Rent Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes for Xbox One
view large frontback

Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, Xbox 360, PS4
GF Rating
5.2

944 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Wait, what?

posted by Brash_Attack (LOS ANGELES, CA) May 26, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Where was the game!? When I thought I beat the first level, I ended up just beating the game. It took me just over an hour INCLUDING cutscenes. I've heard some people mention this was short, but a short retail game in my opinion was 5-6 hours. I cannot believe this had an actual disc release at $30.

I almost feel ripped off renting this. That was a week that I could have been playing a real game, not some rushed cash-grab demo.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Is That It?

posted by Viper1079 (COWLESVILLE, NY) Apr 28, 2014

Member since Jan 2013

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the gameplay wasn't bad, but game only consists of 1 mission and about 1 hour of actual gameplay, glad i didn't buy it, thanx gamefly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

One Map and one level for end credits

posted by war852456 (ONTARIO, CA) Apr 29, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Its a good game for going around playing the same level over and over. The level changes from day to night with the side-ops. But the game is just the prequel to the real one. So overall it was a good teaser to what's to come in the future, other than not being anything really new in game it is a good game to rent and not really buy because you can really get everything from that game in a day. This game shouldn't be a game but really an add-on

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

POS

posted by ryandarknes (BILLINGS, MT) Aug 14, 2014

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

What in gods name is this game.... one story mission is all this is the lamest thing I have ever played they should feel bad for even putting this "game" out. "See what happens next in Phantom Pain." it says at the end. F you for wasting my time with trash like this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Don't Waste your time

posted by ucczeroskater (EASLEY, SC) Apr 23, 2014

Member since Sep 2013

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

wait for it to be in $5 bin somewhere. It's so short its not worth even renting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

one mission?!?

posted by splibby (WINDHAM, NH) Mar 30, 2014

Member since Feb 2011

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I would have been livid if paid for this game... Who releases a game with only one campaign mission! Graphics and gameplay are good but epic failure to release such a short game and then to charge $30 for it. This is just a glorified demo.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent But...

posted by BS_Ford (SAINT PAUL, MN) Apr 14, 2014

Member since Aug 2012

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

It is essentially a glorified demo. Last gen, this would have been a free download as it does only have one map and one, ok technically two, main mission/objectives. There is some replay value to it though as there are side missions which are unlocked as well as a Hard difficulty after you compleate the main mission. I encourge anyone who enjoys metal gear solid games to rent this title, but do not buy it. (Thank god we have gamefly for games like these!)

I still score it high because the graphics are impressive and there are so many different ways to accomplish your mission. If Phantom Pain is anything like this, we're all in for a treat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Deja vu

posted by Panthers03 (LUFKIN, TX) Mar 25, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Same map, different mission, no story or progression

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

shortest game ever!

posted by dkmurphys8 (IRWIN, PA) Apr 17, 2014

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

So in less than 2 hours i beat the game. I have always loved Metal Gear franchise. But this is unreal there is only one level? game controls lay out it bad to, you have to scroll into multiple pages to figure them out. how do you release a game with only one level? Only good thing graphics are good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Wow

posted by Giants631 (LAKESIDE, CA) Apr 5, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

One mission REALY!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It ok but Great Game

posted by Californinja (SAN JOSE, CA) Mar 17, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

3 out of 13 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

Need few improvement of the game, but MGS5 is a great game not the same of the old series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

For those who dont know

posted by HonsUSMC (HOUSTON, TX) Dec 16, 2014

Member since Nov 2014

Kojima wanted you to experience what it would be like when ground zeroes comes out thats why its short. As for the game play, I thought it different but in a good way. Tagging enemies, a slight increase in diffuculty, and also better AI that are not incredibly stupid. I would say that ground zeroes will be a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

compleat bull

posted by cpt (LAS VEGAS, NV) Dec 15, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

wow this is one of the worst games ive ever played....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Meh, easy gamerscore.

posted by juggernog667 (VANCOUVER, WA) Dec 11, 2014

Member since Nov 2014

This game is waaaaay short. I finished the story portion in about 20 minutes. And honestly, it's really irritating. I felt like I was searching for something that I would never find because it didn't give me a marker to go to. It was pretty easy gamerscore though, which is nice. I just would NEVER pay money to own this game. Maybe when the actual Metal Gear Solid 5 comes out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

metal gear

posted by avidgamer1991 (CLINTON TOWNSHIP, MI) Dec 10, 2014

Member since Dec 2014

Holy dog poo what were they thinking. this game is one of the worst that i have ever played seriously. one map the entire game stuck on the same base and the only way they make it different is you get to go back to the same map and do different things. What kind of story is that. Some of the new actions you are able to do with snake are an upgrade but that docent make up for the entire shittyness of the game. i loved metal gear since i played the one that came out for playstation. this is a serious insult to the series. its like the creators ran out of time. it plays like a demo. if i had known that the trailer was the entire campaign i would have never wasted my time with such a pathetic game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

the game is short with bonus side missions

posted by PanzerKnight (OCEANSIDE, CA) Nov 20, 2014

Member since Nov 2014

The game is a very short engaging metal gear game, but this one is a prequel to the main game coming out Metal Gear the Phantom Pain.

The gameplay is very fun along with the fact you can handle the situations in almost anyway. Run in gun or stealthy like a assassin. Though it's short fall is the length of the game I've still found it has much replay ability and to own its 30 bucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Waste of plastic

posted by Acrimonious (RIO RANCHO, NM) Nov 7, 2014

Member since Nov 2014

Great game and all but it's only one mission... takes less then 30 mins and you've beat the whole story line... seriously pass this one up unless you just have nothing else left to play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Very enjoyable and frustrating

posted by BungaHead (CLINTON, MO) Nov 1, 2014

Member since Oct 2013

Try to 100% this. There is plenty to do in this game. Upgrade in every way possible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not my favorite

posted by Burns114 (LAKESIDE, CA) Oct 29, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

While the graphics and game play was awesome, sneaking around and using flare grenades for helicopter pick ups. I was bummed that it was in a choose a mission format. I really liked the old metal gear games that would play through a whole story Like watching a movie over a couple weeks(depending on how much time you have to play games which is not much in my case) so this won't be a game I keep.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

ooooooooooooooooooooo

posted by fatebigbub (FORT SMITH, AR) Oct 18, 2014

Member since Dec 2006

I bought it I am so made I called them and thay wont give me the money back so I cursed at them and hung up I am so made

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Disappointment? Understatement!!!

posted by stvenkng (DELTONA, FL) Oct 14, 2014

Member since Oct 2011

Anyone who took more than 40 minutes to blow through this little preview must have either gone pure stealth (virtually impossible) or, like me, they took a nap somewhere in the middle. I rented it because I only went on the title and did not bother with the description, my mistake. Now it's for sale in the bargain bin, but anything other than free is too much for this thing... Look for it as a "no charge" add-on with the upcoming Metal Gear title. I gave it a two out of respect for the history of the series, the poor rating really has nothing to do with game play, quality of technical, story line or characters but rather a comment on the thought processes (or lack thereof) that saw this release as a good idea and actually selling it as an even better idea. Oh well.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

LAME!!!!

posted by ssoldier (ACTON, CA) Sep 25, 2014

Member since Oct 2009

1 map, no real story line, no real objectives, beat it in under an hour. Don't waste your time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

It's really a shame!

posted by ozzman3283 (PONCHATOULA, LA) Sep 20, 2014

Member since Sep 2011

So Gamefly gave me a free 30 day trial of this game, a FREE trial mind you and this game was a complete waste of that trial. Don't get me wrong, I'm not blaming Gamefly. I like the idea of the free trials and look forward to my next one but this title it's a joke. Not even at the used price and with my discount and coupon would I buy this demo disc disguised as a real game. Visually it was pretty damn good but 1 mission? Really? How do you justify ANY selling price? Wow..... just.... wow.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

So Short End Me Now

posted by HonestGameRater (AUBURN, MA) Sep 14, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

So basically this game is one whole map with no missions. The point of this game is to be a build up of the next game which is gonna be not one huge map and a ACTUAL good story. This game is so boring this game is okay graphics and a semi okay way of hiding. 3/10 METAL GEAR WHAT WERE YOU THINKING =(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

I never received this game in the mail REFUND!

posted by reddead666 (LANCASTER, CA) Sep 10, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

I sent my last rental halo 4 out on sept 1st its now the 10th of sept and still no game...I'm very disappointed in gamefly service mind u I'm 40 min away from their Los Angeles facility. The game que is also a joke they don't send the game you have at the top of the list just what they have available to pay what I have for the service its quite a jip. I would request a refund but their only phone number is automated, no one to talk to about getting my money back. Just get hung up and get told to go online for and support. Very unsatisfied with the service I'm paying to be provided.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse