Rent Metroid Prime 3: Corruption for Wii
view large frontback

Metroid Prime 3: Corruption

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.9

8384 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Hands Down

posted by MrMetroid (KANSAS CITY, MO) Aug 29, 2007

Member since Aug 2005

28 out of 30 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

This game is quite possibly the best FPS that will ever grace the Wii. That's a large statement for a FPS that doesn't feature multiplayer, or online capabilities in any way. The controls feel very natural, enough to make you wonder why other games on the Wii have jittery or skip-like controls. The story, it's great, fantastic from the start. Even if you don't enjoy the previous prime games, or other FPS's you should at least play the game. The work that Retro Studios put into this game is immense. The graphics are fantastic, lighting and shading are done quite nicely as well. The music fits perfectly. Anyone with any respect for the Wii should rent or buy it. Best game of the prime trilogy. Best FPS for the Wii. In my opinion, best game for the Wii, yes better than Twilight Princess. Best review I've ever given, hands down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Metroid a satisfying first-person shooter

posted by Maxcat (BETHESDA, MD) Jun 18, 2009

Member since May 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I started this game and immediately felt like I could have really been Samus. This game's best feature is the way it makes you feel like you are in the game, because it uses the wiimote and nunchuk like your left and right arm. With the wiimote, you shoot things and move the camera. With the nunchuk, you move, grappel and more. I really liked the fact that the creators didn't slack on detail in the environment and characters. I give this game an 8 because the only problem was that this game was slightly too hard to figure out. I know it is supposed to be hard to figure out, but it was just a little too challenging. Overall, this game is worth trying, and if you like it like I do, it is worth buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game is Amazing!

posted by monomarth (PALMDALE, CA) Aug 28, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

44 out of 53 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This game has beautiful graphics,outstanding game play,wonderful controls,and a great story.I haven't used my wii in a couple of month,well until I got this game I am hooked.I have never played a game so fun the wiis controls are the best controls I have ever use it is a very interactive environment.The game play couldn't be any more perfect it is very smooth and detailed(unlike most wii games)it also a lot of fun and the length of this game will keep you occupied for a long time.The graphics are simply gorgeous I have not see a shooter like this in a very long time.Alls I can really say is great job Nintendo for another AMAZING game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Finally, A Wii FPS that rocks!

posted by Kral402 (GRANDVILLE, MI) Sep 25, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

12 out of 14 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Hands down probably the best game out for the Wii right now. The controls are tricky, only at first. After an hour or two you'll be running around like you had a mouse and keyboard. Lots of puzzles to solve, upgrades to acquire, worlds to explore, creatures to kill and plenty of good boss fights. The graphics are amazing, i didn't know a game on the Wii could look so good. Why has Nintendo been lacking soooo much on graphics when a game can look like this? Anyway, i have nothing but love for this sequel to Metroid. It made a good game even better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

feels like the frist real wii game

posted by mars188 (BRISTOW, OK) Aug 31, 2007

Member since Dec 2003

13 out of 18 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

metroid 3 feels like the frist real wii game and not a portover. i love the characters talking in the game, this is 2007 and all games should have the characters talking makes it more real. the graphics are great and the boss fights are great. i like the side effects in the game like people getting sucked out of the ship when there is a battle going on with the pirates attacking it makes it feel like you are there. metroid does have a hard learning curve but give the game time its worth it. and i love SAMUS great hero great fighter, so buy the game its hard to go wrong with metroid 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Prime Example of Metroid, and FPS Goodness!

posted by lazygamer (Northridge, CA) Aug 30, 2007

Member since Jan 2003

10 out of 14 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

For years, PC enthusiasts have mocked console control schemes for lack of control when compared to the keyboard and mouse setup. Inverted right analog aiming has been the best we could get, whether it be Xbox, PS2, 360, etc...Well, not anymore. The controls, once the biggest concern with this game is actually perfect. You can circle strafe, locked-on or not, free aim, you have it all. New players can tweak it similar to Metroid Prime controls, but really why bother? Anything less than "Advanced" controls" and you're cheating yourself. But be warned: motion sickness may set-in if you are not used to this much free movement.
So the controls are great, but what does that matter if the game isn't? Trust me, it is. The graphics are great, pushing the Wii finally over into true "Next Gen" quality (instead of looking like recycled Gamecube or Xbox styles).
Voice work is inspired, as are the familiar Metroid sound effects, spruced-up Wii style (the Metroid theme and discovery music are all intact).
New to the scene are unlockable extras, purchased via tokens obtained by performing certain "Achievements" (360, I'm looking slightly in your direction). For example scanning certain enemies or shooting the training droid to "juggle" will earn these tokens and inform you on screen of your "Achievement" (see the theme?). However, I did not see a "Zero Suit" unlockable...
Alas, no multiplayer, but did you really have that much fun playing "Hunters"? It was always about Samus, even though some new bounty hunters do join up with her Justice-League style in this game.
Rent it, keep it, buy it. Do what you must, but if you own a Wii, play this. Come on, MY WIFE wants to play this (and she can, since your game is attached to your Mii, or in 360 terms, your "Profile")!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST WII GAME OUT!

posted by Shadow12 (FOUNTAIN, CO) Aug 29, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I have this game and let me tell tell you that its the best metroid game ever.I thought that the graphics were pretty good, and I love hyper mode. It enchances your power making it easy to kill some baddies.I also think that shooting was awesome.I simply love it,problem is that the cursor can sometimes blend in with the backround but I lived with it.The best thing is voice acting!I love how they now put voice actors now.Point is the game is simply amazing and its worth a buy.Perfect

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Metroid Prime 3

posted by beast22 (Minneapolis, MN) Jul 21, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game was a very fun game and had an exellent story line. This is a very confusing game, many of the puzzles that they give you are very hard to figure out but it is a very long game with a lot of powerups that you can get so it makes the game more and more fun as you get through the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

First Metroid game I've played and I loved it

posted by lincolnhay (ASTORIA, NY) Mar 24, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Being new to the Metroid universe, I didn't know what to expect from this game. I knew of Samus from Smash Bros. as she's my favorite character to play. I was very please with this rental from the first level. There's lots to do in each level - scanning, objects to destroy, plenty of enemies - so I was never bored playing it. My complaints with this game are only two: movement which engaged in battle and the increasing difficulty of the game.
The movement in battle is sticky as when you are locked on a target, you can't turn your body around. Makes sense, but you frequently lose the lock and the target moves around you and you can't follow. Also, she can't run. Very annoying when being bombarded from above. You can't even run to shelter or to get a health powerup.
The difficulty of the game, like every game, increase with each level. Though not in the "oh, I'm further on, this is getting tough," but in the sense of, "How the heck do I do this?!" At one point, you have to achieve your objective while enemies infintely respawn. Difficult? YES. The objectives are hard enough without getting shot, but there's now way to clear the area without achieving the objective. And also, new enemies and the tacics for them are not explained. I had to use a walkthrough just to know where to shoot several of the bosses.
But all in all, it was a fun game and I really enjoyed how well they integrated the Wii controls into the game. Very well done.
I have the game an 8, as did GameFly. Rent this!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I could marry it (sorry if im freaking you out)

posted by regguy43 (BARRINGTON, RI) Oct 25, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is awsome, the only thing that is slightly flawed is when you have to pull levers to start your ship or open doors it sometimes doesn't work. Besides that, this is probebly one of the best games i have ever played in my 14 years of life. The storyline is great the ending really suprises you and finally!!!! YOU CAN ACTULLY TALK TO PEOPLE!!!!!!!!!! If your a metroid prime fan i highly suggest buying it, i bought it the first time i saw it and i was not dissapointed!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Where to start?

posted by Strongbad1 (ALTAMONTE SPRINGS, FL) Sep 1, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is the ultimate game for Wii. Renting is not an option. this is a must-buy kind of title. Even if you beat single-player mode, you can still go back and unlock stuff like a Mii-bobble head or a screen-shot feature. It also uses WiiConnect24 to send friend vouchers (Must be done to unlock certain things).
The graphics on this game are definitely the best on Wii. On top of that, this is the first metroid game to feature voice acting! The controls take a little getting used to, but when you do get used to them, they are the best of any console shooter (In my opinion).
All in all, this game is equal to, or better than Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess. This game may not be for everyone however, and beating the first two before playing this game is a good Idea.
You will probably need a guide if you want to beat the first two quickly. (good function to know when looking on an online faq: control+F)

Graphics: 10
Controls: 10
Presentation: 10
Sound: 9.7
Features: 9.4

All in all: 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This is a keeper

posted by billychaos (PITTSBURGH, PA) Aug 31, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I rented this game from gamefly and I don't think i'm sending it back. Forget about anything you heard about wii controls so far and play Metroid Prime 3.

I find the controls better than a mouse and keyboard. Mainly because your wrist is a lot faster than your hand is moving a mouse. Playing this game makes me feel like such a pro at FPS. Unfortunately, there is no way to put that to the test. The lack of multiplayer is the only negative thing I have to say about the game.

The story so far is quite interesting for those who have played any previous metroid titles. I can only hope other game developers follow suit on these awesome controls for a FPS on the Wii. Excellent job Retro studios and Nintendo!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Wii game out now.

posted by LambOfGod (ANAHEIM, CA) Aug 30, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Great graphics for the Wii. Amazing gameplay. Great controls for a fps on the Wii. just all around great game. buy or rent now!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game with a few Minor Flaws

posted by DolfanDon (PITTSBURGH, PA) Oct 8, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I have mixed emotions about this game. The game itself is laid out well, and plays good. There are a few things that hold it back from perfection, however.
First and foremost the graphics are amazing. They are the best thing I've seen on the Wii so far. Stylistic and gorgeous, they almost take away the desire to see the crispness of HD that the other two current-gen consoles offer.

The controls are a mixed bag for me. Yes pointing to aim is very cool. And works well. There are a few things wrong with it however. First of all, it's entirely too easy to accidently point the wii-mote in the wrong direction and all of the sudden the room is spinning in circles. What I mean is that if you point (or tilt) the controller to the right just a little your view changes. The sensitivity can be turned down, but then you can't aim as fast from one enemy to the next. Also, you can't look the whole way up to the ceiling... You can look about 3/4 of the way up a wall but can not look straight above you. A locking on aiming feature would be good as well, but not necessarry. The last complaint is that I just couldn't play this game for real long. My wrist starts hurting from holding the wii-mote out in front of me with a steady arm for too long. Even resting it on my knee only seemed to help for a little. After an hour of gaming my hands were sore.

The gameplay itself (as well as presentation) is top notch. The gameplay switches from the Metroid Prime norm by being more linear. Yes there is still some exploring to do, but this chapter of the saga seems more interested in reflex shooting than in exploring. (which is what normally pulls one into a Metroid game) Yes it still has that Metroid flavor to it, and exploring is important--just not as important as it was in previous installations.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Wii game by far

posted by knetworx (CRAWFORDSVILLE, IN) Sep 4, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This is by far the best game I've seen for the Wii so far. The graphics do an amazing job for 480p, the controls give you excellent gameplay, and the challenges require you to think just enough to keep you fully engaged.

Ever since I played Medal of Honor: Vanguard, I knew the Wii had the potential to be a great FPS console, but Metroid Prime 3 totally nailed it. The default controls are set up so perfectly that there is no need for different configurations. Passcodes, levers, and other objects in the environment that you can interact with make full use of the Wii's motion-sensing capabilities.

When I play a game, I like to think a little, but at the same time, it's still a game, so I don't want to go crazy trying to figure out what to do next. The puzzles in Metroid Prime 3 keep your mind active, but not so much that you aren't able to relax and enjoy the experience of playing.

The only complaint (sort of) I have is that, from now on, every time I play a game on the Wii, I'll be comparing its controls and gameplay to this game, and I'm afraid any others just won't stack up.

Oh yeah, and allowing you to "buy" unlockables with tokens you earn throughout the game is an awesome idea. Earning tokens by researching enemies and objects in the environment allows you to immerse yourself in the world as much, or as little, as you want.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

didn't meet expectations

posted by madcapr (CHESTERFIELD, VA) Sep 11, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Maybe I expected too much. I like the game, but I'm still not totally hooked after 4 or 5 hours of gameplay. The story is okay, but not overly engaging. The controls are very good, but I don't like the fact that the weapon is a single shot mechanism. There are several times in the game where you will grow tired of the "button mashing" frenzy required to dispose of certain enemies. The graphics are good, but not great by today's standards. Everything seems to lack enough detail to really make it look believable. The difficulty of the game is almost perfect, though. It is enough to make the game challenging and keep things interesting. All in all, an above average game, but not worth all the hype, in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Really great but very hard and confusing

posted by Bloos1RP (FOOTHILL RANCH, CA) Sep 8, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Metroid Prime 3 is probably one of the best game of the Metroid series.
The Good: Great graphics, Great moves and Power ups, Insted of using a control you could just point and shot at the enemy.
The Bad: really hard, Most of the times they don't tell you what to do whenever it's trying to beat a boss or Looking for Something, Doors May take awhile to open.
Other then That the game is really good.
graphics: A
Game play: A
other stuff: B

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOMe

posted by Andrew000 (GIBSONIA, PA) Aug 30, 2007

Member since Mar 2005

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is the best. AWESOME AWESOME. I love it it is AWESOME.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

2 words

posted by D3aths (RAINIER, WA) Sep 8, 2007

Member since May 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

BUY IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Why this game beats halo 2 anyday

posted by wiicrazy (CANOGA PARK, CA) Sep 2, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First, I have to say play it in hd, it has awesome graphics in hd.
You can't believe the game once you played it the strategy and FPS mix amazing in this title forthe WII.
The thing about this game is you feel secluded from mankind but, your mothers in the other room.
The bosses might not be really hard but, they are sure fun.
Rent it to see if u like it because I might not be the best reviewer.
Now the gameplay, it plays good the controls work fine except the trigger, would be better for the shooting.
Now over all this game is the best aside from TP so buy it but, i am only a kid who has gamefly remember that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

metroid prime 3

posted by sonicfan11 (Ferndale, CA) Jul 19, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Five years ago, the first-person adventure Metroid Prime re-invented Nintendo's famous science-fiction franchise about a space-traveling female bounty hunter. Now, Metroid Prime 3: Corruption has re-invented the way the series is played, unarguably for the better. If you were on board Samus Aran's Hunter-Class Gunship for the critically acclaimed first outing and its sequel, you will be ready for the third and final act in the trilogy because, at least from a design standpoint, there haven't been too many major changes. The heroine still explores exotic alien terrain and fights fearsome alien creatures, and the re-traversal backbone that has powered Metroid projects since the NES classic that started it all remains completely and thankfully intact. So if you've never liked these titles, Corruption probably isn't going to make you a believer, even with its enhanced graphics and spectacular new controls. If, on the other hand, you'd rather play with Samus than, say, Master Chief, Retro's Wii-overhauled new addition to the Prime family is going to take you on a great, satisfying ride that you won't soon forget. Indeed, as far as we're concerned, the Texas-based studio has made Wii's best game.

Corruption is the evolution of the Prime series and a game that is very highly polished in nearly every respect. It's got better control. Better pacing. Better visuals. Better cinematics. And better bonuses. Yet, even with all of these improvements, it still feels and looks very familiar to its predecessors, which is both a statement of praise and criticism. You will recognize the blueprint and style of a winning formula and at the same time you aren't likely to experience the downpour of surprises that overwhelmed you upon playing the original Prime -- an endeavor that brought Samus into the third dimension without sacrificing the guts of the 2D efforts. There is also no getting around the fact that 2002's Prime featured cutting-edge graphics for its time and Corruption instead

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Are You Sure About Corruption?

posted by lemonball (CHARLESTON, SC) Mar 18, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is excellent. Not only is it an excellent Metroid, but it also stands alone as a quality shooter. And with three other memorable bounty hunters, it has all the components of an excellent Samus adventure. The game's raging difficulty destroyed me, but give it a go.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome Game

posted by skigenp11 (BROOKS, ME) Oct 29, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It's a very good game with great controls, and graphics. It has a good story line that's easy to follow. The controls are very smooth. The battles aren't to hard. The only down side is that sometimes the doors don't open when they should and you have to wait or move around a lot before the doors open. But all in all it's a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by a55mite (GRASS VALLEY, CA) Aug 29, 2007

Member since Nov 2004

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i played this game for about 7 hours straight today, Awsome game, Great controls, great story, amazing graphics for a wii game. if you rent it you'll probably wanna buy it :D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Maybe its all expectations

posted by Silasrye (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Sep 8, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

I've heard the game play is great, the graphics are great, and the controls are great.

I think they are all good, honestly I don't think the controls are any better than what was available for the godfather or redsteel, actually the godfather might have been better.

The graphics are nice, but I didn't notice a large improvement over Twilight princess, they do look last gen still.

As far as game play, I've never played the other primes, but found the puzzles to be pretty lame, and the action to be a lot of button mashing. It feels like there is very little strategy.

I'm also writing this review to give you more realistic expectations. Its good, definitely in the top 5 or 10 or wii games, but after hearing all this about how MP3 shouldn't need multiplayer because the game has more depth in other facets. I disagree, I felt it wasn't to deep at all, and I started playing it on veteran, and it just seems like if you get fast at pressing A and dodging/strafing, you fly through the game with little trouble.

Fun, I'd recommend renting, if you love it, beat it in a week or less. If you don't, like me, just don't finish it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse