Rent Metro: Last Light for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Metro: Last Light

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $12.99

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
7.7

1718 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

An amazing achievement by the developers.

posted by FlipReviews (SHERWOOD, OR) Jul 16, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is one of the few games I have written a review for, and that is because I feel that the developers at 4A Games deserve special recognition for a job not only extremely well done, but done under unusually difficult circumstances.

An article in GamesIndustry International by Jason Rubin, formerly of Naughty Dog, as well as other sources, paints a portrait of a developer with a fraction of the budget and workforce of bigger American or Japanese developers, working under adverse conditions in Kiev, Ukraine.

Nevertheless, they have succeeded in creating a game that not only improves on its precursor in every way, but also in putting out a product of such overall quality and immersive originality that it outshines all but a few big-budget AAA titles. From the pacing that draws you into the world they have crafted, to the atmospheric and moody settings, from the truly intelligent, mature storytelling to the unique gameplay mechanics, this is an absolute gem.

I was a fan of Metro 2033, despite its rough edges. I had high hopes for this game, and they have been more than rewarded. I would encourage anyone who has ever wanted to find more stories for grown-ups, unique settings and mechanics, and engrossing storytelling styles in the vein of Half-Life 2, to play this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Initial Metro: Last Light Review

posted by mattklein209 (TUSCALOOSA, AL) May 15, 2013

Member since Aug 2011

14 out of 16 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Here is another one of my initial reviews after playing about 4 hours of this game.

So far it is an upgrade from the first, which is a good thing.
-More of a variety of weapons
-Better stealth elements
-A good amount of gun upgrades
-Various enemy types

This game has a great atmosphere as well. The lighting is nice, the voice acting is very good, and the metro and outdoor area are just as they should look after a post-apocalyptic event.

You do not get bored playing this game at all, the events and things you do are all very different such as the layout of all the areas so far.

Overall i think this game is a good rent, and will keep you busy for a little while. Would not recommend buying, because i do not think there will be much replay value.

Bottom line- Fun survival FPS

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This is Awesome!

posted by LIQUIDFX00 (BIRMINGHAM, AL) May 14, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Feb 2012

12 out of 14 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I liked the last game but this one takes that and makes it better, so far anyway. I am almost done with it. The graphics are way better and the voice acting is very professional. I really like the setting and the world in which you feel apart of. It is spooky and cold and just great. I really like this game and would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great and better then last one

posted by TheGodofDogz (PLANO, TX) May 14, 2013

Member since May 2013

10 out of 14 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Just got done playing at my bro-in-laws house and it is hands down alot better then the first one. I played metro 2033 and didnt even finish it due to mass glitching. The story is priceless but i feel the Metro 2033 was to much stress on the hardware but Last Light is perfect. Everything is flawless and the game is moves through frames smoothly. The weapons are more fun to upgrade and really do help you through the maddness. I don't want to tell more you will just have to play it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not as great as first but still worth your time.

posted by runescapeguy (BECKLEY, WV) May 14, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Not as good as first but still if you liked first this one is a must get. The environment doesnt feel as gloomy as the last one or scary, and that is what made me love the first. But despite the few flaws it is a great game just not as good as the first one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Fundamentally Flawed

posted by Palzon (PFLUGERVILLE, TX) Jul 11, 2013

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Worst game Ive ever played. I do not say that lightly. Reviewing solely to spare you from wasting any time. Groups of NPC's talk over one another so that you can't really follow what they're saying. The story unfolds through so much artless talking & boring diary entries. The human enemy AI is so worthless that you can "stealth" kill them while they're looking right at you without ever alerting them. At times groups of human enemies will rush to your location after being alerted, just run headlong into your fire. Early on in the game, you will find much of your movement hampered by lame spiderwebs. A few would be one thing, but they're everywhere. The game is really limiting of your movement to the point of almost like being on a rail. Speaking of rails, when you get your train car it is so pathetically slow. The kiddie train ride at the park moves faster. Movement in the game in general is just painfully slow. The kicker is that the game is full of bugs. I found the first one within about 10 minutes of play. I was playing on hard and died. Reloaded and was put face-to-face with an enemy. He starts shooting me but his bullets do no damage. No matter what I did, I was not able to equip a weapon and couldn't melee. I advanced only by finding the exit. By the way, there are often times where finding the exit is easier said the done, and it's not some clever puzzle. They're fishing without bait. Finally I reached the bandits segment in my slow-azz train car. You're to free a tied-up prisoner and he will help you by moving an obstacle on the tracks. One problem though: crummy game glitched and the tied up man couldn't be freed. Period. Not even by reloading. That was it for me. I hit eject. Disk back in sleeve. Done. Game could've been good. Ultimately this is a second rate title at best. In my case it was unplayable garbage. Many better titles to occupy your time. Bioshock Infinite, Dead Space 3, TLoU, even Farcry 3. Skip this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Stunning, but lacking

posted by Murderfish (CHAMPLIN, MN) May 16, 2013

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This title has exceptional graphics, good play control, and innovations up the yin yang. It would be perfect but for one fatal flaw. This game is a straight line. You start from A, move to B, move to C, move to D. There is little to explore, and basically every level is a series of straight hallways. I was hoping to explore post nuke Moscow, but instead went preciecly where I was expected and did preciecly what everyone else did when they got to that spot in the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Play Metro 2033 before playing this.

posted by GF035 (PORT ORCHARD, WA) Oct 21, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

Playing and beating Metro 2033 will properly introduce you to the metro. It might not be necessary but I would suggest it for the story and gameplay so you are not completely lost.

As a sequel, Last Light did an amazing job remastering and improving the strengths and weaknesses of the first game. Tighter gunplay, good story line, good atmosphere.

The linear campaign is made up of traveling through the metro fighting Nazis, Commies, and mutants. But if you don't want to fight you can always take a stealthy approach through the levels. Though shooting or sneaking is fun, both have some weakness in the mechanics. If you prefer sneaking around, you'll find it easy enough to sneak past the most oblivious of enemies with linear "patrol" patterns and seeing the most convenient enemies standing towards a wall alone in an empty room just asking to be knocked out and looted. While shooting one of many customizable guns you may choose from by purchasing or looting, ammo is a pretty scarce thing in the metro, only being able to loot a few bullets at a time from each dead enemy (Playing on normal difficulty I ran out of ammo quite often). Though in this game the explorer is always rewarded with extra ammo by checking store rooms and nooks and crannies for extra supplies and ammo.

The story is by far astounding in today's standards of story telling in video games, mixed with amazing graphics and the best atmosphere I have seen in any game like this, it feels as though Dmitry Glukhovsky (the author of the metro novels the game is based from) had no problem translating the book into an interactive medium. The game also has decent pacing in the story, though at times it will feel like you are fighting a certain type of enemy for far too long, making you want a break from constant sneaking and killing, but making the arrival at the next neutral station feel that much more accomplished.

Overall this is one of the best triple A titles you will find with good story and game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Bad Game Very Bad game. I Cant get to them fast

posted by chicagomom30 (TINLEY PARK, IL) Aug 28, 2014

Member since Oct 2012

The filter was glitches and way too far away The creators of this game should slap themselves every day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Poor Anna

posted by lakenheath72 (WALNUT CREEK, CA) Aug 28, 2014

Member since May 2013

I liked the character Anna. When she travels with Artoyom to the surface, I perceived her as both a Ranger and survivor. I never expected her to become the sexual object of a man. However, after escaping from a destroyed metro station, she wants lovemaking with Artoyom, a man who she deemed as not in her league. Why? Because the world is going to end and she is scared. Huh? This is a world where everday could be the last for a person. There are many ways to die in the Metro and on the surface. Wouldn't she want to fight alongside her fellow Rangers and with her father for the defense of D6?

Though I like most of the elements for this game, and I can tolerate the game-breaking bugs, and I intend to buy Metro Redux for the next generation, I find the depiction of Anna and other women characters perplexing and cringe-worthy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

More Movie Than Gameplay

posted by 2shoes (RIVERHEAD, NY) Jul 3, 2014

Member since Aug 2008

I hate games that force you to watch & go through stories before you can actually start playing and then throughout it. It may have been good but I lost my patience after watching way too many clips before I was able to shoot anything.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome!!

posted by jaguar7676 (TITUSVILLE, FL) Jun 23, 2014

Member since Nov 2004

Last Light returns you to a Moscow devastated by nuclear war. Humanity, hoping to avoid the dangerous radiation and hideous mutants plaguing the surface, has banded together in the underground metro system. Depending on how you played, Metro 2033 might have allowed you to make an important choice at the game's conclusion.Last Light assumes you chose to destroy the creatures known as The Dark Ones, scorching their home with missiles and scouring them from the face of the Earth. But a creature remains, and as returning protagonist Artyom, you must find this remnant of a race thought extinct, this remnant of a decimated species, though it's unclear whether the right decision is to destroy it or to try to communicate with it. Your Ranger allies certainly desire its annihilation, but Artyom's unique connection to the Dark Ones gives him pause and he is nagged by guilt about the devastation he has wrought. tyom's dilemma brings a sense of personal struggle to a game fraught with brooding emotion. Metro: Last Light punctuates your adventure with moments of dread and shock, as well as with occult visions that make the past come alive before your very eyes. Supernatural themes intertwine with conflicts between underground factions, the horrors of each element providing two equally macabre sides to a single coin. In the confines of the metro, betrayal is common and trust is a commodity. Here, your greatest enemies are your fellow humans, who are unafraid to cheat and steal if it means gaining favor from the right people. On the brutal surface, the beasts are your primary concern; at any moment, a wailing winged demon might grab you with its talons, soar into the air, and drop you into the murky water, far from where your horrific flight began. Last Light is notably superior to its predecessor, merging storytelling, shooting, and sneaking into a remarkable and cohesive whole.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent FPS; A definite must play!!!

posted by Military_Killah (NORTH POLE, AK) Jun 16, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

Having played the first Metro 2033, this game improves in every aspect. HIGHLY recommend playing the first to gain a better understanding of the plot though, not necessary. Only disappointment was the with the story conclusion. Felt as if the main subject of the plot could've been expanded upon. Oh well, maybe the developers did this for a reason. Still a bad@$$ game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

HEARD ABOUT IT SINCE THE VGA's

posted by igetxtrahigh (DUNDALK, MD) May 1, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

COULD OF BEEN SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO MUCH BETTER!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Metro Last Light

posted by bruce9432 (DANA POINT, CA) Mar 24, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

I couldn't finish it. When I got to the chapter called Dark Waters, there was no knife in the Melee attack and I would just die from the shrimp attack. Tried it every which way (over 100 times), watched Youtube vids of people doing it and they all had a knife to kill the thing. Got to the point of WGAS and I sent it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Just another shooter game with zombies

posted by TX_Bounty (GILMER, TX) Mar 18, 2014

Member since Oct 2012

More of the usual get a gun and shoot stuff

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Probably a great game when it was released

posted by jpwolf (PLANO, TX) Mar 16, 2014

Member since Feb 2007

I just tried to play it (2014) and it probably was a great game, in 2008. But now it just doesn't stand up to the newer games. Sorry, but I just couldn't pretend that it was a new game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Survival Horror and Action Go Hand to Hand

posted by tonysum41 (SUN VALLEY, CA) Mar 3, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

Metro: Last Light is an absolute improvement over it's predecessor, Metro 2033. The game play and stealth mechanics were definitely in need of tweaking since Metro 2033. They fixed it and made a masterpiece. My only problem was there were way too many human enemies this time around. Understanding the Metro Lore, you understand that this is a battle between the The Rangers, The Reds, and The Nazis, as each faction wants control of the entire Metro. The mutants are really just there to slow you down, but an encounter in a dark swamp really leaves you feeling helpless as you try to maneuver yourself through it to catch up to your comrades. The moments in the tunnels are always the most frightening and that's where this game truly shines.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun for a little while

posted by SinglPlyr (CONCORD, CA) Feb 21, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

Since I played Metro 2033, I felt I had to play Last Light. And it was ok. The world, as in 2033, was amazing. Really believable, well thought out, and truly surrounds you with a post apocalyptic feel. The story definitely continues from the first one, but also takes it's own, sometimes confusing, turn. And not necessarily for the better. The mix of political issues and sy-fi theme are a good thought, but not necessarily done all too well. The stealth aspect of the game starts out to be fun. Finding shadows to hide in, killing soldiers strategically as not to get found out, and finding ways around difficult situations. But it does get quite a bit redundant. I found myself just running into firefights and shooting my way through due to sheer boredom. The soldiers lacked any diversity. All the same easy to kill and not too intelligent AIs. But the monsters did pose a challenge. New monsters, stronger monsters, bigger monsters. For me, that's what kept me playing. Running around the above ground wasteland fighting off hordes of beasts while mud and water kicks up on the respirator mask, all the while trying to manage your air as not to suffocate. All in all, not a horrible game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best I've ever played

posted by Sorrows_Revenge (HAMMOND, LA) Feb 4, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

This game was amazing. Dark and full of atmosphere. The combination of stealth or all out assault is fun. Try this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Dissapointing

posted by lonnyp (OLIVEHURST, CA) Jan 23, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

Was looking forward to this game a lot. I'm a big fan of post apocalyptic games, and I was interested in this game. First, the good: This game looks good. The lighting and visuals are good and the environments are very detailed. This did a good job at pulling me into the game. Also, I liked the short load out times, but that comes at a price. The mutant enemies are menacing, to a point. Besides those things though, this game doesn't have a lot going for it.
The bad: The voice acting is sub par. It has nothing to do with the fact that it takes place in Russia. The NPCs all say the same two or three lines of dialogue over and over again. The game play is buggy. Many times I had enemies disappear into walls, fuse right through me to where I couldn't shoot them and they could still hit me. I could forgive these if the game were bigger like fallout 3, but it isn't. There is little exploration factor in this game. And the levels are very short. I found it kind of hard to focus on the main story because you jump from one location to another very quickly. There are only a handful of guns. They can be upgraded, but there are very few upgrades. Also, when you melee your character makes the same three noises that just repeat over and over. You have unlimited sprint, which I don't like, and you gun just bobs back and fourth.
Overall, this game is a mediocre polished FPS.
If you like post apocalyptic shooters I would say rent it. However, if your used to the rpg style shooters, stay away.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Bad title, wouldn't reccomend

posted by ClackyD (GRAND HAVEN, MI) Jan 13, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

Literally the worst game I've ever played. Right of the bat I walked into a box that I could walk through. There's all these rooms they spent time programming, except they're all blocked off. The concept of Metro is essentially a poor remake of Fallout without free roam. The game isn't hard, except mutants don't drop any ammo. Even on the easiest difficulty you're out of ammo for any fights, or you're at max ammo. The currency is rarer than most games making buying your items difficult, and you lose any guns you buy right away when returning to the story. All in all I think the only thing this game has going for it is the graphics. When I rented the title I was looking forward to it, just to be greeted with utter disappointment. Save yourself the time and don't rent this game. Save yourself the money and forget about buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Meh at best

posted by Blackiceracer (PORTLAND, OR) Jan 13, 2014

Member since Mar 2012

I never review games but had to do this one. I did not like this game at all. For being released this year, the graphics were a few years behind outdated. Gameplay is straightforward and leaves not much for exploring or adventuring. Your Russian 'comrade' spouts random Russian nonsense all the time. Not much variety to the gun types to chose from and very little upgrading them. There's even an alien life form tie-in but no future-tech to play with! I was excited to play this game but was horribly disappointed. Sent it back after a few hours playing and it was the same thing over and over.
I equate this game to Fallout meets Deus Ex but they took none of the good things from these games. All I have to say is thank goodness for GameFly so I didn't have to pay for this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good but not good enough

posted by jaketra (SACRAMENTO, CA) Dec 31, 2013

Member since May 2013

this is game is good enough to play but it does have problems.
Cons: when your on your own you don't know where to go. theirs no way point on where it tells you to go. since theirs no way point your out in the open facing all of these mutants who just want to rip your head off. and you have to kill demons that are trying to kill you. plus you run out of ammo very quickly.

Pros: the story line is great a lot of plot twists. and a lot of things that go unexpectedly wrong. action pack, graphics are good. intense. its a little bit like fallout 3 where you can buy or sell weapons, ammo, plus the money in the game is bullets. theirs even a bit of romance too. is it worth your money to buy? maybe. depends on how you feel about this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Cure for the Military Shooter

posted by pwntakesqueen83 (ADAMSVILLE, AL) Dec 13, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

Metro: Last Light is a great FPS game that vastly improves over the first in the series, Metro 2033. It is an immersive experience that takes place in a post-apocalyptic Russia. Your time will be split between exploring the dark, dank railway stations that now serve as makeshift cities and the barren outside surface. Not only will the radioactive mutants be a problem, but you will have to deal with the various factions that are struggling for control of the D6 station's resources. Although the game is fairly linear, you will be rewarded for exploring when you can. Some rather creepy events can be found when doing some non-story related exploring. For those that have played 2033, I will list what improvements have been made from that game: improved stealth, greater selection of weapons and customization of weapons, improved weapon accuracy, gun sights aren't dirty/cloudy, improved item interface, and environmental factors don't hinder your experience as much. If you are looking for a good shooter, you have found it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse