Rent Metal Slug Anthology for PSP Games
view large frontback

Metal Slug Anthology

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, Wii
GF Rating
7.9

396 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Metal slug anthology

posted by daykster (YUCAIPA, CA) Apr 4, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is pretty good. I thought it would be awesome and stuff but i was wrong. This game is not awesome.
GOOD:
-A lot of metal slug
-metal slug 6

BAD:
-long load times
-graphical slowdowns

It is an ok game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

metal slug

posted by MonkeysFly (YUMA, AZ) Apr 12, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this games is pretty rad. i luved the original metal slugs so this game was great for me. if you like the metal slug series you will luv this game. loading screens take a little while but its all worth it once the game starts. you cant go wrong with 7 metal slug games. rent this game, it is totally worth the time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

metal slug anthology

posted by mnkindslasthope (ANAHEIM, CA) Aug 12, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

this game is awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!im so addicted to it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Metal Slug Madness in your Pocket

posted by ShinGundam (PALMETTO, FL) Mar 9, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Feb 2010

Metal Slug is like a gaming cult/religion. And if you are a follower, this is a definite must have.

Metal Slug is not the original side-scrolling shooter, but it is the one that set the bar. No side-scrolling shooter has ever been mimicked, copied and cloned, more than the original Metal Slug Series.

I rank it a 10.

(Sure the graphics are sprite based, but that is part of the charm.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best shot them em up

posted by jakeob (SACRAMENTO, CA) Oct 31, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

just plain fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Metal Slug Anthology Rules

posted by bigzig06 (HOUSTON, TX) May 13, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

Metal Slug Anthology is one of the best arcade games ever. Every time I see it at a store I play it. AND NOW I CAN PLAY IT AT HOME!!! All 7 games in one little package.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Must play for psp

posted by Shake77 (WILLOWICK, OH) Jan 8, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

Awesome game its tons of fun and will have you playing for a while there are also unlock able extras its just great if you have ever played a metal slug game you know its fun so now on the go its even better with 7 games in 1 its a must play for the psp system!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Metal Slug Anthology Has Only 1 Flaw

posted by AOchoa (RIVERSIDE, CA) Sep 24, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

Metal Slug Anthology is an awesome game, it takes me back to my UC days. I used to play Metal Slug X on the coin-op machine. It includes the newest Metal Slug 6 which is not available anywhere except in this collection. The only flaw this game has in comparison to the console version of the game are loading times. It's painful to wait. After you complete a level the PSP loads the next and the approximate time of waiting is of 10-15 seconds and not to mention before even loading the main menu of the game selection you have to wait almost 40 seconds. I would recommend the console version because loading times are much faster. Its still a great game but considering how much processor power the coin-op machines use, the PSP emulates these games very well given the handicapped processor speed of the PSP.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

awesome

posted by crash121 (AZUSA, CA) May 23, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

how can you go wrong with this classic and all of them on one disk. i remember as a kid blowing my weekly allowance playing these game in the arcade

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

will make you miss your bus stop

posted by slikjay (BRONX, NY) Apr 23, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

when it comes to video games, i'm one of those gamers that gets bored easily. but i have to say that this game is far from boring. its an anthology of every metal slug game and its good, very good. now I'm not going to say that shooting the same enemies over and over again doesn't get repetitive after awhile, because anyone who has played metal slug knows that you shoot anything and everything that moves in this game. so yeah its repetitive.
also, for a psp game, its a little laggy. there are so many explosions on the screen that at times the action will just freeze. it never permanently froze on me though as the action always resumed after a second or three. and the loading times are brutal. you will be staring at a black screen for a good minute in between scenes, after you finish a mission, and before and after you start up a game. you cant even switch between characters on the fly because you have to wait for it to load. but the positives outweigh the negatives. this anthology has every metal slug game and they are genuinely fun to play. and if you get some of the jokes in the games, they are pretty funny.
I don't wanna spoil the game so i wont say what the jokes are but they ARE there. trust me. and the game does mix it up with vehicles and bosses. all in all, excellent shooter. and you get about 7 of them on one disc to boot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This Game Owns

posted by wattupfoo (North Hollywood, CA) Jun 27, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

I love this game, and you probably will too. That is if your a Metal Slug Fan! This game is so cool it has 1-6 of the metal slugs...its very fun,because its a fast motion played game every where you go you're shooting someone or something.The only thing bad is the Graphical slow Downs.=[ other than that this game owns! try it out to see for your self!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME!!!!

posted by PV2Donut (WAILUKU, HI) May 22, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

THIS GAME IS THE GREATEST!!!
nuff said....play it now...or you'll live to regret it later on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »