons and blasting away to turning into your morph-ball to navigate special 2D puzzles, it's all amazing.
Now, this is where this review gets interesting: Wi-fi. This game's online mode is, simply put, mind blowing. Players can add other players' friend codes to their 'buddy list' of sorts, and duke it out online. Also, text messaging is possible, and, get this, VOICE CHAT. The voice chat is also astounding. It works similar to a walkie-talkie, and works perfectly.
If a player doesn't have friend codes, they can do a 'find game' mode, where they are randomly matched up with up to three other players. They choose characters, and each select an arena. One is randomly selected to play in.
There is also a Hunter's Liscense, or an application that tracks all of your online stats. How many games you won, haow many times you disconnected in game, the works. You can also view other friends' Liscenses.
FINAL VERDICT
Overall- The best game on any console, ever. That's saying something. In fact, why are you still reading this? BUY IT NOW!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not quite there...

posted by BiffBird (WEST PLAINS, MO) Nov 30, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The graphics, sound and environments were great. The controls were a little hairy but once you get used to them they work well enough. Multiplayer was good too.

Where this game falls short is the single player mode, falls flat on its face would be a better description. Once you've played the first 'level' you've pretty much seen the game. They change the environments, but that's about it. Each level is pretty much the same thing over and over and over...

Rent it if you have a chance and give it a shot, but don't buy it and don't expect it to live up to the Metroid name.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Really Really fun.

posted by KOTORman (EDMONDS, WA) Apr 17, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Gameplay:
This isn't the high point of the game. The controls are my biggest problem. They are really hard to get right. I tried it with the touch screen and with the d-pad. I use the d-pad because it is a little bit easyer. You have to go to your ship to save in the singleplayer. This game isn't gonna make you jump at a great stroy but there is one. Okay, a bunch a bounty hunters with anger ishues want to steal artifacts known as Oktolithes. (spelling?) Naturally Samus Arran must get then first. Just one quick question, when will we get to play as other peoples in single player. The gameplay is really hard and the boss fights are hard as 10 hells but really rewarding.

Graphics:
There a number of nicly rendered cut scenes to watch and they are all visually pleasing. The in game graphics are amazing and out do them selfs for a DS title.

Sound:
There is little voice acting to be had, but the music is really well done. It changes as you go into battle, as you run and each boss has there own music and style.

Value:
Wi-FI peoples. 4 people online with no friend code stuff required. You get all of the normal modes of gameplay. If you just do random search you can only play in death match, but if get the friend code stuff you can play the other modes and voice chat! This is Nitendo's first step into online gaming. Other than that the single player is nice and long. You can scan things so you can go back after you beat it and get the ones you missed.

Result:8

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Controls

posted by dust899 (DAMASCUS, OR) Jan 13, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The controls in this game are VERY anoying. even if you switch to something you thing will not involve the stylist it does so you have to constintly be using it just to do some basic things. Shooter games are not ment for hand held devises.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Awful controls

posted by achellios (ROCKVILLE, MD) Nov 17, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

After five minutes of playing, I had a cramp in my wrist and a strong urge to shotput my DS into traffic. You use the + pad to advance, strafe, or retreat, while using the touch screen to look around. This control scheme works fine for Xbox for PS2 but completely sucks on DS.

Don't bother with this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

THIS GAME IS HORRIBLE!

posted by vertigo95 (BRIDGEVILLE, PA) Jul 27, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Honestly, when I was out looking for games, and I saw this game, I was excited about getting it. Considering how great the metroid prime games are, I thought that this game would be great too. I was sort of right. As I began playing, I kind of liked the game. The controls on the game were OK for the DS. But after the first level, the game went downhill. The levels are incredibly repetitive. Besides, after every boss, the place self-destructs and you have to get back to your ship. It gets really boring after 1 hour. The multiplayer is fine because you can play as all the different hunters, but overall, this game stunk.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Way too many controls

posted by Capdain (SAN JOSE, CA) Mar 11, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Ok, I like the idea for this game, a first person shooter on the DS, among all of the horrible DS games out there.

I just did not have enough fingers to be able to play this game. I had the DS in my hand. I had to try to jump with one of the fingers around the DS, then with my other hand I had to keep my thumb on the buttons and then try to press the "R" button to fire. Way too complex. It was way too hard, to even play, as fun as it seemed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bad Controls and Bad Graphics.

posted by GREU50ME (BECKLEY, WV) May 7, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I wanted to like this game, but it has pixels everywhere and the controls were awful. It's to a point where you need TINY hands to play it. Otherwise, you end up bending your left index finger so much that it will cramp. This is a DS game? I think the gameboy color could do a better job on graphics.

Most of the DS games I have played will suck you in. This one will just suck.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Deplorable controls - returned it the same day

posted by bebones (BLOOMFIELD, NJ) Jul 22, 2006

Member since Mar 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Whoever thought that using the shoulder buttons, directional pad, and the stylus simultaneously would be a good idea for this game should be taken into the street and shot. Twenty minutes into playing this game, my wrist was in so much pain that I could hardly seal the envelope and put this garbage game back into the mailbox. The game may have had a decent storyline. If you can take the painfully awful controls, you may be able to find out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A disgrace to the series

posted by insanty101 (DAYTON, NJ) Aug 25, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

In all the metroid games before it there was a basic plot line start the game get power ups, beat bosses, etc. however the mixture of awkward controls and bad graphics and unclear objectives makes you want to stop before reaching the first power up. Or in my case I made it to beating the first boss. This is a game that was so bad I got and returned in the same day. Renting or buying this game is a waist of time and money that could be spent playing a better game, or just any other game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pure classic gaming

posted by Kagenin (ROCKLIN, CA) Apr 18, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Metroid Prime changed the familiar Metroid formula up quite a bit, but the change was for the better. Samus looked a lot better 3D rendered.

You'd think shoehorning a Console FPS into a handheld would be very inelegant, and difficult to play. Well, if your handheld was as limited as a PSP, it would be (jeez, I don't even wanna think about that...). But if you had a touchscreen and fast solid-state memory instead of a clunky optical disc reader (what was Sony thinking, anyway...), you're in business. Your stylus is like Samus's right arm. It fits like a glove, so to speak.

Good luck finding multiplayer gaming of this calibre on PSP. Finding a game over WFC is a breeze. The action is fast, furious, and mighty satisfying pwning little twirps over the internet.

Mandatory gaming. Get it. Love it. Thank me later.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A great addition to a great series.

posted by samcar455 (CHATSWORTH, CA) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game was very fun for me after playing against my friend on download play I was hooked.

What's New:
1)New control system involving the stylus.
2)WiFi multiplayer and it is awesome.
3)New characters in the multiplayer mode.
4)Great selection of maps for multiplayer.

Explanation of What's New:
1)It is pretty cool. It takes some practice to aim well, but after getting used to it it works seamlessly. But, after an hour or two your hand can start cramping up and after enough times this could lead to carpal tunnel. This is bad for me, because after an hour I have to stop for about thirty minutes.
2)Nintendo did well with their WiFi. It is fun, great way of recording stats and keeps a level system so you don't fight a guy who can kill you as soon as you respawn. There are some long wait times for getting other players, but its not too bad.
3)For the first time you can choose another character then Samus Aran. This is cool because it gives the multiplayer diversity and each character has a difference in the alt form. Each character has a weapon that they get an advantage with. For example Samus' missiles will lock on to a character, but for other characters it wont lock on. It just goes straight.
4) There is a great selection of maps. It has big and small maps and they are very fun and balanced.

Graphics, Gameplay and etc.
The graphics are some of the best on the DS. The cut scene graphics are amazing for the DS and the in-game graphics aren't half bad either.
The gameplay is fast and fun, the movement is easy to use and the action is always intense in multiplayer mode. The singleplayer mode is fun and tough. The one problem with the single player is that it is too short. I beat it in eight hours. For me it is fine but for some this may be quite a set back.

Final Thoughts:
This was a very fun game, in multi and single player mode. The new controls are fun and fresh. For a FPS fan this is great game. And the multiplayer is just awesome!

Sincerely
~samcar455~

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good for a minut.

posted by kratos305 (CULVER CITY, CA) Apr 16, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The game is definetly fun and exciting. the grafics are incredibal for a handheld and the controls arnt too dificult. i guess my only beef with the game was the lack of save points and the suprisingly bad level desine. i got throu two bosses without seeing a save piont anywhere. Also, i know that they did this to speed up the game, but i miss having to serch for all my abilatys. Anyway the game is fun nomater what you think. thats why i gave it a 7.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best ever

posted by gamemaster (WARNER ROBINS, GA) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

metroid prime hunters is the best,plus I love how the wifi lets you chat with people,but I think there should be some kind of beam that stops enemies in thier tracks,or something like that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Let Me Down

posted by pikirbyio (TOMS RIVER, NJ) Jul 7, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

Metroid Prime Hunters was not what I expected. It is not much like the other Prime games. I still can't figure out if this has any story or not and I sent it back before finishing. It was not worth my time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse