Rent Metro 2033 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Metro 2033

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.5

10631 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Replay value low, but still awesome

posted by Backpack (CLOVIS, NM) Mar 20, 2010

Member since Jun 2008

229 out of 239 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

Pros: 1) Story is awesome. Not only are you fighting some ugly beasties, you're fighting human enemies 2) Not a lot of weapon types, but a lot of variations to the weapons (buy a silenced version, a scoped version, et cetera) 3) Graphics are better than expected. Lighting is first thing I noticed. Muzzle flashes light up the dark tunnels appropriately and man-made lights can be destroyed which leads to 4) This game covers a lot of different types of action. One minute, you're shooting your way through a ton of "dark ones" then next you're shooting lights out with your silenced revolver and with your NVGs on trying to eliminate soldiers without alerting the whole station. This variance in action easily keeps you entertained.

Cons: 1) Gameplay is very linear. You will only need to deviate from your compass when you need to find ammo, gas mask filters, et cetera. Developers should have added hidden items to find throughout the story to keep you from flying through and help with making you explore the dark tunnel systems 2) No multiplayer. Would have loved to play a multiplayer match where you and some friends have to defend a station from the hundreds of attacking "dark ones". Or even a stealth/espionage-type multiplayer match to try to silently take out key players on the opposite side.

There are a lot of elements to this game that make it very original (gas mask, tunnel-born weapons, story) and these are all things I love. For the things you've probably already have read: The whole "no-HUD" thing really doesn't affect you except for looking at your map and checking time left on your gas mask filter. Ammo status is still on display in corner. I took the crosshairs off to really enjoy the graphics and add to the realism. Currency is your ammo, but more specifically, ammo you do not need to use. Gas mask will add to the pressure of being above ground but by no means a menace.

Replay value is low, but overall a great game. FPS fans should enjoy...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Underrated and overlooked

posted by EmperorHess (GIBSONIA, PA) Apr 17, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

33 out of 35 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

In a world where cookie-cutter games like Call of Duty are given all the money and publicity, it kind of bothers me that a game like this gets overlooked.

This game is as immersive as they come for a non-rpg title. Even more so than Fallout at times. (one of my faves) You have to change your gas mask filters, have to pump your air-rifle, have to recharge night vision goggles manually, etc. This is a highly innovative game.

There are some frustrating parts here and there. While many games today are guilty of babying the player and hand-holding, I do think the game couldve done a better job of explaining and teaching you certain things. You will die a few times just trying to figure out how to do simple tasks. At times I was very confused about who my friends were, they all seemed to look and sound exactly the same. And why are there nazis in future, apocalyptic russia? And why are they all russian? Those minor grudges aside, I was very surprised at how well this game was made. You truly feel like you are in a desolate and scary future world, scrapping together ammo and filters, trying to get through the tunnels alive.

I really didnt expect to like this as much as I did. It was one of those... "Eh, Ill throw this on the Q so gamefly can send me another old game I dont really want to play that much." But wow, I ate my words. It really was great.

Liked:
Graphics - Decent, not great. Art direction was top-notch though.
Story - Great pacing, simple, not convoluted.
Immersion - Cant stress this enough. Bravo.

Didnt:
Story - Perhaps too linear.
Buying/selling - I found there were too few shops to really take advantage of them. And currency was too scarce.
Guns - While I liked that they kept the arms realistic, a little more variety wouldve been fun.
Advertising - Plastering the cover of your book is kinda shameless and takes away from immersion

In conclusion, if you think youd like fallout in a more linear, streamline form, give this one a shot. Thumbs up!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Walk Through the Tunnels to remember

posted by takumisama (FLORISSANT, MO) Mar 18, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

48 out of 54 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

For such an ambitious project as Metro 2033 was, it remained focused. The aspects of the game, like using a stopwatch to time the intervals between gas filters, and the mini cut-scenes with anomalies gave the game an intrigueing and somewhat ethereal dimension. The controls were simple, and if you've ever played any FPS you'd be right at home. Graphics were detailed, though at times you can find about 5 women who looked exactly the same in the same huddled crowds by the gates.

For all these aspects which were really well done, and adapted from the story well, there were a few gameplay issues that I saw. Premierely, the pacing. I think with any great game the pacing needs to be right, and there was little-to-no pacing in this game. Some may call it linear, but I think that doesn't QUITE describe it. I would like more time in cities and in the tunnels, with more creativity given to the navigation and survival of the tunnels--and more dialouge, interactions and maybe sidequests available in the cities. Too many times you wander in to one place, with the only goal of rushing out (while I understand for most of the game you're trying your damndest to make it one place quickly--I still like to explore).

I also didn't like that there were many random deaths--and the tutorials were sometimes...er most times...lacking in detail (i.e. you died because of a ghost, turn on a light FAIL). Now I won't claim that most everyone will die the bizzare amount of times as I did in some of the anomalie cut-scenes or looking for gas masks after being pummelled by a slew of rabid mere-cat looking monstrosities, BUT perhaps a little more tutorial wouldn't have gone unnoticed.

Overall the game plays smooth, and it will be a sleeper hit, not to the caliber of Borderlands, but boasting a better story, and if nothing else, a very good era game with entertaining (sometimes cliched) voice-acting and character designs. For your brief stay in Post-Apoc Russia, you'll enjoy your visit

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

just WOW

posted by Weeman0313 (NEW CITY, NY) Mar 16, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

119 out of 140 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

This game is like a more beautiful, hardcore version of the famous STALKER series for the PC. My friend dared to call this game "another generic FPS game" but when i made him play it and i watched him suffocate to death he realized this game is a bit harder then your typical FPS. Storyline is SOLID (but hey it might just be me since I'm a sucker for post-apocalyptic games).

the graphics are by far stunning (especially on the computer for those of you who have great PC rigs). and the atmosphere of the game overall is amazing, it makes you feel like your actually living in the subway station and see how hard of a life it is to maintain. especially with "the dark ones" constantly attacking your home station. either way i hope you guys enjoy this game as much as i do and the only reason i didn't give this a 10 was due to a few awkward conversations people were having that the dialog didn't really seem to belong there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game

posted by xHELLDOGx (PITTSBURGH, PA) Apr 28, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I would recomend renting this game, dont buy it. It was short and I wish it was longer cause this was a really fun game. Besides that the game had an ok story and i liked the fact that you dont have to worry about ammo to much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Freaky

posted by Majora108 (LA CROSSE, FL) May 1, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game has some freaky moments, I had nightmares about the "librarians" after playing deep into the night.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

almost perfect

posted by squid57 (RENTON, WA) Apr 7, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This games was amazing. Easy as that. The graphics are great. I also love how low ammo you have. It makes you feel like you cant finish the level(and that fellings not bad). The storyline is great it isnt the best but it does pull you in, in its own twisted way.
The replay value is high. You can play it over and over if you use different difficulties. Plus theirs lots of places you can explore and find more ammo, gas mask, filters etc. There may not be lots of weapons but there is lots of variations of those guns. Such as scopes, laser pointers, bayonets etc.
Overall its a great game. But, the lack of weapons and enemys you can actually fight, makes it repetative. So if you like semi-linear games with a chilling atmosphere(btw the atmosphere is great) than this is the game you want to get.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Holy dang

posted by Dequire (BELSPRING, VA) Jun 12, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm not sure what I expected when I went to play this game, but it wasn't this. It's like Fallout in a more realistic setting with more probable outcomes. It's an INCREDIBLY entertaining game that I HIGHLY suggest buying. The scenery is rather great, the guns are good and realistic, ammo consumption is high but you can often scavenge off of a looter's corpse or find hide outs in the areas above on the land that you can steal ammunition, filters, gas masks and etc from. You take too much damage and your mask starts to break, forcing you to hunt around for a new one so you can properly see.

Mutated creatures often have scouts sent ahead to look for anyone and threats, along with traps set by bandits, making sneaking a viable option, or just running through and using up ammo.

Money is old military cartridges. They have more stopping power, they're shinier, and over all making them quite useful in comparison to the current grubby catridges. However, in a pinch, you can use them as upgraded ammo for assault rifles, though that's much like shooting money, so you better watch your shots or be careful not to run out of ammunition.

Traveling in between Metro's can be a pain, but is extremely useful. I'm only an hour into the game and the storyline is already quite interesting and has me guessing. I'm looking forward to getting through the whole game! I REALLY suggest buying this. My only downside to this is that the shotguns seem a little.. underpowered/not very satisfying to fire due to the low noise and kickback.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great stealth game and a good paced story.

posted by wanderingvlad (MODESTO, CA) Jan 31, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Half the reviews here give this game a bad rap but the way they dis the game made me think that theyre mad at the realism of the combat because you cant be almost dead and then wait 2 seconds and then take another 50 rounds. this is a great game for stealth but if you charge in guns blazing without stopping to think your gonna die alot more than if you take a stealth approach. once you figure out sneaking through and eliminating targets it will be alot easier if your discovered,the game keeps you on your toes and has bone chilling moments if you havent played the game, though the story is great it takes time when you die by making small mistakes in combat and you have to be smart about your actions when your sneaking through a heavily guarded stations along your journey.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Metro 2033

posted by Phattiger (APACHE JUNCTION, AZ) Aug 23, 2011

Member since Jul 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Taking on the role of a survivor of nuclear fallout, a Russian Fallout 3 if you will, you travel through the Metro tunnels of Moscow in hopes of saving your home station.
For those of you familiar with the S.T.A.L.K.E.R series for PC, this game is only a slight change.

This game is strictly First Person, and is designed on single path levels, which start out a little slow, but do gradually pick up speed. Venturing around the level doesn't hurt, finding weapons and Military grade rounds, the currency of the game. But, it doesn't add much either. There is a "moral system," though there is no real way to tell if you are making moral choice til the end. The other draw back of the moral system is the lack of rewards, no discounts and such, so motivation of you trying to be "good" is not there. Monsters reflect the S.T.A.L.K.E.R games, being powerful and tough to put down, and humans being almost bullet sponges. Weapons are interesting, but ammo is few and far between, so conservation is a must.

The game lasted about 6 hours, even on hard difficulty, and leaves you wanting more, which is a good thing since a new Metro: Last Light is due in 2012.

There is no Multiplayer, which is quite fine with me, since it allowed the game to actually have a story, instead of the recent games that treat their campaigns as multiplayer training.

If you are looking to pad your gamer score this is a pretty decent game to do it with, one play through got me a little under half, and a second, on easy, got me under 3/4, due to the other 1/4 being DLC.

Over all it is a game I do recommend renting and trying at least once, worst that can happen is you don't like it and send it back, and isn't that the reason we have a Gamefly in the first place?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

More games like this one

posted by Yertle8 (GLENSIDE, PA) Jan 6, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I can't understand why this game is currently rated 6.5. We need more games like this. All of the complaints I've read have been focused on downfalls in the gameplay mechanics. Let's look at them one by one.

Yes, you need to wear a gas mask outside and you need to carry enough filters. There's not a shortage of filters and you can buy more at shops. The depletion of your filters presents an urge to return underground, much as you might feel if you lived on a post-apocalyptic planet.

Yes, your mask fogs up and your breathing deepens the longer you have your mask on. Take it off and take a breath and it clears out. This adds realistic dimension.

Yes, if your mask breaks outside, you have to find another one quickly, or you will die. It's ok. Find another one or try again.

Yes, ammo is used as currency. In many games, you can spend currency to buy ammo. In this game, you can also spend ammo to buy currency. Complaining about that is stupid.

Yes, the starting guns suck. They were built from makeshift metal parts underground in apocalyptic subways. They should suck. It's ok, the enemies in the beginning of the game are easy. By the end of the game, you have better guns.

One of the GameFly reviews complaining about this games says 'if you take too much damage...game over'. Wow. That's why you think this game is a four?

Another said that he sent the game back when he threw a knife into someone and, instead of dying, the character yelled and drew attention. Seems like what is likely to happen in real life to me.

If you want a game bound by game rules, find something else. If you want a game that will deliver the unexpected, both in narrative and gameplay, play Metro 2033.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Solid Game

posted by EvilQt (SAN DIEGO, CA) Aug 2, 2011

Member since Jun 2009

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I would not say its the best game but it really is pretty solid all around. Its fun, story is good, graphics are good, its linear but enviroments and characters make it not overly repetitive. I would not put it at the top of your GameQ but its worth a play through. A good rent for in between the big title releases.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Well Put Together!

posted by lilpwnage (ASHLEY, OH) Mar 28, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

15 out of 18 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I was very surprised at how well this game was put together, even though there were some moments where i had to shut the game off. I would've never expected a game that comes from a book to be so good. The story line was great, there is 2 ending so you even have more hours to play the game, and it was just fun overal. The only issues i had with this game was that it felt to crowded, your always constantly on the move and looking around, and it just feels like there isen't enough space to look around. Even if you play this game on Easy you are still going to have a tough fight against your enemies. I was also surprised at how there is no Multiplayer, for a game like this there should at least be a Team Deathmatch gametype for multiplayer. Overal i do suggest everyone plays. But it is definatly not a game that should be bought.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

An overlooked game!

posted by Maxhole (SPRINGFIELD, OR) Mar 3, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

This game, to be quite honest, was super badass. I saw some gameplay videos from Achievement Hunter, and I thought I'd give 'er a shot.

As far as graphics go, they're aren't the best, but I've seen a lot worse. I didn't experience any bugs or game ruining glitches, so that was a plus for me.

The gameplay was a real refresher for me, seeing as I play a lot of FPS games like CoD, that are pretty monotonous. Go here, kill this guy, blah blah blah. Metro was almost a mix of your typical FPS game, but with a stealthy aspect that I thoroughly enjoyed.

However, I didn't feel like it had any replay value. I mean, maybe you could go back and play it on the hardest difficulty, or go get some more achievements, but quite honestly that;s it.

Overall, I'd say a pretty killer game. Rent before buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Tremendous First Effort from 4A Games

posted by aeontide (CINCINNATI, OH) Jul 5, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

13 out of 16 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

The story is the main selling point to this game. It was based off of a book, of the same name, written by Dmitry Glukhovsky. You play as a 20 year old male named Artyom (art-ee-umm) in a post-apocalyptic Moscow. Survivors of the nuclear blast seek refuge in the city's metro stations, which is also populated by throngs of mutant creatures which, simply put, would kindly ask you to leave by tearing your face off. Your tale, and thus the game's plot from here, is your adventure to save your home station named Exhibition from attack by these monsters and supernatural entities known as the Dark Ones. This is accomplished by exploring both above ground, in the ruins of Moscow and below in the Metro tunnels, fighting off the Soviet army, Nazis, monsters, and the Dark Ones.

The combat is like any you would expect from a FPS, point, click, dead enemy... however, you have to keep an eye on your ammo (whether using military grade, which is also your money, or metro-made 'dirty' rounds which are weaker but more plentiful). You can use military grade rounds to buy weapon upgrades, like scopes, elongated barrels, laser sights, bayonet, etc. Almost every upgrade makes the weapon more accurate (or gives it a melee attack), not more powerful. I'm assuming it was the goal to retain the challenge of the game by making which ammo type you used the sole variable for damage being done. You also have the option for Splinter Cell-esque stealth in a few missions.

Unique features like having to recharge electrical equipment, replace air filters (and having a limited number of them), and abandoning your weapon (to the shoulder) as you look at your compass give the game an added sense of realism and suspense I've not seen before.

Overall, tremendous first effort for the developers, but it comes across as too ambitious (FPS, survival horror, stealth, etc.) and as such, no one element really stands out as truly superbly done. No real replay value either, which I wish it had.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Favorite PostApoc game

posted by guse96 (COATS, KS) May 12, 2011

Member since May 2011

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

Great game with an awesome background and storyline. The little things are always my favorites in games so with that this game had so many little extras for the trained eye, it was spectacular.

Anyway the characters seemed to quickly appear and dissapear making it slightly depressing " I'm here to help you through this difficult area in the game oops nevermind I'm dead." It seemed slightly repetitive when it came to other characters, but the rest was not like that at all.

One moment your barely able to hold off a swarm of Nosalises the next you either sneaking or blasting your way through Commies and Nazis. Also the realism is my favorite element though it can be tricky if you don't pay attention to your gas mask.

The only thing I saw wrong was that it was a low budget game. With more money it would be an even greater success. Thank god they're making a sequel as we speak.

Metro WOOT!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Definitely a must rent game!

posted by Shotto (WESTBROOK, ME) Mar 19, 2010

Member since Aug 2008

10 out of 13 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

This game is definitely worth a rental, I probably wouldn't buy it due to its lack of multiplayer and one track story, but it IS worth playing. The game has a great storyline and it keeps you in the dark revealing details slowly, the weapons can be customized to a point, and some of the items you get are pretty cool.

Some features that i thought worked very good. You have to change the filter on your gas mask, and as you take damage wearing it, it will become cracked and obscure your view which makes the game a little more realistic. The graphics are awesome and the fog is just amazing. You sometimes also have the choice to sneak around enemies and pick them off one by one, or go in guns blazin'.

Features that could have been improved include, Aiming with scoped sights, I'd give you an example but thats a spoiler in my opinion. and the health system, health regenerates but you can use health packs to heal you faster.

The games settings definitely keep you in the mood and the sounds help you stay there as well.

This game has some flaws but for the most part it was worth my time to play it and i kept interested through the whole thing, i would recomend it to any FPS or Survival Horror fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very immersive world

posted by Maniax (PORTER, TX) Jun 20, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

The game is very good, with a decent story. I didn't suffer any of the issues the previous reviews mentioned of lag. The AI takes cover, they even move around from different spots of cover. They strategically use dynamite to get you out from behind cover. The graphics are great considering how expansive the layout is.

Good things in this game are:
- Story
- Rate the game continues, you don't get bored doing one thing cause it keeps changing up
- Currency system has you make some pretty difficult choices
- Graphics

Downsides of the game are:
- the game is very linear, makes replayability low
- the lack of being able to reset the level, so if you mess up on the level and it autosaves, you are stuck with your decisions
- lack of maps, which makes sense when above ground, but when in the metro, you have to wander around till you find the stores

Really, this game is a must play. It's more along the pace of Fallout, but it's a shooter, not an RPG.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREAT GAME ALL AROUND

posted by VIPERELITE207 (PORT RICHEY, FL) Apr 13, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

THIS WAS BY FAR ONE OF THE BEST GAMES I HAVE PLAYED THIS YEAR THIS IS ONE OF A KIND GAME THERE WAS TIMES I FOUND MYSELF ASKING WHAT THE HECK DID I JUST SEE ALSO I DON'T RECOMMEND THIS GAME FOR PEOPLE THAT ARE PRONE TO LIGHT HEADINESS IT MIGHT MAKE YOU SICK AT FIRST I FOUND MYSELF DIZZY THE FIRST DAY I PLAYED THIS I REALLY CANT EXPLAIN IT TO YOU MAYBE ITS THE FIRST PERSON VIEW I PLAY THIRD PERSON VIEW ALL THE TIME THAT MIGHT BE WHAT HAPPEN TO ME MAYBE I JUST NEEDED TO ADAPT TO THE FIRST PERSON VIEW YOU HAVE TO PLAY IT AND SEE FOR YOUR SELF I GIVE THIS GAME TWO THUMBS UP VIDEO 10 AUDIO 10 GAME PLAY 10 GAME LAST 5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good day to be in Moscow

posted by Flint879 (ALTOONA, PA) Mar 23, 2010

Member since Sep 2008

11 out of 15 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

-Metro 2033 was very good at capturing a good post-apocalyptic world. The story revolves around Artyom, born before a war broke out in Moscow, raised in the underground metro. Now, he is grown and now these "demons" start to tear away at the civilization the people have created underground. To ensure the survival of the human race, you must fight to protect the people you love.

-The story of the game is very good. The post-apocalyptic setting is very well done. You will travel through different stations on your journey, meet some crazy people, have a fun time or two, etc. Occasionally you will travel to the surface, which requires you to put on a gas mask since the air is radiated from nuclear fallout. This changes the play up from being stuck only underground, which is nice to see the ruined city.

-The graphics are lacking a bit of polish. They are no Modern Warfare 2 graphics. They are above average for the most part.

-The controls are well placed. They take a bit of time to get used to, but easier than some games.

-The gameplay is like any other FPS mixed with Survival Horror. You have the times where you will get frightened and there are times where you are just running and gunning. Good combination.

-Faults:
1. It takes much effort to take down the demons. Ammo in this game should be rationed because it counts as both ammo and currency. The demons take effort, which isn't bad, but wasting almost a full clip to kill an enemy, then 6 seconds to reload? A little harsh.
2. The guns seem underpowered to deal with the great amount of enemies.
3. The enemies will run right through you giving you a disorienting feeling to try and shoot them (must be a bug).
4. The stealth portions are on the frustrating side.
5. Linear gameplay for the most part.
6. No Multiplayer.
7. Very short.

Other than these faults, Metro 2033 is different from most games and will please a lot of gamers. Definitely worth a play through.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Story Line

posted by ZzZGamer (CHINO, CA) Apr 22, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

13 out of 18 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

I have to say out of all the recent games I have played I would say this was a most satisfying game. I love games where I can get wrapped up in a story line, even to the point where i am watching at some points more than i am playing. I recommend this game to any gamer who wants to a continuation of the fallout 3 feeling but where there is an ongoing campaign feeling to where you are staying active (not walking around aimlessly like you would sometimes be doing in Fallout).
Other than that the weapons are ok, ammo is scarce, and the game is somewhat realistic, a lot more realistic than you would think, sneaking around, interaction with objects.
Again, fun game, I couldn't stop playing until I had finished it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

FPS FANS REJOICE!!!!

posted by dukenukem1 (GOSHEN, IN) Mar 22, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

12 out of 17 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I just got this game this weekend and have been playing it non-stop. This is an excellent First-person-shooter and while it may have similar controls to Bad Company 2 and MW2 it does not have a similar story line. When MW2 came out everyone was complaining about the story not being engaging enough, and that IW didnt put any effort into making a gripping storyline with a decent plot.

Metro 2033 has given all of you campaign mode lovers something to run with. A mysterious story based off of a book that slowly develops throughout the game. They spent all their time with the campaign mode since there is NO multiplayer, and while this hurts the re-playability of the game, it allowed them to give you an excellent Campaign experience. The setting is Moscow Underworld in 2033 after nuclear war nearly ended the world. Humans were forced to run underground and set up shop to avoid radiation. I will let you learn the rest of the story while playing the game.

This game does have its horror moments, surround sound is amazing in this game, and adds to your experience. The controls are the same as Battlefield and COD, which is good, becuase why fix something that is not broken. One complaint i do have is that the weapons seem underpowered and you seem to need quite a bit of ammo to deal with the overload of enemies that the game sometimes sends your way. WHich can make for some stressful gun battles.

I have heard people complain about the stealth parts in this game, and while they are frustrating it did not make me not want to play the game. I thought it was good to have an FPS that was not all run and gun the whole time, sometimes the story requires you to sneak around, and while difficult it still remained fun and stayed true to the storyline. GO RENT THIS GAME, for something that didnt get a lot of marketing I am pretty impressed and look forward to more titles modeled after this FPS experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game with short gameplay

posted by the24thour (NORTH EAST, MD) Mar 18, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

20 out of 29 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

Breakdown:

Graphic's 9/10 (amazing detail on faces but with clothing a little less)
Story 9/10 (Short but enjoyable)
Game-play 7/10 (easy aiming but not much to aim at?)
Controls 10/10 (so easy a caveman can do it)
Replay 7/10 (with multiple stashes to find you could go for a while)

Buy or Rent? Rent

This game had me wanting more. i was content yet I would of liked to see more action and a little less walking and talking....

The idea of the game was great and had pretty smooth game-play, with fairly high end graphics. A good selection of weapons (more like weapon variants) for the length of the game. Metro had a interesting take on currency (post apocalypse ammunition), you could almost see the game as a possibility by the way you are taken into it, civilians buying and trading in the markets, select factions fighting for new order and the ever present populating and rebuilding.

Speaking of the length, i was able to complete the game almost overnight leaving me wanting more for the $50 that it costs to own. The concept of the games story was impressive but their was not enough of it! The game had the trend to find your allies dead or about to die from the wild life witch was partly annoying if they were not aloud to die or cost you a death yourself. The walking around was tedious... waiting for your comrade to walk here activate this and walk back their with little or no shooting needed, kind of came in handy seeing as your ammo was scarce. But when you did fire your gun you needed XXX amount of shot to take down some beasts. (conserve wisely)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game, But Has Learning Curve

posted by TBRCHRONIC (RED OAK, TX) Apr 1, 2010

Member since Aug 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

first off if you do not explore in this game and or do any side quests etc, it is considerably short. it still took me most of the day to beat it with a break every 3 to 4 hours of straight gameplay but i only did one side quest. i will admit i was lost at times but my number one rule for this game is to just follow your instincts. i always ended up getting to where i needed to go by following that one rule. also you have to scavange everywhere you go if you expect to have a ton of currency to spend in the game. its not as bad as fallout but dont leave rooms without checking around a couple times. as for the story. it is great, well at least in my opinion. i found it interesting and it kept me hooked the entire game. the ending was really intense and i loved it. so imo this is a great rent. 8 out of 10 for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Game was Awsome!!!!!!

posted by killerbad (MILWAUKEE, WI) Mar 25, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This game is great!!!!! I would recomend it to anybody!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse