Rent Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes for Xbox One
view large frontback

Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes

Rent

Keep for: $24.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, PS4, Xbox 360
GF Rating
5.4

634 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Wait, what?

posted by Brash_Attack (LOS ANGELES, CA) May 26, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Where was the game!? When I thought I beat the first level, I ended up just beating the game. It took me just over an hour INCLUDING cutscenes. I've heard some people mention this was short, but a short retail game in my opinion was 5-6 hours. I cannot believe this had an actual disc release at $30.

I almost feel ripped off renting this. That was a week that I could have been playing a real game, not some rushed cash-grab demo.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Is That It?

posted by Viper1079 (COWLESVILLE, NY) Apr 28, 2014

Member since Jan 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the gameplay wasn't bad, but game only consists of 1 mission and about 1 hour of actual gameplay, glad i didn't buy it, thanx gamefly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

One Map and one level for end credits

posted by war852456 (ONTARIO, CA) Apr 29, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Its a good game for going around playing the same level over and over. The level changes from day to night with the side-ops. But the game is just the prequel to the real one. So overall it was a good teaser to what's to come in the future, other than not being anything really new in game it is a good game to rent and not really buy because you can really get everything from that game in a day. This game shouldn't be a game but really an add-on

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent But...

posted by BS_Ford (SAINT PAUL, MN) Apr 14, 2014

Member since Aug 2012

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

It is essentially a glorified demo. Last gen, this would have been a free download as it does only have one map and one, ok technically two, main mission/objectives. There is some replay value to it though as there are side missions which are unlocked as well as a Hard difficulty after you compleate the main mission. I encourge anyone who enjoys metal gear solid games to rent this title, but do not buy it. (Thank god we have gamefly for games like these!)

I still score it high because the graphics are impressive and there are so many different ways to accomplish your mission. If Phantom Pain is anything like this, we're all in for a treat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

one mission?!?

posted by splibby (WINDHAM, NH) Mar 30, 2014

Member since Feb 2011

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I would have been livid if paid for this game... Who releases a game with only one campaign mission! Graphics and gameplay are good but epic failure to release such a short game and then to charge $30 for it. This is just a glorified demo.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Don't Waste your time

posted by ucczeroskater (EASLEY, SC) Apr 23, 2014

Member since Sep 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

wait for it to be in $5 bin somewhere. It's so short its not worth even renting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Deja vu

posted by Panthers03 (LUFKIN, TX) Mar 25, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Same map, different mission, no story or progression

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

shortest game ever!

posted by dkmurphys8 (IRWIN, PA) Apr 17, 2014

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

So in less than 2 hours i beat the game. I have always loved Metal Gear franchise. But this is unreal there is only one level? game controls lay out it bad to, you have to scroll into multiple pages to figure them out. how do you release a game with only one level? Only good thing graphics are good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Wow

posted by Giants631 (LAKESIDE, CA) Apr 5, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

One mission REALY!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It ok but Great Game

posted by Californinja (SAN JOSE, CA) Mar 17, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

3 out of 13 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

Need few improvement of the game, but MGS5 is a great game not the same of the old series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Manage Your Expectations

posted by RebelRadio (ATLANTA, GA) Jul 21, 2014

Member since Aug 2013

As long as you know that this game is based around one mission, you shouldn't be disappointed. You can make it as long or short as you want to. It really is remarkable how many options you have when it comes down to the mission. Great primer to get me excited for the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Negative 5 Stars

posted by kj07 (LINCOLN, NE) Jul 15, 2014

Member since Apr 2013

Guess I should of checked the reviews, I use to be a fan of this game series but wow has it gone downhill. Don't get me wrong game play is good but if your going to make a game with one mission and 4 tiny little missions just make it digital and don't waste time on making a disc. Not worth the rental at all very disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Short but Fun

posted by 1up_Gamer (SPRING, TX) Jul 7, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

As other reviews have stated, this game is really short. The whole game takes place on only one level. Depending on the side ops mission, the time of the day changes, the enemy spawn locations are different, but it's the same level at all times.

With that out of the way, the game play was fun and enjoyable. If you enjoy getting achievements, this is an easy 950-1000 points. Going for the achievements makes you play the game differently which adds replay value. This game is definitely not a buy, but it is a solid 1-2 day rental. I'm glad i played it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Superb Game but VERY short for the $30.00 price.

posted by EvanKyleC (PEMBROKE PINES, FL) Jul 2, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

MGS V: Ground Zeroes is the "prequel" to MGS V: The Phantom Pain. In the game you are given the task of rescuing Cipher Agent Paz and child soldier "Chico", but thats about it. You are only given one map to roam around on to do the main missions, find collectables, and do the optional Side Ops missions. If your just interesting in the main missions like me you'll probably blow through it in about and hour or so. That is unacceptable amount of time for a $30 game! Not to mention that its original price was $40! This should have been priced at around $10 dollars at most for what we were given. Now how's the gameplay, well its fantastic! Its such a shame that this game is really short because I would have loved to spend more time with it. The visuals are amazing as well after all it is on next generation hardware. Frame rate was nice and solid the entire time and the graphics were gorgeous. Overall this game is absolutely wonderful but there is barley any game at all, its basically one mission and a few side missions at the price of $30 and all the positives provided are not enough to give this game a higher score that what I've given it.

Score: 5/10

Final Thoughts: I do think you should rent this game, it will give you a chance to see how it plays and whether or not you want to pick up MGS V: The Phantom Pain when it releases. Like I said its very short so you could probably play it in a day, send it back and pick out a new game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

You've got to be kidding me.

posted by Cman236 (RIPLEY, TN) Jul 1, 2014

Member since Nov 2013

There is only one mission!
This is the worst game EVER!
Not even worth a Rent!
DON'T GET IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Its not the length that matters.

posted by tkreutz (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Jun 30, 2014

Member since Mar 2013

Sincerely in most reviews of this game the short length of the game is easily described, and of course they are correct, however it seems like no one is actually caring for the point of the Metal Gear series, obviously well known for story, but for this game it is the perfection of stealth. I would indeed like to see a playthrough of the main storyline in one go, the first time, actually obtaining a perfect stealth mission where they were never seen and discovered every hidden item that leads to further details to Chico's and Paz's stories of which is obviously needed to be important for the next part of the story, this is clearly impossible and has given myself at least 10 playthroughs of the main mission so far and I still haven't gotten every item (I'm not the best at finding stuff btw, but it is still part of the core games story), and the game is a 30$ price tag to fund the further development of the next game in the series, of which looks to be the single greatest debut of Metal Gear yet to myself, and any amount of commission to help make that game longer, bigger, and much better. The gameplay itself is extremely advanced, the AI seems to be dum in the game, with the usuall "What was that sound" and "Who goes there" antics, however they are deceptively cunning as they perceive threats extremely well when alerted, that's why its so hard to get that "S" rank you want near the end as the enemy immediately closes in on you and you have to use your own skills to escape being seen or found, of which really gives me the heart beating action when some soldiers doesn't notice you in the bush because they missed walking on your leg by a hair and u have your rifle pointed ready to fire, that is what has made this game for myself, the shear repetition and replay value for the struggle of obtaining perfection.

I hope my review has changed some minds about this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Gear up

posted by Gamer2k (BRONX, NY) Jun 26, 2014

Member since May 2007

One mission,extra side missions, lots of replay value when you want to get a good grade. Just a taste for things to come. Don't get caught up in all of it's too short talk, if you want to you can get a lot out of ground zeroes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

NO!!!

posted by pooldropper (TYLER, TX) Jun 26, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

I have never like the Metal Gear Solid Games. I thought this one be different but it wasn't.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

very pretty, but not alot going on

posted by Knightsbane (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Jun 26, 2014

Member since Aug 2012

good looking game, someone polished snake up for this one man 10 trick pony, it was fun for a minute then i was like well at least i know the map to is there another map or is it just new landing zones same map again and again..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

It's over before it begins

posted by tony33oh (AKRON, OH) Jun 12, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

Literally this game is as long as any other games tutorial. (that includes angry birds)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

??

posted by swerveBowii (FLUSHING, NY) Jun 3, 2014

Member since Sep 2012

Cant believe gamefly even has this in stock. not a good experience at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Glorified Demo at Retail Price

posted by ImportantFrog (MORGAN HILL, CA) Jun 2, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

I swear all of the missions were at the same map location.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Ground Zeroes: A Review

posted by Outlawzero2099 (LAS VEGAS, NV) May 28, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

I knew before doing this review that the expectation of the game was not high. Developers warned that length was short, heard many people complain about the total game play time, etc. This has been factored into my total score for the review.

Metal Gear is a franchise that I grew up with, starting with Metal Gear Solid for PS. It was a different direction for gaming and now MGSV: GZ is no different. There is only one map, and old 70's version of the american base in Cuba. There are many missions that take place in this map: destroying AA guns, assassination of two veteran snipers, retrieving an intelligence officer who looks "Familiar". These are a few of the missions that you will do on the same map, but different weather and time settings.

The game play is still 3rd person, but now you are given the "freedom" to roam around the map. There are many great additions, like being able to target enemies with Binos, and have them stay marked, being able to drive vehicle and use their mounted weapons to name a few. There were some things removed that add to the stealth, but could have been good if players had the ability to enable and disable as needed. Overall the game play is great, it mixes the action and stealth quality successful in my opinion.

Unfortunately the game does not live up to the price that it is being sold for. $30+ for this "game" is not worth it. There is too little content for die hard fans to get out of it, and the casual gamer will not be interested in finding the hidden items, or unlocking the Deja Vu and Jamais Vu modes. For anyone reading this review, I would suggest renting it, to satiate your Metal Gear cravings, and wait for The Phantom Pain to release.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Too short

posted by s2kurt (MARYSVILLE, WA) May 23, 2014

Member since May 2014

Glad that i didn't buy this game. It took me about 2 hours to complete the main story. The game play was fine and challenging. i gave 6 because it is too short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Fun...but

posted by Joshsasu (SAINT AUGUSTINE, FL) May 9, 2014

Member since Sep 2003

Aside from the "normal for Metal Gear" terribly confusing plot, ridiculous characters, and way too long cut-scenes, this bloated demo is quite fun to play. The stealth is fun offering a decently high level of AI awareness, and it looks like a next gen game should.

But it is a bloated demo, and charging $25 for something you can beat in 1 hour at first sitting is disappointing. Even after you beat the initial sit down game, it tosses in a few collectibles and extra objectives, and adds a clock to time you, but it is not worth $25. If they would have offered this as a pre-order for the full game, I'd say its worth it, but a stand alone game it is not.

It is the prefect "well none of my other gamefly games are available, let me go ahead and play this one real quick" game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse