Rent Metal Slug Anthology for Wii
view large frontback

Metal Slug Anthology

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, PSP Games
GF Rating
6.4

1288 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Love Old School Arcade Games? Pick this one up.

posted by punkrockin (SAINT PAUL, MN) Feb 20, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

11 out of 11 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have never played this as a real arcade game before but man is this game fun. If you like old school arcade games then you should pick this one up for sure. It has 7 different games in all on here. Action packed game too. Lot's of shooting, blowing up. Good two player game. You even get different vehicles that you can jump into at different points in the games. You can throw grenades and pick up different weapons. There are a bunch of different ways of playing too. You can use just the wii-mote, just the nun-chuck, and a gamecube controller also. I really like the controls in this game too. The only problem I saw is that your fingers will hurt after all the button mashing. I think this a game you can pick up and play again and again. Especially with new people. You can play with unlimited lives so any one can pick up the stick and have fun with it. You can also save your games too so you can come back to them any time. I think this is a must play for sure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

FANTASTIC.

posted by Falciase (TYLER, TX) Jan 15, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is fantastic - I've always liked these games in the arcades, but you die so much, that it's near impossible to get past the second level in any of the Metal Slugs without spending alot of quarters... This compilation is great, because, first and foremost, it's got Metal Slug 1, 2, X, 3, 4, 5, and 6. That's alot of Metal Slug, and since each one seperately is so short [Around 1 hour and 30 minutes each to finish], this is a good value. Good co-op action, too. If your into constant, twitch based [2D] shooting action, give this game a go. You won't regret it.

Pros:
- 7 GOOD games in one package.
- Fun gameplay.
- High quality, funny 2D animation.

Cons:
- The default control scheme has you shaking the Wii remote to throw grenades - this doesn't always work so well. Why couldn't we just press the A button??

This game is great. A good buy, and a fantastic rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

repetitive shooting acrade fun!

posted by wiirock (BRISTOL, RI) Mar 7, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I had never played metal slug before when I got this game, so i didnt know what to expect. Well I am glad I got it. All 7 games never get boring even if you are playing by yourself, co-op just adds to the fun. if you are looking for a fun co-op, this is the game for you. A great game for anybodies collection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good port, Bad controls

posted by Pyrefyre (JEROME, ID) Nov 15, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

These games are very close to the original arcade versions as far as gameplay and story. There are several different control methods. You can use just the nunchuck, just the wiimote, the nunchuck and the wiimote or a gamecube controller. Unfortunately you can not use the classic controller. The gamecube controller option is the only one that has a button for the grenades, all other control options require you to shake the crontroller to throw a grenade.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not worth it

posted by JDShkolnik (BROOKLYN, NY) Feb 12, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Entertaining for about 10 minutes and then you're done.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

one of the best games I've ever played.

posted by Ringostar (FAIR OAKS, CA) Feb 10, 2007

Member since Oct 2003

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is a standard arcade game except one of the best ones of all time. This game you verse against droids,Soldiers,Zombies,M- ummys,Tanks, and Many more.The point of the game is Destroy the enemy soldiers in order to win the war.And the Soldiers use Cretures to there advantige.You also get to play as many different characters and you get to go in Tanks and more having atleast 7 metal slug games on on e disk for the wii is awesome.The controls are kind of hard to master but once after a while you get use to them.This game is awesome and fun and I would by it over a movie or great game any day!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

New way to Play Wii!

posted by BigJames (CANON CITY, CO) Dec 30, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am not a big fan of the Metal Slug series, but The new way to play it on Wii really demonstrates the capabilities the the Wii has in store for other games. I think this game was a good idea and the fact that the game allows you to play with the gamecube controllers is also a great idea.

Also, the art galleries and music are a great reward too. I like side-scrollers and this game is funny and challenging. It keeps you wanting to beat every game to see what's next. This game is violent so I wouldn't give it to the younger kids.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

My Favorite Wii game so far!

posted by Abras1 (CLEVELAND, OH) Dec 18, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I'm an "old school" gamer and I've always liked the Metal Slug Series, so I'm a little bias, but it's a great set of 2D shooters any way you look at it.

As you can imagine, I've played a lot of "old school" anthologies and collections (like capcom classics, megaman anniversary etc.), and Metal Slug Anthology has one of the better menus and set of options. Choose your control choice, choose the number of continues...

This game also proves that the Wii can do more than "3D gimmicks", and hopefully is a sign of more to come.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

6 games of OK

posted by bbbalson (SAN MIGUEL, CA) Jun 8, 2007

Member since May 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I have been a huge fan of the Metal Slug franchise in the arcade, and thought what could be better than a home game with all the versions. well it turns out that there could be a lot of things better. This game is left in a mire of mediocrity. I played through it in a matter of hours, since ther is unlimited continues. Now I have no desire to play it again, even though I will with my kids. I am glad I rented it, rather than drop real cash for it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Metal slug for Wii

posted by Warpedmind (HATTIESBURG, MS) Mar 1, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is exactly like the arcade except that they neglected to program in the ability to use bombs without having a gamecube controller. They took the time to program at least 5 different ways you can control your character(including one that just uses the nunchuck) but couldnt find 10 minutes to make a button use a bomb. its like trying to play street fighting on the saga genesis...waste of time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

more disapontment

posted by sjstuder (SEATTLE, WA) Sep 4, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the wii verson is missing some very important controlls. the problem makes the game very hard to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by Sateler (ITHACA, NY) Dec 16, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

6 out of 16 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Metal Slug is by far the best old school game that is still coming out today. Metal Slug is an awesome game and with this, the collection of all the older ones in one disc, greatest thing ever! A must buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Controls and wait times ruin any fun

posted by protox (LAKEWOOD, CO) Oct 6, 2007

Member since Mar 2005

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

If there was fun to be had from this, it's eliminated due to things that aren't the game's fault. This appears to be true to the arcade, though I have never played the game before this. The graphics are really bad. I imagine they looked better in the arcade.

The worst part about this game is the first thing you notice. When you boot the game you have to wait. Wait through developer after developer, one at a time, logos and logos. You can't skip them and it happens every single time you start or reset the game. I swear it takes somewhere around 60 seconds to get to the actual part where you press start. Then you have to wait for load screens.

When you do play the game, unless you change the controls, the controls feel completely wrong. I couldn't find the bomb button and it hurt pressing the small 1 and 2 buttons continuously to fire and jump. You can use it with the Gamecube controller or with a nunchuk but I didn't like those options. Why can't I use my arcade controller? Well it's not an option, or at least one I couldn't get to work.

So yeah the game is fun if you like the game, but those two points made it really hard to enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

buyer beware

posted by bwwchef (SPRINGFIELD, MO) May 28, 2008

Member since May 2008

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

there's no challenge, you don't get to use the dynamic wii controls, it's all in 2d, and seems more like a download.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game should never have been made

posted by tloreman (PHENIX CITY, AL) Dec 16, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

This game is terrible. Nothing more than a button pusher. If you die, just press +, and begin pressing buttons again.....yippee.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

bad port

posted by wigby2007 (BROOKLYN, NY) Feb 6, 2007

Member since Jan 2004

2 out of 13 gamers (15%) found this review helpful

why was this verison of metal slug needed for the wii? it does not utilize the wii's motion controlled gameplay. it's awkward to turn the controller sideways. and it's not graphically updated in anyway. it's a cheap port. so cheap that it still says gamecube all over the game. i couldn't get the grenades to work even after i remapped the controller. there's no menu selection to jump to another metal slug game. you have to play through in order. if you have a wii and are looking for old-school side-scrollers, look again. this anthology stinks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Metal Slug

posted by Yoshifat (BALBOA, CA) May 14, 2007

Member since Sep 2005

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

I am a big fan of the Metal Slug series and I was excited to rent the game but, it was a big disappointment to me here is a list of the pros and cons
Pros: I did not find any pros in this game
Cons: From how much I played which wasn't very long I noticed that the controls were horrid and that it was too easy
that is my review

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

this game sucks!!!!!!!!!!!1

posted by kooper (FRUITLAND, ID) Feb 17, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

this game is ok the grapicks are bad there is only 6 levels me and my brother beat the game in 10 minuts it was boring and dumb.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

If you liked the arcade versions

posted by Goatar (LAKELAND, FL) Dec 23, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

3 out of 24 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

I did not research what this game was about before i rented it. I thought it was Battalion Wars 2, which looks like a great game.
This... Not so much. I mean if you like side scrolling arcade games, then hey it's right up your alley. But if you invisioned Battalion Wars and got this, your spirit will be broken.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent Arcade game

posted by chrimson85 (KENT, WA) Apr 25, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

Would of scored better if it supported the wii classic controller.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Metal Slug Anthology

posted by bagad (Cleburne, TX) Aug 8, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

The Metal Slug series can never get old. Though a little difficult playing with the wii mote, still very good classic games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

metal slug

posted by gameflyzzz (COLTON, CA) Jul 7, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

scrathed so much...i didnt get to play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

pretty good game

posted by flames297 (HIGHLANDS RANCH, CO) Jun 24, 2011

Member since Sep 2006

i do like this game but its not that great on the wii

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty good

posted by sow (FORT COLLINS, CO) Jun 6, 2011

Member since May 2011

This game is a arcade game that you might play at a movie theater. So if your excpecting call of duty then you should not even take a second look at this game. This game is still kind of fun. Even though I beat this game in 3 hours. I hope I have been helpful in your gaming needs. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Cool Art, Bad Control Scheme, Too Easy

posted by BigScary (REDMOND, WA) Apr 30, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

+Excellent Cartooning, Cool Characters and Settings
-Awful Control Scheme
-Practical Invincibility

Metal Slug games are all great for their art style and especially the creative bosses and mini-bosses.

The port over to the Wii makes a terrible control scheme. Because you can't use the Pro controller, you can only aim either straight up or in the direction you're walking, and you have to shake the controller to throw a bomb (why can't we just press B, people??).

There's zero punishment for dieing or for running out of lives. You're instantly back in the action at the exact point where you died (you might have to press +). They might as well have made the player invincible for how easy this game is. It certainly would be more interesting and challenging if you had to actually try to stay alive, and therefore, pay attention while you played.

The game experience devolves into frustration at the poor control scheme and mindlessly mashing the "shoot" button while pointing in the general direction of bad guys.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse