Rent Metroid Prime 2: Echoes for GC
view large frontback

Metroid Prime 2: Echoes

Not Rentable
GF Rating
8.3

1599 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty Good But....

posted by xboxverwii (SANTA ANA, CA) Oct 11, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

After you play the first one u pretty much know what to expect of the second one, just trying to find all of your power ups back and defeating bad guys with the newly obtained weapon its not all that great but if you haven't played any of them before its still gonna be fun. It also has newly added weapons like the dark beam and light one too plus the screw attack,wich is one of the classics in metrioid games and the best.So Atleast give this game a chance,on top of all of that the areas you can explore are huge.So you might as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Just as good as the first

posted by Pickel668 (FREEPORT, IL) Aug 24, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Metroid Prime 2 picks up where 1 left off. In 2 you you get more rooms more fights. Some of the boss levels were a (I thought ) little unbalanced. But it
doesn't take away from the over all game play. Short and sweet review..... If you played the first then play the second

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

MP2E

posted by DarkSamus (ORMOND BEACH, FL) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This was an excellent game that kept me playing for hours upon hours. The graphics were okay there was a very small improvement from metroid prime 1.
There was a mixed bag in the game play dept. Regular enemies were all too easy until a certain point where they inexplicably became nigh impossible to kill; the bosses had good design but it was the same old pattern based thing every time. Dodge the attack until a certain attack reveals a weak point and attack, repeat until victory. The worst part was the light/dark world portal hopping it became annoying FAST I got tired of it the first time I tried it. And I am not going to mention the beam ammo system. Where the game really shines is in the story and music; that is what kept me hooked and made this game so brilliant if it weren't for that I would never have played this game through to the end.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great expansion

posted by insomno (BROOKLYN, NY) Apr 23, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

The game is well designed. It brings back the great game play of the first GameCube installment as well as a few enhancements. The storyline is very interesting, and the hidden items scattered throughout the game will always keep you guessing. The multiplayer mode is addicting ... I adore the morph ball action!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent continuation of an excellent series

posted by Toneton (CHICAGO, IL) Jun 24, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

been a metroid fan for the longest (since the days of the nes and gameboy) and this game continues the tradition of open ended exploration. graphics, were excellent, gameplay superb,(as with prime one....controls are rather...weird at first, but 45 mins- to an hour in...and they're like second nature. and the music continues to be great with a few re-mixes from past metroids. my only gripes with the game were 1) felt too short for me. somehow prime 1 and even SM seem to be much larger, 2 enemies were rather redundant (especially the darklings) which goes into my next point the dark Aether world seem like it was just thrown in, IMO. I don't know but dark aether seemed like they had something going and then rushed it. now don't get me wrong i LOVED THIS GAME!....But with another 6 months of dev time, this game could have been perfect

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Agreed

posted by 1000rr (El Paso, TX) Apr 14, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

I agree with that guy, except i the changes i saw were they rounded out a lot of the edges and made Samus a bit more leathal by adding the spiral attack!!! i love that thing!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

here it is

posted by 57R1k3R (NORTH HOLLYWOOD, CA) Oct 12, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game had some nice aspects to it, but I felt that it didn't live up to the first. A weak story and confusing mission objective left me feeling lost alot of the time. There could have been some better weapons and I could have done without the whole damage when in the dark world thing. However i did find it ejoyable when i did find my way.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

fun but diffacult

posted by zeldakix17 (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Mar 9, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I hard A hard time this one the first one I beat it but this one is easy to get lost I like the new stuff they put in to this but it's to extreame zelda was easyier then this overall very fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

thrilling with challenge of a hunt

posted by darkblade127218 (COSTA MESA, CA) Jul 17, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

great game with more then one difficulty but even if you are the best you can not have much help finding cover in the wilds of the dark aether. this game does have a multiplayer game but if you needed a game where you have to look everywhere (I do mean everywhere), this the right game for you. if you are a Metroid fan, this game was a personal favorite of the prime series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST!!!

posted by Aldi (MIDDLETOWN, MD) Apr 30, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

This Game is m favorite, 10 out of 10. no doubt any other games for gamecube are better then this!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

????????????????

posted by mariobrosZ (SAN BERNARDINO, CA) Apr 11, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

coooooooool game i give it ????? stars

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A GOOD sequel

posted by mackdaddyyoshi (PORTSMOUTH, NH) Feb 18, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

most video games, and generic media can't outshine the original when there is a sequel

but this is Metroid Prime, for god sakes

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fantastic!

posted by kyrando (SWEET HOME, OR) Apr 19, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

I really wanted this game for the longest time after I beat the first one. The first one was great this one is even better I think graphics are good well graphics dont really make the game fun its the game that makes it fun so who cares! Gameplay can keep you looking at the screen for hours. You will get stuck at parts I know I did I always had to back track but overall great game you should all get it but only if you beat the first one :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Same old rehash

posted by tbird23 (BLYTHE, GA) Apr 6, 2009

Member since May 2008

What was the creator bored and just repackage verion one in a new box and call it prime 2. give me a break if your going to make a second verion aleast make an effort to make some changes and improve the game otherwise why release it to began with? would not recommend this one for renting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Still A Good Game

posted by Iballin (JOSHUA TREE, CA) Jan 21, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

I enjoyed playing this game almost as much as i did the first. I like the bosses better in this on though, they seemed more challenging to me. The weapons were cool, but I liked the ones in the first one better, as well as the suits too. However, I did like the expansive map and the whole light & dark world thing as well as the new multiplayer thing. Except throughout the game you pretty much have to constantly bring up the map. Also this is one of those games where if you haven't played the first one yet, it would probably be a good idea, because the first on is a little easier and will kinda give you the feel on how to play, and make it easier to understand the story. Even so, this is another one of Nintendo's best games, and will not be as good as the first, but still die a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

METROID PRIME 2 ECHOES

posted by GAMCritic2 (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL) Sep 8, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2008

I had played the game METROID PRIME 2 ECHOES but had not beat it. POSITIVE: the graphics are good for the GAMECUBE. The weapons are great. NEGATIVE: once in a while you might be end up lost in the game. This game is alright though the first one is better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

classic

posted by dave42 (RANCHO SANTA MARGARITA, CA) May 8, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

one of the most addicting games i've ever played. masterpiece

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

mp2

posted by bebisbeh (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Dec 13, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

in mp1 you fight ridley HARD!!! although in metroid for the gba you do not, how is this ? in mp2, you fight him near the end of the game and i have beat most of the game. it is hard !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Metroid Prime 2 Echoes

posted by PearlDrums (CHARLOTTE, NC) Nov 26, 2007

Member since Aug 2005

I would have to say this is the best Metroid game to date that I have played. Very detailed and beautiful environments. With so many powerups, the possibilities are endless. A must rent in you are into first person shooter/platform games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

New name, Same game?

posted by Sleezebag (DELAWARE, OH) Aug 9, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

The first mertroid prime was hailed for its brand new power-ups, suits, visors and abilities as well as a brand new concept (it was in First Person). And most people loved the game. Metroid Prime 2: Echoes continues from the first Prime game, but doesnt do much of anything new. The new beams and weapons all look very similar. The Dark Beam looks like the ice beam (exept the dark beam has purple in the inside of it) and the Light Beam looks like the other beam you get (forgot its name). The spider Ball is still here, the boost ball, the morph bombs, the visors (though there are new ones). This is all great, but the lack of new ideas is a bit dissapointing because at time you'll feel like your just replaying Metroid Prime 1 all-over again. Even some of the enemies are the same actually. Though, there are new abilities including the "Screw Attack", 3 Brand new visors, two new suits, Power Bombs for your morph ball (which are more powerful and bigger versions of the Regular morph bombs) and beam upgrades for the light, dark and Annhialtor beams (also there are some other Missle Variations but i dont want to spoil EVERYTHING). It may seem like alot, but when you actually get into the game it seems like they really didnt take alot of time to try to come up with new weapons and abilities and all that too much. Other than that, the game is great. The storyline is top-notch and while it may not have to do with much of anything concerning metroids, it still is able to keep that whole metroid feeling to it. The graphics are probably some of the best on the Gamecube though some areas do look sort of blocky somtimes(especially in Dark Aether). The controls are still like they where in Metroid Prime 1, no dual analog control which feels weird for long time FPS fans.
GAMEPLAY:8.1/10
STORY:8.7/10
DESIGN:5/10
CONTROLS:7/10
GRAPHICS:9.4/10
OVERALL: 8/10
MP2: echoes feels more like an expansion of Metroid Prime 1 more thana brand new game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Echoing Situation

posted by Shadow12 (FOUNTAIN, CO) Jun 26, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

This game has excellent graphics and fun gameplay.But the multiplayer stinks and their should be modifications in the storyline and if you are under 10 this game could be a little scary for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

da bomb

posted by darkman (MILFORD, PA) Mar 3, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2006

this game is really good but hard but it is very fun. the graphics are good and you have to think in this game. the plot or story is good too. you should really get this game. this game is my ni99a.hey! watch your mouth.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game is incredible!

posted by littetyke (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Feb 24, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

This game is so much fun! All the hidden items will keep you playing for hours! The one thing I don't like is dark Ether. If you step outside your bubble
of light you get hurt. But then again if your inside one you regain health. The storyline is great. One of my favorite things to do is read the personal entrie logs of the galactic marines. I highly recommend this game to anyone that likes intense storyline thrillers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »