Rent Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes for Xbox One
view large frontback

Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $14.99

Also on:Xbox 360, PS3, PS4
GF Rating
5.2

811 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Wait, what?

posted by Brash_Attack (LOS ANGELES, CA) May 26, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Where was the game!? When I thought I beat the first level, I ended up just beating the game. It took me just over an hour INCLUDING cutscenes. I've heard some people mention this was short, but a short retail game in my opinion was 5-6 hours. I cannot believe this had an actual disc release at $30.

I almost feel ripped off renting this. That was a week that I could have been playing a real game, not some rushed cash-grab demo.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Is That It?

posted by Viper1079 (COWLESVILLE, NY) Apr 28, 2014

Member since Jan 2013

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the gameplay wasn't bad, but game only consists of 1 mission and about 1 hour of actual gameplay, glad i didn't buy it, thanx gamefly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

One Map and one level for end credits

posted by war852456 (ONTARIO, CA) Apr 29, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Its a good game for going around playing the same level over and over. The level changes from day to night with the side-ops. But the game is just the prequel to the real one. So overall it was a good teaser to what's to come in the future, other than not being anything really new in game it is a good game to rent and not really buy because you can really get everything from that game in a day. This game shouldn't be a game but really an add-on

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Don't Waste your time

posted by ucczeroskater (EASLEY, SC) Apr 23, 2014

Member since Sep 2013

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

wait for it to be in $5 bin somewhere. It's so short its not worth even renting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

one mission?!?

posted by splibby (WINDHAM, NH) Mar 30, 2014

Member since Feb 2011

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I would have been livid if paid for this game... Who releases a game with only one campaign mission! Graphics and gameplay are good but epic failure to release such a short game and then to charge $30 for it. This is just a glorified demo.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent But...

posted by BS_Ford (SAINT PAUL, MN) Apr 14, 2014

Member since Aug 2012

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

It is essentially a glorified demo. Last gen, this would have been a free download as it does only have one map and one, ok technically two, main mission/objectives. There is some replay value to it though as there are side missions which are unlocked as well as a Hard difficulty after you compleate the main mission. I encourge anyone who enjoys metal gear solid games to rent this title, but do not buy it. (Thank god we have gamefly for games like these!)

I still score it high because the graphics are impressive and there are so many different ways to accomplish your mission. If Phantom Pain is anything like this, we're all in for a treat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Deja vu

posted by Panthers03 (LUFKIN, TX) Mar 25, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Same map, different mission, no story or progression

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

shortest game ever!

posted by dkmurphys8 (IRWIN, PA) Apr 17, 2014

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

So in less than 2 hours i beat the game. I have always loved Metal Gear franchise. But this is unreal there is only one level? game controls lay out it bad to, you have to scroll into multiple pages to figure them out. how do you release a game with only one level? Only good thing graphics are good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Wow

posted by Giants631 (LAKESIDE, CA) Apr 5, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

One mission REALY!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It ok but Great Game

posted by Californinja (SAN JOSE, CA) Mar 17, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

3 out of 13 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

Need few improvement of the game, but MGS5 is a great game not the same of the old series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

So Short End Me Now

posted by HonestGameRater (AUBURN, MA) Sep 14, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

So basically this game is one whole map with no missions. The point of this game is to be a build up of the next game which is gonna be not one huge map and a ACTUAL good story. This game is so boring this game is okay graphics and a semi okay way of hiding. 3/10 METAL GEAR WHAT WERE YOU THINKING =(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

I never received this game in the mail REFUND!

posted by reddead666 (LANCASTER, CA) Sep 10, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

I sent my last rental halo 4 out on sept 1st its now the 10th of sept and still no game...I'm very disappointed in gamefly service mind u I'm 40 min away from their Los Angeles facility. The game que is also a joke they don't send the game you have at the top of the list just what they have available to pay what I have for the service its quite a jip. I would request a refund but their only phone number is automated, no one to talk to about getting my money back. Just get hung up and get told to go online for and support. Very unsatisfied with the service I'm paying to be provided.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

trash

posted by prophanity (BROOKLYN, NY) Sep 6, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

i wouldn't play this game again not what i thought it was going to be

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A one-day rental at most

posted by deusorum (GLENDALE, AZ) Aug 27, 2014

Member since May 2014

This game is very short, and most of the "replay value" comes from playing different mission variations on the same map with roughly the same enemies, the same strategies, etc. It also doesn't do a very good job of teaching players the controls, and I found myself essentially forced to gradually learn them from loading screens. A 5 minute tutorial would have been very helpful, but it just wasn't present. Overall, I liked the content that it had, but I was done with it in about 2 hours. I'm glad I used Gamefly to play it instead of shelling out the $30 retail price for it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

POS

posted by ryandarknes (BILLINGS, MT) Aug 14, 2014

Member since Nov 2011

What in gods name is this game.... one story mission is all this is the lamest thing I have ever played they should feel bad for even putting this "game" out. "See what happens next in Phantom Pain." it says at the end. F you for wasting my time with trash like this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Glorified Demo w/ Disk

posted by 954CBRican (EDISON, NJ) Aug 9, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

Beat the game in about an hour. Increased difficulty and side missions are not worth the extra time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A Great Rent

posted by Dwoop33 (RIVERVIEW, FL) Aug 7, 2014

Member since Jan 2006

It's a short game by even short game standards these days but it's a great look into the Meal Gear world on Xbox and what to expect when the new game comes out in December. It has 7 side missions that give you different views and takes on how to accomplish different goals within the same map and has very good cinematic themes between the missions. I wouldn't recommend buying but it's definitely deserves to be on your rental list which is why you're a Gamefly member in the first place!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

lazy developers

posted by gigahurt (ARLINGTON, TX) Aug 7, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

The same map reused over and over with different objectives. It forces you to watch the credits after each level... which are the same for each level... because its the same map over and over.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A great! ... demo.

posted by Rico731 (WARWICK, RI) Aug 1, 2014

Member since May 2014

Everything about this game is an improvement on the previous games. The graphics, the controls and the stealth mechanics. Metal Gear is back and better then ever!

BUT this game in unbearably short! You only get ONE mission and a few side missions, and ALL of them take place on the same medium-size map.

If you like Metal Gear and can't wait for The Phantom Pain, then rent this game, you will love it. But NO ONE should BUY this game because this "game" is just a demo. A GREAT demo, but just a demo.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Meh

posted by RedHeels0809 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Jul 28, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

As with most, I was slightly disappointed with the length of the game. It made for a good rental, but definitely not worth owning.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

one map - really?

posted by Myles22 (BEULAVILLE, NC) Jul 26, 2014

Member since Jan 2007

I went through the initial mission, liked it fine - then the credits roll. after that you can select side missions. the first couple were ok, but the same map. 3 additional sides later on the same map (base) was enough; I give up. And what the heck is up with credits rolling after each. Thank goodness this was a rental.
And if any of this games programmers read this... most stealth based missions happen at night! what is up with all the daylight?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Metal gear solid 5 ground zero

posted by Nik499b (MILWAUKEE, WI) Jul 23, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

Just a really boring game and so short and hardly any action :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Manage Your Expectations

posted by RebelRadio (ATLANTA, GA) Jul 21, 2014

Member since Aug 2013

As long as you know that this game is based around one mission, you shouldn't be disappointed. You can make it as long or short as you want to. It really is remarkable how many options you have when it comes down to the mission. Great primer to get me excited for the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Negative 5 Stars

posted by kj07 (LINCOLN, NE) Jul 15, 2014

Member since Apr 2013

Guess I should of checked the reviews, I use to be a fan of this game series but wow has it gone downhill. Don't get me wrong game play is good but if your going to make a game with one mission and 4 tiny little missions just make it digital and don't waste time on making a disc. Not worth the rental at all very disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Short but Fun

posted by 1up_Gamer (SPRING, TX) Jul 7, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

As other reviews have stated, this game is really short. The whole game takes place on only one level. Depending on the side ops mission, the time of the day changes, the enemy spawn locations are different, but it's the same level at all times.

With that out of the way, the game play was fun and enjoyable. If you enjoy getting achievements, this is an easy 950-1000 points. Going for the achievements makes you play the game differently which adds replay value. This game is definitely not a buy, but it is a solid 1-2 day rental. I'm glad i played it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse