Rent Metal Slug Anthology for PS2
view large frontback

Metal Slug Anthology

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PSP Games, Wii
GF Rating
7.6

417 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Metal Slug Anthology

posted by CODEWERKX (MOUNT VERNON, NY) Apr 26, 2007

Member since Sep 2004

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the true diehard gamer has already spent alot of money buying each game contained in this anthology as a japanese import. so, bargain hunter here is the entire series at a bargain price....about 10% of a single neo-geo cartridge. the game play is simple side scrolling shooter...not as easy as it sounds. new school, old school, any school gamer should take a controller to this piece of gaming history. the fun quotient is very high and the playability level is set so that any gamer of any age can enjoy this anthology. highly endorsed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THIS GAME ROCKS!!!!!!!!

posted by coolflower (DES MOINES, IA) Mar 1, 2008

Member since Jan 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the metal slug anthology game is a buy and here are the top ten #10 the 2d graphics rule! #9 charecters! #8 the multiplayer! #7 the vehicles! #6 the weapons! #5 the enemies! #4 the levels! #3 the boss battles! #2 the explosions! #1 the game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

very classic

posted by iamsamthem (AUSTIN, TX) Apr 6, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this is a must have if you loved playing metal slug x at the arcades

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

So much chaos its wonderful

posted by kizami (WEST DEPTFORD, NJ) Sep 4, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Man this game really made me waste my days at the arcade. My cusson and myself would spend hours on end playing away for hours on end spitting away quarters on there Metal slug collection. Any now only recently hearing that its come to the ps2 in this nice neat little package. I was ready to explode with happiness ,when i first heard i would be able to get my hands on this little gem. Metal slug gives you that heart pounding excitement from a side scroller shooter. Throwing in unbelievable low survival odds wonderfully drawn environments and throw in a big gun and you have your self a good time so leave the quarters in your pocket pull yourself out a ps2 contoler and have your self the time of your life

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

An Extraoardinarily Dated and Limited Experience

posted by malygolob (CHICAGO, IL) Jan 6, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

There isn't much that I can say about this collection. It is packed with 7 different titles from the MS series. And while that may seem like good bang for your bucks, the experience hardly has anything new to offer, as you transition between each title. With no multiplayer mode, or other arcade-like modes (besides playing alone or with one other person in the story mode), you might end up playing through this only once. Unless you are a hardcore fan of the series, you can pretty much skip this one for good (or rent it at the very most).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best of the old school best!!!!!!

posted by tankbuster501 (AZUSA, CA) Aug 5, 2011

Member since May 2011

awesome how you can choose the game on the game.

cool style for the old school gamer!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Memories

posted by Sag_man13 (PLANO, TX) Jun 23, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

Aaaaaahh, the memories of playing these games at the childhood places we hate now. Places like Chuck-E-Cheese, the Arcade, and on machines in the mall. I love this game and its wide variety of weapons and power-ups. But, this is way better because you don't need tokens and you have the quiet environment of your room. So let all ages play this game!!! It may have a little blood and violence but its kind of a learning experience of whats happening in the real world. My rating is B+.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Just Keep Shooting

posted by shadowmove (ENDICOTT, NY) Nov 10, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

7 Metal Slug games and none of them ever get boaring. Lots of weapons to pick up in each level, astounding battleground settings, and very well done bosses. You can either choose to have free play(which is unlimited continues) or regualar continues. Completly action packed series, this anthology is worth renting or buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

For Metal Slug it is not bad.

posted by Capdain (SAN JOSE, CA) Aug 16, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

If you like Metal Slug it rocks. if you do not, then its pretty lame. I rented it without really paying attention at the title, I was bored after about 5 minutes. Only rent it if you liked Metal Slug in the arcade and want to play it at home.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun

posted by OkanBS1987 (NEWARK, DE) May 7, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

This game is fun for a little bit, but the repetitive nature of the game wears you down pretty fast

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

It's just everything a game needs!

posted by Brandon234 (WALTERBORO, SC) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

I just love the classicy, cartoony feel that the game has to it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sending Games That Work

posted by CkretSith (GLEN BURNIE, MD) Mar 16, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

I would rate this game.....IF IT WORKED!!!The previous games rented were fine.I am disappointed about this and would like for this to not occur again.PLEASE!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game!

posted by Xenomorph (POCATELLO, ID) Feb 9, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

If you love playing the metal slug arcade game this is a must own. The huge collection all ready to play can provide hours of entertainment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This is A Great Game

posted by mario1994 (ONTARIO, CA) Jan 28, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

This is the best collection of games ever that i know of. This game contains Metal Slug all the way to Metal Slug 6 and no need for tokens that is awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Outstandingly terrible port of a great game

posted by Pathos (PASADENA, CA) Oct 1, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

It's hard to rate games like this since the game itself isn't the problem - the port, however, is. Metal Slug is an old arcade favorite and is such a great game that it would likely still be fun played on an Etch-a-Sketch. Unfortunately, this PS2 anthology is barely usable.

The games themselves are fantastic, chaotic fun. Playable by two people at once with fantastic animation and hilarious settings, they're terribly compelling.

However: Why would a 2D game designed for arcade machines have to load for 5-10 seconds on every level switch? Why in Metal Slug X does the game have to pause and load every time you select a character from the main screen? Why does pausing the game and then unpausing it cause the music to loop indefinitely and then the game to crash? Why is there a slight but somewhat noticeable delay with every button press?

As I said, it's hard: The games themselves are, of course, excellent. The port, however, is shoddy and obviously done as an afterthought.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Non-stop action in one disc.

posted by PengCon (EUGENE, OR) Aug 28, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

Metal Slug is fantastic. Fun, well-animated 2D sprites, non-stop action, and lots of explosions. Now you can get all the classic Metal Slug action in one disc!

The only downside I had with this anthology is the load times. But they don't ruin the game by any means, so don't let that stop you from renting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Favorite game from cartoons.

posted by raniru (GREENSBORO, NC) Jul 12, 2007

Member since May 2007

This is my favorite game from my childhood age it keeps getting games from the first metal slung.

I think that the creator is one of the best game inventor.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Bit of slowdown...

posted by komodo9mm (OMAHA, NE) Jul 6, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

Mainly noticed it in metal slug 4 and X.

Aside from that, nearly perfect ports, minus load times here and there. Action is nonstop--and is MEANT for two players. Many levels require one player to cover top while the other clears bottom.

Great games!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Metal Slug Saga Still Continues

posted by Lovaman85 (GREENVILLE, TX) Jun 8, 2007

Member since May 2006

Metal Slug Anthology is a great game, it's straight from the arcades, then converted to PS2. Nothing new innovative about the game, but its a great a collection to have. That's why I rate this game 8-10, because there's nothing new or secret yet revealed about this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great!!

posted by Brian0Jon (FAIRFAX, CA) May 20, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

If you know what you are getting, Metal Slug is great. It's simplistic and fun and requires little investment to sit down and play for a bit. The missions take interesting and often comedic twists which keep you wondering what will you encounter next. The weapons, vehicles, and weird bonus goodies make it a fun game to play.
These games are far far better than most games created with loftier goals of fancy graphics and submersive storylines.
GREAT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Entertaining Game!!!

posted by killerkiss (NEWARK, NJ) May 10, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Feb 2006

This compilation is outstanding!! It brought back memories of those great arcade games, where I would deposit my savings into them for hours!

The port keeps the fun wacky cartoony graphics. The gamefly is entertaining and very enjoyable. The only downside is that the entire collection can be finished within a few hours (because of the unlimited continues).

I highly recommend this game to everyone!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

perfect

posted by camcom9 (SANTA BARBARA, CA) May 7, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

This is a truly great game. One of the reasons is that its on ps2 so we can stop only playing it in arcades( and also so we an stop spending all our money).The only flaw was it was hard switching from arcade controls to ps2 controls. Overall a great game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »